• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is this Canadian Doctor for Real - Type 2 Diabetes is Reversible?

asenmaga

I am sorry to say , have you taken a look what food choices did the doctor recommended to his diabetic patients including the dietitian , You see many of them recommending Oats .
Why not you try it out for yourself , try taking a bowl of Oats , try steel cut and test your BG after eating and see what kind of response it do to your blood glucose even for a metabolic healthy person like you ?
Yes some who have very good metabolic health will handle it without a problem keeping the peak at 120mg , so do you know how your body response is ?

My doctor friend recommends a mediterranean diet to keep my blood sugar in check. I try to stick to it as often as I can.

98d940650d73b482cde7afdb8524acd2.jpg

nayr69sg

Staff member
See what I mean?

There are also countless videos online about how to quit and beat smoking.

Imagine you kena a passionate dr preach to you to stop smoking. Watch this video. Take this supplement. Do meditation. Acupressure. Acupuncture. Share support group.

In your mind "hey doc I didnt come to you to ask how to quit smoking lah......."

Sian ji bua

https://sphweb.bumc.bu.edu/otlt/mph...changetheories/behavioralchangetheories6.html

Not everyone is at the right stage for a particular change to take effect. Not to mention the details of HOW. Some passionate people who have quit smoking will say basket why the drs dont go share with every patient who smoke all these wonderful ways to quit smoking!

Stages of Change.png

See what I mean?

There are also countless videos online about how to quit and beat smoking.

Imagine you kena a passionate dr preach to you to stop smoking. Watch this video. Take this supplement. Do meditation. Acupressure. Acupuncture. Share support group.

In your mind "hey doc I didnt come to you to ask how to quit smoking lah......."

Sian ji bua

https://sphweb.bumc.bu.edu/otlt/mph...changetheories/behavioralchangetheories6.html

Not everyone is at the right stage for a particular change to take effect. Not to mention the details of HOW. Some passionate people who have quit smoking will say basket why the drs dont go share with every patient who smoke all these wonderful ways to quit smoking!

View attachment 124841
my doc friend has asked me so many times to quit liao. And I always say : I will, eventually. But not yet.

Thanks for sharing the model. According to it, I am at the Non-contemplation stage. It precedes the Precomtemplation stage. :biggrin:

nayr69sg

Staff member
my doc friend has asked me so many times to quit liao. And I always say : I will, eventually. But not yet.

Thanks for sharing the model. According to it, I am at the Non-contemplation stage. It precedes the Precomtemplation stage. :biggrin:

Correct. During my training in Fam Med residency we did this role playing model stuff many many many times.

And we were taught to stage the patient. If they are in the Pre-contemplation stage (there is no non contemplation stage LOL!) do not proceed further. Doing so causes resentment and hurts the cause. Just offer to say if you ever want to talk more about it I am here.

I agree. So this is not about what is right or wrong. what should be or should not be. In the end it is up to the patient. What they want. Dr is there to help and provide info etc. - usually in contemplation stage.

When later ready to take action then we actually talk about what to do in more detail.

Correct. During my training in Fam Med residency we did this role playing model stuff many many many times.

And we were taught to stage the patient. If they are in the Pre-contemplation stage (there is no non contemplation stage LOL!) do not proceed further. Doing so causes resentment and hurts the cause. Just offer to say if you ever want to talk more about it I am here.

I agree. So this is not about what is right or wrong. what should be or should not be. In the end it is up to the patient. What they want. Dr is there to help and provide info etc. - usually in contemplation stage.

When later ready to take action then we actually talk about what to do in more detail.
so back to patient autonomy.:biggrin:

nayr69sg

Staff member
so back to patient autonomy.:biggrin:
Of course! It is the hallmark of medical practice.

Seriously NO ONE WILL DARE REFUTE this patient autonomy stuff in this day and age.

Which is why even with covid vaccine they cannot mandate PATIENTS take it.

They can do all kinds of other ways. But in the end they will say IS UP TO YOU.

