Jiuhu company teambuilding..soak in ice for 10mins. 可以吗?

M’sian Company Slammed For Making Staff Bathe In Ice Water For 10 Minutes Straight​

The founder denied accusations that the company was a cult.

Ying Ren Tan
June 20, 2025

msian-company-slammed-for-making-staff-bathe-in-ice-water-for-10-minutes-straight.webp
Cover image via FB/Ngosak BI BI

But one Malaysian company recently sparked public backlash after taking things a step too far.

A viral video showed a woman participating in the company’s team-building activity, which required employees to sit in an ice bucket for 10 minutes to complete the challenge.

Struggling in the ice bath​

In the video, the woman appears visibly uncomfortable, where her lips turned visibly purple and her face grew pale with every passing minute as she trembled uncontrollably.

Despite the clear discomfort, she forced herself to push through while shouting motivational lines like,​

Ice bath team building
But once the challenge ended, her condition took a turn for the worse as she was unable to stand on her feet and went limp.

As this point, her colleagues quickly rushed to pull her out from the icy water and tried to massage her muscles in order to keep her awake.

Company responds to online backlash​

After the video began circulating widely online and sparked criticism, many netizens questioned the safety and ethics of such an extreme activity, especially in a workplace context.

Some even likened the company’s methods to that of a cult.

In response, the company’s founder broke her silence in a Facebook post, denying the accusations and defending the team-building exercise.

Why do we get criticised? Is it because we’re merely a small and medium enterprise (SME)?”
She also stressed that the ice bath challenge was done under professional supervision, and pointed out that many celebrities have participated in similar challenges.

“We’re not a cult. We’re just a group of women who work hard for our dreams. You can laugh at us and criticise all you want, but we will keep working hard for our dreams.”

Netizens’ reaction​

The post has since drawn mixed reactions, with some defending the founder’s intentions, while others continue to question the necessity and safety of such extreme methods in a corporate setting.

“Sorry, I don’t mean to be salty, but how does sitting in ice water for 10 minutes count as breaking through your limits? Why not sit in a sewage pool then?”

Comment on ice bath team building (1)
“So now anyone who wants to be successful just needs to dip in ice (water) to have a breakthrough?”

Comment on ice bath team building (2)
“They told you to be yourself, not torture yourself.”

Comment on ice bath team building (3)
Watch

That's why malays avoid working for Chinese companies. They soak in freezing waters wearing t shirts. If other companies, it would be in bikinis.if german or Japanese, totally nude.

KNN I attended a SAT SIA team building last time. They made us wake up at 4am to prepare breakfast and serve the team by rotating the team.
After that they tied us up as amoeba.
You know those girls were in fbt and my kkj cannot take it and teared up when it rubbed against some karchngs :eek::roflmao:

After it ended, I complaint abt the forceful waking up and the girls complaint about their modesty being compromised.
After that my company banned this sia team building shit for the rest of the staffs .

Company insurance got cover deliberate negligence ? lol

That’s like me sending my company folks to Iran for a team building and hope insurance covers all mishaps.

That's why malays avoid working for Chinese companies. They soak in freezing waters wearing t shirts. If other companies, it would be in bikinis.if german or Japanese, totally nude.
At Sunway Lagoon in KL, I have witnessed lifeguards chase women of other races for wearing T-shirts, tights and shorts out of the water, but not Malay women who routinely wear long sleeve T-shirts and track pants while swimming in the water park. Why?

Ice cold wet T-shirt contest ah? Want to see erected nipples also not like that lah :coffee::coffee::coffee:

KNN I attended a SAT SIA team building last time. They made us wake up at 4am to prepare breakfast and serve the team by rotating the team.
You know those girls were in fbt and my kkj cannot take it and teared up when it rubbed against some karchngs :eek::roflmao:

After it ended, I complaint abt the forceful waking up and the girls complaint about their modesty being compromised.
After that my company banned this sia team building shit for the rest of the staffs .
What..

Sounds more like a treatment for erectile dysfunction leh.:biggrin: