Improve my english - New year resolution 2012

Hope you don't misunderstand, I really need to better my english sentence structuring.

I just point out the error in good faith and intention.

My angmoh like old computer, sometimes can, sometimes cannot:p

You too, thank you for recipocrating my poor English Grammer or it's non-existence. :D

Bros,

The youtube below is just intro to some of the contents within the scope of the technicalities of the language.

I need something like this (video or books), and need to know the whole complete extent and scope of technicalities in the english language.
Objective is to "know what I don't know".

After knowing what is there, then I can play around with it like building blocks.

Please point to the door of knowledge if you know, thanks in advance.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/xH31hbUyLMY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hi Unrepenting:

You are brave. All of us are working to improve our language skills, written and oral, all the time. I suppose as long as one is not afraid to make mistakes and take the sometimes sarcastic or heavy-handed condemnation, one will improve. I too am on the same road as you.

Cheers bro!

Hi bro,

Wishing you a fruitful journey, and good health too.:)

Hi Unrepenting:

You are brave. All of us are working to improve our language skills, written and oral, all the time. I suppose as long as one is not afraid to make mistakes and take the sometimes sarcastic or heavy-handed condemnation, one will improve. I too am on the same road as you.

Cheers bro!

The best way to improve your English, as least as far as in forum, is to read what I write and to understand how I write it and why I write it. The other good teachers are Scroobal and Forvendet. I don't believe in much of that Leongsam crap about advice versus advise or lose versus loose. Language is not about grammatical and spelling skills. That's liveless structural language. Language is a medium that comes alive only when you can deliver it into another's heart as an art, whether received happily or hurt, according to your intention. Language is more powerful than fists and limbs if you master it.

Thank you for the advice. I do appreciate and comprehend the reasons and delivery of your compositions.

The best way to improve your English, as least as far as in forum, is to read what I write and to understand how I write it and why I write it. The other good teachers are Scroobal and Forvendet. I don't believe in much of that Leongsam crap about advice versus advise or lose versus loose. Language is not about grammatical and spelling skills. That's liveless structural language. Language is a medium that comes alive only when you can deliver it into another's heart as an art, whether received happily or hurt, according to your intention. Language is more powerful than fists and limbs if you master it.

The other good teachers are Scroobal and Forvendet.

Language is more powerful than fists and limbs if you master it.

Btw, where is Ah Forve? Retired from this forum?

Agree. Language is very powerful. Pens are deadly weapons. It can easily kill one's career. It can also move you fast ahead of your cohorts.

Current PS PMO and MND is a good example of one who speaks and writes very well. When we need to put across a point using a para, he will do so with a sentence. The pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

Btw, where is Ah Forve? Retired from this forum?

Agree. Language is very powerful. Pens are deadly weapons. It can easily kill one's career. It can also move you fast ahead of your cohorts.

Current PS PMO and MND is a good example of one who speaks and writes very well. When we need to put across a point using a para, he will do so with a sentence. The pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

the penis is mightier. it can help with a meer humble hole produce life....and spawn entire generations.

1st Class Honours in English. Another with an excellent command of the language is the current AG, 1st class honours in Law but spent formative years in NZ with diplomat father.

The mother of all has to be the old man at Sri Temasek, Istana whose 2 favorites opening lines over 50 years are

"I have been given to undestand ......................................."
"It is in the nature of things............................................."

These 2 opening lines have been used to cajole, persuade, influence and the shape others. The same old man also said that statistics is like a bikini, the most interesting parts are not revealed.

The pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

My secondary English Language teacher often reminded us of this. Beyond getting the grammatical basics, one must also be able to express our thoughts with clarity, logic and conciseness. She went on to say to achieve clear, logical and concised writing however, one must read only those writers who write with sincerity and integrity, opinions that are backed by facts and wide perspective of things. If you would like to heed my teacher's advice, that one thing that you must do is to never never read the postings of the pro PAP samsters here. Because what they write is the exact opposite of what my teacher prescribed. The writings are done with the aim of misleading us (so out the window sincerity and integrity go) into believing their policies, their opinions are not backed by facts, and a rather narrow perspective of things that are self-serving the PAP. Another point that my teacher told us was also to not keep repeating the same points over and over again as that could only mean one thing - no or lack of substance. Since what the pro PAP samsters are guilty of that too, you are well advised to avoid reading what they read. I recently met up with my teacher. Though she had get on in age, her mind is still pretty sharp. She could remember all that she had advised us regarding writing better English. And with her twinkle in her eye, she said she has one latest advice for us for old times' sake and that is to never never never read the gibberish written by a certain Lee Wei Leng in the Sunday Times. She said the first thing we ought to do is to tear off that page and use it to wrap fish.

Mac Meal Problem

Mc+Update_3.jpg

I think many PRCs should also learn this too. I had to help one PRC young guy (16 to 21 yo) to order his Mac Donald meal at a Mac Donald outlet of course. He can't even tell what is "Medium" or "Large". That's bad ! I wondered how he managed to end up here ? If he does not know this lingua franca, studying or working here will be a common obstacle.

1st Class Honours in English. Another with an excellent command of the language is the current AG, 1st class honours in Law but spent formative years in NZ with diplomat father.

Kishore and that Kausikan chap in MFA would fall into this category.

Eason Chan's I Like

[video=youtube;wduTQc7bZpU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wduTQc7bZpU[/video]

Some Chinese like Eason Chan would have said, "I like" 我喜欢 which is actually wrong. The sentence was dangling in the air - not a complete sentence and it sounds weird. It should have been "I like it."

[video=youtube;dq7n4Htajj4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dq7n4Htajj4[/video]

My teacher also taught me;

1. Be intelligent, objective and take caution in your readings, lest you be cometh the author (as far as I can remember his flower flower english, don't know tio bo:o)

2. A good book contains the blood and soul of the author.

My secondary English Language teacher often reminded us of this. Beyond getting the grammatical basics, one must also be able to express our thoughts with clarity, logic and conciseness. ..............

Bro, reading books is excellent and writing becomes second nature. No need books with high literary standard. Here are some approaches

1. Read popular books by a single author of genre that you like. Forget Sci-fi of course. An example would be an recent popular author who has a series of spy thrillers. The series will help you grasp sentence structure better as it comes from the same author and you would not be confused. It reinforces it. People who are into horse betting should read Dick Francis. You not only enjoy a subject that you like but you improve your English as well.

2. If you are up to it, read each year of Pulizter or Booker Prize winners.

3. Lastly practice makes perfect. Did you realise that even in the heat of the moment Ramseth never ever compromises on his written English. It explains his hold on the language. The thread on MRT Emergency is a great start by you. .

My teacher also taught me;

1. Be intelligent, objective and take caution in your readings, lest you be cometh the author (as far as I can remember his flower flower english, don't know tio bo:o)

2. A good book contains the blood and soul of the author.