• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Hyundai a good car?

neddy

Wat wrong with Nissan Micra??

I wont get the Accent,,,drove a rental one and drinks 10L/100km that is freaking ridiculous for a 1.6L car,,,even my 1995 Mazda 626 which I got in 2003 drinks less than that,,and its a 2.2L car

My understnading.
The old Accent has an outdated "Mitsubishi" engine. These days, Hyundai engines are more fuel efficient.
There are also complaints about Singapore Sonata taxis' fuel economy.

World engine.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance

Ah Neddy,,,dont get new cars which are use as rentals,,,they depreciate damn fast,,as after 1 year they will sold off cheap by John Hughes,, get what i mean?

For servicing vehicles,,now dealers and buyers want to see the log book servicing,,,properly filled up etc,,so cant really siam servicing with new cars,,dont forget if u dont service the car on schedule u void the new car warranty,,so no one will play a fool lor,,,just my rants,,and i try to up yr points,,ah sam dont allow,,,

Continental cars always have some deficiencies/annoyances somewhere. Eg the Fiat, Renault, etc.

German cars are fun to drive, but they get "old" very quickly if not maintained. I find Aussies really bad at maintaining their cars and the cars end up with strange problems which we never expect. Even the "master" mechanic cannot diagnose a poorly maintained car.

Eg This chap I know took more than 3 months to figure out that his Mini has a faulty immobiliser. He had already spent needless money changing wrong parts, plus the fact that he did not service his car regularly. In the end, he has to borrow the company fleet car to get to work.

And the fleet cars have another problem. Usually, they are never serviced to save money and the only time it is serviced is when the company decided to get rid of them (usu after 2 years).

Buy a used fleet car, think again!

After experiencing the different cars, thinking of a Japanese/Korean car now so that I do not have to get annoyed over the location of the signal indicator/wiper when driving my car, the company's car (Hyundai) and wife's car (Honda).

The one I drove is brand new,,,and it was driven last week,,,so guess its still mitsu old engine,,,test drive the new lancers,,,the new MIVEC engines are good,,,fuel economical,,,2L get 7 .7 litre oer 100k...that is good man,,,

My understnading.
The old Accent has an outdated "Mitsubishi" engine. These days, Hyundai engines are more fuel efficient.

World engine.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance

neddy

The one I drove is brand new,,,and it was driven last week,,,so guess its still mitsu old engine,,,test drive the new lancers,,,the new MIVEC engines are good,,,fuel economical,,,2L get 7 .7 litre oer 100k...that is good man,,,

I will be surprised if Hyundai still put a crap engine in its new Accent. The Alpha engine was bad. The Gamma is a new engine used in Accent.

Accent
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Accent#Fourth_generation_.28RB.3B_2010.E2.80.93present.29

Mitsubishi has a bad rep in OZ after the Magna bad seals saga. Added to that is that they never listen to customers' needs until recently.

They tried to regain customers confidence with their 10-year/160,000km powertrain warranty. They ditched that recently to compete on pricing.
Someone I know took advantage of this by asking for a low price for a Mitsubishi 380, when they came out with Series 2 improved version some years back.

I am not surprised that the Lancer is used to capture the customers' confidence.

The 10 ye warranty is still available,,they call it a diamond thing,,,but the cost is 2K I think,,,and not valid when vehicle is sold,,,and I do like the lancer ES lift back, has everything I want,,fuel economy, CVT transmission etc,,except no sun roof,,,and can get it ex rental,,,but guess fate not on my side,

oh I and did have an 04 Magna,,,brought it ex rental,,and never give me problems,,,its quite a well built car,,but I have had enough of sedans,,,cant carry anything big and hard to maneuver, but I would consider a commodore wagon LPG,,running cost is quite low,,and if get 2nd hand lagi best due to its high depreciation,,,

just my rants

I will be surprised if Hyundai still put a crap engine in its new Accent. The Alpha engine was bad. The Gamma is a new engine used in Accent.

Accent
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Accent#Fourth_generation_.28RB.3B_2010.E2.80.93present.29

Mitsubishi has a bad rep in OZ after the Magna bad seals saga. Added to that is that they never listen to customers' needs until recently.

They tried to regain customers confidence with their 10-year/160,000km powertrain warranty. They ditched that recently to compete on pricing.
Someone I know took advantage of this by asking for a low price for a Mitsubishi 380, when they came out with Series 2 improved version some years back.

I am not surprised that the Lancer is used to capture the customers' confidence.

kiacaren

The Koreans have come a long way in terms of refinements.

Korean cars now give better value than the Jap cars.

Do test drive to get a feel before committing. Listen to your feel more than any input in this forum including this one.

Do you like the car? Do you find it hard to handle? Do you find it rough going? Do you like the visibility? etc etc

You like it, then buy it if it is within your budget and after all other considerations such as fuel consumption and your list of required "must have" accessories / specs.

If you don't like the feel, whatever super specs there maybe... no point.

While branding is important, it does not mean that every car of the same brand will deliver the same.

Once I had a superb experience with a Japanese car. Without any further consideration, I bought the next new car - same brand. I ended with a brand new lemon. Since then, the concept of reliability, service support etc all thrown to the wind. Basically, it is heng sway. Just too bad, I gotten a brand new lemon. After 9 months, I decided to cut loss.

Hope this helps. Just my 2 cents.

Happy buying and have lots of fun! Good luck!

blackmondy

My understnading.

I'm driving a Kia Magentis (the Citicab version) which uses the Theta 1st-gen engine used in the Hyundai Sonata. It's dead quiet to the point that I cranked the engine on many occasion while it's still running. The car is so much more reliable than my previous ride Ford Mondeo.