Even those nurses and Drs told they will be struck off cannot work.....IT IS UP TO YOU. LOL!

asenmaga

Thanks for sharing @asenmaga

Just a quick suggestion with regard to monitoring your kidneys. Might be good to add the urine microalbumin: creatinine ratio 6 monthly to your regime as well. It is different from doing GFR and more sensitive. Not expensive as far as I know.

https://www.kidney.org/content/kidney-failure-risk-factor-urine-albumin-to-creatinine-ration-uacr

Could you also share the cost of the following so that people have something to expect and not think what you are doing is totally free then kpkb to drs..

Cost to expect for

1) fasting plasma glucose
2) HBA1c
3) fasting insulin
4) C Peptide
5) renal function tests
6) lipid screen
7) urine microalbumin: creatinine ratio if you can get the pricing
8) glucometer - and recommend one you use
9) cost of glucometer strips
10) costs of consults with open minded doctor

Thanks.
Hi Sorry for the late reply for this post, as it was my bedtime.
I take a health screening package that consists of Fasting plasma glucose, Hba1c , renal function tests, Lipid Screen, urine microalbumin, creatinine ratio all for SGD 51 inclusive of GST , it comes with a free doctor's consultation.

Fasting Insulin price ranges from 40 to 70 sgd , C peptide 75.
Glucometer...I used Made in China Brand , Sinocare or Sannuo ( in the past used Accu-Chek and also Contour) , my personal opinion this is the best I have used , I have tested my finger prick fasting Blood glucose with my Lab test the difference is very little.

First time purchase of the meter, One whole set including the meter cost about SGD 15-17 with 25 or 50 strips cant remember now off hand.
cost of glucometer strips.. ranges between as low as 0.10 cents to 0.27 cents SGD. I normally buy online, so I try to stock up on sales events like 10.10 etc etc the expiry date is usually two years . ( now the prices have adjusted higher because of increase in shipping cost but I should still be
able to get them around 0.17-.020 cents per strips ).

Blood Ketone Meter, I started using Freestyle Optimum Neo, cant remembered the whole set price which includes the strips. The strips by itself
is SGD 2.70 per strips ( expensive) . Lately I have changed to unknown brand from China. I bought the whole set which is a 3 in 1 meter that test for BG , Blood Ketones and also Uric acid. total price meter plus 50 strips of BG , 15 blood ketone strips for SGD 32.80. The big advantage of this set is their Ketone expiry date is more than 2 years while the Optimum Neo is normally around 6 months if I remembered correctly.
the replacement Ketone Strips works out to be less than SGD 0.70 cents per strips and BG to be around 0.20 cents.
I have tested the BG reading against my other meter they are very close. Didn't have any means to compared the ketone reading as I run out of strips for Optimum neo and unlike to buy anymore.

Open minded doctor consultation....again depending on whether it is a normal GP or specialist..... normal GP - normal GP rate but don't expect him to know more than you in the field that you have researched and of interest, you consult him for potential risk from a mainstream GP. ( I go to one Young Doctor who is working as a GP in one medical group for my fasting insulin, BG and C peptide and sometime C reactive protein . He knows very well that I don't consult him on my "plan" but more to get all this lab test )

The American Doctor who is a strong advocate of food choice, even though he is an oncologist , there are also a whole team of dietitian and other specialist in His Clinic . He put his cancer patient on his own form of "Prolong Mimic fasting diet made famous by Prof Valter Longo. Cost for consultation should be around SGD 150-250.

There is another Clinic , founded by a group of medical professionals who used to work in Government Hospital and holds senior positions in MOH before and also if I am not wrong still lecturing in the University - cost of consultation -150-250 , and if I remembered correctly they stated they will spend about 1 to 2 hours with you. They have nutritional dietitian and also an exercise coach in the team.

As you can see from all the information given here, It clearly implied that I really made an effort to research every aspect that concerned Diabetes and not taken it likely when I decided to take this Journey.

asenmaga

Like I say before, I am sorry you had such feeling, maybe after working too long as a medical practitioner you have been unable to differential between the "nagging " and the reasons why you went into medicine in the first place ( I hope I am not offending you with this statement, but that is the message you are conveying unless I misread you ? )

From reading my first posting , I thought I have clearly layout that this Journey is not for everyone. I have also clearly layout that the Job of the endocrinologist is to help his patient to maintain stable blood glucose in normal range usually thru medications. ( It also implied that if there are other alternative that can maintain stable blood glucose in normal ranges and with acceptable risk why not ? )

The Reasons I have not "push" a certain diet or plan I used, clearly was with intentional as well. It means the ones that really wants to embark on this journey must put an effort in...to search , research and weigh the various pros and cons.. the risk and rewards and whether they are prepare to accept them. If they are "spoon feed" if they meet with any obstacle they might have problem troubleshooting or how to adjust their plan.

Of Course I don't see the side of the medical practitioner because I am not. I am only a T2D who is ever willing to share his experience if it can help any other T2D to better manage his or her condition if they want and is right for their body , I am always happy to be of help .

It also does not mean I have not met other practitioners that are receptive to other methods other than medication as the first step. Many of them are lead investigator in clinical trials but because of MOH guidelines they cannot be that open with their recommendations but in private they are free to express their opinion.

asenmaga

I definitely know what you are saying....so am I wrong to say that they are not open minded ? ( they are afraid of MOH guidelines ?). I shared what I have experienced and You are free to share what your experienced with your patients, the complaints etc etc

Did I insist for you not to share nor did I blame u ? Clearly you sound frustrated as a medical practitioners handling your patients... I thought you went into medicine to help people. Maybe you can consider to switch to less stressful vocation ?

You can see with all my posting, I don't like to "attack" people, but for this post , I have to be a bit more direct with you since you have been from the past postings trying very hard to dictate what I can share and what I cant share ?

If you dont agree with what I posted, there are two options, choose not to read them, the other you are always welcome to put your views across and if I needed to reply I will.

My aim is quite clear, sharing my personal experience and hopefully those who have interest can benefit and try to find their own plan and be successful . I am not here to sell a service or a product to make money. I also don't have a Youtube channel to monetize .

Singapore have been having the campaign of "War Of Diabetes"; have they succeeded or improve the situation by the my "healthy plate" recommendation or the Mediterranean Diet which most main stream doctors like yourself are recommending ? I would love to see the data.

To date I have not met one T2Ds who have gone on Mediterranean Diet that has gone into "remission" , I would love to meet one, to learn more about it and see how i can adapt and be able to practice it too.

Why after many years of "War on Diabetes " we are no where better, could it because most doctors like yourself are not speaking their mind but rather what is supposed to be the MOH guidelines ? If the MOH guidelines is the correct one, should'nt we see tangible results ?

The Social media friends that I have who are T2Ds, at least six of them are all in "remission " ie without medications and yet having Hba1c of below 5.7% all done thru various methods but definitely not by MOH guidelines.

I think You have encountered my debate on CECA with that India Indian who is a SG PR and I have not been offensive to him too. I also only shared what I experienced in the financial sector where I spend a large part of my adult life.

Lastly this is an internet platform, where one can post his or her views, just like I am not going to tell you how you should post yours as long as you don't address that message to me , and hopefully you are gracious enough to know that since you are now living in Canada where everyone are encourage to speak their mind unlike Singapore the place you left behind ?

Thank You

asenmaga

Yes , saw many advertisement and also many " positives reviews" by so called users . I would be cautious on such products unless you personally knows of anyone who tried it .

From my personal experience , some herbs and food does produces the required impact for my body .

EG , When I eat at the hawker center ,

I normally go for Yong Tau Fu , I choose 5 pieces of Bittergourd with fish paste in the center , and after that another 5 to 6 pieces of others .
I had that dry with lots of chilli sauces .
I will asked also for a bowl of soup that is made from soy beans .

I also asked him for the soy beans he used to made those soup . ( about 60-70g) .

