• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Jiuhu Chink DPM Supports Female Genital Mutilation Because Of Religion! Says FGM Is Part Of Jiuhu Culture! Jiuhukia Not Niggers, Ok?

U2Reflect

20181112_WAWI_02.JPG

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 15 — Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail today maintained the assertion of the Women, Family and Community Development Ministry she heads that female circumcision is a cultural practice in Malaysia.

She rejected comparisons with female circumcision as practised elsewhere, especially those in African nations that have been globally condemned as female genital mutilation (FGM).

“That one, we are in discussions with the Ministry of Health, because so far, it is actually something that is cultural.

“We’ve had this since before, and this is one of the things they actually say that we’re not the same. The African, all the mutilation thing, but we will discuss and look at it. If it doesn’t give any benefit, then we should do something,” Dr Wan Azizah, who is also deputy prime minister, told reporters in Parliament.

She was referring to the explanation given by Malaysian officials to delegates at the United Nations Periodic Review recently, defending the practice.

At the November 9 meeting, ministry officials denied the country practised FGM, while defending infant female circumcision as “a cultural obligation”, after delegations from other countries raised questions on the issue.

The denial came even after Malaysia was heavily criticised in February by Muslim-majority committee members at the 69th session of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (Cedaw) for allowing the harmful practice of FGM, Suhakam said.

The practice is now viewed as un-Islamic even by some Muslim countries, the commission pointed out.

Female circumcision is considered FGM by the UN World Health Organisation, but Muslim groups disagree with this.

In Malaysia, the most prevalent form of FGM among Muslims is Type I, where midwives or doctors remove the clitoral hood, usually when the girls are still infants or children. Some practise Type IV, a ritual form that includes pricking or nicking the genitals.

After the denial, the National Human Rights Commission Malaysia (Suhakam) issued a scathing statement criticising the ministry, accusing Putrajaya of misleading the United Nations Periodic Review about the practice of female circumcision in the country, categorised as FGM worldwide.

The commission said the representative from the Ministry of Women, Family and Community gave an “unconvincing and misleading” explanation when she defended the practice before the international community in Geneva, Switzerland.

Suhakam added that the move could potentially damage the country’s global standing on the issue of women’s rights.

https://www.malaymail.com/s/1693777...circumcision-not-mutilation-says-its-cultural

wah! u like big shot. can tell DPm of malaysia what to do.
U very smart n big shot. U sinkie minister, must be lah.

Hypocrite-The

Skip to main content
Toggle navigationThe New PaperSearch The New Paper

POPULAR

WORLD
Female genital mutilation part of Malaysian culture: Government
NP_20181116_BORROW16_4419016.jpg
Malaysian Deputy Prime Minister Wan Azizah Wan Ismail. PHOTO: AFP
Nov 16, 2018 06:00 am
  • 119Engagements

KUALA LUMPUR Putrajaya has reaffirmed its stand that female genital mutilation (FGM) is part of Malaysian culture.
The statement came following a flare-up last Friday, when Malaysian delegates to the Universal Periodic Review on human rights in Geneva, Switzerland, defended the practice of infant female circumcision as a "cultural obligation" in Malaysia.
The Malaysian Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) lambasted Putrajaya for making what it said were "misleading statements" that FGM was part of Malaysian culture.
However, in affirming the government's stand, Deputy Prime Minister Wan Azizah Wan Ismail said FGM here was unlike that practised in some African countries.
"But we are not the same as Africa, all the mutilation (there)," she told reporters at Parliament yesterday.

ADVERTISEMENT

Dr Wan Azizah, who is also the Women, Family and Community Development Minister, added that her ministry would look into the issue and discuss it.

WORLD
Pence: No more broken promises on denuclearisation
Nov 16, 2018
"If it doesn't give any benefit, then we should do something," she said.
In criticising the government's stand on the issue, Suhakam chairman Razali Ismail had said it was inaccurate to describe FGM as a Malaysian cultural practice and this had the potential of further damaging the country's international standing on human rights.
- THE STAR

Get The New Paper on your phone with the free TNP app. Download from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store now
WORLD

TOP STORIES THIS MONTH

SINGAPORE
Sats officer dies in Spize food poisoning incident
Nov 15, 2018

SPORTS
Singaporean stars shine at ONE: Heart Of The Lion
Nov 10, 2018

SINGAPORE
Sats officer in ICU due to food from Spize
Nov 13, 2018
RECOMMENDED

SPH Digital News Copyright © 2018 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Co. Regn No. 198402868E

Hypocrite-The

I really like this minah MILF...she got potong or not? And wat her mother thinks?

Toggle navigation

Nurul Izzah seen visibly distraught on last day of PKR Congress
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/...hash=0590D2E7F6EF7E45834B190A3F8A99435FE21D84
nurul-izzah1.ashx

PKR vice-president Nurul Izzah Anwar, who retained her post in the party polls, tears up at the PKR Congress on Sunday, Nov 18, 2018

SHAH ALAM: Nurul Izzah Anwar, who was re-elected as PKR vice-president, looked visibly distraught after the results of the PKR polls were announced.
The normally bubbly Permatang Pauh MP looked pensive and appeared to also be tearing up during the concluding session of the three-day PKR National Congress on Sunday (Nov 18)

ADVERTISEMENT
When asked, she said the party should be focused on delivering its manifesto promises but the flawed PKR voting process had strained relations within the party.
"Of course anyone would be distraught. People should be focusing on strengthening our party, I don't like to see us having gone through such a difficult and arduous (voting) process, which is flawed.

"I love my party and I do want everyone to come together more cohesively," she said at the Ideal Convention Centre.
She said as one of the political parties currently in government, PKR had a clear-cut agenda to fulfil its pledges to the people.
"People are expecting a lot from us, so I always take my position that if you can't be that voice of conscience, then what good are you.
"I try my best to remind myself and everyone else of the key concerns," she said.
PKR leaders who have not managed to win a position in the recent polls should still be approached to help the party at large, she added.
"At the end of the day, I hope we can absorb all the leaders who may not necessarily have won this round.
"The party can function as effectively if it utilises the strength of all the leaders – those who won, and those who didn't get the chance to win," she said.
She urged all stakeholders, regardless of whether they hold positions in the party or not, to initiate reforms and to implement them "as soon as possible".
Nurul Izzah was aligned to Rafizi Ramli’s team in the recently concluded PKR party polls.
Rafizi lost the race for deputy president in a close and often fractious fight with incumbent Datuk Seri Azmin Ali.

Related story:
Anwar is officially PKR president, Azmin retains deputy president post (updated)

TAGS / KEYWORDS:Nurul Izzah Anwar , PKR Congress , Vice President

Related News
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/12/28/zuraida-rantau.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=8DA4511CCB71BC6F49C722F6E3FC75E5C72FE526

NATION16 Nov 2018Zuraida: PKR should nominate female candidate for Rantau by-election
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/03/21/nik-nazmi.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=905281C88B0EA33D6147D4201AA213C9D49273D5

NATION16 Nov 2018Time to close ranks after 'colourful' PKR polls, says Nik Nazmi
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/12/03/haniza-talha-daroyah.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=465C51D0B04EF161CECB74B02C3602CBA8DA3BA4

NATION16 Nov 2018Haniza Talha is new PKR Wanita chief
Trending in News
Across The Star Online
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/08/23/ryjtyk.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=C9572831C9EE527BE382C06AD8CD7CB3D3D85430

OTHER SPORT6h agoMalaysian wushu exponents win four gold medals at Taolu World Cup
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/06/40/istock87274873c694a145112original.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=D87E547AEAE865AA4758F102E4AD6288A3E13F48

PUTTING DR G ON THE SPOT8h agoDiabetes and problems in the bedroom
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/08/50/fossil_dpa.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=4DACE2EE849063E39260684D4C9C7B7F2F9B07BC

TECH NEWS11h agoFossil unveils first affordable smartwatch with new power-saving chip
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/02/59/rtjty.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=243A284E67D7050FE2226804902550366121B14C

BADMINTON12h agoJin Wei, Ee Wei-Pearly storm into finals at World Junior Championships
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/22/00/20181117t215725z_1_lynxnpeeag0on_rtroptp_4_socceruefanationsitapor.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=E42B62AEB448C59EFC402AE4102C70E32A698E8E

FOOTBALL14h agoPortugal qualify for Nations League semis with 0-0 draw in Italy
image: https://www.star2.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Walnut-Pecan-Loaf-237x143.jpg

FOOD16h agoCook’s Nook: Amy Beh’s recipes for 3 simple cakes
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/21/51/20181117t214850z_1_lynxnpeeag0o9_rtroptp_4_tennisatpfinals.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=F550ADDEBC961F1E951899EF6C84CA81C35EA864

TENNIS16h agoDjokovic thumps Anderson to set up final clash with Zverev
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/22/32/20181117t211824z_2_lynxnpeeag0jj_rtroptp_4_tennisatpfinals.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=A8C7A9CA0FEF3FEE72F66FA02075F5D61F428CEF

TENNIS16h agoZverev defies boo-boys to stun Federer, sets up Djokovic final
Sponsored Content
Recommended by

ADVERTISEMENT

Recommended Reading
NATION
CM tenure raised at Penang DAP convention
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/04/33/_mg_9765.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=7580777080615792FB045DCCD82DF6B607BA854C

WORLD
Fiery mailboxes and dogs in bags: fleeing California's wildfire
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/11/24/20181118t111659z_1_lynxnpeeah095_rtroptp_4_californiawildfires.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=9158AF41049126CA6C6242C68E107D8604E7EC62

NATION
Azmin’s speech gets delegates’ rapt attention at PKR National Congress
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/08/35/2000_aa3e0123.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=102B4145DABB6058CB8FD557BD37428768F35AD6

NATION
Do your duty without fear of VIPs, Loke tells govt officers
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/09/21/05/19/anthony-loke-aviation-council.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=3B7B073B487B7B08B3CA24B88BAC06AE478B83B8

NATION
Anwar is officially PKR president, Azmin retains deputy president post (updated)
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/07/47/android_e6dad8df-352e-4fb8-b0ee-983da3426414.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=31977E163BB4CD2A5C64406ED6D7B90A0940C2D3

ADVERTISEMENT

• SITE MAP
  • SUBSCRIPTIONS
  • OTHER EDITIONS
  • COMPANY INFO
  • ADVERTISING
  • POLICIES
  • OUR NETWORK SITES
  • SOCIAL MEDIA
Copyright © 1995-2018 Star Media Group Berhad (ROC 10894D)

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p16

p16

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p46

p46

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p61

p61

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p50

p50

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...last-day-of-pkr-congress/#PBijkPFl4iZJpPDB.99

U2Reflect

Skip to main content
Toggle navigationThe New PaperSearch The New Paper

POPULAR

WORLD
Female genital mutilation part of Malaysian culture: Government
NP_20181116_BORROW16_4419016.jpg
Malaysian Deputy Prime Minister Wan Azizah Wan Ismail. PHOTO: AFP
Nov 16, 2018 06:00 am
  • 119Engagements

KUALA LUMPUR Putrajaya has reaffirmed its stand that female genital mutilation (FGM) is part of Malaysian culture.
The statement came following a flare-up last Friday, when Malaysian delegates to the Universal Periodic Review on human rights in Geneva, Switzerland, defended the practice of infant female circumcision as a "cultural obligation" in Malaysia.
The Malaysian Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) lambasted Putrajaya for making what it said were "misleading statements" that FGM was part of Malaysian culture.
However, in affirming the government's stand, Deputy Prime Minister Wan Azizah Wan Ismail said FGM here was unlike that practised in some African countries.
"But we are not the same as Africa, all the mutilation (there)," she told reporters at Parliament yesterday.

ADVERTISEMENT

Dr Wan Azizah, who is also the Women, Family and Community Development Minister, added that her ministry would look into the issue and discuss it.

WORLD
Pence: No more broken promises on denuclearisation
Nov 16, 2018
"If it doesn't give any benefit, then we should do something," she said.
In criticising the government's stand on the issue, Suhakam chairman Razali Ismail had said it was inaccurate to describe FGM as a Malaysian cultural practice and this had the potential of further damaging the country's international standing on human rights.
- THE STAR

Get The New Paper on your phone with the free TNP app. Download from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store now
WORLD

TOP STORIES THIS MONTH

SINGAPORE
Sats officer dies in Spize food poisoning incident
Nov 15, 2018

SPORTS
Singaporean stars shine at ONE: Heart Of The Lion
Nov 10, 2018

SINGAPORE
Sats officer in ICU due to food from Spize
Nov 13, 2018
RECOMMENDED

SPH Digital News Copyright © 2018 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Co. Regn No. 198402868E

eh knnbccb. u can post properly or not. u newspaper man is it. must post whole online paper. only show u so stupid n cannot do things properly. ownself think ownself so smart but actually so stupid. knnbccb.

Hypocrite-The

eh knnbccb. u can post properly or not. u newspaper man is it. must post whole online paper. only show u so stupid n cannot do things properly. ownself think ownself so smart but actually so stupid. knnbccb.
U go get dog fuck. Opps....u already kan ur own mother. So u already know. I never used vulgarities. N u come n curse n swear at me.? I hope yr whole family die miserably. N yr children born without backsides. Fuckein shit..

Semaj2357

Once you make women come on g spot, they just wont leave, even if you beat and cheat them.they become addicted to your prowess,
agree absolutely - moreover, the tongue is mightier than the sword but must standby dental floss :rolleyes:
It is the correct thing to do...all muslims are not allowed to enjoy themselves.
apart from rendang, bandung, sambal goreng etc, there's a need for injection daging "wants"-in-awhile :inlove:

U2Reflect

U go get dog fuck. Opps....u already kan ur own mother. So u already know. I never used vulgarities. N u come n curse n swear at me.? I hope yr whole family die miserably. N yr children born without backsides. Fuckein shit..

I no good u also no good. U happy scold other people but u no like other people scold u.
C the way u post show u true self like what. want to talk bad about others, must also accept other people do on you.

Hypocrite-The

Skip to main content
NEWS
link
Search
More from ABC
Home
Just In
Politics
World
Analysis & Opinion
Business
Sport
Science
Health
Arts
Live Streams
Video
Photos
Entertainment
Upload
Subscribe
Rural
More >
NEWS HOME
Female genital mutilation law voided and charges against doctors dropped by US judge
ABOUT 10 HOURS AGO
Email Facebook Twitter WhatsApp
a woman with glasses and blue headwear looks at the camera
PHOTO Dr Jumana Nagarwala performed the procedure on nine girls from Michigan.
SUPPLIED
A federal judge in Detroit has declared a law banning female genital mutilation unconstitutional and dismissed charges against two doctors, in the first US criminal case of its kind.

District Judge Bernard Friedman said US Congress lacked authority under the Commerce Clause to adopt the 1996 law, and that the power to outlaw female genital mutilation (FGM), belonged to individual states.

"As despicable as this practice may be, it is essentially a criminal assault," Mr Friedman wrote.

"FGM is not part of a larger market and it has no demonstrated effect on interstate commerce. The Commerce Clause does not permit Congress to regulate a crime of this nature."
A spokeswoman for US Attorney Matthew Schneider in Detroit said the office would review the decision before deciding whether to appeal.

The decision removed the main charges against Jumana Nagarwala, a doctor who performed the procedure on nine girls from Michigan, Illinois and Minnesota at another doctor's clinic in the Detroit suburb of Livonia.

Female genital mutilation is a religious custom performed on girls from her Muslim sect, the Dawoodi Bohra.

Four of the eight defendants were dismissed from the case, including three of the four mothers accused of subjecting their daughters to FGM.

The Government said one girl, aged seven, had told investigators she and another girl had been taken to Detroit for what they thought was a "special girls' trip", and was told not to discuss the FGM procedure after it was completed.

"We are very excited about today's ruling, although the victory is bittersweet given we fully anticipated our client to be vindicated at trial on those charges," Molly Blythe, a lawyer for Dr Nagarwala, said in an email.

FGM typically involves the partial or total removal of the clitoris.

It is a common practice in many northern and central African countries including Egypt, Ethiopia, Somalia and Sudan, but several international treaties forbid it.

It is banned in 27 US states, according to civil rights groups. Michigan joined the list last year.

The World Health Organisation estimates more than 200 million girls and women alive today have undergone FGM.

Dr Nagarwala pleaded not guilty last month to the two remaining charges she faces. Those charges are obstructing an official proceeding, and conspiracy to travel with intent to engage in illicit sexual conduct.

Reuters/ABC

SHAREEmail Facebook Twitter WhatsApp
RELATED
Female circumcision: Culture and religion in Malaysia see millions of girls undergo cut
Female genital mutilation test case trio acquitted after 'undisputed' new evidence
Parents plead not guilty in Queensland's first female genital mutilation criminal trial
Top Stories

Released Bali Nine drug smuggler Renae Lawrence flying home to Australia

Labor to adopt Turnbull's energy policy and throw billions at renewables

Australia beats India in the opening T20 international, breaking a four-game losing streak

Father of baby girl found dead on Gold Coast beach extradited to NSW

What is Advance Australia, the new conservative lobby group taking on Get Up!
British academic sentenced to life in prison after arrest in Dubai for 'spying'
Australia faces rate rises within two years if wages growth lifts: OECD
Interpol snubs Russia for US-backed Kim Jong-yang
Teens die in collision with teacher from their school on SA country road
Man found guilty of manslaughter of heart surgeon in one-punch attack
'It's tantamount to stealing timber from public forests': The 'theft' of Australia's forests revealed
Is there a difference between Hillary Clinton and Ivanka Trump's use of personal emails accounts?
Muslim leaders boycotting Bourke St terror attack meeting, PM says
Venus Williams settles lawsuit with family of 78-year-old who died in fatal crash
'Alarming' number of women forced to move out of the Gatwick for The Block are now in jail
Teacher abused student's 'caring nature' to have sex in car park
'They're not quite right': New Zealand blames Australia for All Blacks' recent struggles
'He was almost legless': How Bob Hawke and a bottle of brandy saved Sinatra from tour disaster
Female genital mutilation law declared unconstitutional and voided by US judge
Why do we cancel passports for terror suspects — and not just let them leave?
Remuneration breakdown: CBA handed out executive bonuses as scandals mounted
Taylor Swift's massive record deal proves her power … once again
'Arsehole' geese go viral after ruffling feathers on farm
MORE FROM ABC NEWS
HomeJust InPoliticsWorldAnalysis & OpinionBusinessSportScienceHealthArtsLive StreamsVideoPhotosEntertainmentUploadSubscribeRuralMore >
Top of page
Change to standard view
ABC NewsJust InWorldBusinessHealthEntertainmentSportAnalysis & OpinionWeatherTopicsArchiveCorrections & Clarifications
Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAccessibilityContact the ABC© 2018 ABC

Hypocrite-The

Skip to main content
NEWS
link
Search
More from ABC
Home
Just In
Politics
World
Analysis & Opinion
Business
Sport
Science
Health
Arts
Live Streams
Video
Photos
Entertainment
Upload
Subscribe
Rural
More >
NEWS HOME
Female circumcision: Culture and religion in Malaysia see millions of girls undergo cut
BY ERWIN RENALDI
UPDATED TUE 13 NOV 2018, 12:50 PM AEDT
Email Facebook Twitter WhatsApp
A photo of a woman smiling to camera
PHOTO Fa Abdul started questioning the female circumcision practice when she was 30 years old
SUPPLIED
Fa Abdul was nine years old when she found out she had been circumcised when she was just a baby.

Key Points
A 2012 study found 93 per cent of Muslim women in Malaysia have been circumcised
Female circumcision is not prescribed in the Koran or Hadiths, women's advocates say
One mother says Malaysia's culture and society "expected us to do it"
She was among the millions of girls across Malaysia whose families believe that female circumcision protects young girls from committing "sins".

"Many Muslims in Malaysia will tell you that circumcision will protect girls from growing up and becoming wild," Ms Abdul said.

Ms Abdul spoke to the ABC about her experience after a new documentary — titled The Hidden Cut — was released last week.

Chen Yih Wen, a senior producer from the group behind the documentary R.AGE, said the team started making the documentary after Malaysia was criticised at a United Nations forum in February.

The UN's Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women, held in Switzerland, slammed the country over continuing to practice female circumcision, or female genital mutilation.

The documentary makers discovered that the procedures are widely performed in private clinics and are not regulated.

"The Government said they were developing guidelines in 2012, but none of the medical practitioners that we interviewed said they received it," Ms Wen said.

Ms Abdul — who is a journalist and works at online news publication Malaysiakini — gave birth to her first child, a girl, at the age of 20.

'You just follow and stop asking questions'

YOUTUBE:
The Hidden Cut Documentary
Due to religious and family pressure, her daughter was subjected to female circumcision.

"The doctor pulled away the labia and used something that looked like a needle to slit the clitoral hood," she said.

"A [flow] of blood came out and then my daughter started crying."
A decade later, Ms Abdul's viewpoint on female circumcision changed dramatically, after she found out that there was no medical benefit and that it was simply a religious ordain.

"We were already born into the culture and that society expected us to do it," she said.

"Doing it becomes automatic, you just follow and stop asking questions.

"I was young and naive and I actually didn't know what I was doing — the question I asked myself was: 'if it's pointless, then why do we do it?'"

