• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It takes 28 minutes for Changi Airport authorities to respond to unattended luggage r

Posted on 01 Nov 2010
It takes 28 minutes for Changi Airport authorities to respond to unattended luggage report

it_takes_28_minutes_for_changi_airport_authorities_to_respond-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
72%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
1%

LOL!
1%

So sad
0%

Sure or not?
4%

Bochup
22%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
<IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM-STYLE: none; BORDER-RIGHT-STYLE: none; WIDTH: 450px; BORDER-TOP-STYLE: none; HEIGHT: 35px; BORDER-LEFT-STYLE: none; OVERFLOW: hidden" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/got_service_or_not/485912/it_takes_28_minutes_for_changi_airport_authorities_to_respond.html&layout=standard&show_faces=false&width=450&action=like&font=verdana&colorscheme=light&height=35" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>STOMPer Wendy immediately reported a threat to airport staff when shespotted unattended luggage in busy T3 at Changi Airport. To her dismay, nothing was done about the unclaimed baggage until almost half an hour later.

Thousands of people could have been placed in danger because staff took such a long time to respond to the potential security threat.

It is surprising that this could happen with the global emphasis on airport security today, she says.

Wendy says:

"In the face of airport security threats experienced worldwide these days, one would expect Changi Airport to take security issues seriously.

"This afternoon, at Terminal three in Changi, I noticed two luggage bags left unattended against the pillar in front of the elevators near row four.

"We reported them to a member of staff stationed between rows three and four at 3:20pm.

"We did not see any action taken after 15 minutes and so we went up to the customer service counter to report the matter again, showing them the photos I took.

"Finally at 3:38pm, a female airport police staff member went up to the luggage. However, she simply stood nearby against the glass railing.

"In the mean time, tens of people continued using the lifts less than 10 steps away and people were walking right by the suspicious luggage.

"Finally, only at 3:48pm did three security guards appear to check on the luggage.

"Why did CAAS (Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore) take 28 minutes to respond?

"Why were people allowed to be within steps of a potential threat?".

Re: It takes 28 minutes for Changi Airport authorities to respond to unattended lugga

Singapore Changi Airport made so much
revenue but cut back on staff and crew .

Underpaid and over-worked .

Re: It takes 28 minutes for Changi Airport authorities to respond to unattended lugga

I think what took place was the relevant chaps were attending to several other similar cases. They have to prioritise. Remember, we are world class! That's why 28 minutes. At least better late than never.

The person reporting the unattended luggage must be crazy to expect it to be removed immediately. Which S$1,000 - 2,000 p.m. civilian staff dare touch it? Information and instruction go round and round through higher supervisors and managers, police and bomb disposal unit etc. until someone ranking makes a decision and gives an order and instruction.

That's how easy it is for a terrorist attack in S'pore. By the time an order is given, after tai chi and tai chi, a bloody explosion would have taken place. We are that vulnerable.

The hunter always have the advantage over the hunted. I think Shanmugam, in one his recent interviews, boasted that despite being a prized target, we this and that................ Not wise to challenge terrorists this way. May have to makan what he said.

That's how easy it is for a terrorist attack in S'pore. By the time an order is given, after tai chi and tai chi, a bloody explosion would have taken place. We are that vulnerable.

The hunter always have the advantage over the hunted. I think Shanmugam, in one his recent interviews, boasted that despite being a prized target, we this and that................ Not wise to challenge terrorists this way. May have to makan what he said.

What do you suggest then? Activate SOC and BDU and evacuate passengers immediately at every instance? That'd paralyse the entire airport for hours if terrorists play along and just leave luggages (no need to be explosives) here and there and walk off smiling and smirking. I know it's not ideal. That's why I ask, what do you suggest then?

Mr Ramseth, you ok bo? I merely said our leaders, especially Shanmugam should not go about boasting that despite being a prized target, we have not been hit coz if they want to hit us, it is not difficult.

I don't recall mentioning activating SOC and BDU, evacuating passengers etc. You completely misread me.

if really kaboom our minster will still say due to their fast react whatever bullshit plan casualty and death was minimised

Mr Ramseth, you ok bo? I merely said our leaders, especially Shanmugam should not go about boasting that despite being a prized target, we have not been hit coz if they want to hit us, it is not difficult.

I don't recall mentioning activating SOC and BDU, evacuating passengers etc. You completely misread me.

OK OK, I'm merely pointing at the practicality.

Yes, don't go boasting when you can't do it.

i told him to takecare of his eyesight if he wants to stay handsome ..until now he still never listen ...:D

OK OK, I'm merely pointing at the practicality.

Yes, don't go boasting when you can't do it.

brother ...remember stay handsome also my takecare your eyesight ...eat more carrots ok ? :D

White carrot count or not? Chai tao kway. :D

Breakfast time coming.

White carrot count or not? Chai tao kway. :D

Breakfast time coming.

wowlau ...dont make me buay tahan leh . chai tao kway is my favourite morning breakfast ..almost every morning i eat rice ....sibuay sian . :mad:

May I have the honour of ta poaing a packet of chye tow kueh and DHL to you this morning? Black/white, prawn/no prawn, chilli/no chilli?

It is the amount of money one gets for doing the job, it is the pride of doing that job, sense of reponsiblity & belonging; not to mention loyalty.

All these are absent, when you outsource & employ FT's and to add this is not their country & they do not have to defend it.

'They' might as well remove the annoying annoucement..." if you see any suspicious articles....' of course this is for the trains, but the airport, etc applies.

The person reporting had that common courtest & public-spiritdness to make a report..alas WKS opps! I forgot change person now people, are once again sleeping...who is not have the spurs now?

:rolleyes:

I wonder which dumb terrorist would think that the airport is a juicy crowded target at 3pm in the afternoon. Not the best time of day if you want the most damage. Curiously, the STOMPER forgot to complain about the many ungracious and inconsiderate passers-by who didn't bother to report the unattended luggage.

How many Sinkies are bothered by anything unless it benefits them directly in the current generations ? Many are not risk takers nor public spirited for that matter.

28 minutes spells "Danger"! Where are those guys behind the CCTVs n those patrolling security?

Maybe if the Stomper had reported a theft in progress, the response would have been faster :confused: