KNN my uncle know where you coming from but the strange thing that happened was that the gp leefered my uncle to the specialist based on the abnormal stress test leesult then days later that company's also have own cardiologist that certified the leeport to be normal (which My uncle onllee leeceived the leeport just 2 days before the specialist appointment KNN) hence the specialist leeviewed the leeport and said everything looks normal why you are here so my uncle just leeply I also don't know KNN
I dunno exactly how the Cardiac Stress Test clinic is run where your uncle went.
Could be that the GP is the dr performing the stress tests. As your uncle will know, they hook you up with the leads then ask you to run on treadmill. Try to attain your targeted heart rates. Need Dr present cos sometimes the fella run then kena heart attack right there and there.
Anyway after the ECG reading all recorded then they send the data to Cardiologist to read and verify.
Technically all patients are sort of "referred" to the Cardiologist when we send the reports to the Cardiologist to read. Just a matter of whether they book you an appointment to see the Cardiologist in person or not.
Now the ECG and BP and HR readings are just pictures and numbers.
The GP who may be doing the stress test actually sees the patient. How breathless they become. How they clutch their chest during running or break down in pain etc.
Maybe you can ask you uncle was the treadmill stress test very jia lat for him?
SOmetimes not all about pictures and numbers on a paper you know. And Stress test is only to check for possible blocked coronary arteries but is not fool proof. Also often the unfit patients cannot run and cannot hit the targeted heart rates. So then test is not accurate liao.
THere are pharmaceutical based stress test also they inject medication into the patient to stress the heart.
Idea is the heart need oxygen. Coronary arteries supply blood to feed oxygen to heart. ECG picks up what we call ST depressions which signify ischemic episodes ie not enough oxygen to heart. If stress heart make it pump harder and faster means it needs more oxygen. So during times of stress then can see the ST depression whereas when at rest is all normal. If stress test positive or suspicious next step is Coronary Angiogram. Inject dye into the coronary arteries look for actual blocks. Risk is.....stroke! death! So no play play. Also usually if do coronary angio they will also get consent to put in stent if they find blocks.
This whole process and chain of events is like Euros 2021 from group stage then round of 16 then q final then semi then final.
Sometiems good for patients to know so they know where it is going.
Imagine you watch Euros at group stage then you have no idea what the next steps are. You say wah England finished top! They won Euros? Then you say cheh......
So I try to let patients know the whole steps. Before they take the first step. Try lah.