'We are confusing it with Islam'
A group of women seeing a baby sleeping
PHOTO There are several cultural dimensions of pregnancy, birth, and post-natal care in Malaysia.

FLICKR, TAQIRUMI
A women's rights group based in Kuala Lumpur — called Sisters of Islam — told the ABC that female circumcision is widely accepted in Malaysia because of a rising conservative movement.

In countries where Islam is the majority religion, according to Sisters of Islam, there is a tendency to "Islamise everything".

"People have fear to question the practice, as if they are questioning God," Syarifatul Adibah, a senior program officer from Sisters of Islam, said.

"[Female circumcision] is not prescribed by the Koran or the Hadiths [a collection of Prophet Muhammad's sayings]," Ms Adibah added.

"But when they consider something as a religious ordain or fatwa, then it's hard for people to really challenge and debate the issue."
In 2009, the National Council of Islamic Religious Affairs (JAKIM) in Malaysia ruled that female circumcision became obligatory, moving from recommended, but if harmful must be avoided.

As result, three years later, a study conducted by Dr Maznah Dahlui from Department of Social and Preventive Medicine University of Malaya discovered that 93 per cent of Muslim women surveyed had been circumcised.

More than 80 per cent of respondents said religious obligations were behind the reason, while 16 per cent said to control sexual drives.

A group of Muslim women wearing head scarves in a store
PHOTO Ms Abdul said it is taboo not to have a circumcision for many Muslim women.

REUTERS: NYIMAS LAULA, FILE
Ms Abdul said that society often does a lot of things that copies behaviours from African and Arab countries and defend it as having a religious origin.

"We are confusing it with Islam and we think whatever they do is Islamic," she said.

She also said regardless religion or cultural tradition, parents have no rights to do whatever they wish to do to their children.

"Not only women, but every human being has the right to their own body," she said.

The ABC contacted Malaysia's Ministry of Health, Islamic Medical Association of Malaysia, and Penang Medical College, but they did not respond to requests for comment.

POSTED TUE 13 NOV 2018, 6:12 AM AEDT
SHAREEmail Facebook Twitter WhatsApp
RELATED
Parents plead not guilty in Queensland's first female genital mutilation criminal trial
Female genital mutilation survivor says Australian health system is 'endangering women'
Why are Australian men no longer getting circumcised?
Top Stories

Released Bali Nine drug smuggler Renae Lawrence flying home to Australia

Labor to adopt Turnbull's energy policy and throw billions at renewables

Australia beats India in the opening T20 international, breaking a four-game losing streak

Father of baby girl found dead on Gold Coast beach extradited to NSW

What is Advance Australia, the new conservative lobby group taking on Get Up!
British academic sentenced to life in prison after arrest in Dubai for 'spying'
Australia faces rate rises within two years if wages growth lifts: OECD
Interpol snubs Russia for US-backed Kim Jong-yang
Teens die in collision with teacher from their school on SA country road
Man found guilty of manslaughter of heart surgeon in one-punch attack
'It's tantamount to stealing timber from public forests': The 'theft' of Australia's forests revealed
Is there a difference between Hillary Clinton and Ivanka Trump's use of personal emails accounts?
Muslim leaders boycotting Bourke St terror attack meeting, PM says
Venus Williams settles lawsuit with family of 78-year-old who died in fatal crash
'Alarming' number of women forced to move out of the Gatwick for The Block are now in jail
Teacher abused student's 'caring nature' to have sex in car park
'They're not quite right': New Zealand blames Australia for All Blacks' recent struggles
'He was almost legless': How Bob Hawke and a bottle of brandy saved Sinatra from tour disaster
Female genital mutilation law declared unconstitutional and voided by US judge
Why do we cancel passports for terror suspects — and not just let them leave?
Remuneration breakdown: CBA handed out executive bonuses as scandals mounted
Taylor Swift's massive record deal proves her power … once again
'Arsehole' geese go viral after ruffling feathers on farm
MORE FROM ABC NEWS
HomeJust InPoliticsWorldAnalysis & OpinionBusinessSportScienceHealthArtsLive StreamsVideoPhotosEntertainmentUploadSubscribeRuralMore >
Top of page
Change to standard view
ABC NewsJust InWorldBusinessHealthEntertainmentSportAnalysis & OpinionWeatherTopicsArchiveCorrections & Clarifications
Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyAccessibilityContact the ABC© 2018 ABC