• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If you are 'retrench', how much company must pay as compensation?

god_zeus

case 1
if you worked for a company for 8 years
suddenly the company tells you they are retrench you
they spend 1 hour to tell u how good a worker u are
but ask you to leave on the spot on that day with 1 months compensation..
of course the company is hiding under the guise of 'retrentment'
but in actual fact it is a dismiisal
so the CEO can get 'her people' in to replace you
so the question is under the law
many months compensation you should get?

case 1
but ask you to leave on the spot on that day with 1 months compensation....hiding under the guise of 'retrentment'
but in actual fact it is a dismiisal ...so the question is under the law how many months compensation you should get?
You mixing up 2 diff things.

For dismissal (firing), and if no grounds on coming short on performance with immediate replacement (as you say) -think you risk reinstatement. Compensation based on contractual employment terms. So may well be that 1 month in lieu of notice.

For redundancy (retrenchment), the "norm" practice is 3 weeks up for each year of service. But this usually applies to "rank and file" employees. For management, no hard and fast rule.. depends on employer and any precedent

wha
like that any manager can be out of work and get only 1 months pay anytime ah
so a manger can be working today and sitting at home tommorrow

You mixing up 2 diff things.

For dismissal (firing), and if no grounds on coming short on performance with immediate replacement (as you say) -think you risk reinstatement. Compensation based on contractual employment terms. So may well be that 1 month in lieu of notice.

For redundancy (retrenchment), the "norm" practice is 3 weeks up for each year of service. But this usually applies to "rank and file" employees. For management, no hard and fast rule.. depends on employer and any precedent

case 1

KILL THE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS AND THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN TO YOU.
YOU LET PAPs LIVE ON WITH THEIR COLLABORATORS YOUR HEAD MUST GO DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED BY THE PAPs
AND FTs BE BROUGHT IN BY PAPs TO KICK YOU OUT OF YOUR JOB

KILL THE PAPs FIRST

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES
Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

dont worry
its not me
I have not hold a full time job since 1999
just trying to see if I can help someone I know in this predictament

That is the fact of life in SG today for all native PMETs if the company decides to replace you with a FTsh. Can the pappies help you?

What you mentioned only applies to company with good reputation. For normal company they will just tell you that due to reorg etc your service is no longer required either on the day itself and pay you 1 mth in lieu of notice. Some company will let you know in advance of approx. 3 mths so that you have ample time to look for another job. For the latter no compensation is done. Both happened to me before.

good company = SIA, Capitalland, singtel..?
'normal company = tan ah kow door knob maker, lian chee how toilet sink maker, chua choon hock air con maintenance etc ?

who want to work for a normal company
today drink tea in company cateen
tmr drink tea at home permanantly..

What you mentioned only applies to company with good reputation. For normal company they will just tell you that due to reorg etc your service is no longer required either on the day itself and pay you 1 mth in lieu of notice. Some company will let you know in advance of approx. 3 mths so that you have ample time to look for another job. For the latter no compensation is done. Both happened to me before.

I believe the market rate now is 2 weeks' pay for 1 year's service. That's what I got anyway.....

help someone I know in this predictament
If non-executive, nothing to stop someone to make a stink with union or MOM. Maybe some compromise can be "reached". If PMET, tough luck as civil recourse may not be worth your while.

That's how the dice rolls here. Unlike in some western europe countries (like Netherlands, Scandinavia), not that easy to rid staff.

Rogue Trader said:
market rate now is 2 weeks' pay for 1 year's service. That's what I got anyway.....
This was norm eons ago. Hopefully, you not short changed

I was let go by the boss who wanted to relocate here from Sydney 2 years ago. This was despite the fact that my utilitisation rate was highest (more than 100%) in the region. He cited my post was 'redundant after restructuring'.

A couple of months after I left he got 2 ex colleagues from Europe to relocate to the singapore office. I asked a buddy in MOM if there is any possibility for recourse through the manpower ministry. He said it's highly impprobable since the new replacements have different job titles from mine (even though the job scope is similar). That company continues to bring in foreigners and last heard there is only 1 singapore left there.

This is my real story ... it just shows what the fate of the singaporean worker has become.

Come 2016 those policy makers will see ....

I heard of 1 month for every year before; but I'm guessing it doesn't happen now?

wah lan
aun knee jialat ah

I was let go by the boss who wanted to relocate here from Sydney 2 years ago. This was despite the fact that my utilitisation rate was highest (more than 100%) in the region. He cited my post was 'redundant after restructuring'.

A couple of months after I left he got 2 ex colleagues from Europe to relocate to the singapore office. I asked a buddy in MOM if there is any possibility for recourse through the manpower ministry. He said it's highly impprobable since the new replacements have different job titles from mine (even though the job scope is similar). That company continues to bring in foreigners and last heard there is only 1 singapore left there.

This is my real story ... it just shows what the fate of the singaporean worker has become.

wah lan
aun knee jialat ah

Yeah quite a shock considering I usually perform at most places I've worked in. Even co workers were stunned when I told them what had happened. Was in a state of shock for the first month, then recovered and started job hunting again. Luckily I managed to get another job with no pay cut... but had to postpone my wedding to concentrate on the new job last year.

This is the kind of game played by foreign owned companies in SG today due to the ease of obtaining work passes by FTsh. They kick out sinkies and get their country men to replace them. Pappies make it easy for them to do it. Natives become jobless and foreigners got the jobs. What a sick Govt we have today.

case 1

As far as I know. There is no MOM regulation on how much they "must" compensate you. There is no "must" compensate. There is a normal practice (not a regulation) but no employer is obliged to do it. You talk some more, they can just fire you on the spot - no compensation, no nothing.

As what they taught you in the army: It is a privilege! Not an entitlement!

By law are require to pay 1~3 month salary base on agrement with the company.
Those company with heart will pay min at least 3 month or every one year service one month basic pay.

Nope, it is not pay 1-3 months salary for free.

The 1-3 months is called notice period. You are required to show up for work throughout this duration. Employment contract details regarding inappropriate behaviour, skiving/MCs and quality of work required in the employment contract still applies during this three months.

Which country is this?

wat type of 'mom' is this
they should set a regulation or law if they havent already
becos like that
all bosses sure want to 'cheat' the workers
cheat one worker out of the company means 1 more night they can spend at the night club with girls

in this day and age
where got 'good' boss
they all sure want to squeese u
our greed society like that sure boss will cheat us lah

if according to mom
like that they suka suka pay u a peanut sending off package
and expect us to quai qaui lan lan
just accept and go quietly ah?

As far as I know. There is no MOM regulation on how much they "must" compensate you. There is no "must" compensate. There is a normal practice (not a regulation) but no employer is obliged to do it. You talk some more, they can just fire you on the spot - no compensation, no nothing.

As what they taught you in the army: It is a privilege! Not an entitlement!