• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If Lee grandchildren can't, you couldn't

sinren67

If MM's grandchildren can't master both English and Mandarin, you most probably can't.

It was believe that his grandchildren might unable to make it to Uni becos of Mandarin, the govt then decided to introduce Chinese B. That has lowered the standard. Now, MM openly defend his perm sec. on discourage peasants pick up dialects as this might affect learning of English & Chinese.

Conclusion: If Lee family can't make it, don't try to surpass them becos you couldn't, unless you carried Lee's DNA.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/415920/1/.html

Singaporeans should focus on learning Mandarin well, says MM Lee

SINGAPORE: The trend of Chinese dialects dying out in Singapore is irreversible, said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, who urged Singaporeans to focus more energy on learning Mandarin instead.

Speaking at the 30th anniversary of the Speak Mandarin Campaign on Tuesday, Mr Lee said the key challenge is no longer about Mandarin versus dialects, but about getting more Chinese Singaporeans to speak Mandarin to their children.

Mastering both English and Mandarin is not an easy task for most children, including the minister mentor's grandchildren.

He said among the seven of them, only one prefers to use Mandarin, whereas the rest often answer in English when he asks them questions in Mandarin.

Mr Lee urged parents to help their children master the language at home.

"If both (parents) can speak Mandarin, don't speak to your child in English, or one in English and one in Chinese. Speak to them in Mandarin, leave their English alone – they will master it," he said.

Research has shown that it is difficult for most children to cope with two languages which are as diverse as English and Mandarin.

According to a study done by Cornelius Kubler, an American professor who teaches Mandarin to US foreign service officers, it takes four times as long to train someone to a level where they can function professionally in Mandarin, compared to other languages like French, German and Spanish.

That is why Mr Lee said there is a need to build a strong Mandarin foundation in children.

On learning dialects, the minister mentor said it causes negative interferences with the learning of Mandarin and English because dialects have different vocabulary, phonetics and syntax.

"Today's Zaobao had a whole series of middle aged and older generation saying we must have dialects. If you've got 100 gigabytes here, then you can put it in. But you haven't got 100 gigabytes... and the more you use dialects, the less you will use your Mandarin. Your Mandarin will go down, your English will not go down because you have to use it," Mr Lee said.

He added that if the government had left language habits to evolve undirected, Chinese Singaporeans would be speaking an adulterated Hokkien-Teochew dialect.

Mr Lee also said the value of a language is its usefulness. If one speaks Hokkien or Cantonese, one could only reach some 60 million people in Fujian and Taiwan, or about 100 million in Guangdong and Hong Kong.

With Mandarin, one can reach 1.3 billion Chinese from all provinces in China.

Statistics from the Education Ministry showed that the proportion of Chinese families in Singapore who speak dialects at home has dropped significantly in the past 30 years.

It fell below 10 per cent in 1988 and continued on a downward trend. Since 2001, less than 2 per cent of Chinese students in each cohort have come from dialect-speaking homes, demonstrating that majority of parents prefer their children to focus on learning English and Mandarin well.

"Did you watch the Beijing Olympics Opening? I was there. I was watching the reactions of the foreign leaders and I knew that they knew this is a country that is going to rise," Mr Lee added.

He said Singapore is useful to China because we have access to the English-speaking world and have developed links with them due to our language policy.

At the same time, Singaporeans are fluent in Mandarin; hence we can communicate with those in China and help them understand the West.

As part of this year's Speak Mandarin Campaign, the Promote Mandarin Council will launch a challenge in two weeks to encourage Chinese Singaporeans to embrace Chinese language and culture.

Out of his 7 grandchildren, only one will respond in Mandarin when spoken in Mandarin. 6/7 failure rate is rather telling and this is the man that convinced a whole swarthe of dialect speakers to abandon their mother tongues to speak Mandarin.

Now he reveals that it takes 4 times more effort than learning other foreign languages.

... Mastering both English and Mandarin is not an easy task for most children, including the minister mentor's grandchildren.

He said among the seven of them, only one prefers to use Mandarin, whereas the rest often answer in English when he asks them questions in Mandarin.
一代不如一代? ... :eek:

... On learning dialects, the minister mentor said it causes negative interferences with the learning of Mandarin and English because dialects have different vocabulary, phonetics and syntax. ...
which research findings said dat? ...

... Singaporeans are fluent in Mandarin; hence we can communicate with those in China and help them understand the West. ...
tok big again ... ppl nid sg 2 help dem understand ze west meh? ...

sinren67

How MM thinks and and his thought could explain and will assure why Sg will forever remain at the bottom of first world countries. (or have we ever been?)

He's either senile or insane, using his grandchildren as yardstick for commoners' children. His grandchildren are being brought up in a family with combined income of some $20 million or more. To paraphrase him, his grandchildren don't have learn what they don't want to, but the commoners will acquire and won't lose their multilingual and multidialectal skills because we need it.

NissanViP

Fucker MM Lee said " China will rise" and therefore we die-die must bring our children to speak mandarin to reach billions in china due to strong economy China has build.

What about India who will rise not just population also in terms of economy?

Is fucker Lee comment is biased? Or is it about his hidden hatred towards neighbour country "Malaysia" when Tunku Rahman rejected his request to allow non malay to be Prime Minister back in 1963.

Subsequently, LKY deliberately ordered his gangster member to caused the race-riot in 1964 in order to take full control Singapore. The fact is, Queen Elizebeth is the one support LKY to reign Singapore separation from Malaya.

After the separation in 1965, his gangster eventually was detained under Internal "High" Security in fear that his master plan may be expose by his own gangster members and he will be prosecuted under criminal act.

If the international Court would to summon me for the above allegation, I would gladly to stand trial against LEE KUAN YEW along with the witnesses whom LEE KUAN YEW knows very well including Malaysian veteran politicians during the early days.

Please not in Singapore Kangaroo Court.

Never believe any single word comes from LEE FUCKER YEW.

The guy gives the imnpression that only with Mandarin can you engage China. That seesm to be the only reason that he keeps giving.

He imposed Mandarin to cut Lim Chin Siong off at the legs who was a gifted hokkein orator and break the linguistic advantage the rest of the major dialect speakers had.

denzuko1

....Research has shown that it is difficult for most children to cope with two languages which are as diverse as English and Mandarin....On learning dialects, the minister mentor said it causes negative interferences with the learning of Mandarin and English because dialects have different vocabulary, phonetics and syntax..."Today's Zaobao had a whole series of middle aged and older generation saying we must have dialects. If you've got 100 gigabytes here, then you can put it in. But you haven't got 100 gigabytes... and the more you use dialects, the less you will use your Mandarin. Your Mandarin will go down, your English will not go down because you have to use it," Mr Lee said...Mr Lee also said the value of a language is its usefulness. If one speaks Hokkien or Cantonese, one could only reach some 60 million people in Fujian and Taiwan, or about 100 million in Guangdong and Hong Kong...."Did you watch the Beijing Olympics Opening? I was there. I was watching the reactions of the foreign leaders and I knew that they knew this is a country that is going to rise," Mr Lee added.....Council will launch a challenge in two weeks to encourage Chinese Singaporeans to embrace Chinese language and culture.

He is bullshitting. My daughter is only 4 and she can speak Cantonese, Mandarin and English. Even the nursery teacher said that it is easy for children to pick up a new language.

Considering a person who can't speak his own dialect until he runs the country. You can't use his opinion with much credit.

rainnix

LKY is dyslexic, he has an albino grandson. Poor genes is poor genes, cannot learn both languages don't put the blame on the use of dialect in Singapore. :oIo:

yansen84

setting aside his discrimination against dialects, it is plain obvious how his dual language policy has failed. how many young singaporeans nowadays are able converse well (not even fluently) in Mandarin? Look how often they break out into English because they can't think of the Mandarin equivalent word/phrase? And that's not to say our English standards are high by any means. Even in uni, the supposed cream of the academic crop write reports in poor English - bad grammar, limited vocabulary, Chinese sentence structures and the like. I used to work abroad and it was appalling when I heard a fellow Singaporean speak to foreigners - almost exactly like how they would speak to a fellow Sinkie.

Judging by the spectacular failure of the govt's language policies, we should probably give short shrift to the old fart's latest outburst.

... Mastering both English and Mandarin is not an easy task for most children, including the minister mentor's grandchildren.

"If both (parents) can speak Mandarin, don't speak to your child in English, or one in English and one in Chinese. Speak to them in Mandarin, leave their English alone – they will master it," he said.

u nid ur grandchildren 2 teach u tis ...

but den, nt evry1 is like ur grandchildren ...

sinren67

setting aside his discrimination against dialects, it is plain obvious how his dual language policy has failed. how many young singaporeans nowadays are able converse well (not even fluently) in Mandarin? Look how often they break out into English because they can't think of the Mandarin equivalent word/phrase? And that's not to say our English standards are high by any means. Even in uni, the supposed cream of the academic crop write reports in poor English - bad grammar, limited vocabulary, Chinese sentence structures and the like. I used to work abroad and it was appalling when I heard a fellow Singaporean speak to foreigners - almost exactly like how they would speak to a fellow Sinkie.

Judging by the spectacular failure of the govt's language policies, we should probably give short shrift to the old fart's latest outburst.

MM says just type in the pinyin from the keypad and the characters (Chinese) will appear. Fuck lah..actually English also about the same what! I type englis in the Word and it will underlined, then right click to opt for the "appear" English. Double standard.

... how many young singaporeans nowadays are able converse well (not even fluently) in Mandarin? Look how often they break out into English because they can't think of the Mandarin equivalent word/phrase? ...
never mind la ...

let mandarin evolve in2 singdarin in sg ...

locky2ky

If MM's grandchildren can't master both English and Mandarin, you most probably can't.

It was believe that his grandchildren might unable to make it to Uni becos of Mandarin, the govt then decided to introduce Chinese B. That has lowered the standard. Now, MM openly defend his perm sec. on discourage peasants pick up dialects as this might affect learning of English & Chinese.

Conclusion: If Lee family can't make it, don't try to surpass them becos you couldn't, unless you carried Lee's DNA.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/415920/1/.html

Singaporeans should focus on learning Mandarin well, says MM Lee

SINGAPORE: The trend of Chinese dialects dying out in Singapore is irreversible, said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, who urged Singaporeans to focus more energy on learning Mandarin instead.

Speaking at the 30th anniversary of the Speak Mandarin Campaign on Tuesday, Mr Lee said the key challenge is no longer about Mandarin versus dialects, but about getting more Chinese Singaporeans to speak Mandarin to their children.

Mastering both English and Mandarin is not an easy task for most children, including the minister mentor's grandchildren.

Research has shown that it is difficult for most children to cope with two languages which are as diverse as English and Mandarin.

According to a study done by Cornelius Kubler, an American professor who teaches Mandarin to US foreign service officers, it takes four times as long to train someone to a level where they can function professionally in Mandarin, compared to other languages like French, German and Spanish.

That is why Mr Lee said there is a need to build a strong Mandarin foundation in children.

On learning dialects, the minister mentor said it causes negative interferences with the learning of Mandarin and English because dialects have different vocabulary, phonetics and syntax.

"Today's Zaobao had a whole series of middle aged and older generation saying we must have dialects. If you've got 100 gigabytes here, then you can put it in. But you haven't got 100 gigabytes... and the more you use dialects, the less you will use your Mandarin. Your Mandarin will go down, your English will not go down because you have to use it," Mr Lee said.

He added that if the government had left language habits to evolve undirected, Chinese Singaporeans would be speaking an adulterated Hokkien-Teochew dialect.

Mr Lee also said the value of a language is its usefulness. If one speaks Hokkien or Cantonese, one could only reach some 60 million people in Fujian and Taiwan, or about 100 million in Guangdong and Hong Kong.

With Mandarin, one can reach 1.3 billion Chinese from all provinces in China.

Statistics from the Education Ministry showed that the proportion of Chinese families in Singapore who speak dialects at home has dropped significantly in the past 30 years.

It fell below 10 per cent in 1988 and continued on a downward trend. Since 2001, less than 2 per cent of Chinese students in each cohort have come from dialect-speaking homes, demonstrating that majority of parents prefer their children to focus on learning English and Mandarin well.

"Did you watch the Beijing Olympics Opening? I was there. I was watching the reactions of the foreign leaders and I knew that they knew this is a country that is going to rise," Mr Lee added.

He said Singapore is useful to China because we have access to the English-speaking world and have developed links with them due to our language policy.

At the same time, Singaporeans are fluent in Mandarin; hence we can communicate with those in China and help them understand the West.

As part of this year's Speak Mandarin Campaign, the Promote Mandarin Council will launch a challenge in two weeks to encourage Chinese Singaporeans to embrace Chinese language and culture.

no wonder the old man's grandkids are not able to pick up mandarin, they are learning it on utilitarian pragmatic ground! one of my neighbours' kid wasn't able to make any head way on the language until he found a tutor who was able to show him there was fun in the language.

Hakka Tiow

LKY is dyslexic, he has an albino grandson. Poor genes is poor genes, cannot learn both languages don't put the blame on the use of dialect in Singapore. :oIo:

August 2007
Thursday, August 30, 2007
Singapore's uncertain future
Anyone interested in Singapore or thinking of coming or settling here should read Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew’s interview in the International Herald Tribune. He is not even sure if Singapore has a future.

"We have survived so far, 42 years," he says. "Will we survive for another 42? It depends upon world conditions. It doesn't depend on us alone."

This coming from Singapore’s first prime minister -- whose son, Lee Hsien Loong, is now the prime minister –- shows how vulnerable Singapore is. Even the leadership admits the future depends on external factors.

MM Lee has spoken of Singapore’s vulnerability before. But it’s alarming when he says:

“Our armed forces can withstand an attack and inflict damage for two weeks, three weeks, but a siege? (he laughs ),” reports the Herald Tribune.

The Herald Tribune comments:

This sense of vulnerability is Lee's answer to all his critics, to those who say his country is too tightly controlled, that it leashes the press, suppresses free speech, curtails democracy, tramples on dissidents and stunts entrepreneurship and creativity in its citizens.

But I can’t quite agree when MM Lee says Singapore is “ideology-free”.

It’s a small island with a big government which runs on a strange mixture of capitalism and statism. There’s a huge income gap with ministers earning million-dollar salaries on the principle of meritocracy that talent should be rewarded. On the other hand, the state presence can be felt everywhere. Virtually every major Singapore company is government-linked. Even when Singaporeans die, they are subject to government rules. Their organs can be recycled by the state and used in transplants to save the lives of others.

This benevolent omnipotence of the state is the result of the way Singapore developed. Everything from public housing to major local business enterprises had to be created by the government.

Modern Singapore -- "an economic powerhouse with one of the world's highest per capita incomes, high-quality schools, health care and public services" -- is MM Lee’s “creation”, as the Herald Tribune says. He himself is more modest. “I wasn't a loner. I had some very powerful minds working with me,” he says.

But what’s intriguing is why, if the country has such a good education system, the minister’s sons and government scholars go abroad for higher studies. MM Lee says:

"I've got one grandson gone to MIT. Another grandson had been in the American school here (in Singapore). Because he was dyslexic and we then didn't have the teachers to teach him how to overcome or cope with his dyslexia, so he was given exemption to go to the American school. He speaks like an American. He's going to Wharton." So the latter is continuing his American education. But what about the other? Why go to MIT and not the National University of Singapore? After all, it’s ranked among the best in the world –- or so the newspapers say.

Is it because studying abroad makes one more cosmopolitan? Or is it something to do with the quality of education?

MM Lee himself went to Cambridge. And he is absolutely brilliant.

He is spot on when he says the United States has become so preoccupied with the Middle East that it is neglecting Asia. China’s power is growing, he points out. And who knows what the consequences of that might be?

Hakka Tiow

HomeSyndicateSyndicate this category

Main Page
Previous: An Unlevel Playing Field in Singapore Politics
Next: New media, same rules

LKY breaks MOE rule to enrol Lee Hsien Yang's son in Singapore American school
by Steven on Sat 15 Apr 2006 01:23 PM BST | Permanent Link | Cosmos
LKY breaks MOE rule to enrol Lee Hsien Yang's son in Singapore American school
This is rather annoying as I have had conversations with Singaporeans in the past who have made frequent requests to opt out of the system only to be constantly rejected. One rule for Singaporeans and another for the Lee family?

Someone should approach MM Lee and politely request that he, with the deepest respect, keep away from the press.

From Singapore Window.

Channel News Asia
April 11, 2006
By Asha Popatlal,

MINISTER Mentor Lee Kuan Yew hopes Singaporeans can emulate the American spirit of self-help where citizens get together to do what's needed instead of looking to the government for assistance.
He made this call at the Singapore American School's 50th anniversary celebrations.

The school first opened its doors in 1956 in a colonial house with just over a hundred students.

Since then it has grown from strength to strength, and is now the largest international school in the world, with 3450 students.

In many ways, its growth and success has mirrored that of Singapore, the country it's located in.

US Ambassador to Singapore, Patricia Herbold, said: "What stands out most to me is the fact that neither Singapore American School nor Singapore rested on its laurels. They consistently looked to the future and planned for tomorrow. Both have been blessed with exceptional leaders who have grasped opportunities that have resulted in continuous growth and adaptation."

But there is one difference.

And that's the American trait of self-help.

The school itself was set up by a group of American businessmen and their spouses, not the American embassy.

And it's this characteristic that MM Lee hopes Singaporeans can emulate.

He said: "As Singapore companies go abroad and have to expand, Singapore expatriates have to set up their own international schools. But unlike Americans who get together and set up their own international schools, Singaporeans write to their government and say 'please set up such schools for us'."

For Mr Lee, the help extended by the Singapore American School was also personal as it has touched the life of his grandson.

Addressing the Singapore American School (SAS), MM Lee said: "I also had a grandson who could not fit into our schools. He had an IQ of 140, so he is not a stupid boy. But he was having trouble. His brother was scoring and he was not because he was dyslexic and he had to learn two languages - English and Chinese.

"So, the Education Ministry allowed him to opt out of the system. We did not have the specialist teachers to cater for people like him. He joined the SAS and at your school, your teachers helped him cope with his dyslexia and in the process restored his self esteem and confidence, and he's done well. Your staff support the American community and they have brought benefits to Singaporeans. Thank you." - CNA/ir

Hakka Tiow

Following comments received from Robert Ho...

RH: Most rules are draconian and ill-conceived by LKY and this one rule by his Ministry of Education had to be broken purely for the sake of his grandson.

Prior to his grandson, allegedly with the IQ of 140, probably tested with tests designed for Americans as most are, so a well-read and well-schooled boy from our system has far superior advantage compared to the lazy Americans and other whites who spend all their time playing and dancing to MTV, etc, the MOE refused all requests for Singaporean parents to let their children study in the American School. Then, when this grandson, from SingTel's Lee Hsien Yang, if I remember correctly, found that he could not fit and compete effectively in Singapore's tought educational system, he wanted to opt out and the MOE Rule was broken for him to attend SAS.

Proves that when you are related to LKY, no rules can apply to you. After Lee Hsien Yang's son was allowed to attend SAS, other Singaporean parents were tokenly allowed in as well. Also, why SAS? Why not other good local dyslectic schools? Reason, LKY wanted yet another opportunity to prostitute to the Americans. He has such faith in the American system and wanted to his grandson to be the tool for him to burnish his prostituting relations with the Americans.

He succeeded so well that now, as this article proves, he got a chance to speak at the SAS and meet Herbold. His grandson was thus just another tool for his prostitution to the Americans. Note: There are many local dyslexia schools in Singapore but LKY wanted his grandson to be a tool for his American prostitution.

Hakka Tiow

Encyclopedia > Li Hongyi
Li Hongyi (born 1 May, 1987) is the eldest son of Lee Hsien Loong, the current serving Prime Minister of Singapore, from his second marriage with Ho Ching, who heads Singapore's state investment firm Temasek Holdings. Li is known to be suffering from dyslexia. This is a Chinese name; the family name is æŽ (Lee) Lee Hsien Loong (Simplified Chinese: ; Traditional Chinese: ; Pinyin: ; born February 10, 1952) is the third and current Prime Minister of Singapore. ... The Priminster of Singa pyohbsdg vjhd|Lee Kuan Yew||3 June 1959 || 28 November 1990 || 1968 GE 94. ... Ho Ching (Chinese: 何晶; Pinyin: Hé JÄ«ng) is the executive director of Temasek Holdings. ... Temasek Holdings is the investment arm of the Singapore government and owned 100% by the Ministry of Finance. ...

Education
He was a student in the Gifted Education Programme and studied at Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) before moving on to Raffles Junior College. He is currently on a Singapore Public Service Commission scholarship and will be pursuing a degree in Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Anglo-Chinese School (Independent), New IB Block Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) was originally established as the secondary school section of Anglo-Chinese School in 1886 and it was consistently ranked as one of the top secondary schools in Singapore in the now-defunct official school rankings released by the Ministry... This article needs additional references or sources for verification. ... The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) is a private, coeducational research university located in Cambridge, Massachusetts. ...

Controversies
He courted controversy while doing his national service, when he bypassed the chain of command in an attempt to disrepute a fellow officer and his immediate superior, and disseminated an email complaint to hundreds of military personnel including the defense minister.

The contents of his letter[1] were leaked, to the general public and rapidly caught attention via the internet. In it, he stated concerns regarding "the quality control of SAF (Singapore Armed Forced) officer" and raised specific dissatisfaction with a named fellow officer pertaining to the dereliction of duties, where he detailed his investigation into the officer's AWOL (Absence Without Official Leave). Having brought attention to his OC (Officer in Command), the offending officer was duly given the punishment of "10 extra duties". Having observed the punishment being dealt in the RO (Regimental Orders), he felt the severity of the transgression was taken lightly, and proceeded to summarily put this incident as his example of what was lacking and in contrast with the image of high standard set by SAF leadership.

In the aftermath, Li Hongyi was "formally charged and administered a reprimand after a summary trial" in an statement issued by the ministry of defense[2][3][4][5], for contravening the General Orders of adhering to the chain of command and "broadcasting his letter of complaint to many other servicemen". The officer whom he accused was court-martialled.

Hakka Tiow

Excerpted from IHT, August 29, 2007
http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/08/29/asia/lee-excerpts.php

On free press

IHT: But won't that require a greater opening up of society here? A loosening of the press, of free speech, of political competition?

Lee Kuan Yew: You're giving me the classical . . .

IHT: I am, I want to . . .

Lee Kuan Yew: No, the classical, Western, liberal approach.

IHT: It's not my practice . . .

Lee Kuan Yew: No, no. It's the Western, classical, liberal approach.

IHT: Right.

Lee Kuan Yew: I'm giving you the answer of a pragmatist. (Pragmatist as a Singaporean or pragmatist as a politician?)

IHT: That's what I want to hear.

Lee Kuan Yew: For the top 20 percent of the population, there are no constraints there. I would say . . . top 20 percent, the educated population. They're educated abroad, at university.

So, they know the wide world and they are on the Internet and they've got friends, they e-mail them. They travel. Every year, about 50 percent of Singaporeans travel by air.

So, this is not a closed society. But at the same time, we try to maintain a certain balance with the people who are not finding it so comfortable to suddenly find the world changed, their world, their sense of place, their sense of position in society. (He is quite happy for the bland majority to remain cocooned and sheltered from the challenges from a rapidly changing world. However, he believes in importing cheaper foreigners to challenge the same group economically in order to maintain Singapore's competitiveness.)

We call them the heartlanders in the HDB estates [government housing developments], the people who live in three- and four-room flats. Three and four rooms are the lowest end. Five rooms and the executives are the upper end.

And so we have this dichotomy. You can read the analysis by our academics who wrote that we are using the heartlanders to keep progress in check.

On recognition of gays

But they have not governed the place. (laughs) The academics, they write these things from abstract analysis. Like gays, we take an ambiguous position. We say, O.K., leave them alone but let's leave the law as it is for the time being and let's have no gay parades.

IHT: Don't ask, don't tell?

Lee Kuan Yew: Yes, we've got to go the way the world is going. China has already allowed and recognized gays, so have Hong Kong and Taiwan. (Interesting! A Western educated political leader who is even more conservative than a 'traditional, conservative' Chinese communist).

It's a matter of time. But we have a part Muslim population, another part conservative older Chinese and Indians. So, let's go slowly. It's a pragmatic approach to maintain social cohesion.

On his grandchildren

I've got one grandson gone to MIT. Another grandson had been in the American school here. Because he was dyslexic and we then didn't have the teachers to teach him how to overcome or cope with his dyslexia, so he was given exemption to go to the American school. (Hmm...how many dyslexic children in Singapore are given opportunity to go to American school). He speaks like an American. He's going to Wharton.

On political opponents

IHT: Well, what about your opponents? Do you ever feel that, looking back now, maybe I didn't have to go that far?

Lee Kuan Yew: My political opponents, you mean?

IHT: Uhm-hmm.

Lee Kuan Yew: No, I don't think so. I never killed them. I never destroyed them. Politically, they destroyed themselves. (So this is LKY's way of saying that he did not go that far.)