• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Indian FTrash Buay Song Breadtalk Woh!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Even Breadtalk is racist, ha ha ha </TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Spearmint000 (Spearmint888) <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>2:51 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30171.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Hey, this is farking funny.
hey Rowbox, PAPaBull ... go cry baby at Breadtalk la .... HA HA HA HA HA
http://www.soshiok.com/article/10794
Is Breadtalk naan’s name racist?

Cheryl Wee | The Sunday Times | Sun Mar 14 2010
10794.jpg

Some feel that the name Naan The Nay is actually poking fun at the way Indians speak.

Singapore, March 14, 2010
The name Naan The Nay propped up in front of trays of naan at BreadTalk outlets around the island has been raising a few eyebrows.
It was introduced this year as part of the bakery group’s Spring/Summer 2010 New Bread Collection.
When LifeStyle asked executive assistant Devaki Arumugam what she felt about the name, the 53-year-old says: “If someone from another race pronounces it in a funny way, it might be offensive to some people. Like if a Chinese pronounced such words, he might be seen as making fun of the way Indians speak.”
BreadTalk is known for its quirky names that reflect trends in popular culture, such as Obunma in 2008 and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Bacon, which is a reference to the movie Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.
Student Eunice Ling, 22, would not immediately connect the name Naan The Nay with the way Indians speak.
She adds: “I don’t think BreadTalk means any harm as it is simply promoting the bread. It’s quite lighthearted and I think it is just trying to be creative.”
For some, though, it sounds a tad distasteful.
Saravanan Thechnamortay, a 29-year-old executive assistant, says: “If it is poking fun at the way we speak, then it’s very rude and a bit racist. I feel quite strongly about it.”
According to BreadTalk, Naan The Nay is a direct translation from the Chinese name for the bread, “nan de nan bing”, which it says means an exceptional naan bread that is hard to come by.
The English version was intended to be a direct translation of how the Chinese words sounded.
Ms Uma Rani is not taking the matter seriously.
The 23-year-old student says: “It does sound like it is making fun but I’m not taking it personally. It’s just a way for others to relate to us.
“They don’t understand what we are saying, so to them, it sounds like Naan The Nay. It’s not derogatory or anything,” she adds.
Mr Au Wei Dong, 21, a student, agrees. “It is a non-serious approach to attract attention. Besides, the chain pokes fun at all sorts of things, including the Chinese culture, at times.”

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Dmode101

What do you expect from a typical cheena racist boss? their wheat used to be good but then went downhill becoming hard and cheap dole. I heard that the good flour or wheat came from a japanese seller but the company stopped selling it to them hence the bad quality now. can anyone verify.

Another point is that you can tell they are racist and inconsiderate becasue although its ok to name their breads in a creative way, they did not indicate the food contents inside making it difficult for vegetarian or muslims to know.

It might be little details but that's how you reveal a persons character. And to think they are trying to be a big bakery brandname. it goes to show you dont need a brain to make money. Any chao ah beng with a little luck can achieve his goals.

balajii

Saravanan Thechnamortay, a 29-year-old executive assistant, says: “If it is poking fun at the way we speak, then it’s very rude and a bit racist. I feel quite strongly about it.(said while shaking his head continuously left-right)”:biggrin:

scoobyhoo

What do you expect from a typical cheena racist boss? their wheat used to be good but then went downhill becoming hard and cheap dole. I heard that the good flour or wheat came from a japanese seller but the company stopped selling it to them hence the bad quality now. can anyone verify.

Another point is that you can tell they are racist and inconsiderate becasue although its ok to name their breads in a creative way, they did not indicate the food contents inside making it difficult for vegetarian or muslims to know.

It might be little details but that's how you reveal a persons character. And to think they are trying to be a big bakery brandname. it goes to show you dont need a brain to make money. Any chao ah beng with a little luck can achieve his goals.

Good flour = ?
Not so good flour = ?

Guess "not so good flour" = 90% fresh and uncontaiminted flour + 10% bad flour

bryanlim1972

you make it sound like you (or anyone) could replicate the success of breadtalk in a heartbeat....

Watchman

food republic at vivo have an indian stall by that name......

breadtalk = food republic

go figure

Resort World
PAP
Courts
Breadtalk
St James Power Station (Dennis Foo is a PAP dog)
Senkei Sushi (Douglas Foo is also a PAP dog)
Old Town Coffee Shop (cb kia mo peng Mark Lee)
Toast Box
Republic Food Court
Sheng Song