• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is it an offence to play poker (involving money) at home?

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
overheard in coffeeshop...
"eh, everytime funeral got ppl play mahjong at void deck hor? if RWS or MBS boss family members also die liao can all go to RWS or MBS play casino free or not?":confused:

hotbot

toking about poker, be wary of those online poker room from the betting sites. I think somehow the poker games are rigged in a way. if you play and win, quickly go away after pocketing your winning cos' chances are that you will lose it if you stay on. it is possible that the poker software may be written in a way to get you hook on it.

Equalisation

In other words, they can raid your house, if they receive a complaint that there is a gambling den there, but they can not offer you legal advice or your rights.

Oral Sex is a crime in SINgapore....is it an offence to engage in oral sex at home?...or have they amended that ancient law?:biggrin:

.... oral sex at home boleh, but must be under the bed .....:o

If you orally threaten to beat up someone, police arrest. (S503 C224)

If you actually beat up someone, police don't arrest. (S323 C224)

If you close your bedroom, whatever sex you do with whomever with mutual consent, police won't know.

If you gamble at home, the guideline is one table deemed to be for recreation, two tables or more deemed to be gambling den. This is just guideline and not absolute, e.g. in case of a Chinese domino table which can host more than twenty players. Exceptions are also given on CNY 1st and 2nd days, and funeral wakes.

If there's complaint, police detective would conduct surveillance and observation first. If case confirmed, no court warrant is required. Police could raid (including forced entry like breaking down doors and windows) as long as the operation is headed by an officer ranking ASP or above.

If after surveillance and observation, it's just occasional friendly gathering, not a regular affair, it won't be classified as a common gaming house and won't be raided, just a noise pollution warning perhaps.

zuoom

If you close your bedroom, whatever sex you do with whomever with mutual consent, police won't know.

If you gamble at home, the guideline is one table deemed to be for recreation, two tables or more deemed to be gambling den. This is just guideline and not absolute, e.g. in case of a Chinese domino table which can host more than twenty players. Exceptions are also given on CNY 1st and 2nd days, and funeral wakes.

If there's complaint, police detective would conduct surveillance and observation first. If case confirmed, no court warrant is required. Police could raid (including forced entry like breaking down doors and windows) as long as the operation is headed by an officer ranking ASP or above.

If after surveillance and observation, it's just occasional friendly gathering, not a regular affair, it won't be classified as a common gaming house and won't be raided, just a noise pollution warning perhaps.
sounds just about right on the gambling part.

Hi guys... sorry I need an answer, not too sure how the system works over here and the police force ain't helpful at all... :rolleyes:

MY QUERY to THE POLICE:
Hi,

Is it legal to play poker within the confines of my place (a private apartment), along with a group of friends, coupled with gaming chips, which are exchangeable for real money, on an occasional basis?

Regards,
Keith

THEIR REPLY:
Dear Sir

We refer to your email of 14 December 2010.

The Police do not give legal advice. The police only gives advice if an
incident has been reported and to determine if the matter require police
action/attention.

Thank you and regards.

Yours faithfully

Macky888:

Let me give you the answer. I may not be 100% right. I am just 99.99999% correct.

The Common Gaming Houses Act (CGHA) is a must read to better understand laws governing gaming offences in S'pore.

A place is deemed as a CGH if 2 conditions are met. Gaming must be HABITUAL. No one in authority has defined what 'habitual' means. Not even Yong Pung How. Is thrice a week, each session 3 hrs considered more habitual than twice a week, 7 hrs each session? Hahahaha. No answer. Can police mount observation if the said gaming house is inside an office or a big bungalow? Can the police actually see or hear what is happening from outside the premises? Not possible.

A place is deemed a CGH if it is accessible to members of the public. If the gambling den is located in Geylang or a holiday chalet, hotel, flat, apartment, funeral wake etc and anyone can walk in, it means it is a gambling den. If your poker game is amonst friends, you have not committed an offence under the CGHA. Can strangers enter your house to play poker?

Other key factors to consider in differentiating a common gaming house and one that is not involves the "organisational structure" in place. If you play at home with friends, there is no structure. If it is a gambling den, you have the "kiao tau" followed by your hor lis, ma tows, drivers, "soldiers", look-outs, ah soh to cook and serve drinks etc. When you gamble in such places, you don't win full all the time. The den takes a cut of the winnings. They depend on these winnings to pay their staff on a daily basis.

The games you gamble on also determines if you are involved in illegal gambling. No undeground dens are invloved in games like poker, ginrummy, thor tai tee, blackjack, mahjong etc. Illegal dens only keen on fast games like si ki puay and pai kow. These are not games of social interaction.

About a decade ago, the CGHA was amended to allow certain games to be played at certain places. For instance, clans, associations, cooperatives etc were permitted to play games with social interaction as the key purpose. Si Ki Puay and Pai Kow are not allowed.

Hope the picture is much clearer now. If the police don't want to or can't explain, you can look for me. Cheers.

Bro Ram:

Number of tables not a factor in determining whether a location is a den. NO exception given on CNY 1st and 2nd day. It is just that police officers are on leave and celebrating CNY. Legally speaking, raids can be conducted during CNY. Funeral wakes are not exempted if it involves organised gambling.

<fud>

The Police do not give legal advice. The police only gives advice if an
incident has been reported and to determine if the matter require police
action/attention.

this police is good, he knows the difference between advice and advise

Since you mention it .... "The police only give advice if an incident has been reported and to determine if the matter requires police action/attention"

Boss may wish to comment :biggrin:

Bro Ram:

Number of tables not a factor in determining whether a location is a den. NO exception given on CNY 1st and 2nd day. It is just that police officers are on leave and celebrating CNY. Legally speaking, raids can be conducted during CNY. Funeral wakes are not exempted if it involves organised gambling.

That's why I said it's guideline, not absolute, i.e. it's not clearly defined in statute. The Division Commander and GSB Director have quite a lot of discretionary power over this. What I mentioned is conventional practice from tradition that's neither been officially legalised nor outlawed.

CNY and funeral wakes are given leeways as one is in festivity and the other is in mourning. These are not everyday gambling stalls. However, it's true that there're roving gambling gangs who use CNY and funeral wakes to set up stalls. For example, when they see a funeral wake in their territory, even if it's a stranger, they'd pay a token white gold and set up a stall there every night until it's over. Then move to look for someone else who died. If the bereaved family or neighbours complain to police, sure police will come. However it's rare, since nobody want trouble at funeral wakes, and most would worry about trouble after that too. :eek:

<fud>

The games you gamble on also determines if you are involved in illegal gambling. No undeground dens are invloved in games like poker, ginrummy, thor tai tee, blackjack, mahjong etc. Illegal dens only keen on fast games like si ki puay and pai kow. These are not games of social interaction.

Just being curious ........... since social bridge clubs with the aim of improving ones bridge playing skills are allowed here, would social poker clubs with similar aims be considered proper?

Winnings are simply to facilitate the social interaction between members ..... :biggrin:

That's why I said it's guideline, not absolute, i.e. it's not clearly defined in statute. The Division Commander and GSB Director have quite a lot of discretionary power over this. What I mentioned is conventional practice from tradition that's neither been officially legalised nor outlawed.

CNY and funeral wakes are given leeways as one is in festivity and the other is in mourning. These are not everyday gambling stalls. However, it's true that there're roving gambling gangs who use CNY and funeral wakes to set up stalls. For example, when they see a funeral wake in their territory, even if it's a stranger, they'd pay a token white gold and set up a stall there every night until it's over. Then move to look for someone else who died. If the bereaved family or neighbours complain to police, sure police will come. However it's rare, since nobody want trouble at funeral wakes, and most would worry about trouble after that too. :eek:

GSB never had a director. Last time OC. Now Head. Mobile dens at funeral wakes will not set-up shop until family member of deceased OK it. Used to be $200 per nite.

kukubird58

hahaha...as long as "water money" is involved, poodle can get a warrant and arrest.
I have personally came across 2 times at 2 places.
only 4 players for "dead rummy" on 1 table; quiet game not like MJ.
What's up with the poodles....:oIo:

hahaha...as long as "water money" is involved, poodle can get a warrant and arrest.
I have personally came across 2 times at 2 places.
only 4 players for "dead rummy" on 1 table; quiet game not like MJ.
What's up with the poodles....:oIo:
What's wrong with you? If water money is involved, it's clearcut common gaming house even if just one table. If police don't arrest, then we worry why? They corrupt and take a cut in the water money or what?

kukubird58

What's wrong with you? If water money is involved, it's clearcut common gaming house even if just one table. If police don't arrest, then we worry why? They corrupt and take a cut in the water money or what?
hahaha...bro, u invite friends to your house to play cards, u provide drinks and meals and playing cards and table and chairs and electricity, u collect some "water money"...why so serious.....

Balls2U

What's wrong with that? Every Chinese New Year I play poker, chor-tai-tee etc. at one particular cabinet minister's house (whose name I shall not reveal).

mako65

Macky, just play n enjoy with your frens as long as it's not a "open Hse"! Keep the volume down n bring in all the shoes n pumps into the hse! CNY is coming too so no worries! Factually, dun be a goondu n ask in tis forum...hahaha!