• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is SPP Chairman Sin Kek Tong a PAP stooge to break SPP from within ?

Watchman

SPP Chairman lashed out at Chiam for contributing ‘too little’ money to party
December 22nd, 2010 | Author: Editorial

cstimages.jpg

Chiam See Tong

Singapore People Party’s Chairman Sin Kek Tong
has lashed out at
Secretary-General and Potong Pasir MP Chiam See Tong for contributing
too little to the party’s coffers, according to reports in the state media.
In an unusual outburst, Mr Sin criticized Mr Chiam for not contributing
“enough” of his MP allowance to the party as stipulated under the
party’s constitution for the last few years.
Mr Chiam denied his charges and claimed that “everybody is happy”
in the party. It is not known if Mr Sin’s remarks have been quoted out of context.
SPP has been dogged by internal infighting after Mr Chiam’s ‘protege’
Desmond Lim was ‘ousted’ from the CEC in a fractious party election this year.
With Mr Chiam reaching the end of his political career, it remains to
be seen if SPP can remain politically relevant after him.

5rs.jpg

Jay

Sin Kek Tong blows whistle on Chiam See Tong
December 22, 2010

Translated by Donaldson Tan

This is a non-verbatim translation of OMY.SG report 《沈克栋踢爆: 詹时中13年来少给13万捐款》 dated 21 December 2010.

Mr Sin Kek Tong, Chairman of the Singapore People's Party

sinkektong.jpg

Mr Sin Kek Tong, Chairman of the Singapore People's Party

According to Singapore People’s Party (SPP) Chairman Mr Sin Kek Tong,
Member of Parliament for Potong Pasir Mr Chiam See Tong has
under-contributed to SPP funds for 13 years already.
The SPP constitution requires every SPP MP to contribute 10% of his MP
allowance to the party. Mr Chiam’s short-fall amounts to at least S$130,000.
“Although Mr Chiam has made numerous contributions over the years,
he still has to adhere to the party constitution.
Our party constitution is very clear on this,” said Mr Sin.

He also added for the past 13 years, Mr Chiam has only contributed
S$500 per month from his MP allowance.
This amounts to annual contribution of S$6,000.
Mr Sin said that it is only natural for MPs to contribute funds to their
own political party. He said that the People Action Party (PAP) MPs also do this.

Mr Lau Ping Sum, Executive Director of the PAP, confirms this.
Every PAP MP contributes S$1,800 a month to the PAP which is
equivalent to 13% of his MP allowance while PAP Ministers
contribute a much higher quantum to the party fund.
However, Mr Lau stressed that the PAP did not make this
a compulsory contribution.
Workers’ Party (WP) Chairman Sylvia Lim also said that
WP does not compel its elected MPs to contribute to the party fund.

Below is the original mandarin transcript from OMY.SG
沈克栋踢爆: 詹时中13年来少给13万捐款
人民党主席沈克栋踢爆,詹时中身为波东巴西议员,理应捐献10%议员津贴给党,但他13年来一直“少给”,至今已少给超过13万元!
人民党主席沈克栋(64岁)说,根据人民党章程,一名民选议员必须把议员津贴的10%捐献给党,但詹时中过去13年来却一直少给。
沈克栋说:“虽然詹时中这些年来对党作出很多捐献,但他必须依照章程。我们的党章程清楚写明这一点。”
沈克栋今早受访时说,过去13年来,詹时中身为党秘书长每月只捐献500元,一年只捐献6000元。
他表示,政党议员把津贴捐献给党是“理所当然”的。据他所知,人民行动党的议员都这么做。
人民行动党执行理事长刘炳森告诉《新报》,行动党议员一般上每月捐献1800元,也就是津贴的13%,而部长通常捐献更多,但捐献并非强制性的。
工人党主席林瑞莲受访时也曾说,工人党没强制旗下民选议员作出捐献。

Mr Lau Ping Sum, Executive Director of the PAP, confirms this. Every PAP MP contributes S$1,800 a month to the PAP which is equivalent to 13% of his MP allowance while PAP Ministers contribute a much higher quantum to the party fund.

However, Mr Lau stressed that the PAP did not make this a compulsory contribution.

KNN very contradicting. Can someone confirm PAP MP got contribute or not?

No one really cares.

This whistleblower is a fucker. It's not like a really important thing if CST contribute a single cent to SPP.

No one really cares.

This whistleblower is a fucker. It's not like a really important thing if CST contribute a single cent to SPP.

Not important meh? Who says so? You say huh?

This Sin Kek Tong is chairman hor.

Not important meh? Who says so? You say huh?

This Sin Kek Tong is chairman hor.

The joker really one kind. Everyone knows the election will be in 2011, he had 5 years to do it but it wait till the election is coming before making noise

This is not whistleblowing. This is mudslinging.

as usual, the pap ib dont need to do anything to discredit the oppos.

the oppo members will sabo themselves due to their huge ego.

The joker really one kind. Everyone knows the election will be in 2011, he had 5 years to do it but it wait till the election is coming before making noise

He has been sleeping the past 5 years. He now wakes up. A sleeper indeed.

How about Low Thia Khiang ?

I know your differences with LTK but in the wider context of overall opposition situation now, he looks the smartest one to keep out of the fray.

He's a survivor. I am also surprised that although SG claims to be 1st world, this particular MP cannot even speak proper english. He should receive half salary until he passes TOEFL oral exam.

Have heard this Sin Kek Tong speak during one of the rallies years back.

This fella really cannot make it. Can't speak for nuts. If i were him i would be so ashame i will go into hiding, not sure why he continues to embarass himself in public.

Have heard this Sin Kek Tong speak during one of the rallies years back.

This fella really cannot make it. Can't speak for nuts. If i were him i would be so ashame i will go into hiding, not sure why he continues to embarass himself in public.

If he's that good, he won't be whistle blowing to get power in SPP :D

This Sin Kek Tong is ok fella. He has been with the opposition since Chiam's time.

I will vote for him above all those useless PAP MP. At least I know he is not another yesman. Better than PAP yesmen who can only talk and nod their heads in agreement with the old man.

I think by now SDA's and SPP's reputations have taken such a hit that whatever they do will not allow them to retain Potong Pasir or win more seats. After Desmond Lim, it could be contained because it was attributed to Chiam's wider move but not now. His history is marred by Chee, Ling, DL and Sin.