Johor to raise taxes on properties owned by thousands of foreigners

Song boh? Malaysia suka suka up tax, wait till there are even more foreigners staying there.

JOHOR BARU - The state government will impose higher tax rates for about 130,000 foreigners who own properties in the state.

Johor Mentri Besar Mohamed Khaled said the rates were still being discussed, but the new rates would be imposed by the end of the year.

"I believe that most locals will be in agreement to this new policy, and it is done to increase our state's returns," he said during a news conference before conducting a walkabout in Permas here on Sunday.

Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled added that a re-evaluation exercise would also be conducted statewide as the last formal evaluation was done in the '80s.

"Some of the local councils have conducted property evaluations in the last few years and this includes the Johor Baru City Council who last did a property evaluation in 1991.

"Taxpayers need not worry about the evaluations as property taxes will be retained for lower priced properties," he said, adding higher taxes might be imposed for properties worth in the millions.

Mr Mohamed Khaled said the state had no intention of increasing the financial burden of the people but also needed to increase the returns to ensure that the local councils can provide better facilities and services for the locals.

http://business.asiaone.com/news/johor-raise-taxes-properties-owned-thousands-foreigners

Time to sell your properties in Johor. With UMNO in charge, there is no stability. UMNO politicians are only guided by their greed.

Post in JB forum for more impact.
What you expect? You are just guest in a foreign country..........but better Malaysia then sinkieland where you dun get guest treatment but slave treatment.

Post in JB forum for more impact.
What you expect? You are just guest in a foreign country..........but better Malaysia then sinkieland where you dun get guest treatment but slave treatment.

In Malaysia, at least you are aware & know you are a foreigner, whatever shits they throw..it is a what to do? thing. But, we the citizens of SINgapore are slaves in our country, at the mercy of "you know who & what"..many too voiceless & ball less to even protest, but that is what the 60% want. :mad:

Song boh? Malaysia suka suka up tax, wait till there are even more foreigners staying there.

This is something that would never happen in Spore. The PAP would never want to scare away foreigners.

No higher taxes for foreign properties? Where have you been?

That's a good move to cool any bubble forming.

It's better to nip a problem in the bud, than to allow it to fester while telling outlandish lies ('HDB flats are affordable' by Mah Bow Tan).

Good luck to those Sinkies who wish to huat from purchased Iskandar property. :rolleyes:

watching intently as i'm about to cast the die this fall. i'll need a vacation home anyway as i plan to semi-retire in johor.

but compare to Singapore is still a better deal, bigger land space, cheaper housing even wth the new properties taxes is still cheaper in JB.

They spent a lot of money buying votes and bringing in Bangladesh workers for phantom votes. So now need to collect back money well spent.

No higher taxes for foreign properties? Where have you been?

So where do they pay higher taxes than locals:confused:

Only recently were some token steps taken to cool the property market. Foreigner who leave can get a GST refund. Otherwise foreigners pay the same income tax, GST, stamp duties,... as the locals.

watching intently as i'm about to cast the die this fall. i'll need a vacation home anyway as i plan to semi-retire in johor.

Also been looking around. Really depends on the lifestyle you want. I decided to just rent but that is in LOS where there is plenty of places for rent.

los as in "land of sex"? :eek:

I think it is Land of Smiles, but I might be wrong:)

The place I'm looking for doesn't have to be near to Spore, should have decent hospitals, have access to amenities like the internet, the airport, good food, good supermarkets,...

If I decide to buy a place in the future, the prices are quite reasonable in LOS. Cheaper than in Malaysia.

but compare to Singapore is still a better deal, bigger land space, cheaper housing even wth the new properties taxes is still cheaper in JB.

They will squeeze you for more money ...the UMNO politicians have insatiable greed.

PAP is one up; they are able to project that everything they do is for the country. And 60 percent of sinkees believe this lie.

I can rob a bank or rape a woman and claim that I did it for my country too. :rolleyes:

Sinkies love to make comments about things they are clueless about.

1) This is "much ado about nothing"... with Menteri Besar losing his seat, surely they must be smart enough to "say" something to appease the voters wouldn't they?

2) There is already capital gains tax in place

3) The foreigners property purchase threshold of RM500k is still very low and that is the tool they should be using, but they are not. (In Penang the threshold is RM 1m)

4) The existing property tax is outdated and way behind inflation, it is not pegged to market like in Singapore, hence there is a genuine case for raising the property taxes.

IN short this is drumming up "love my citizens" publicity. It is the exact manner Sinkies' govt implement 7 rounds of useless cooling measures to appease some quarters of disgruntled Sinkies. For goodness sake, where on earth do you find people making announcement of "intention" without any concrete plans? It is publicity my friend.

Even if they raise it, it will still be peanuts compared to what you pay in Singapore for your pigeonholes.