[h=2]La Fondue’s Roginald Santos Oloresisimo leaves SG[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
October 25th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

Independent film-maker Lynn Lee blogged [Link]
yesterday (24 Oct) that the controversial Filipino, Roginald Santos Oloresisimo,
who worked for Swiss restaurant La Fondue at Dempsey Road, is no longer in
Singapore.

Lynn reported that the Filipino boarded a plane bound for the Philippines
yesterday morning. It is not clear if he is coming back to Singapore or if he
still has his old job here.

Lynn wrote, “What is obvious though is that the last few weeks must have been
highly stressful for him.”

The saga started when Mr Oloresisimo posted a discriminatory job
advertisement numerous times across various job sites for Filipinos
only
to join his restaurant, La Fondue (‘High
salary for Filipino chefs only
‘). The ad stated, “We are currently an all
Filipino team at the service and kitchen department.”

The discriminatory advertisement infuriated many Singaporeans. Civil
activists transitioning.org called for a boycott of the restaurant (‘Transitioning.org
calls for boycott of Swiss restaurant
‘).

Roginald-Santos-Oloresisimo.jpg

Ravinder Pal, CEO of La Fondue, quickly posted an apology on the restaurant’s
Facebook page, stating that they hire strictly in accordance with MOM
regulations (‘La
Fondue: We strictly hire in accordance with MOM regulations
‘).

The CEO claimed that the discriminatory job ad was the work of a staff
“without the management’s knowledge and approval”.

“This person did not have any authority whatsoever to post an ad, let alone
interview and recruit staff. We will certainly be taking stern action and
reprimanding the staff member involved,” he said.

However, most netizens did not buy the CEO’s explanation (‘Netizens not buying La Fondue’s explanation‘). In fact,
evidence that Mr Oloresisimo had placed a similar advertisement earlier in
September 2013, for a “Filipino female”, caused even more outrage.

A petition calling for the cancellation of Mr Oloresisimo’s work permit was
circulated online. It drew more than a thousand signatures and triggered a
heated debate about racism, xenophobia and discrimination.

Lynn wrote passionately on the current predicaments many Singaporeans are
facing:

It’s hard not to feel the squeeze in Singapore – not when our trains are
packed, our roads increasingly congested, our shops and restaurants staffed by
an ever-growing number of foreigners. Where do we stand in our own country? Is
there still a place for us? How can Singaporeans – with massive housing loans
and family obligations – compete with eager foreigners, willing to work for a
fraction of what we are able to accept?

These are valid questions, important ones that our leaders need to answer –
not with platitudes and empty promises, but with concrete actions. People are
falling through the cracks. Families are living in vans and parks. Homelessness
is no longer invisible in this land of plenty. Singaporeans are struggling, not
because they are lazy, but because many find it increasingly difficult to
survive in a system that reduces workers to units of labour, a system that
celebrates “cheaper, faster, better”.
However, Lynn also rightfully argued that blaming foreign workers like
Mr Oloresisimo is not the answer:

But the Singaporean worker isn’t the only one suffering. Go to the soup
kitchen run by migrant rights group Transient Workers Count Too and you’re
likely to meet an endless stream of men from countries like India, Bangladesh
and Sri Lanka, all with horror stories to tell. Employment scams, unpaid wages,
physical abuse, injuries and poor living conditions – it’s mind boggling, what
some people have to put up with, simply for the privilege of working in
Singapore.

How does the ordinary person compete in a system that condones exploitation?
Something is broken. Some policies are not working. Something needs to be done.
Blaming foreign workers like Roginald is not the answer.
After all, Mr Oloresisimo is not the person or the political party
responsible for the loose immigration policy and poor planning in Singapore, is
he?

Lynn concluded:

We let the real culprits off the hook when we demand that a lowly worker bear
the brunt of our rage. I hope Roginald learns his lesson, but I also hope he
gets to keep his job. For we undermine our own calls for justice, equality and
fairness when we insist on a disproportionately harsh punishment for someone
like him. Yes, we are stressed out and frustrated. But we are also better people
than this.

So what to do in 2016?:
October
25, 2013 at 12:54 pm
So what to
do in 2016?(Quote)

Sounds like “All roads lead to Rome”
The root cause of all these trace
back to ONE PERSON.
Do the right thing in 2016 to save all the rest and their
future.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating:
+154 (from 160 votes)

PAP had created HIM:
October
25, 2013 at 2:05 pm
PAP had
created HIM(Quote)

This is the product of PAP ultra pro-foreign worker policies.

I think such incident is only unique to Singapore.

Why? PAP leaders had often in the past openly made statements about the
importance and inevitable for Singapore to depend on foreigner. Not only they’re
looked upon as foreign, they’re ALL highly branded by our leaders are talents
!!!

Such insensitive and shortsightedness public statements made by our million
dollar salaried leaders had indirectly boosted the ego of every foreign workers
here.

So much so they’re now looking down on most Singaporeans and some even
branded local workers as incompetent and stupid.

Our PAP leaders as usual had swept it under carpet and no reporters on this
tiny red dot would even dare to dream of criticizing such insensitive statements
made by their indirect bosses.

Majority of Singaporeans being marginalized will continue to go unreported.
Because this has always been PAP political strategies since independence.

Without negative news, citizens will naturally everything is under control
and every Singaporeans are happy and well taken care of.