The Sonata taxis are 2.4 if not wrong. My father, a cab driver is driving one of this and the pickup is phenomenal.

jubilee1919

Get this Hyundai!

Cosworth-SEMA-2012-0.jpg

Or this one.

hyundai-veloster-cosworth-at-2012-sema-show-2.jpg

neddy

Thanks for all the contributions.

I am pretty sure the Hyundai Santa Fe will not disappoint, because it is tuned for Aussie poor quality roads.

Will go for a test-drive soon. A bit hard to accept that I am seriously thinking of buying Korean cars.

That might just be the next thing after buying a LG TV and Samsung phone.

As for Mitsubishi, they have to sort out their problems.
AAP December 25, 2012

DOZENS of Japan's transport ministry officials have inspected Mitsubishi Motors' offices after the automaker last week widened a recall to about 1.7 million vehicles.

The inspection of Mitsubishi's Tokyo headquarters and quality-control offices nationwide on Tuesday came after the ministry criticised the firm after it widened its oil leak recall.

Read more: http://www.news.com.au/breaking-new...es/story-e6frfkui-1226543357984#ixzz2GDQaIBZE

A bit hard to accept that I am seriously thinking of buying Korean cars.

That's what they said about Jap cars in the early 70s. I was driving a Ford Escort at the time and swore I'd never touch cars that were made out of recycled Ovaltine cans.

jubilee1919

That's what they said about Jap cars in the early 70s. I was driving a Ford Escort at the time and swore I'd never touch cars that were made out of recycled Ovaltine cans.

That was a real lemon for it rusted within a few months as the Escort had no anti-rust. My Dad bought a Datsun 120Y and it lasted us 10 years.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I'm driving a Kia Magentis (the Citicab version) which uses the Theta 1st-gen engine used in the Hyundai Sonata. It's dead quiet to the point that I cranked the engine on many occasion while it's still running. The car is so much more reliable than my previous ride Ford Mondeo.

The Sonata taxis are 2.4 if not wrong. My father, a cab driver is driving one of this and the pickup is phenomenal.

That's because it's diesel and diesel is torquey

That was a real lemon for it rusted within a few months as the Escort had no anti-rust. My Dad bought a Datsun 120Y and it lasted us 10 years.

I went from Escort (which fell to pieces after 6 years) to Datsun SSS (Ah Beng car personified) to Toyota Celica (Another Beng car) to BMW (Biggest Mistake of my life) and back to Toyota. Stayed with Toyota till this day.

jubilee1919

I went from Escort (which fell to pieces after 6 years) to Datsun SSS (Ah Beng car personified) to Toyota Celica (Another Beng car) to BMW (Biggest Mistake of my life) and back to Toyota. Stayed with Toyota till this day.

Yes the Celica (Silly Car) was a good looker, but the SSS was an AH Beng playboy personified racer. Guess you were part of the Orchard Rd racers. My bro-in-law had the same but never bought the BM. He also had the Alfa Romeo GT Junior.

10 yrs ago, they are horrible, the steering is too loose, no feedback, the engine lack power and slow to deliver power. but recently there are vast improvement.

but no match to german car still, like my fav BMW. pay peanuts get monkey car.

Yes the Celica (Silly Car) was a good looker, but the SSS was an AH Beng playboy personified racer. Guess you were part of the Orchard Rd racers. My bro-in-law had the same but never bought the BM. He also had the Alfa Romeo GT Junior.

If you were at Chatterbox Mandarin Hotel at 3.00am on the weekends, you would have seen me. King of the road at the time was the BMW2002tii.

I bought those models because I recognised the potential as they were both rear wheel drive. However, they became Beng cars AFTER I'd bought them. I was really disappointed.

sukhoi-30

My brother went back to Toyota last year after a year driving a Hyundai and a Kia (Company car). He suggest that Japanese car may not look nice on the exterior like Korean cars but there are too much difference in engine and comfort of driving between the two. I have just test drive the Elantra...quite a nice car on the outside (very sporty)but can feel the difference compared to Japanese car when driving.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Sometimes you pay more and still get monkeys. Its just bad if you get a lemon and that happens even with established marques. Luck of the draw i guess.

I had terrible experiences with German cars, i drove a Merc and a BMW 3 series years back. The Merc was still ok but had transmission problems after the 2nd year but the BMW was simply horrible. I would recommend to get at least a 5 series for BMW and for Merc to skip to the E or S class where possible.

I have owned/driven, Jag X type, Merc E/S, BMW 3/Z4, Chevy Cobalt, Optra, Jeep Grand Cherokee, Lincoln Town car, Toyota Corona/Corolla/Camry/Altis/Vios/Wish/Estima/Vellfire, Kia Spectra/Carens/Naza Citra, Hyundai Santa Fe/Sonata/new i45/Starex, Mitsubishi Lancer, Honda Civic/Accord/Stream, Perodua Myvi 1.3/Alza 1.5 and Proton Saga/Wira.

Conclusion, IMHO, no car is perfect. Every car has its own trade offs. Wanted to get the H3 at one point but after looking at long term, decided against it and got something for the whole family instead.

toyota has just reached a settlement in the u.s. to cough up usd1.2b to compensate car owners from 2009 to 2010 on defects that may be life-threatening. much of the defects are attributed to the infamous braking system and brake pedal issues more than 2 years ago, in which several drivers lost their lives due to faulty brakes. as part of the settlement, toyota will replace the braking system of cars sold during the said period. this news feed is relayed from a hdb room in bedok, where 3 sbf forummers share the room and the landlady. :eek: