I had my free company paid medical checkup today and the doctor said I have paroxysmal atrial fibrillation

K L N

Your loctor is very ignorant.
She should had written a letter to leefer you for a proper heart check up at Heart Ctr.
There, they will do an Echocardiogram or install a Holter for you to wear one day to further monitor your heart rythms.
It could be AF or VF.
These two are difficult to compare unless done by a professsional heart consultant.
If serious, you may undergo an Ops to wear AICD or Pacemaker.

AF. Irregular heart beat. Pepitation. Be careful. Teres no cure. May nid blood thinner. AF have 5-fold in stroke risk.

K L N

And Yes, you need meds.

Besterest you go Poly to get appt to Heart Ctr,
Or if you really breathless again, betterest call Ambulance direct to A&E.
Dont play with your health.
You senior Sammyboyers are scaring me now.
:cry::eek::frown::frown:

K L N

You ask. We try to help.

Did your loctor check your BP?
Did she mention if she heard any murmur from your heart.?

K L N

Did she send you for Xray?

K L N You should comprain this lousy loctor to SMC and MOH.

KLN cheesetuloot you sounded very experienced with heart matters KLN

K L N

Thats why I said my toilet verlee verlee Clean.
Got lime and lemon fragrances.

Inside, I have a Heart Operating Room and Loctor Clinic also.

Its IlLeegal, so sshhh, priest dont tell anyone hor.
I trust you.

I told the doctor I have shortness of breath this morning and slight chest pain. She did an ECG for me and says all is good.

She said I may have had a momentarily paroxysmal atrial fibrillation, hence my shortness of breath and slight chest pain.

I asked her what is that. She said its irregular heart beat, but added that the ECG result is fine.

I then asked her what causes this irregular heart beat. She says it could be congenital for my young age to have atrial fibrillation.

So I asked her again if frequent masturbation can cause such irregular heart beats. She said it shouldn't but I should rest for the next few days.

She didn't give me any medicine.

Why no medication? I asked her. She says she can't be giving me any medication as my ECG shows I am fine.

Any doctor here can advise me in this forum?

Should I visit a cardio specialist to make sure there is absolutely nothing wrong with my heart?
Did her credentials include doctorate from the univercity of mumbai?

I told the doctor I have shortness of breath this morning and slight chest pain. She did an ECG for me and says all is good.

She said I may have had a momentarily paroxysmal atrial fibrillation, hence my shortness of breath and slight chest pain.

I asked her what is that. She said its irregular heart beat, but added that the ECG result is fine.

I then asked her what causes this irregular heart beat. She says it could be congenital for my young age to have atrial fibrillation.

So I asked her again if frequent masturbation can cause such irregular heart beats. She said it shouldn't but I should rest for the next few days.

Why no medication? I asked her. She says she can't be giving me any medication as my ECG shows I am fine.

Should I visit a cardio specialist to make sure there is absolutely nothing wrong with my heart?

Paroxysmal AF? On a one time reading 12 lead ECG?

You should have Holter monitoring for 24h.

Please go see cardiologist.

Paroxysmal AF? On a one time reading 12 lead ECG?

You should have Holter monitoring for 24h.

Please go see cardiologist.
I have no idea how to read an ECG or medical terminology or devices.

Bit I think I should see a GP and get a referral to see a cardiologist as you and other senior Sammyboyers have suggested.

You said the lady dr told you?

Paroxysmal means it comes on and off.

Atrial fibrillation is a problem with the SA node in your heart. It is like the spot that sends electrical impulses to co ordinate the heart to pump in a orderly fashion. With AF your heart not pumping properly. The blood flow inside not smooth so blood clots can form inside the heart. If these clots eventually find their way out of heart and get pumped to your carotid arteries and into brain can cause stroke.

In ventricular fibrillation it is the ventricles rhat are fibrillating the heart basically just shivering no pumping. So atrial fib is the atriae fibrillating.

AF treatment is usually medicine to slow heart rate and or anticoagulant ie blood thinner.

Go by CHADS2 scoring. Google it.

If you young and healthy usually only need aspirin at most for hypertension. If all dun have no need blood thinner or aspirin.

But you should have holter monitoring to check lah. They hook up for 24h see the reading for 24h. Then see if the abnormal ECG parts and the time you got symptoms match up or not.

At least get proper diagnosis.

Paroxysmal AF usually ok one. Maybe give you some Propranolol to take to slow the heart rate when you kena the bouts of AF.

K L N

You go via Poly, they can get you a fasterest appt.

But, if you still feel breathless, giddy, chest pain,
bestest you go A&E.

If reallee bad, call 995.

So looks like your one time ECG was normal lah.

The dr just say maybe is paroxysmal AF as a reason for your symptoms of SOB and CP.

So actually it is just a guess pull out from sky.

Could also be panic attack. Or angina. Or pulmonary embolism.

So many things.

The question is how frequent do you get it? Does it impact your ability to function? Any underlying other problems eg asthma hypertension smoking hx hx of early age cardiac death in family etc

Most common if SOB and CP we want to clear your heart and lungs.

If you worried ans is frequent enough makes you notice it enough concerned affects function (even by making you anxious and worried enough) then go do at least an echocardiography and treadmill stress test for heart and a CXR and maybe Pulmonary Function Test (if you have hx of asthma or are smoker)

I know SG drs tend to be trained to want to be more conservative in tests. But in Canada it is all free so I usually offer to do it and see if patirnt willig to spend the time to do it.

Peacr of mind is valuable too.

From what My uncle experienced most company's GPs are not very well versed with heart examinations KNN previouslee my uncle also went for company's paid health screening treadmill stress test and she leefered my uncle to a heart specialist but the heart specialist asked my uncle why you are here when things looked normal KNN
My uncle know 1 verlee leecommended heart loctor in nuh heart center loctor ivanito a indo chinese KNN you can see most commendation letters are written to him from the notice board in nuh KNN but if you choose loctor then need to pay pte rate KNN
View attachment 115043

It is not that GP not well versed

It is that the type of thinga you hoping to pick up on early cannor be done by clinical exam on an asymptomatic patient.

Heart murmurs are just signs of valvular heart disease. Not so common these days cos we dont get rheumatic heart fever as much liao.

There is no physical examination signs for coronary artery disease. There is also no signs in patient with paroxysmal AF if they are not having AF at the time of examination.

Heart exam i can pick up irregular pulse eg AF ans tachycardia bradycardia. Cardiomegaly. Heaet valve issues by murmurs. Thats about it man.

Thats why who ever go to cardiologist he or she only listen ans examine no echo no stress test no CT or MRI or Holter?

Nothing to do with GP not well versed. It is limitation of physical exam.

In pediatrics aometimes soft murmur are worse than loud ones. Small hole causes louder murmurs. Try blowing throgh a fine straw vs a big one.

It is not that GP not well versed

It is that the type of thinga you hoping to pick up on early cannor be done by clinical exam on an asymptomatic patient.

Heart murmurs are just signs of valvular heart disease. Not so common these days cos we dont get rheumatic heart fever as much liao.

There is no physical examination signs for coronary artery disease. There is also no signs in patient with paroxysmal AF if they are not having AF at the time of examination.

Heart exam i can pick up irregular pulse eg AF ans tachycardia bradycardia. Cardiomegaly. Heaet valve issues by murmurs. Thats about it man.

Thats why who ever go to cardiologist he or she only listen ans examine no echo no stress test no CT or MRI or Holter?

Nothing to do with GP not well versed. It is limitation of physical exam.

In pediatrics aometimes soft murmur are worse than loud ones. Small hole causes louder murmurs. Try blowing throgh a fine straw vs a big one.
KNN my uncle know where you coming from but the strange thing that happened was that the gp leefered my uncle to the specialist based on the abnormal stress test leesult then days later that company's also have own cardiologist that certified the leeport to be normal (which My uncle onllee leeceived the leeport just 2 days before the specialist appointment KNN) hence the specialist leeviewed the leeport and said everything looks normal why you are here so my uncle just leeply I also don't know KNN that gp mentioned the leesult can mean there is a blockage or could be a false alarm but the cardiologist that is from the same company certified the leeport as normal so it means the gp was not leelee good in analysing the leeport KNN

KNN my uncle know where you coming from but the strange thing that happened was that the gp leefered my uncle to the specialist based on the abnormal stress test leesult then days later that company's also have own cardiologist that certified the leeport to be normal (which My uncle onllee leeceived the leeport just 2 days before the specialist appointment KNN) hence the specialist leeviewed the leeport and said everything looks normal why you are here so my uncle just leeply I also don't know KNN

I dunno exactly how the Cardiac Stress Test clinic is run where your uncle went.

Could be that the GP is the dr performing the stress tests. As your uncle will know, they hook you up with the leads then ask you to run on treadmill. Try to attain your targeted heart rates. Need Dr present cos sometimes the fella run then kena heart attack right there and there.

Anyway after the ECG reading all recorded then they send the data to Cardiologist to read and verify.

Technically all patients are sort of "referred" to the Cardiologist when we send the reports to the Cardiologist to read. Just a matter of whether they book you an appointment to see the Cardiologist in person or not.

Now the ECG and BP and HR readings are just pictures and numbers.

The GP who may be doing the stress test actually sees the patient. How breathless they become. How they clutch their chest during running or break down in pain etc.

Maybe you can ask you uncle was the treadmill stress test very jia lat for him?

SOmetimes not all about pictures and numbers on a paper you know. And Stress test is only to check for possible blocked coronary arteries but is not fool proof. Also often the unfit patients cannot run and cannot hit the targeted heart rates. So then test is not accurate liao.

THere are pharmaceutical based stress test also they inject medication into the patient to stress the heart.

Idea is the heart need oxygen. Coronary arteries supply blood to feed oxygen to heart. ECG picks up what we call ST depressions which signify ischemic episodes ie not enough oxygen to heart. If stress heart make it pump harder and faster means it needs more oxygen. So during times of stress then can see the ST depression whereas when at rest is all normal. If stress test positive or suspicious next step is Coronary Angiogram. Inject dye into the coronary arteries look for actual blocks. Risk is.....stroke! death! So no play play. Also usually if do coronary angio they will also get consent to put in stent if they find blocks.

This whole process and chain of events is like Euros 2021 from group stage then round of 16 then q final then semi then final.

Sometiems good for patients to know so they know where it is going.

Imagine you watch Euros at group stage then you have no idea what the next steps are. You say wah England finished top! They won Euros? Then you say cheh......

So I try to let patients know the whole steps. Before they take the first step. Try lah.

@sweetiepie you see how time consuming it can all be to be a good doctor? Just explaining all the possibilities with a screening for coronary artery disease alone?

And they want GP to do FULL BODY COMPLETE SYSTEM screening and examination in what....15 min?

What about people with possible COPD?

Or thyroid problem?

Or colon cancer?

Many things to talk about you know.

but 15 min. And want to pay low low fees.

Not like if Dr A explain a lot spend 30 min behind time for morning so have to skip lunch to make up for behind time get paid more than Dr B just go through motion and finish in 10 min got 5 min rest between patient.

I dunno exactly how the Cardiac Stress Test clinic is run where your uncle went.

Could be that the GP is the dr performing the stress tests. As your uncle will know, they hook you up with the leads then ask you to run on treadmill. Try to attain your targeted heart rates. Need Dr present cos sometimes the fella run then kena heart attack right there and there.

Anyway after the ECG reading all recorded then they send the data to Cardiologist to read and verify.

Technically all patients are sort of "referred" to the Cardiologist when we send the reports to the Cardiologist to read. Just a matter of whether they book you an appointment to see the Cardiologist in person or not.

Now the ECG and BP and HR readings are just pictures and numbers.

The GP who may be doing the stress test actually sees the patient. How breathless they become. How they clutch their chest during running or break down in pain etc.

Maybe you can ask you uncle was the treadmill stress test very jia lat for him?

SOmetimes not all about pictures and numbers on a paper you know. And Stress test is only to check for possible blocked coronary arteries but is not fool proof. Also often the unfit patients cannot run and cannot hit the targeted heart rates. So then test is not accurate liao.

THere are pharmaceutical based stress test also they inject medication into the patient to stress the heart.

Idea is the heart need oxygen. Coronary arteries supply blood to feed oxygen to heart. ECG picks up what we call ST depressions which signify ischemic episodes ie not enough oxygen to heart. If stress heart make it pump harder and faster means it needs more oxygen. So during times of stress then can see the ST depression whereas when at rest is all normal. If stress test positive or suspicious next step is Coronary Angiogram. Inject dye into the coronary arteries look for actual blocks. Risk is.....stroke! death! So no play play. Also usually if do coronary angio they will also get consent to put in stent if they find blocks.

This whole process and chain of events is like Euros 2021 from group stage then round of 16 then q final then semi then final.

Sometiems good for patients to know so they know where it is going.

Imagine you watch Euros at group stage then you have no idea what the next steps are. You say wah England finished top! They won Euros? Then you say cheh......

So I try to let patients know the whole steps. Before they take the first step. Try lah.
I can't help but think that you are really a doctor!

dunno exactly how the Cardiac Stress Test clinic is run where your uncle went.

KNN that means that clinic has a leeferent sets of protocol KNN my uncle first did a ecg before the treadmill test and next see gp loctor to leeview the ecg leeport next was sent for the stress test which was conducted onllee by a nurse KNN and the treadmill target was set with a formula of 220-agex85% KNN my uncle almost wanted to collapse after completing the test as the BP went upto 220+ KNN interestinglee the gp did not leefer my uncle to their own clinic cardiologist but to other preferred hospital selected by my uncle KNN onllee when my uncle leeceived the hardcopy certified leeport from that clinic cardiologist then my uncle know they also have cardiologist KNN