• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Idiot Sinkie got lost in Alaska, laughing stock of the world

You do know that one requires a license killing certain species in Alaska? Oh yeah, you don't I see. Okay.

yes, i know one need a hunting license. But if u happen to be attack by wild animal and have a firearm by your side, what would u do, obey the law or shoot the animal to save your skin.

i rest my case.:rolleyes:

Windsor

Your reasoning is sound where you are from, but in Alaska, one is expected to respect the wildlife and refrain from shooting anything that moves on sight. Hikers in Alaska usually do not carry firearms and wild animals do not attack for unapparent reason. Just stay clear if one sees a large animal and do not provoke any attack. The weapon one carries should be sufficient to frighten them away. Guidelines are provided in websites about hiking in Alaska. On hindsight, he should have hired a guide or have a companion, but experience teacheth fools.

yes, i know one need a hunting license. But if u happen to be attack by wild animal and have a firearm by your side, what would u do, obey the law or shoot the animal to save your skin.

i rest my case.:rolleyes:

Looks like the idiot brought along personal bags of chocolates and potato chips for the trekking adventure.

Sounds like it, with all the preparation time that he had, u would have thought he could figure out something as basic as his food supply. I wonder why The Shit Times or mediacorspe has not interviewed him,I would like to see what this idiot looks like.

You dislike PAP and yet you talk like PAP, using PAP standard to judge others.

I wonder who is the vagina.

I am sorry, u lost me here. I talk like the PAP? Really? How do u determine this? And u are still a vagina.

I have to agree!I think it's more like sheer stupidity than guts! To embark on such an ambitious adventure, one should show maturity, preparedness, mental strength and physical conditioning and above all, lots of common sense. He got lost, plain and simple and if not for the help he received from the Alaskans (read proteins etc), he won't be alive to recount his tale! He certainly put Sinkapore on the world map, that is, as the laughing stock! A real comedy of errors by our own version of Indiana Jones!:biggrin::rolleyes:

He was very close to getting the singapore darwin award.

er... .380 pistol round can bring down a moose? i dun want even say the bear as confirm cannot. if he is surprise by either a moose or a bear, he will not have enough time to take the pistol out of where ever he was keeping it, chamber a round with his thick gloves on. he seems to be ill prepare for the trip despite planning for it for months.

Most people who go hiking in the wild bring bear spray or an airhorn. Both of which will deter pretty much all manner of animals from attacking you and are legal to own. Buying a .38 handgun unlicensed is illegal and in many states will land u in serious trouble. This goofball is likely to shoot himself in an accidental discharge. I can only surmise that he bought the handgun to defend himself in case some big burly hunters found him and wanted to poke his backside.

I am saying you know nothing about hiking in american wildness.

It shows that u are illiterate. If u really read the article, u will see that its not so much about hiking rather than winter survival. If you spend 8 hours a day skiing on a ski slope with minus 15 degree temperature (including windchills), or snowshoeing around the ski mountain in similar conditions, than u would be more qualified to comment on this guy's misadventures. Now I have done this.Hiking in the american wilderness does not prepare u for what he went thru.

Sounds like it, with all the preparation time that he had, u would have thought he could figure out something as basic as his food supply. I wonder why The Shit Times or mediacorspe has not interviewed him,I would like to see what this idiot looks like.

1. bro, you would not be disappointed.
2. the idiot will just look like an idiot.
3. clueless on the elements and alaska!

Since you apparently knows so much, pray tell us more about hiking in the great american wilderness. I would really appreciate learning from you.

you wrote this right
wild animals do not attack for unapparent reason. Just stay clear if one sees a large animal and do not provoke any attack.

Just stay inside your HDB flat with your dogs, dun give advice to other about wild animals when you do not know anything about wild animals.

Windsor

So pray tell us what you know, otherwise I will think you too know zilch.

you wrote this right
wild animals do not attack for unapparent reason. Just stay clear if one sees a large animal and do not provoke any attack.

Just stay inside your HDB flat with your dogs, dun give advice to other about wild animals when you do not know anything about wild animals.

i know when you talk nonsense.
I went to USA Utah/Arizona a few years ago, I am going back in a few month to Arizona. The bear are dangerous, there were 50 000 bears in the past, but now left only 5000 bears in the wild. Even if you are sleeping in the tent, if they want, they will come into your tent to look for food.

That kid who went to alaska, he is right to be afraid of the bears.

