• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

hurry! check Koran Bible 金刚经 Kamasutra etc, 2 suns next year! ask MM how?

mee_siam_hum

http://www.news4jax.com/news/26597080/detail.html
:eek::eek:
Scientists Predict 2 Suns For Earth In '12
MOSH Expert: Giant Red Star Betelgeuse Supernova Will Light Up Night Sky

13278108.jpg

POSTED: Monday, January 24, 2011
UPDATED: 6:19 pm EST January 24, 2011
EmailEmail
PrintPrint
Twitter
Facebook
Yahoo Buzz
Google Buzz
Digg
Reddit
Delicious
[NASA scientists say they have discovered the largest supernova ever seen.]
NASA scientists say they have discovered the largest supernova ever seen.
JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- Imagine looking up at the sky and seeing two suns.

It sounds like science fiction, but a group of astronomers out of Australia predict it will happen in 2012.

The topic has only further fueled talk of an apocalypse.

Picture it: sunset and sunrise at the same time. The scenario plays out in "Star Wars," and now astronomers predict it will happen on Earth next year, the final year of the Mayan calendar and the year some believe the world will end.

"That would be kind of crazy," one Jacksonville sky gazer said.

"I'd be really stoked," another said.

"Personally, I don't believe any of the theories," one person said. "I just think some Mayan got sick of writing calendars on a wall."

Not everyone is buying the prediction, so the Museum of Science and History is trying separate science fact from fiction.

"This whole 2012 thing has really escalated primarily because of that Hollywood movie that came out a year ago," said Thomas Webber, who works at MOSH.

Webber said it's a little bit of both fact and fiction. Betelgeuse is a giant red star that is essentially dying.

"Stars burn fuel in their core by nuclear fusion, and eventually it will get to the point where it cannot burn anymore," Webber said.

At this point, Webber said, Betelgeuse will collapse and then explode. The event is called a supernova. Webber said it will be bright enough to light up the night sky, like a second sun.

Scientists said particles from the star will shower the Earth.

"It's not going to harm us in any way, and it certainly will not be as bright as our sun," Webber said.

But it will be pretty awe-inspiring whenever it does happen, Webber said.

He said it may or may not occur in 2012, and if it does, it certainly has nothing to do with the end of the world.

Betelgeuse is 640 light years away, so if people do see this supernova in 2012, that means it really happened 639 years ago, Webber said. There's no way to predict exactly when it will be visible to people on planet Earth, but be assured of one thing: It will be a once-in-a-lifetime event.

Copyright 2011 by News4Jax.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

mee_siam_hum

http://www.geek.com/articles/news/pending-supernova-could-give-earth-a-second-sun-20110121/

399px-Betelgeuse_Plume_eso0927d1-293x439.jpg

Pending supernova could give Earth a second sun

Jan. 21, 2011 (6:20 pm) By: Brian Osborne

Star Wars fans rejoice. Earth may soon have something in common with Anakin and Luke Skywalker’s home planet of Tatooine. The good news is I am not talking about Earth turning into one large desert, but we may soon be able to look up into the sky and see what looks like two suns. It will only be temporary though.

Betelgeuse, which is the ninth brightest star in the night and second brightest star in the constellation of Orion, is believed to lie 640 light years away from Earth, though some estimates put the distance at 1300 light years. It’s also expected to explode as a type 2 supernova resulting in light which is tens of millions times brighter than our own sun. The resulting view of the explosion from Earth will be a sky which seemingly has two suns. That second sun will seem incredibly bright for a couple of weeks and will then fade over the next few months according to Dr. Brad Carter, Senior Lecturer of Physics at the University of Southern Queensland.

Dr. Carter also believes that the resulting explosion of Betelgeuse will create another cosmic phenomenon in our own galactic backyard, relatively speaking. We could soon have a neutron star or even a black hole where Betelgeuse once shined. Even if a black hole forms, which Dr. Carter believes is more likely, we won’t have to worry considering our distance to it. In fact, we may not have to worry about Betelgeuse going supernova in our lifetime since the estimate for when it will happen ranges from any day to the next million years. People who believe the Mayan calendar predicts the end of the world in 2012 are no doubt betting on it happening next year.

Read more at news.com.au and Wikipedia.

theblackhole

not surprising at all...two suns so disappointing..

the earth will dry up with many more suns...and the human species will perish...and the whole cycle will start from ground zero....

so why be so greedy, so arrogant...so cruel, so attached and so kiasu, kiasi and kialan....

time to pack up and join ET...if you can...

all die...confirmed die...soonest...

