is it the end for NSP ???

Actually, that is the problem here.

As the leader of the team, Eric Tan was promised the NCMP in the event of having one. And I would assume that the WP members know... or at least, his team mates knew before they went to battle.

Frankly speaking, for me, I don't really bother until Eric's case blew up. Eric's grudges were more of the feeling betrayed rather than not getting the NCMP seat. He was happily telling the reporters that he would most probably be the NCMP because he got that promise before hand. It turned out otherwise without consultation and obviously he felt betrayed and bitter about it. I empathize with his feelings, that's all.

Goh Meng Seng

why dun you recruit him now???

There was never any promise. You should know better. But the assumption was always there that the team leader gets it.

I find that hard to be believe as LTK's shrewdness is well known. He tends to chose his words carefully. Sadly that is poor form by those who promised him.

Actually, that is the problem here.

As the leader of the team, Eric Tan was promised the NCMP in the event of having one. And I would assume that the WP members know... or at least, his team mates knew before they went to battle.

Well, the "promise" can be disputed any time because there wasn't any black and white. It is basically words against words so most probably it would be up to us to choose who to believe.

Goh Meng Seng

As a friend, I would advise him to bury the hatchet and go back to WP.

He has spent so much effort, going through two GEs with WP, he shouldn't change gear when the tide is in favor of WP now. That doesn't make sense at all.

Goh Meng Seng

why dun you recruit him now???

There's no comeback. 一失口无再回首。

I'm sad too. He has always been very nice to me.

He has spent so much effort, going through two GEs with WP, he shouldn't change gear when the tide is in favor of WP now. That doesn't make sense at all.

Goh Meng Seng

maybe he can go be NMP now... @ least he can fulfilled his wish then...
think you can give the same advice to yourself

why not change gear when the tide is in favor of WP now. That make sense.

apparently, ufo goh prefers to talk till cows come home about his former wp than his current nsp. has his heart or ego ever left wp? is nsp a landing of convenience? is he really serious about nsp? or is he just a mercenary with a soft spot for wp? ultimately, all big egos need to achieve their prize, and that is to win and get a seat in parliament. are all parties dispensable and just marriages of convenience to reach their personal objectives? me think so. these party jumpers and flip floppers are all the same, no different from hookers plying their trade and earning a living.

Any politicians with just that bit sense of pride would not accept NMP. :)

As I have said, he is upset more because of the feeling of betray rather than losing the NCMP.

Contrary to what many people think, I think it would be easier for Eric to go back to WP than me going back. Eric has fought two GEs, holding on to the fortress in East Coast when other members of his team left.

For me, due to different role play, it is inevitable that I have made many WP members unhappy or even hate me because I only speak the "hard truth" and obvious sense in many instances.

If WP continues to think and behave in its present ways, like what Ramseth has said, no more negotiation and will do whatever it thinks it is in its own party interests, I will have no interest to be associated with it.

There is a bigger cause and mission which I wish to see accomplished in this short span of my life. The first objective of taking down the first GRC has been achieved but the next bigger task is to deprive PAP the two third majority. Sad to say, WP's behavior and mindset would be detrimental to have such goal achieved.

Just like what Ramseth says, it will kick out NSP or any other parties from any GRCs, never mind whether there is higher possibility of them winning in that GRCs or not, but just for the sake to preserve WP's interests. Such mindset will slow down or make it harder to deprive PAP two third majority in the shortest possible time frame.

Goh Meng Seng

maybe he can go be NMP now... @ least he can fulfilled his wish then...
think you can give the same advice to yourself

why not change gear when the tide is in favor of WP now. That make sense.

apparently, ufo goh prefers to talk till cows come home about his former wp than his current nsp. has his heart or ego ever left wp? is nsp a landing of convenience? is he really serious about nsp? or is he just a mercenary with a soft spot for wp? ultimately, all big egos need to achieve their prize, and that is to win and get a seat in parliament. are all parties dispensable and just marriages of convenience to reach their personal objectives? me think so. these party jumpers and flip floppers are all the same, no different from hookers plying their trade and earning a living.

you are rite, this is a NSP thread ... why keep talking about WP???

GMS, where is the outreach video ?

As I have said, he is upset more because of the feeling of betray rather than losing the NCMP.

Contrary to what many people think, I think it would be easier for Eric to go back to WP than me going back. Eric has fought two GEs, holding on to the fortress in East Coast when other members of his team left.

