'Inhuman Military Rules' for working for Singapore Airlines

sadtonoe

I have a friend who works for a company called Teledirect Pte Ltd, who handles the call centre operations for Singapore Airlines Krisflyer Members flight bookings.
She was conned into signing a 18 months contract with them, thinking that the pay is good with incentives and good welfare for working under a well known Singapore Government owned company.
Never know the danger of signing a work contract without even starting on the job, she was horrified to know that the so called incentive was near impossible to hit and they will be penalised with forfeiture of half month of their incentives for just taking 1 day medical leave for the month.
And if you are late for work even 1 second for just once in the month, you will lose the entire month's incentive.
And best of all, whe she was interviewed, she was not informed she is not allowed to carry her mobile phone into the call centre area during working hours and had to leave it in her locker.
And after sigining the 18 months contract, she will have to pay a penalty of 2 months salary if she leaves the company less than 18 months in the job. To top it most, she is still liable to pay the 2 months pay penalty even if she is retrenched by the company within the 18 months contractual period.
Urgently informing everyone not to work for Singapore Airlines's Krisflyer Membership Services Teledirect Pte Ltd.
And strangely, Singapore's Health Minister will allowed people working in Singapore to be penalised for taking just 1 day medical leave when they are genuinely sick. And there is totally no workers protection for people working in Singapore even the Ministry of Manpower always proclaim the tripartite agreement between government, employers and employees will seek a balance of interests for all three parties.

That one not health ministry problem, that one manpower ministry problem. Ask friend to go complain, will help herself and fellow colleagues. Then again, if she go complain, will probably lose entire month's incentive. Well some brave soul have to stand up to it else nothing gets resolved

want to complain, complain early. Dun wait till end of contract then complain. The contract never say anything about not complaining to Manpower Ministry.

At the end of the day, please do not wait for others to save you. Save yourself. Signing such a crap contract does not mean it is legally binding. Some contracts are illegal. Get a lawyer friend to take a look.

DO IT NOW!

And strangely, Singapore's Health Minister will allowed people working in Singapore to be penalised for taking just 1 day medical leave when they are genuinely sick.

Why should anyone be paid for not showing up for work regardless of the reason?:rolleyes:

Easy to screw the company, where got retrench still have to pay back the company two months' salary.

Best is to sabo the company by calling customers and irritate them. Wahaha. Harlow, wa si SIA hor. You want to buy or not? Why not? We very good leh. Wat? You busy? Economy so bad you still busy? Wat job you do har? Why busy leh?

lol

She only has herself to blame. She should have read the contract before she signs.

True, if she can read English, she has only herself to blame when she put her signature on that piece of slavery paper...because she agreed to become a slave for that company..:D

In many contracts if you dislike the terms, just ask for XXXXXXXX out until both parties are satisfied, otherwise don't take that job...don't be a stupid fool. know your rights...and don't get screwed by greedy and exploitative employers...

Sometimes there's a 'exit' clause in the contract where you can just disappear for 3 days and everything will be settled without any financial loses on both sides....:D

she is FT or not? if FT, i think it is a good deal.
if sinkies, i will not worry for her. she can find something else to do.

Put info into public domain with image of the contract (minus names). They say SIA supports such working conditions. SIA will presssure their contractor to make changes. This can be very bad publicity for SQ.

Our Minister of Manpower in Singapore is one of the fucking bastard in the world.

Chow Chee Bye, what the fuck we need a Minister of Manpower when he cannot help protect the local Singaporeans in our job?

All this fucking contract can exist in Singapore is because our Minister of Manpower closed both his eyes is dont bother. Practicing See No Evil; Hear No Evil; and Talk No Evil!!!

He can go and be burned in hell for collecting millions of SGD dollars salary and yet doesnt want to do anything about all this unjustice in Singapore.

Yet Lee Hsien Loong said that Singaporeans must be put as first priority, fucking talk cock sing song LHL!!!

They say SIA supports such working conditions. SIA will presssure their contractor to make changes. This can be very bad publicity for SQ.

I would really be surprised if that was the case :eek:

This is the airline which grounds stewardesses when they reach 30 :rolleyes:

They will retrench staff at a drop of the hat as seen during the SARs scare.

So this is the result of the highly touted Job Credits scheme huh?

e_pg07laurent.jpg

Junique:
The privilege of running your business is far greater than the money you can earn.

:D :p :D

And because of their cut cost attitide they will squeeze their contractors for whatever benefits they can get. If SQ tells the call center they want better working conditions (bad PR for SQ from public point of view) for they staff for the same contract price doubt if call center will tell SQ to fly a kite.

That is unless that call center is owned by SQ or GLC.

I would really be surprised if that was the case :eek:

This is the airline which grounds stewardesses when they reach 30 :rolleyes:

They will retrench staff at a drop of the hat as seen during the SARs scare.