• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Laws allow ex-Filipinos to re-acquire their local citizenship easily

[h=2]Laws allow ex-Filipinos to re-acquire their local citizenship
easily[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
November 3rd, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

philippines.jpg
A TR Emeritus (TRE) reader has sent in this information [Link].
Apparently, under the laws of the Philippines, a Philippine citizen who has
given up his citizenship to become a citizen of another country can easily
re-acquire or claim back his Philippine citizenship.

This law was in fact enacted in the Philippines in 2003 called the
Citizenship Retention and Reacquisition Act of 2003. It declares that
natural-born citizens of the Philippines who become citizens of another country
shall be deemed not to have lost their Philippine citizenship and can
retain/re-acquire it back. However, it only applies to natural-born citizens of
the Philippines.

Those who want to get back their Philippine citizenship will need to swear an
“Oath of Allegiance” to the Philippines. It is the final act that confers
Philippine citizenship. It reads as follows:

“I,________________, solemnly swear that I will support and defend the
Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines and obey the laws and local
orders promulgated by the duly constituted authorities of the Philippines, and I
hereby declare that I recognize and accept the supreme authority of the
Philippines and will maintain true faith and allegiance thereto, and that I
impose this obligation upon myself voluntarily without mental reservation or
purpose of evasion.”

Also, any unmarried children, whether legitimate, illegitimate or adopted,
below 18 years of age, of the parents who re-acquire Philippine citizenship
under the Act may also acquire Philippine citizenship provided they are included
in the original petition of their parents.

And after the Philippine citizenship is re-acquired, they can apply for a
Philippine passport and are conferred the same rights as any other Philippine
citizens.

And the best part of this Act is that it does not require the person to
renounce his or her other foreign citizenship after he or she has re-acquired
the Philippine citizenship.

So, in other words, if, say, a Filipino couples want to buy our HDB BTO flat
with market subsidy, they can do this. They can first apply to become Singapore
citizens. To do that, they need to go to the Philippine embassy to renounce
their Philippine citizenship/passports. They get a letter from the Philippine
embassy to confirm this. Then they submit the letter to Singapore’s ICA for
their application to become Singapore citizens.

And after they have obtained Singapore citizenship and bought their BTO flat,
they can easily re-acquire back their Philippine citizenship anytime they want,
even without surrendering their Singapore citizenship since there is no
requirement on the Philippines’ side. The other possible scenario is after
working for 10 years, the whole family can sell off their BTO flat with good
profits and together with their S$ savings, they can all retire comfortably back
to the Philippines as Philippine citizens.

In fact, the Philippine embassy in Singapore lists down detail steps to take
on its website [Link]
for ex-Filipinos to re-acquire back their Philippine citizenship. It costs only
S$85 and takes only 2 working days:

Former Filipinos may re-acquire their Philippine citizenship through
Republic Act (RA) No. 9225 or the Citizenship Retention and Re-acquisition Act.
This law, which took effect on 17 September 2003, declares that former
natural-born Filipino citizens who acquired foreign citizenship through
naturalization are deemed not to have lost their Philippine citizenship under
conditions provided in the Act. A former Filipino can re-acquire Philippine
citizenship by taking the oath of allegiance to the Republic of the
Philippines.

Requirements

• Duly accomplished application form [Link]
  • Birth certificate issued by the NSO duly authenticated by DFA. In case
    the birth certificate is not available, other documentary proof of the
    applicant’s being a former natural-born Filipino citizen.
  • Certificate of Naturalization. Since the Act requires that the “loss of
    Philippine citizenship by the applicant must be on account of naturalization as
    a citizen of a foreign country”, the applicant should submit documents showing
    the fact of his naturalization as a citizen of a foreign country.
  • Authenticated marriage certificate, if married
  • Authenticated death certificate, if widowed
  • Annulment, if the marriage is annulled. The court decision to nullify
    the marriage must be certified by the proper court and authenticated by
    DFA.
  • Divorce decree, if divorcee. It must be certified by the proper
    court.
  • Three (3) 2 X 2 photos (white background) with the following view: left
    side view, front view and right side view
  • Payment of consular service fee of S$85.00 for taking an Oath of
    Allegiance for the re-acquisition of Philippine Citizenship

Procedures

• Order of Approval will be issued by the consular officer of the embassy
    which shall be the substantive proof that applicant has re-acquired/retained
    Philippine citizenship
  • Oath of Allegiance to be undertaken by the consular officer after the
    Order of Approval is issued

The processing of the application will take two (2) working
days.

The TRE reader commented, “This law was passed in 2003 which may partly
explain why more Filipinos took up our Singapore citizenship from 2004/2005
onwards (under Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong).”

Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

<cite class="fn">Spearmint:</cite>

November
4, 2012 at 12:02 am
Spearmint(Quote)

Actually, I don’t blame the filipinos. They probably enact the laws hoping
that these ex-filipinos will bring money and retire back in Philippines.

The people I blame are the @#@$%^&$%@##@$#%@%))&^&*^!!! you know
who. High paying idiots with cock brains. No wonder they lost big time in
Suzhou!

Rate
this

<cite class="fn">Observer:</cite>

November
4, 2012 at 12:07 am
Observer(Quote)

Only the stupid MIWs do not understand this. They think all these years of
manipulating Singaporeans and getting away with it, they think they can do it to
foreigners.

The foreigners come in and instead rip the country off.

What a joke. MIWs think they are so smart – smart from a academic sense but
in the school of hard knocks, they are plain stupid.

MBSSLOTS

pap and their pro foreignor policies....these fucking manpower ministry should be torn down!

noname

Philippines is the real sick man of Asia. The mission in life of Filipinos is to get of of the Philippines and live elsewhere.

Bigfuck

"Let's contrast this against our own laws on citizenship. Singaporeans who have been out of the country continuously for 10 years or more can lose their citizenship without notice. Coincidentally, one person who has lost his citizenship in this way is Tan Wah Piow. Equally coincidentally, this law was enacted in the 1980s, not long after Mr Tan had gone into exile for 10 continuous years.
35 minutes ago · "

garlic

In SG, what happens if u give up the citizenship, and laters wants it back? anyone with real knowdledge or first-hand experience? just wanna contrast how SG treats their kind..

Agoraphobic

In SG, what happens if u give up the citizenship, and laters wants it back? anyone with real knowdledge or first-hand experience? just wanna contrast how SG treats their kind..

In Sg, your citizenship is tied to your CPF monies. Once you take your CPF, you need to buang your citizneship. You want your citizenship back, return your CPF, plus interest.

myo539

Isn't it ironical that the very person who says that he will fly out of the country at the earliest opportunity and gives up his citizenship is now clamouring that we should act like the Philippines and makes it easier for ex-Singaporeans to reclaim their citizenship? I thought these are the people who KPKB and say that there are no values nor benefits being a Singaporean as they are treated like second class citizens?

What I see is that while foreigners like the Filipinos, Chinese and Indians know the value of the Singapore citizenship when they sense one, the locals are unable to value and appreciate it when it is actually in their hand by virtue of their birthrights. It means that these foreigners are smarter! They also appreciate the effort of our government to enhance their asset, while Singapore think that they are paying too high for their housing and cynically conclude that it's the HDB that is making all the money. These ex-Singaporeans realise that their host government is not that generous nor paternalistic with immigrants.

Speaking as a Singaporean, if we want to kick someone's backside, it should be these Singaporeans whose backside ought to be kicked - by themselves.

Unrepented

Tell that to GongLi:rolleyes:.............And yes, please go kick your own backside.

What I see is that while foreigners like the Filipinos, Chinese and Indians know the value of the Singapore citizenship when they sense one, the locals are unable to value and appreciate it when it is actually in their hand by virtue of their birthrights. .........................

Speaking as a Singaporean, if we want to kick someone's backside, it should be these Singaporeans whose backside ought to be kicked - by themselves.

Dreamer1

With such a large no of overs citizens,it is natural that they make it easy for overseas citizens to come back with money.