Irene Ng - Do you know who started Meet the People Session?

Don't expect too much from someone whose greatest achievement was to legalise pavement cycling in her constituency.

Not George lah. Edmund Barker, famously known as Eddie at the Singapore Cricket Club. He was often seen driving around in his old Mercedes E 200, with his bodyguard in the front passenger seat - both of them happily smoking and laughing away. A true son of Singapore who gave up a lucrative law career to serve Singapore.

AND DO YOU FIND HIM BEING CREDITED ALONG WITH YOU KNOW WHO?

Yes, its Eddie, hence E.W. Barker. As for all that nonsense about giving up a lucrative law career and a true son of singapore, u must be kidding me. Don't believe that crock of shit. EW was a notorious womanizer, and being a eurasian was quite lelac and easy going. These 2 qualities did not endear him to Old Gecko who was by than running Lee and Lee with an iron fist. Gecko buah tahan this eurasian buaya running around the office trying to fuck all the secretaries, and being openly scandalous about it. Plus, he did not want to be a workaholic like Gecko wanted all the partners to be. So, they just followed the Lee and Lee tradition of placing partners they don't like into political office where they can get paid by the state and fuck around all they want with a useless ministry like Sports. Eddie was shamelessly hitting on charbos at the SCC during parties and what not. Quite scandalous at that time, but he is a harmless guy just enjoying life, and he is protected by gecko and Old Goat, so everyone just left him alone. I remember Wilfred Skinner told me once, when he was about to leave for Canada permanently, Eddie confronted him and ask him "Why you want to go to that godforsaken country?". Hahahaha, today, got many sinkies including gragoks like him want to go there.

Just for comparison. In the US, where I lived for several years as a student, there's no such thing as MPS. The resident with problem writes to or calls up the Congress Representative's office for an appointment. All Congress Representatives maintain their own offices with at least a clerk or secretary. Expenses can be claimed to certain limits. They handle legislative matters only. Municipal (equivalent to our Town Council) issues are handled by Mayors separatedly elected.

That is something regarding our system which I cannot understand too. Why must our MPs concern themselves with whether the rubbish is collected, drains are unclogged, grass are cut etc.? MPs should only be concerned about national issues. Municipal issues are to be looked after by City or Town Councillers are must be separately elected. Like LTK say in his rallies, this is "uniquely Singapore".

Excellent point. It was one of the barriers for entry of quality opposition. A mental barrier where someone who is well qualified will be turned off they want to deal with National Issues. Kudos to new generation of quality opposition who realised that the big picture still there and have decided to take this and the GRC on. Now that both have breached, the PAP will realise they will lose control of resident and may actually push the town councils to the govt.
Just for comparison. In the US, where I lived for several years as a student, there's no such thing as MPS. The resident with problem writes to or calls up the Congress Representative's office for an appointment. All Congress Representatives maintain their own offices with at least a clerk or secretary. Expenses can be claimed to certain limits. They handle legislative matters only. Municipal (equivalent to our Town Council) issues are handled by Mayors separatedly elected.

That is something regarding our system which I cannot understand too. Why must our MPs concern themselves with whether the rubbish is collected, drains are unclogged, grass are cut etc.? MPs should only be concerned about national issues. Municipal issues are to be looked after by City or Town Councillers are must be separately elected. Like LTK say in his rallies, this is "uniquely Singapore".

. So, they just followed the Lee and Lee tradition of placing partners they don't like into political office where they can get paid by the state and fuck around all they want with a useless ministry like Sports. Eddie was shamelessly hitting on charbos at the SCC during parties and what not. Quite scandalous at that time, but he is a harmless guy just enjoying life, and he is protected by gecko and Old Goat, so everyone just left him alone.

He was also the chairman of the singapore turf club right? his wife still around, saw her giving away the e w baker trophy to the winning connection a couple of years back at the kranji race course.

Actually I was impressed that you picked out Labour Front. An entire generation grew up thinking that PAP invented everything from a bar of soap to god knows what. When i realised it was an angmo who was prepared to meet the lower income and poor, I was impressed. He was also the same person who revealed the corruption in his own political party.

1. bro, honest many naive sheep still believe pay & pay is god mah!
2. as if sheepishland has nothing before until it rules.
3. in much extent, sheep here ought to thank the brits for the earlier establishment of systems, network and parameters.
4. in a nutshell, sheep are braindead and brainwashed.

He was also the chairman of the singapore turf club right? his wife still around, saw her giving away the e w baker trophy to the winning connection a couple of years back at the kranji race course.

Izzit? I didn't know. She must be very old. He was 80 years old when he passed away 10 years ago. Yes, he was the chairman of the Singapore turf club.

then golden dragon should know more stories about eddie baker stint as chairperson of turfclub.