After eating blood glucose within my normal range with no diabetic medications . That is what works for me but may not work for everyone . Need to test in order to know . ( Some stall added rock sugar into their soup base , so you need to differential ).

nayr69sg

Staff member
I definitely know what you are saying....so am I wrong to say that they are not open minded ? ( they are afraid of MOH guidelines ?). I shared what I have experienced and You are free to share what your experienced with your patients, the complaints etc etc

Did I insist for you not to share nor did I blame u ? Clearly you sound frustrated as a medical practitioners handling your patients... I thought you went into medicine to help people. Maybe you can consider to switch to less stressful vocation ?

You can see with all my posting, I don't like to "attack" people, but for this post , I have to be a bit more direct with you since you have been from the past postings trying very hard to dictate what I can share and what I cant share ?

If you dont agree with what I posted, there are two options, choose not to read them, the other you are always welcome to put your views across and if I needed to reply I will.

My aim is quite clear, sharing my personal experience and hopefully those who have interest can benefit and try to find their own plan and be successful . I am not here to sell a service or a product to make money. I also don't have a Youtube channel to monetize .

Singapore have been having the campaign of "War Of Diabetes"; have they succeeded or improve the situation by the my "healthy plate" recommendation or the Mediterranean Diet which most main stream doctors like yourself are recommending ? I would love to see the data.

To date I have not met one T2Ds who have gone on Mediterranean Diet that has gone into "remission" , I would love to meet one, to learn more about it and see how i can adapt and be able to practice it too.

Why after many years of "War on Diabetes " we are no where better, could it because most doctors like yourself are not speaking their mind but rather what is supposed to be the MOH guidelines ? If the MOH guidelines is the correct one, should'nt we see tangible results ?

The Social media friends that I have who are T2Ds, at least six of them are all in "remission " ie without medications and yet having Hba1c of below 5.7% all done thru various methods but definitely not by MOH guidelines.

I think You have encountered my debate on CECA with that India Indian who is a SG PR and I have not been offensive to him too. I also only shared what I experienced in the financial sector where I spend a large part of my adult life.

Lastly this is an internet platform, where one can post his or her views, just like I am not going to tell you how you should post yours as long as you don't address that message to me , and hopefully you are gracious enough to know that since you are now living in Canada where everyone are encourage to speak their mind unlike Singapore the place you left behind ?

Thank You
I apologize. Yes I am wrong to try to request you not to post certain things. I should not.

You are right. The doctors are not open minded and they should be more open minded.

Thank you for sharing your excellent work on controlling your DM with diet. You are amazing.

Hope you will forgive me. I overstepped my boundaries.

I wish you all the best and trust that many members here will benefit from your expertise.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Hi Sorry for the late reply for this post, as it was my bedtime.
I take a health screening package that consists of Fasting plasma glucose, Hba1c , renal function tests, Lipid Screen, urine microalbumin, creatinine ratio all for SGD 51 inclusive of GST , it comes with a free doctor's consultation.

Fasting Insulin price ranges from 40 to 70 sgd , C peptide 75.
Glucometer...I used Made in China Brand , Sinocare or Sannuo ( in the past used Accu-Chek and also Contour) , my personal opinion this is the best I have used , I have tested my finger prick fasting Blood glucose with my Lab test the difference is very little.

First time purchase of the meter, One whole set including the meter cost about SGD 15-17 with 25 or 50 strips cant remember now off hand.
cost of glucometer strips.. ranges between as low as 0.10 cents to 0.27 cents SGD. I normally buy online, so I try to stock up on sales events like 10.10 etc etc the expiry date is usually two years . ( now the prices have adjusted higher because of increase in shipping cost but I should still be
able to get them around 0.17-.020 cents per strips ).

Blood Ketone Meter, I started using Freestyle Optimum Neo, cant remembered the whole set price which includes the strips. The strips by itself
is SGD 2.70 per strips ( expensive) . Lately I have changed to unknown brand from China. I bought the whole set which is a 3 in 1 meter that test for BG , Blood Ketones and also Uric acid. total price meter plus 50 strips of BG , 15 blood ketone strips for SGD 32.80. The big advantage of this set is their Ketone expiry date is more than 2 years while the Optimum Neo is normally around 6 months if I remembered correctly.
the replacement Ketone Strips works out to be less than SGD 0.70 cents per strips and BG to be around 0.20 cents.
I have tested the BG reading against my other meter they are very close. Didn't have any means to compared the ketone reading as I run out of strips for Optimum neo and unlike to buy anymore.