Windsor

Did I say anything that he should not be afraid of bears? Please highlight that statement I made. You are saying you are a specialist and you have been in and out of USA mixing with bears? I was repeating what was stated in the guidelines regarding protection in Alaska. Any large animal is dangerous, which is pretty obvious. Boasting about your trips to US does not qualify you as a dangerous animal expert.

"Protection

Firearms should never be used as an alternative to common-sense approaches to bear encounters. If you are inexperienced with a firearm in emergency situations, you are more likely to be injured by a gun than a bear. It is illegal to carry firearms in some of Alaska's national parks, so check before you go.

A .300-Magnum rifle or a 12-gauge shotgun with rifled slugs are appropriate weapons if you have to shoot a bear. Heavy handguns such as a .44-Magnum may be inadequate in emergency situations, especially in untrained hands.

State law allows a bear to be shot in self-defense if you did not provoke the attack and if there is no alternative, but the hide and skull must be salvaged and turned over to the authorities.

Defensive aerosol sprays which contain capsicum (red pepper extract) have been used with some success for protection against bears. These sprays may be effective at a range of 6-8 yards. If discharged upwind or in a vehicle, they can disable the user. Take appropriate precautions. If you carry a spray can, keep it handy and know how to use it."

In addition, if anyone wants to travel in bear country, they should be armed with some knowledge of what to expect. Examples of provoking wild animals are detailed as follows:

"In Summary

* Avoid surprising bears at close distance; look for signs of bears and make plenty of noise.
* Avoid crowding bears; respect their "personal space."
* Avoid attracting bears through improper handling of food or garbage.
* Plan ahead, stay calm, identify yourself, don't run.

In most cases, bears are not a threat, but they do deserve your respect and attention. When traveling in bear country, keep alert and enjoy the opportunity to see these magnificent animals in their natural habitat.

Female bears can be fierce defenders of their young. Getting between a female and her cubs is a serious mistake. A female bear may respond aggressively to any threat she perceives to her cubs.

For additional information about traveling in bear country, please contact one of the following agencies which participated in publication of this brochure."

i know when you talk nonsense.
I went to USA Utah/Arizona a few years ago, I am going back in a few month to Arizona. The bear are dangerous, there were 50 000 bears in the past, but now left only 5000 bears in the wild. Even if you are sleeping in the tent, if they want, they will come into your tent to look for food.

That kid who went to alaska, he is right to be afraid of the bears.

i never said i was an expert, but reading from your post
what did you said
you said

That is not true. that wild animals do attack for no apparent reason.

Just stay clear if you see, what if you do not see it, or you happen to walk into one cover by vegetation?

I do not want to keep talking to you about this, you want to argue over grammars and sentence. Do it on your own sweet time with sammyboy, our language expert.

Windsor

Your propensity to make inane remarks can be seen from most of your posts, but no comments on those. You are saying that I am suggesting that you can also swim with the sharks and they will not attack for no apparent reason? Any fool who care nothing about their lives will go into the wilderness without being prepared for the unforeseened. Even if you say he should walk right into a bear, although armed with an elephant shotgun, he would not be able to save himself. Even yourself driving a car crashing headlong into an oncoming car at 200 kph with seatbelts on would not save you from harm. Just don't do it on purpose.

i never said i was an expert, but reading from your post
what did you said
you said

That is not true. that wild animals do attack for no apparent reason.

Just stay clear if you see, what if you do not see it, or you happen to walk into one cover by vegetation?

I do not want to keep talking to you about this, you want to argue over grammars and sentence. Do it on your own sweet time with sammyboy, our language expert.

i think u miss my point. i am not advocating carrying firearm for hiking at anywhere but if he really afraid, it better to carry something that is more useful than the puny .38 pistol which is useless against highway robbers in the land of the free.

why should he carry that .380 when he not even trained on it? just becasue he a sgt during NSF mean he qualified in the 0.380.

as for whether wild animal attack for no apparent reason, i really dunno. The only big wild animals i ever encounter are wild boars in Tekong. Much bigger than those that can be see in the mainland in Lim Chu Kang. To those who BMT were in Tekong Camp III will be scare of wild boar during prowling for guard duty, especially the part have to climb the small slope behind the ammo dump. On the left a steep slope and on the right thick vegetation where the wild boar can rush out with on a lousy baton and rattan shield for self defense.:eek: