• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The OTHER forum is HERE so please stop asking.

Indian FTrash Admits Stealing Uni Vacancy At Expense of SG Parents' Money!

makapaaa

Alfrescian (Inf)
Asset
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...oreans-20130223

<!--coloro:#0000FF--><!--/coloro-->A foreigner's appeal to Singaporeans
Published on Feb 23, 2013

I AM a second-year student at a university here. I am also what many would call "foreign talent" - someone "who steals university places from your relatives and friends, and studies at the expense of your parents' tax money".

The recent uproar over the Government's policy on immigrants has been of some concern to me.

I decided to study in Singapore because it is close to and culturally similar to my country.

My education here has been, to a large extent, subsidised through a Ministry of Education tuition grant. This grant requires me to work for at least three years in Singapore after I graduate. So I would be competing with my Singaporean peers for jobs.

This raises the question: Am I making Singapore less Singaporean? Am I unknowingly making life too difficult for citizens? It was certainly not my intention to do so.

I came here to get a good education. It saddens me to see how netizens paint all immigrants in the same bad light and post racist and xenophobic comments online. Getting more immigrants from New Delhi, for example, would certainly not make Singapore the "rape capital of the world".