• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I caught DBS Bank lying

LITTLEREDDOT

This POSB ATM is at Banda Street near Chinatown Complex. This is in Tanjong Pagar GRC, the constitutency of LKY and where many old folks (who have little money in their bank accounts) live.

attachment.php

I often withdraw cash in $10 denominations from here.

On Monday (4th Aug), I went there and saw that a sign that said the ATM can dispense $50 notes only. I had to go to the POSB ATMs inside Chinatown Complex to withdraw $10 notes.

Today, DBS said in Straits Times forum online that "...we use data analytics to determine typical customer traffic and withdrawal patterns in all our ATM locations, and these configurations are reviewed on a regular basis." and "...Where there are changes in customer behaviour, we do adjust the withdrawal configurations."

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/...plies-20140807

ATMs that dispense only $50 notes: DBS replies

WE ACKNOWLEDGE the recent public feedback on the subject of ATMs dispensing only $50 notes, and we thank our customers for their constructive views and suggestions (" 'Forced' to withdraw more?" by Mr Alex Teo Boon Keng and "Bring back $20 notes" by Mr Peter Tan Kok Wan; both published last Friday).

DBS Bank maintains the largest self-service banking network on the island with more than 1,100 ATMs. On top of this, we have tie-ups with 7-Eleven in more than 500 locations, where customers can withdraw as little as $10. Even so, our ATMs are among the most heavily used in the world.

To more effectively serve customers, we use data analytics to determine typical customer traffic and withdrawal patterns in all our ATM locations, and these configurations are reviewed on a regular basis.

For example, to better serve customers in locations where bigger amounts tend to be withdrawn, we have configured some of our ATMs to dispense only $50 notes.

Where there are changes in customer behaviour, we do adjust the withdrawal configurations. There were instances where ATMs configured to dispense only $50 notes were changed to dispense both $10 and $50 notes.

So we are constantly calibrating the algorithm we use to achieve an optimal balance between customer preference for various denominations, queue times and machine availability.

Based on the recent feedback, we are looking into further adjusting the balance between efficiency, convenience and a preference for the option to draw smaller amounts. In fact, some of these adjustments are already taking place.

We are committed to meeting customer needs, and based on recent feedback, we are already making further adjustments. We thank our customers for their support and understanding on this matter.

Jeremy Soo

Head of Consumer Banking Group Singapore
DBS Bank

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today (7 Aug) I went to the ATM machine and found that the machine is able to dispense $10 notes again.

In the space of 3 days, DBS changed the configuration of the ATM machine to first not dispense $10 notes, and then to dispense $10 notes.

You mean to say that DBS data analytics review is so frequent meh?

Or is it more to do with the ATM issue being raised in Parliament on Monday (4 Aug)?

http://www.mas.gov.sg/news-and-publications/parliamentary-replies/2014/reply-to-parliamentary-question-on-adequacy-of-atms-and-cash-deposit-machines.aspx

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reply to Parliamentary Question on adequacy of ATMs and cash deposit machines

QUESTION NO 60NOTICE PAPER 229 OF 2014FOR WRITTEN ANSWER
Date: For Parliament Sitting on 4 August 2014

Name and Constituency of Member of Parliament

Mr Lim Biow Chuan, MP for Mountbatten SMC

Question:

To ask the Prime Minister whether the Government will consider imposing a requirement for banks to provide adequate ATMs and cash deposit machines to service the needs of the local population whenever there is a critical mass of 5,000 residents in that area.

Answer by Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister in charge of MAS:

1 MAS monitors the availability of basic banking services such as automated teller machines (“ATMs”) and cash deposit machines. The aim is to ensure adequate access to such services while considering the cost and operational constraints faced by banks.

2 Currently, there are 345 retail bank branches, and more than 2,050 off-site ATMs and 300 off-site cash deposit machines located across Singapore. Many of the ATMs and cash deposit machines are sited at high density locations like MRT stations, bus interchanges, neighbourhood town centres and food centres. There has also been an increase in the number of ATMs located at petrol service stations to provide greater convenience to motorists and nearby residents.

3 In addition, banks are actively introducing new channels to widen their reach beyond their existing branch and ATM networks. Besides online and mobile banking options, there are more convenient touchpoints within housing estates. For example, DBS/POSB has partnered SingPost to offer basic banking services, including cash deposits and withdrawals, at more than 55 SingPost outlets. DBS/POSB, OCBC and HSBC have also partnered retail merchants such as 7-Eleven, NTUC FairPrice and Cold Storage to allow customers to withdraw cash at their payment counters. As a result of these initiatives, there are now more than 3,500 touchpoints around Singapore providing basic cash services, compared to fewer than 2,000 bank branches and ATMs 10 years ago.

4 The number of customer touchpoints available in Singapore is broadly consistent with the Member’s suggested threshold of a service point per 5,000 residents. There is, on average, one cash withdrawal point (either branch or ATM) per 1,500 residents, and one cash deposit point (either branch or cash deposit machine) per 5,600 residents.

5 MAS remains committed in working with the banks to ensure that they continue to consider residents’ basic banking needs in deploying customer touchpoints. Where necessary and to address specific circumstances, MAS will engage relevant stakeholders to explore other commercially viable channels to facilitate access to basic cash services and to promote awareness of additional touchpoints.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

And to another MP's question in Parliament to be raised today (7 Aug)?

http://www.mas.gov.sg/news-and-publi...acilities.aspx

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply to Parliamentary Question on ATM Facilities

QUESTION NO 13NOTICE PAPER 166 OF 2014FOR WRITTEN ANSWER
Date: For Parliament Sitting on 7 July 2014

Name and Constituency of Member of Parliament

Mr Seah Kian Peng, MP, Marine Parade GRC

Question:

To ask the Prime Minister whether all banks that provide ATM facilities are required to ensure that currency notes being dispensed from these ATMs will include notes of $10 denomination and not just those of $50 and $100 denominations.

Answer by Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister in charge of MAS:

1 Banks decide on the denomination of the currency notes they stock in the ATMs based on customers’ demand and currency note withdrawal patterns. 85% of the approximately 2,700 ATMs in Singapore dispense $10 denomination currency notes. Banks also have in place processes to monitor and replenish currency notes in their ATMs in a timely manner. ATMs that dispense only larger denomination currency notes are generally located in areas where there is a general preference towards larger withdrawals (e.g. ATMs in shopping centres).

2 Besides ATMs and bank branches, some banks have also set up additional channels to facilitate cash withdrawals. For example, DBS/POSB, OCBC and HSBC have partnered with merchants with prominent presence across Singapore, such as 7-Eleven, NTUC and Cold Storage, to enable cash withdrawals in various denominations, including $10 notes, at their payment counters.

3 MAS will continue to monitor the situation to ensure adequate access to smaller denomination currency notes.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

So DBS' reply that they re-configure ATMs based on their data analytics is all bull-shit. Are they so free to configure and re-configure an ATM within the space of 4 days?

The truth is that DBS re-configured the ATM because of political pressure from the government. It was timely that questions on ATM were tabled in Parliment this week. If not, I am sure DBS will not have re-configured the ATM machine at Banda Street.

If you think that is bad, POSB had removed some ATMs from locations deemed to have low human traffic.

Isn't the point of an ATM to provide cash withdrawal CONVENIENCE to those who may need suddenly cash?

Yingge

What the fuck with bank only dispense $50??? What wrong when they can only dispense $50 notes on certain ATM machines??? You can always go to the teller or look for another ATM machines.

Jiu hu kia Tony is laughing...:p

Can change bank right? Bloody draft sinkie.

do u live in singapore stupid?DBS is the biggest bank in singapore with 75% market share,big bank means big atm network.even though i hate DBS,their atm machines is just too common to ignore.

escher

HANG THE PAP BASTARDS AND YOUR PROBLEMS ALL OVER

They continue to laugh all the way to their banks
And all the way back from their banks

HA HA HA HA
HEE HEE HEE HE HEEEE
HOO HO HOOO HO HO

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS
WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN
WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.
AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.
https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

If you think that is bad, POSB had removed some ATMs from locations deemed to have low human traffic.

Isn't the point of an ATM to provide cash withdrawal CONVENIENCE to those who may need suddenly cash?
dey nid certain minimum traffic heads b4 dey install n atm 1 la ...

if based on convenience 2 dose who may nid cash suddenly, u'll get evry sinkie asking posb 2 set up atm outside their haus ... :eek:

do u live in singapore stupid?DBS is the biggest bank in singapore with 75% market share,big bank means big atm network.even though i hate DBS,their atm machines is just too common to ignore.

Does this sound familiar? Even though you hate being screwed in the ass but you need to bend down to earn a living.....