• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kangaroo Court - Unfair Cases (Pls Contribute and Make Known)

What about the taxi driver who killed your best friend? Did he used any connection to get away? Did you use any connection to nail the taxi driver?

If I'd had the right connections, I would have made sure he was charged with murder and hanged.

If the taxi driver had the right connections, he would have got off scot free.

Life is always a battle of might vs right. At the end of the day, the more powerful win.

Everyone tries to use connections. When I was working in Singapore, we had a supervisor whose brother was working in Maxwell Road traffic police division.

Anyone who was caught speeding would immediately contact this guy and ask him to call up his brother to "help". It always worked.

This was in the days before computerisation and hanky panky was easy. The paperwork was simply misplaced.

So taking advantage of connections is human nature. Everyone does it regardless of their status in society. We only resent it when we find someone else getting away with things which we can't get away with.

It's not difficult to find all these middle men with the right amount of money or through some who and who. I m not saying taking advantage of connections is wrong, if not why else should one be well connected. Might as well everyday stay at home with the door closed. I m saying that morally it's wrong and these shouldn't be the privileges for anybody. The fact that you mentioned the wealthy and well-connected should have privileges in their life which i fully agree but not privileges for these law breaking scenarios. Nobody "should" be above the law.

If I'd had the right connections, I would have made sure he was charged with murder and hanged.

If the taxi driver had the right connections, he would have got off scot free.

Life is always a battle of might vs right. At the end of the day, the more powerful win.

As i have mentioned in another thread, i don't agree but sadly that has always been the case. The problem is you don't even know who is the driver. If you are well connected enough, you will be able to catch the driver yourself. If you are well connected enough, you don't even need legal proceedings to get back on the driver should you know who he is.

Nobody "should" be above the law.

Life is never fair. The problem with the Christocentric world, and which unfortunately has found it's way into Eastern cultures, is the expounding of ideologies such as "all men are equal", "the meek shall inherit the earth" and a load of other idealistic drivel that has its roots in the Bible.

You'd be far better off spending your time cultivating connections than complaining about injustices. Men are not equal and the poor will always be the whipping boys of the rich. That's how evolution works. You can't mess with nature.

Life is never fair. The problem with the Christocentric world, and which unfortunately has found it's way into Eastern cultures, is the expounding of ideologies such as "all men are equal", "the meek shall inherit the earth" and a load of other idealistic drivel that has its roots in the Bible.

You'd be far better off spending your time cultivating connections than complaining about injustices. Men are not equal and the poor will always be the whipping boys of the rich. That's how evolution works. You can't mess with nature.

You have not complained anything about injustices, should i assume you are well connected? Then how come your friend's murder went scot free?

I was not well connected enough at the time. If a similar scenario occurred today, I'd be much better prepared to exact revenge.

Maybe so, but i m sure you did not think hard enough. Knowing that it is a taxi which causes the death of your friend has narrowed down your search alot.

Leongsam said:
Why should that be the case? Please explain.

I agree. Why should that be the case? What is a few thousand dollars to a wealthy elite? A day's income? The sentence should directly be proportionate to the personal wealth of the offender if it is a fine. If it is a prison sentence, in compensation for the good life that the elite has enjoyed at the expense of peasants, the worst prison cell and the most gruesome hard labour should be sentenced out.

If these punishments are properly calibrated, Ferrari car owners will not be beating traffic lights six seconds after the green has turned red, Lexus drivers will be pussy footing their paddles instead of slamming into pedestrians believing they are tree trunks and media celebrities will not relive their fictitious role as gangster chiefs in real life.

If the public (ordinary Joes and peasants) perceive the laws to be unjust and be of a double standard, they will see no incentive in obeying the law.

Can't give me justice in court? I'll dispense vigilante justice with my own hands, thank you very much. I have nothing to lose.

The well-connected, well-heeled folks, on the other hand, have much to lose. They will not like it when the society becomes lawless.

If the public (ordinary Joes and peasants) perceive the laws to be unjust and be of a double standard, they will see no incentive in obeying the law.

Can't give me justice in court? I'll dispense vigilante justice with my own hands, thank you very much. I have nothing to lose.

The well-connected, well-heeled folks, on the other hand, have much to lose. They will not like it when the society becomes lawless.

Yup, that's why LAW is born. To protect the rich. Once the rich take advantage of it too often, we are in for some bloodshed on the streets.
Look at China, look at how some villagers take law into their own hands.

Do you want SG to become another PRC?
The privileges for the wealthy and well connected should be limited to society status and business dealings respectively. I agree that these people are entitled to privileges too.
They can afford a holiday with the actresses and models using their wealth while others can't but that doesn't mean they can go around raping women and going scot free.
They can use their connections to get business contracts while others can't but that doesn't mean they can compromise on the terms and conditions stated within the contracts.

why sometimes u can explain in such a gentlemen and civilised way with logic and clear explaination...and sometimes u just knnccb for no reason. u have split personality?

anyway, hope u can remain like this from now onwards...jiayou!

why sometimes u can explain in such a gentlemen and civilised way with logic and clear explaination...and sometimes u just knnccb for no reason. u have split personality?

anyway, hope u can remain like this from now onwards...jiayou!

KNN! Bro, you don't quite understand me enough lah. :D I don't KNNBCB for no reason, i do it for good reasons. :p:D

A woman induced her teenage lover to kill her husband.
The court ruled that she was suffering from mild depression and gave her a nine year jail sentence.
AG at that time Walter Woon appealed the ruling, but it was upheld.
In another case, Anthony Ler was hanged for inducing a teenager to kill his wife.
I guess he didn't have mild depression at that time. :rolleyes:

American vandal Michael Fay 'qualified' for discount wrt the number of strokes on his angmo ka chng. I think he was THE first.

Here's an amusing case i read sometimes ago in ST :
DPP-Singh
Defendent-Seng
Defence CounseL-Singh
Judge-Singh
After the courts' arguments, case was adjourned for Lunch.
Verdict : Defendent acquitted..
One wondered what was transpired among the 3 Singhs during their Lunches..:D

I agree. Why should that be the case? What is a few thousand dollars to a wealthy elite? A day's income? The sentence should directly be proportionate to the personal wealth of the offender if it is a fine. If it is a prison sentence, in compensation for the good life that the elite has enjoyed at the expense of peasants, the worst prison cell and the most gruesome hard labour should be sentenced out.

If these punishments are properly calibrated, Ferrari car owners will not be beating traffic lights six seconds after the green has turned red, Lexus drivers will be pussy footing their paddles instead of slamming into pedestrians believing they are tree trunks and media celebrities will not relive their fictitious role as gangster chiefs in real life.

Any idea what's happened to the case of the Bentley-driving chow ang mo who smashed the windscreen of a woman's Merc in a cse of road rage? He's a banker from UBS, I think. Another case of SPF double standards.