• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It's not easy being a cabby - letter from Steve Wang

• Thread starter Thread starter Yip Hon
  • Start date Start date
No kidding man. If u dun have simple things like dental or medical benefits, it will eat into your income quite a bit. Nowadays see a doc for flu easily $30 liao! If you kana dental, kiss goodbye to $400-500. One crown setting alone cost $1,000.

No wonder Krafty such a cheebye. Think we need to go easy on him.

Cb,cooleo,talk bad abt me again
No kidding man. If u dun have simple things like dental or medical benefits, it will eat into your income quite a bit. Nowadays see a doc for flu easily $30 liao! If you kana dental, kiss goodbye to $400-500. One crown setting alone cost $1,000.

No wonder Krafty such a cheebye. Think we need to go easy on him.

:oIo::oIo:

Being a President is like taking on another hobby!

1. aiyoh!
2. to get a hobby is doing something leh.
3. looking at the fat arse, doing nothing mah.
4. except wacking its tail between both legs upon the arrival of its masters.

1. aiyoh!
2. to get a hobby is doing something leh.
3. looking at the fat arse, doing nothing mah.ai
4. except wacking its tail between both legs upon the arrival of its masters.

He already tell you he has done is invisible, inmeasurable work, over the many years. His only visible work, is to kiss baby, write books, grace charity event..go overseas once in while...receive guests from overseas etc..

I find this hard to believe the cabby can only recover costs after driving for five hours. Is it true? Take $150 as rental. Maybe $50 (I don't know how much) for fuel. That is $200.

So taxi driver drive for five hours, the fare they collect is only $200?? Sure or not?

Why not sure? You have hard numbers to prove otherwise?

A simple estimate will test the reasonableness of his numbers. If you earn $4,000 per month which is about the average income of Singaporeans, and assuming you work 21 days per month and 8 hours per day, you earn $23.81 per hour or $119.05 in 5 hours.

Before u open your big mouth, use your brain to think first.

A simple estimate will test the reasonableness of his numbers. If you earn $4,000 per month which is about the average income of Singaporeans, and assuming you work 21 days per month and 8 hours per day, you earn $23.81 per hour or $119.05 in 5 hours.

1. bro, 5 thumbs up!
2. driving cab is some honest living.
3. just imagine behind the wheels at least 12 hrs per day coupled with today's traffic.
4. if its income is so good then sheepishland would have thousands of millionaire cab drivers.

===

4K is the avg wage? Before or after CPF.....KNN, i earning way less ...means i am fucked up...:(

It's not easy being a cabby

Letter from Steve Wang 04:45 AM Jul 19, 2011

I REFER to the recent letters criticising errant taxi drivers who refuse to pick up passengers on the street.

I am a taxi driver, in my mid-30s, and was previously a manager. I have been driving for two years and to my surprise, it is not as easy a job as I thought it was - I used to picture being a taxi driver as carefree and with no deadlines to meet.

First, the rental for the taxi varies from S$80 to S$130 a day excluding GST and fuel charges. In all, we need to pay about S$110 to S$150 a day to the company before we can start earning for ourselves.

We need to drive for five hours just to cover the rent and fuel; we make our revenue in the subsequent hours. Furthermore, fuel prices are on the rise.

Sometimes passengers who make a booking simply jump into another cab without considering that the cabby they have called has had to rush to pick them up. Certain companies also levy a charge of 50 cents on the driver once he has accepted the booking.

Being self employed, we do not have CPF savings or health insurance. Thus we need to drive about 12 to 14 hours a day.

Critics should put themselves in our shoes and try being a cabby.

I would urge the relevant authorities or taxi companies to bar passengers who consistently fail to show up after calling for a cab.

This is called REAL LIFE and you seems to start living in it. ANd why human beings behave like that? that is because you are in a country of sinkies, that is how they behave.

so how, suck thumb? or you do something about it? You rent something from a company that you dare not go against and only bend down to let them screw, so you totally deserve it.

You cock up, before reply, read properly, the numbers came from Steve Wang, the cabby himself.

And you have no logic, how do you equate $4000 with the earnings of a cabby?

Back to the original question, Steve Wang the cabby said he can only recover costs after driving for five hours. He said his costs are $150 for rental and fuel.

In other words, Steve said he makes only $200 + fuel after driving for five hours. Is that true?

You cock up, before reply, read properly, the numbers came from Steve Wang, the cabby himself.

And you have no logic, how do you equate $4000 with the earnings of a cabby?

Back to the original question, Steve Wang the cabby said he can only recover costs after driving for five hours. He said his costs are $150 for rental and fuel.

In other words, Steve said he makes only $200 + fuel after driving for five hours. Is that true?

==

I did some rough calculations...assume he pick a fare go airport from west...20 dollars taxi fare - journey 20 min. Assume, one hour, he has 2 fares of 20 dollars = 40 dollars.

he cram in 12 hour shifts - that will rein in 480 before all costs. 150 for rentals and fuel = leaving him 330

per hour basis, he earn about 27.5, so 5 hours he will earn = 140 thereabouts.

For that matter, it is not easy being in any professional. Everybody got their own unique headache/problem in life. If you have a useful skill and are not terribly lazy, you can make your 3 square meal a day living.

overall, driving cab is not easy but see how you see lor... pple say drive everyday is like working everyday, me see it as everyday go jiak hong...:D:p

just last month, a taiwanese lady wants to invite me to see wan fang concert in my cab...whoa...but i dun want! steady hor?:cool:
then, another day, i tok cock with a sq girl, after she know my intention, she called me uncle, i was heart broken...:o

:D:D:D

Drive cab $4,000 a month without medical and dental benefits; no annual leave; no bonus; no career progression; no wage adjustment and must drive whole day is damn cuiz!

TAXI DRIVERs CANNOT ASK FOR HIGHER FARE INCREASE

BUT PLAGUE WITH EVER INCREASING :

a) Diesel Prices

b) Taxi Rental

c) Medical and Dental

d) Customers Complaints

Agreed with you bro , therefore you see what this creative taxi

driver does ? ? ? . I hope it is Not Steve Wang

Taxi driver drives at 150km/h
Lianhe Wanbao - 22 mins ago

A man claims that his taxi driver drove at 150km/h in the KPE. (Pic / STOMP)

A taxi driver thought he was an F1 driver when he raced from Marina Bay Sands to Paris Ris in 13 minutes flat.

STOMPer Lean feared for his wife and himself when his cab driver sped at 150km/h on the KPE.

Google Maps states the distance from Marina Bay Sands to Pasir Ris via the KPE as 21km, which should take an average of 21 minutes.

According to the receipt provided by STOMPer Lean, he was picked up by the cab at 12.06am, and reached his destination at 12.19am. The 18.5km trip took only 13 minutes.

The STOMPer recounts:

"My wife and I took a cab from MBS and arrived at Pasir Ris in a whopping 13 minutes! We had a ride of our lifetime.

"The cabby drove at almost 150km/h inside the KPE tunnel, only slowing down twice to 80km/h as we approached the speed camera.

"Why is this kind of dangerous driving allowed?"

Netizens have had varying responses to Lean's post.

Crappist1 said that if the driver drove at 150km/h, he should have reached in 8 to 10 minutes, not 13 minutes like Lean claimed.

Thejustice commented that he found it highly unbelievable that a car could travel at 150km/h in the KPE.

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....m-h-...-went-from-MBS-to-Pasir-Ris-in-13-mins!

fare cannot increase already, even angmo tell me that taxi fare very expensive.

the baove story stated that the cabby sped at 150km/hr in KPE, very unbelievable. do you all know how many cameras in kpe tunnel or not??? if really like that, it may seem that whole tunnel is flashing,tio bor?

Hmm... agreed.

Maybe Lianhe Wanbao is trying to say that

there are many potential F 1 drivers in the

taxi industry ... :confused::confused::confused:

Bros , sad to say : how many cabbies in

singapore can drive 12 to 15 hours a day ???

For that matter, it is not easy being in any professional. Everybody got their own unique headache/problem in life. If you have a useful skill and are not terribly lazy, you can make your 3 square meal a day living.

1. bro, no doubt about it.
2. there is one fat arse on sheepishland receiving 4 mil doing nothing.
3. hyper lazy, fat and useless.
4. what 3 meals! he has all the meals he instructs!
5. what headache!