• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

is $3 mee rebus overprice?

Not only rents. But ingredients that is essential to SE asian cooking also are up in prices. Ginger, garlic, lemon grass, lime leaves, laksa leaves, thai basil. inions, shallots, red chilli, peanuts...etc...etc are all more expensive these days. Food are more tasteless in peesai because hawkers now limit the uses of these key ingredients.

Before hawker cooks go by taste and instinct, now they cook by teaspoon.

Go amk central blk 721 coffeeshop, imho, one of the best mee rubus in singapore. One thing unique about this stall, they dont sell many variety of malay foods. Only three types, satay, mee soto and mee rubus. Open from 12 noon to sold out which ard 6pm, rest on sunday.

Bro this one formerly from Upp Serangoon?

one of the best Mee rebus I tasted was the this stall in a Chinese Kopitiam at Upp Serangoon.. People staying around there would know the stall..

Cost is $3.50 but the quantity is alot.. they also put meat inside the gravy.. Damn long queue every day..

Another famous Mee rebus stall is at Haig Rd HC.. They still selling their mee rebus for $2 or $2.50.. Can't remember the exact price but for sure their Mee Rebus less than $3.. Long line up every day from morning till night..

It just shows that increase price w increase value will be accepted by the customers. The worse is expensive n shit food which many stalls r good at. They dont create value. There was this char kway teow stall that increase price but i still buy as he added in seafood n it tasted better. Too bad no longer around.

one of the best Mee rebus I tasted was the this stall in a Chinese Kopitiam at Upp Serangoon.. People staying around there would know the stall..

Cost is $3.50 but the quantity is alot.. they also put meat inside the gravy.. Damn long queue every day..

Mee rebus is just practically thick curry gravy. Curry powder is the main ingredient in mee rebus.

happened to eat mee rebus today.
used to cost $2, but today charged $3.

consider mee rebus only ingriedent is 1 egg , some chilies,some toa pak, is $3 overprice?

nasi lemak and mee soto at least got meat

haven't eaten mee rebus for over 10 years liao..........................honest..................but waaaay overpriced lah....

buy economical rice - 1 meat, 2 veggies only $2.80.................so mee rebus at 3 bucks waaaay too much.....

Malays sell to their own people also high price but sel lto Chinese higher lah................either they're greedy or becoz their customer base smaller so need to charge more...........they pay same rental as Chinese stalls, right ?

haven't eaten mee rebus for over 10 years liao..........................honest..................but waaaay overpriced lah....

buy economical rice - 1 meat, 2 veggies only $2.80.................so mee rebus at 3 bucks waaaay too much.....

Malays sell to their own people also high price but sel lto Chinese higher lah................either they're greedy or becoz their customer base smaller so need to charge more...........they pay same rental as Chinese stalls, right ?

at least you get my point.
mee rebus and mee saim no veg, no meat,techinally speaking the only nutrient from these 2 is from the egg.nothning else.
that why is i say is overprice

Actually Malay food like Mee Soto and Mee Rebus adn Mee Siam are all over priced cos with very little ingredients. So I think cook yourself at home la like me. I in Thailand thought of local sinkie food what can I do? Go internet or call home to get recipe la. Like last month I thought of soto and begedil what can I do? Cook la.

Preparing my begedil (with mesh fried mackerel)

Begedil

Mee Soto

Soto with ketupat

The politically correct term is SOTO AYAM

Yes that's what my older sister told me when she saw this last month. Anyway my Thai maid was very surprised that malay food tasted good as this is probably her first time trying malay food, she liked it very much. Now she knows how to cook.

malay food generally suits most thai taste buds....like sinkie, malaysia and indo got many common dishes......malay Mee Siam actually originated from Thailand hence the name.

Actually Malay food like Mee Soto and Mee Rebus adn Mee Siam are all over priced cos with very little ingredients. So I think cook yourself at home la like me. I in Thailand thought of local sinkie food what can I do? Go internet or call home to get recipe la. Like last month I thought of soto and begedil what can I do? Cook la.

Preparing my begedil (with mesh fried mackerel)

Begedil

Mee Soto

Soto with ketupat

Yes cooking for yourself is more rewarding than buying at hawker centre these days. Plus you can cook alot and eat untill you dont want to eat mee soto for years.

I thought the one with the noodles is called Mee Soto and without the noodles is called Soto Ayam. The picture to me shows Mee Soto. As fan of Soto Ayam I am careful not to order Mee Soto.
The politically correct term is SOTO AYAM

I thought the one with the noodles is called Mee Soto and without the noodles is called Soto Ayam. The picture to me shows Mee Soto. As fan of Soto Ayam I am careful not to order Mee Soto.

I was referring to the pic Pii Joe labelled as Soto with ketupat.
Ketupat is a great invention.....very versatile......can put in Soto Ayam, Gado Gado, longtong and goes with satay.

I thought both dishes have ketupat.

I was referring to the pic Pii Joe labelled as Soto with ketupat.
Ketupat is a great invention.....very versatile......can put in Soto Ayam, Gado Gado, longtong and goes with satay.

Yup,,mee rubus is nothing but a rip off,,but we all know that m&ds always charge the chinese a higher price compared to their own race. Paying good money to eat vegetables is a dumb idea.

Nothing wrong. You get the normal price. "Brudder" gets the discount.

Yup,,mee rubus is nothing but a rip off,,but we all know that m&ds always charge the chinese a higher price compared to their own race. Paying good money to eat vegetables is a dumb idea.

I noticed that too, machik always charged higher $. I ever kena a worst case was ordered nasi lemak with1 egg and 2 small fish cost $5, it was charged by a indo m&d hired by them. I hian toh and ask them why so ex then the cashier told me sorli the indo m&d is new. and reduced to $4 which is also farking ex.

Just dun buy if u think u kenna rip off. Simple as that. No need to hit all the ppl on the boat with one pole. Some malay stalls are just as dishonest to fellow malays too. My malay colleague once brought malay mix vegies nasi for $6. Only one chicken wing, a bergedil and cabbage, the stall at manhattan house along chin swee road.