For me, due to different role play, it is inevitable that I have made many WP members unhappy or even hate me because I only speak the "hard truth" and obvious sense in many instances.

If WP continues to think and behave in its present ways, like what Ramseth has said, no more negotiation and will do whatever it thinks it is in its own party interests, I will have no interest to be associated with it.

There is a bigger cause and mission which I wish to see accomplished in this short span of my life. The first objective of taking down the first GRC has been achieved but the next bigger task is to deprive PAP the two third majority. Sad to say, WP's behavior and mindset would be detrimental to have such goal achieved.

Just like what Ramseth says, it will kick out NSP or any other parties from any GRCs, never mind whether there is higher possibility of them winning in that GRCs or not, but just for the sake to preserve WP's interests. Such mindset will slow down or make it harder to deprive PAP two third majority in the shortest possible time frame.

Goh Meng Seng

politicians should drop the pride and think for sinkies

is Ramseth even a CEC member? why so serious?

for many sinkies, WP party interests = OPP interest
the fastest way to deprive PAP the two third majority is a 2 party system... maybe NSP should disband

Tang Liang Hong applied for NMP first. LTK was on the committee and voted for him, but of course the PAP MPs won their way by voting him out. You remember that? TLH was also supposed to take the NCMP seat after the Cheng San 1997 narrow defeat, but he was forced to flee and JBJ took the seat. You remember that? Almost mirror image of some 10 years earlier in Eunos 1988 when Francis Seow was forced to flee and Lee Siew Choh took the seat. All of them no sense of pride?

I have no problem with politicians taking up NCMP seat though I peronally would not. NCMP still earns their stripes through GE and represents those who have voted them. But for NMP? Nope. That's no pride. Francis Seow didn't apply for NMP.

Goh Meng Seng

Tang Liang Hong applied for NMP first. LTK was on the committee and voted for him, but of course the PAP MPs won their way by voting him out. You remember that? TLH was also supposed to take the NCMP seat after the Cheng San 1997 narrow defeat, but he was forced to flee and JBJ took the seat. You remember that? Almost mirror image of some 10 years earlier in Eunos 1988 when Francis Seow was forced to flee and Lee Siew Choh took the seat. All of them no sense of pride?

Accepting NCMP is not a matter of pride. Its an opportunity to chip away PAP image. Steve Chia did that very well followed by Sylvia. JBJ and Lee Siew Choh were too old to be effective. LHL was so upset with Steve Chia over the salary issues.

We all agree that in principle it is not acceptable but it does go towards proportional representation to some extent. Your local bus driver cannot be a NCMP nor can a world renown cardiologist but someone who stood for elections and did reasonably well in terms of votes covered.

GMS has to make it very clear to his electorate that he is not prepared to accept the NCMP post so that they can vote effectively.

If I had the final say, I'd say refuse all NCMPs and refuse to debate all NMPs. However, I accept party position and decision, just as I accept democracy.

Goh Meng Seng

dumb arse gms trying to scheme his way back to wp. too bad for him ltk knows a loser when he sees one.

Accepting NCMP is not a matter of pride. Its an opportunity to chip away PAP image. Steve Chia did that very well followed by Sylvia. JBJ and Lee Siew Choh were too old to be effective. LHL was so upset with Steve Chia over the salary issues.

We all agree that in principle it is not acceptable but it does go towards proportional representation to some extent. Your local bus driver cannot be a NCMP nor can a world renown cardiologist but someone who stood for elections and did reasonably well in terms of votes covered.

GMS has to make it very clear to his electorate that he is not prepared to accept the NCMP post so that they can vote effectively.

I've learnt from my experience that one person having an organisational vision is pointless, it is the organisation that should have the vision. If there is a rejection of NCMP, it should be done at an organisational level. One person shouting at rallies will have his/her voice drowned out and diluted among other issues.

Even if Eric returns to the WP I doubt he will run as a candidate again. While mistakes can be forgiven, the electorate perception of such candidates are forever changed, and they will become forever a political liability. That's my guess why James Gomez wasn't accepted back to WP. Also makes me wonder why NSP continue to push Steve Chia and CCC as candidates.

dumb arse gms,

your face really thick-skin beyond belief. the way u talk about succeeding in taking down the 1st grc as if it is YOU that did it. wau lan. you really damn buay paiseh.