Open minded doctor consultation....again depending on whether it is a normal GP or specialist..... normal GP - normal GP rate but don't expect him to know more than you in the field that you have researched and of interest, you consult him for potential risk from a mainstream GP. ( I go to one Young Doctor who is working as a GP in one medical group for my fasting insulin, BG and C peptide and sometime C reactive protein . He knows very well that I don't consult him on my "plan" but more to get all this lab test )

The American Doctor who is a strong advocate of food choice, even though he is an oncologist , there are also a whole team of dietitian and other specialist in His Clinic . He put his cancer patient on his own form of "Prolong Mimic fasting diet made famous by Prof Valter Longo. Cost for consultation should be around SGD 150-250.

There is another Clinic , founded by a group of medical professionals who used to work in Government Hospital and holds senior positions in MOH before and also if I am not wrong still lecturing in the University - cost of consultation -150-250 , and if I remembered correctly they stated they will spend about 1 to 2 hours with you. They have nutritional dietitian and also an exercise coach in the team.

As you can see from all the information given here, It clearly implied that I really made an effort to research every aspect that concerned Diabetes and not taken it likely when I decided to take this Journey.
Thank you for sharing. The prices have come down a bit for the tests.

Still costs quite a bit though but certain affordable.

Very good.

asenmaga

Thank you for sharing. The prices have come down a bit for the tests.

Still costs quite a bit though but certain affordable.

Very good.
I am always willing to share what I know and my experience and they may not be the right one for everyone and neither am I right in everything .

I just hope what is helpful to "kick start" some people to have critical thinking capacity instead of just followings .

Anyway I can share one more cost , I checked the cost of a CT calcium Score scan . Government Hospital like SGH was not forthcoming .

National University Hospital the Cardic heart center quoted SGD 600 minimum .

The private Hospitals were more forthcoming .
Parkway Group cost 366 inclusive of GST ( I think in USA it is USD 50-70 ).

As you can see not all Government prices are cheaper . They have a tendency to "marked up" the prices and give you a discount .

Another Example is Fasting Insulin , private clinic is 40 NUH 70

nayr69sg

Staff member
I am always willing to share what I know and my experience and they may not be the right one for everyone and neither am I right in everything .

I just hope what is helpful to "kick start" some people to have critical thinking capacity instead of just followings .

Anyway I can share one more cost , I checked the cost of a CT calcium Score scan . Government Hospital like SGH was not forthcoming .

National University Hospital the Cardic heart center quoted SGD 600 minimum .

The private Hospitals were more forthcoming .
Parkway Group cost 366 inclusive of GST ( I think in USA it is USD 50-70 ).

As you can see not all Government prices are cheaper . They have a tendency to "marked up" the prices and give you a discount .

Another Example is Fasting Insulin , private clinic is 40 NUH 70
Thank you for sharing. This information will be very helpful for people!

God bless you.

asenmaga

Actually you probably know more about diabetes than many drs do. And will do a better job helping patients managig diabetes.

You should consider a career as a diabetologist. Or maybe offer your expertise with diabetes association or something. Many people will benefit.
I have offered to assist free ( won't mentioned where to keep it confidential for the person involved ) since it is not in accordance with the guidelines , the person say would be difficult to get MOH approval ( that is also one instances where the phrase ”dinosaur" was raised not by me ).

Currently I have seen posting that MOH are going to interview T2D on the way they manage their diabetes and hopefully they can be "nudge" into a more willingness to try new methodology .

nayr69sg

Staff member
I have offered to assist free ( won't mentioned where to keep it confidential for the person involved ) since it is not in accordance with the guidelines , the person say would be difficult to get MOH approval ( that is also one instances where the phrase ”dinosaur" was raised not by me ).

Currently I have seen posting that MOH are going to interview T2D on the way they manage their diabetes and hopefully they can be "nudge" into a more willingness to try new methodology .
You should advocate for this new approach.

Diabetes activist! Steady lah bro!