HongKanSeng

not surprising at all...two suns so disappointing..

the earth will dry up with many more suns...and the human species will perish...and the whole cycle will start from ground zero....

so why be so greedy, so arrogant...so cruel, so attached and so kiasu, kiasi and kialan....

time to pack up and join ET...if you can...

all die...confirmed die...soonest...

Then how? We die 1st or kill our own children 1st? :eek::eek:

PAP_Junta

Hey I think that means WW3 is coming in 2012. There can not be 2 suns in one sky. There has got to be fights until one sun is gone.

mee_siam_hum

I mean go to church mosque temple and CC to meet your leaders and ask about it. Go see your MPs! Why got 2 suns now? How does our clocks and calendars work now? Do I still go to work at 9am? Which sun counts our time?:confused:

It is 24 hours day lights? We can not sleep?:eek:

Watchman

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4MJLlMMVpX8" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>

vamjok

current understanding that a solar system is formed due to the initiation of a supernova nearby, if sway sway the nebula cloud (nearest one actually quite far) that we cock eye did not detect got initiated and starts to collapse into the formation of a star.....then we really hong gan. all of us get ready to be BBQ

uncleyap

current understanding that a solar system is formed due to the initiation of a supernova nearby, if sway sway the nebula cloud (nearest one actually quite far) that we cock eye did not detect got initiated and starts to collapse into the formation of a star.....then we really hong gan. all of us get ready to be BBQ

:rolleyes::biggrin:
What can the human civilization do even if it happened right before our eyes and under our nose? Where to run? Where to hide? Where to live?:eek::(

kukubird58

:rolleyes::biggrin:
What can the human civilization do even if it happened right before our eyes and under our nose? Where to run? Where to hide? Where to live?:eek::(
hahaha...UY..have faith in Papee....they always look ahead and will give a solution this coming GE........

BusNo64

hahaha...UY..have faith in Papee....they always look ahead and will give a solution this coming GE........

yalor...some ppl here have so much faith in papee dat he bought several copies of lau lee books to show his support and adoration...:rolleyes:

uncleyap

I will never forget for a minute that the universe is so huge, and human civilization is so minute and insignificant within it. :wink: The level of energies and mass and the dimension out there make our own existence very negligible. :rolleyes: So don't be so trapped in the BOX of so called humanity.:cool: Planet earth is so tiny, and universal time is so long, the existence of human civilization is only a tiny flash that is very dim in this universe.

Our existing solar sun is a tiny star in the universe, and if our planet was near to it, we will all vaporise! The suns in other galaxies are larger and more energized. Our civilization depend on very flimsy and fragile conditions to exist which we are not in control. All we can do is fuck up planet earth's environment to screw ourselves all these years in our civilized development - damn smart! And we are unable to undo it!:eek:

Jia-Lat! Damn Jia-Lat!
:p

theblackhole

Then how? We die 1st or kill our own children 1st? :eek::eek:

no need to do all these killings....just live and be yourself for the time being...when the time is up..just die lor....nothing to worrry about..

things will happen...you can't stop them....look at tunisia...now look at egypt...look at china's drought...look at the australian floods....more to come...so just pray and enjoy for the time being...

now raining heavily in singapore...who knows what will happen...natural disasters and catastrophes are orchestrated by the good or bad Qi of the people...the top and the bottom....

can you imagine orchard road flooding like hell???

theblackhole

Our existing solar sun is a tiny star in the universe, and if our planet was near to it, we will all vaporise! The suns in other galaxies are larger and more energized. Our civilization depend on very flimsy and fragile conditions to exist which we are not in control. All we can do is fuck up planet earth's environment to screw ourselves all these years in our civilized development - damn smart! And we are unable to undo it!:eek:

Jia-Lat! Damn Jia-Lat!
:p

nothing to be very jialat about lah....human ignorance is the cause of all the miseries and all the catastrophes..greed and more greed....will kill everyone....but ultimately human ignorance, idiocy and stupidity will annihilate the good earth: bloody stupid humans!!!!

vamjok

one theory why we cannot find smart ET signal communicating with us is because

1) such civilisation die out very fast <---we screw ourselves up, eg environment
2) even if there is ET, they might not developed technology advance enough (just like how we are 200 years ago)

i have a feeliing we are screwing ourselves up at a very fast rate