• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Hsien Loong Shall Hold National Referendum on CPF Issue

gingerlyn

Dear brothers and sisters

Lee Hsien Loong shall hold national referendum on CPF. Let the people decide if they want to take out the money by 55yo or let the people decide if they want to opt out from CPF totally.

Let the people decide and hold National Referendum within 100 days.

For your info, Switzerland had 11 national referendum in year 2013 and Switzerland is Goh Chok Tong model country for Singapore.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swiss_referendums,_2013

Dark Knight

This will scare the shit out of Pinky and his cronies.
He die die also won't do it as we don't even have that much of $$$ for mass withdrawal.

How about a national referendum whether he should be hang by piano wire or tiew in the asshole by lighted josstick and burning candle?

It'll be a cold day in hell if he does a referendum for anything.

He should have held a referendum when he decided to remarry. :wink:

CPF is one of the best schemes in the world and many countries want to emulate Singapore's pragmatic approach to retirement savings.

There is no need for a referendum regarding something that is working extremely well.

Dark Knight

They said our CPF very safe and sound leh :p

All the Banks also said our $$$ very safe and sound if we park with them.

But in reality did they practice the dunno what (20-80% investment rule) or not?
What if 80% of the $$$ has been tight up (or rather lost) and freeze in investment.
That left only 20% for mass withdrawal.

wMulew

CPF is one of the best schemes in the world and many countries want to emulate Singapore's pragmatic approach to retirement savings.

There is no need for a referendum regarding something that is working extremely well.

It only works extremely well for pple with common sense. The average opposition supporting retard who cannot even hit the minimum sum will tell U they can do a lot better with that 150K in their pocket totally ignoring the fact that if they can do better in the first place they would easily be able to make more than that before they hit 55

Well said. I have added to your points.

blindswordsman

....Lee Hsien Loong shall hold national referendum on CPF. Let the people decide if they want to take out the money by 55yo or let the people decide if they want to opt out from CPF totally.....For your info, Switzerland had 11 national referendum in year 2013 and Switzerland is Goh Chok Tong model country for Singapore.

An Indian woman took action in the court to compel LHL to call the PE by-election and the court threw out her suit. Now, who is going to compel LHL to call for the referendum?

Remember, you die, your business. Legal cost for your account, too. Guess no one will do it. So this demand for referendum is just blowing in the wind.

gingerlyn

An Indian woman took action in the court to compel LHL to call the PE by-election and the court threw out her suit. Now, who is going to compel LHL to call for the referendum?

Remember, you die, your business. Legal cost for your account, too. Guess no one will do it. So this demand for referendum is just blowing in the wind.

I hope this can be a catalyst to encourage more youngster to demand Lee Hsien Loong to work harder and engage with more educated citizens. I blieve we can do it!

Singapore has 4 government univerity, many Polytechnique and IT and best Junior colleges.
NUS is asia number 1 university.

why Lee Hsien Loong is worried to engage with the educated youngster and hold Referendum?

So this demand for referendum is just blowing in the wind.

Referendums are a stupid way to run an Asian country. The population isn't intelligent enough to vote wisely.

Thanks goodness Singapore has achieved a Swiss standard of living rather than the Swiss method of governing.

blindswordsman

...The average opposition supporting retard who cannot even hit the minimum sum will tell U they can do a lot better with that 150K in their pocket totally ignoring the fact that if they can do better in the first place they would easily be able to make more than that before they hit 55

The main point here is not whether you hit or unable to hit min sum before 55. Really, the issue is: "What is the purpose of min sum, which keeps on going up and up every other year?"

Moreover, this min sum is not withdrawable when the sinkie is alive and kicking. It is locked up and will become withdrawable by his nominee after he kicks the bucket. What is the use of having so much money in CPF and unable to enjoy it when alive?

No nominee? The Govt will be your beneficiary of the un-withdrawn min sum.

HTOLAS

LHL shall not fear a referendum. With his dying breath, LKY will point LHL to the Wikipedia site about the 1963 referendum, and LHL will see the light. On the ballot paper will be these options:
  1. Option 1 - Depositors shall withdraw their CPF at an age to be determined by the PAP government
  2. Option 2 - CPF deposits shall remain with the PAP until the depositors are dead.
  3. Option 3 - CPF deposits shall remain with the PAP until the depositors until the depositors are dead and then the amounts will be deposited into their nominees' CPF accounts.

Spoilt votes will be counted as support for Option 1.

gingerlyn

In 1960s, Singapore seldom had referendum because according to Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore was a fishing kampung.

Since Singaporeans are so educated and NUS is the world number 1 university, why government does not want to hold referendum and let us decide?

wMulew

The main point here is not whether you hit or unable to hit min sum before 55. Really, the issue is: "What is the purpose of min sum, which keeps on going up and up every other year?"

Moreover, this min sum is not withdrawable when the sinkie is alive and kicking. It is locked up and will become withdrawable by his nominee after he kicks the bucket. What is the use of having so much money in CPF and unable to enjoy it when alive?

No nominee? The Govt will be your beneficiary of the un-withdrawn min sum.

Minimum sum is to finance your retirement. Government set minimum sum to $10 U happy? Monthly payout $0.10. Not even enough for U to go to some toilet.

Dear brothers and sisters

Lee Hsien Loong shall hold national referendum on CPF. Let the people decide if they want to take out the money by 55yo or let the people decide if they want to opt out from CPF totally.

Let the people decide and hold National Referendum within 100 days.

For your info, Switzerland had 11 national referendum in year 2013 and Switzerland is Goh Chok Tong model country for Singapore.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swiss_referendums,_2013

why 100 days... follow chinese funeral programme. 7 x 7 49 days

blindswordsman

Referendums are a stupid way to run an Asian country. The population isn't intelligent enough to vote wisely.

Thanks goodness Singapore has achieved a Swiss standard of living rather than the Swiss method of governing.

Swiss method of governing makes the Swiss happy. Swiss standard of living in Spore is still an elusive dream.

Go to Geylang and Little India and see how the foreigners turn the streets there into slums and free for all where hookers, peddlers, gambling dens etc predominate. Can you find such activities operating openly in Switzerland?

blindswordsman

Minimum sum is to finance your retirement. Government set minimum sum to $10 U happy? Monthly payout $0.10. Not even enough for U to go to some toilet.

Why let Govt keep the money for us and the pappies keep on changing the rules to ensure sinkies can see but cannot touch the money when needed it desperately?

Aren't we able to look after our own money? Why are PRs allowed to withdraw all CPF money and return to work again in SG? Why are these PR returnees not banned from working in SG? Seems the foreigners have better privileges than sinkies.