By 2030, Singaporeans could become a minority race.

We only have ourselves to blame if that day come. Because YOU let it
happen…..

9ab26cee462bb3deee7835f9f7618850
<cite class="fn">Ah Gong:</cite>

October
25, 2013 at 2:07 pm
Ah
Gong(Quote)

Dear Ms Lynn, you are right to say that we let the real culprits off the hook
and a lowly worker (in this case is Mr Oloresisimo) bear the blunt of our rage.

But it is Mr Oloresisimo’s foolishness (maybe naiveness) to become the
catalyst to their system. Mr Oloresisimo is a fool who rushed in. Wonder has he
learned from the song “Fool Rush In”

Let’s say the real culprits put (started) the house on fire, but Mr
Oloresisimo adds oil and fans the fire. Both are guilty, my friend. He has to
accept responsibility and learn from it.

You come to our country, don’t add oil and fire! We will kick you out!

Next person to kick out – is that ang-mo cyclist. Singaporeans, you know what
to do. Slowly and surely, we will reclaim out land.

LKH:
October
25, 2013 at 2:45 pm
LKH(Quote)

The Editor and Lynn believe that “we undermine our own calls for justice,
equality and fairness when we insist on a disproportionately harsh punishment
for someone like him. Yes, we are stressed out and frustrated. But we are also
better people than this.”

This approach of taking the moral high road, appealing to our ‘better self’,
starting a ‘dialogue’, and my favourable, ‘push(ing) these issues forward for
intelligent debate’.

Those who advocate such approaches, whilst well-intended, usually write as
one with a job firmly in hand (e.g. a journalist, filmmaker, or some
professional). Nor do they need to worry about bringing food to the table for
the family & money for monthly mortgage.

As a long-term unemployed PME and someone who has personally seen what’s like
for families in 3-, 4-room HDB flats, I disagree with the approach advocated for
2 main reasons.

1. INTELLECTUAL DEBATE? DIALOGUE?
Really? I honestly doubt the
intellectual prowess of those who aim for such TO THE EXCLUSION of other
approaches. Come on, if you are really intellectual, you would have debated
these issues way back when, before & not after the fact, made your case with
the powers that be – and, hey, we won’t be discussing this now, right?

As for dialogue, someone else has already refuted that such channels are an
illusion.

My point is: the TIME & SEVERITY of the situation with the FT policy have
made engaging in ‘intellectual debates’ and ‘dialogue’ way pass their effective
dates. This is manifest in the shrillness of my fellow citizens’ protests and
demands for actions.

2. DON’T TAKE IT OUT OF THE FOREIGNERS
Again, sorry, but high-minded for
those of us writing in the ‘comfort of a dreamer’s bed’ and the ‘safety of our
own head’.

Does anyone not realize that many of our poorer cousins do not have the
luxury, time, access & ability to discuss their views online? How else then
to show their displeasure? Maybe that’s why they have been hoodwinked by the
previous “Labour” Minister who, during his watch, fought for their interests
only to see their real salary regressed fr 2001 to 2010. He himself has been
rewarded for his performance as Chairman of a sovereign fund.

As for PMEs, what power do we have as a group to make our plight known? What
help? Just look at the toothless FCF after the long list and time of telling the
govt so.

Hence, in short, the the FT problem has been too long in the making and too
severe for us to just take just the talk approach. Therefore we must use every
mean that is legal and non-violent to make sure that the govt no longer just sit
up but ACT to first halt and then reverse the policy to a point that is less
insane. To foreigners, do know that we do not blame you but, yes, they are not
welcome in their numbers at this time. Pls understand we’ve some ‘family
matters’ to resolve the next few years.

(Let me be direct. Roginald deserves his due. He showed he’s a blatant &
serial racist. Any kinder response will be seen as weakness)

2dfbd24c269006db3568095c2beb3504
<cite class="fn">Singapore's Future:</cite>

October
25, 2013 at 2:58 pm
Singapore's
Future(Quote)

When the Chinese bus driver strike happened and drew much publicity, MOM
& the police came down swift and hard on them, followed by Shit Times
splashing the news to instill fear on any other potential copycats.

In this La Fondue’s case, MOM was found napping as it happened. This was
discovered not by the authority but a concerned Singaporean looking out for
Singaporeans. As this draw much public anger, what course of action has MOM
taken if any after so long? If there was, why wasn’t it announced since there is
obviously much public interest in this case? If there was an announcement, why
is MSM not doing their job?

Another thing of interest is, a foreigner can easily get away with doing or
saying shit to Singaporeans. The most they lose their jobs. Like the ex NTUC
racist woman who publicly complained about Malays, she was fired but fled down
under. Same for the porn student couple who lost their scholarship and ran back
to Malaysia. Now this Fillipino. Side note – Why is it when there are so many
local students are being denied of the limited scholarships in our University
were instead given to foreigners in first place?

If all of them were Singaporeans, not only will they lose their
job/scholarship, they will be punished by the law and make an example of in Shit
Times.

Pap fuckeroos are not scared,......

One leaves so what??

Got many mAny more lining up outside the fucking door waiting to replace,....and that includes all you sad sinkie sheep fucks,... Not happy? fuck off to somwhere else lor...just because this is your country and you gave served ns means you are soneone speciale??

Lanjiao understand!!