• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Huawei's big Ascend Mate 2 4G can charge up your iPhone, coming to the US

streetcry

Given the recent leak, Huawei's announcement of the Ascend Mate 2 4G should be no surprise to anyone. The device is essentially an LTE Cat 4 (read: 150Mbps!) refresh of its predecessor, packing a similar 6.1-inch 720p IPS panel that seems to be of better display quality, and Gorilla Glass is here to stay. Of course, such screen resolution also means the fixed 4,050mAh battery should keep the Mate 2 going for a lot longer than its 1080p competitors.

Furthermore, you can also use the Mate 2 to charge up other devices! Huawei's rather confident of its own power-management technology, promising 60 hours of "normal use" and 12 hours of web surfing. At the launch event today, Huawei's Richard Yu confirmed that the Mate 2 4G will have two options for its quad-core 1.6GHz SoC: one is Qualcomm's MSM8928, and the other is Huawei's own HiSilicon Cortex-A9 chip.

The Mate 2 also features 2GB of RAM, 16GB of internal storage, microSD expansion of up to 32GB, plus a pair of cameras -- 5 megapixels f/2.4 on the front and 13 megapixels, f/2.0 on the back. This is all tucked inside a familiar 202g, 9.5mm-thick body, which feels rather nice given the solid frame and slightly slimmer screen bezel, though we're not too fond of the glossiness on the white Mate 2's removable back cover (for access to the SIM slot and microSD slot). On the software side, there's Huawei's Emotion UI 2.0 running on top of Android 4.3, so users will benefit from features optimized for single-hand usage -- especially the telephone keypad that squashes itself to one side, depending on your tilt. You also get handy floating widgets like calculator, calendar, notes and messages to go on top of other apps.

Huawei has yet to provide details on pricing and availability, but you'll hear from us as soon as we find out.

[h=1]Huawei’s massive Ascend Mate 2 boasts 6.1-inch screen, 4,050 mAh battery[/h]
ascend-mate-2.jpg

Huawei isn’t going to let Samsung sit comfortably on its throne as the world’s phablet king. Per Engadget, the company announced on Monday that it will soon release the Ascend Mate 2, a sequel to the similarly massive Ascend Mate phablet that it first unleashed upon the world last year. Like its predecessor, the Ascend Mate 2 features a 6.1-inch display and a powerful 4,050 mAh battery that Huawei says you can use to actually recharge other smartphones. The Ascend Mate sequel is slightly slimmer than the original device at 9.5 millimeters thick and has a much improved 13-megapixel camera.

[h=1]Ascend Mate2 4G Hands-On[/h]
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/hDQpUQF74jc?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Will it explode in my pants and blow up my penis? :*:

You guys can crawl out from under your rock. Huawei has just overtaken LG to be the world's #3 cellphone manufacturer. Amazing, considering that cellphones are just a sideline for Huawei, which is already the largest telco equipment manufacturer in the world.

<header class="header container" itemscope="" itemtype="http://schema.org/BlogPosting" style="display: block; zoom: 1; margin-top: 0px; margin-right: auto; margin-bottom: 18px; margin-left: auto; width: 960px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; ">Huawei overtakes LG in smartphone market share during Q3

BY JON FINGAS 2 months ago 0
</header>
Need proof that China is a crucial smartphone market? Strategy Analytics is more than happy to oblige. It just posted third quarter global market share estimates showing that Huawei has overtaken LG since the Q2 report, claiming third place with 5.1 percent of sales. This isn't the first time that the Chinese phone maker has reached such lofty heights, but it comes even as LG produced stellar results; Huawei just happened to grow faster. Researchers attributed the rise to strong sales of its higher-end Ascend P6 and the mainstream G610, particularly in Huawei's home country.
Otherwise, it's a familiar story. Samsung is still ruling the roost with 35.2 percent share, while Apple held on to the second-place spot at 13.4 percent. Huawei also isn't guaranteed to maintain its position when LG is likely to get a fourth quarter sales boost from the G2. However, it's evident that smartphone designers shouldn't get too comfy -- it doesn't take much to change the status quo.
strategy-analytics-q3-2013-2.jpg
SHOW FULL PR TEXT

Does TemaSICK has a share in Huawei? :D

You guys can crawl out from under your rock. Huawei has just overtaken LG to be the world's #3 cellphone manufacturer. Amazing, considering that cellphones are just a sideline for Huawei, which is already the largest telco equipment manufacturer in the world.
SHOW FULL PR TEXT

They can overtake for all i care. I don't trust made in China products. And u should do an extensive research on the company. :rolleyes:

They can overtake for all i care. I don't trust made in China products. And u should do an extensive search on the company. :rolleyes:

As I said, Sinkie frogs in wells have fallen for anti-Chinese propaganda hook, line & sinker.

My family have been using Huawei for the past 2 years - fast, reliable. My son's 2 previous Samsungs broke down – one just after 11 mths, the other after 18 mths. So much for reliability.

When the Ascend P2 was launched last Feb, it was already the world's fastest cellphone:

<header class="title" id="articleContent" style="display: block; ">Huawei Ascend P2 unveiled as world's fastest smartphone

Huawei has been accused by the CIA of spying on foreign government by using their equipment as a trojan horse for spying firmware and software. These imperialist bastards are also claiming that Hua Wei's mobile phones are similarly bugged, so don't buy them. Allegations, allegations, but not a single whit of evidence. No matter, Huawei says; we'll take our business elsewhere. And they're making huge inroads into emerging and more friendly Western markets.

Come to think of it, these accusations are also a bit rich, aren't they, coming from a nation that spies on practically all the other governments in the world, and on its own people too.

http://www.theguardian.com/wor<wbr>ld/2013/oct/24/nsa-surveillanc<wbr>e-world-leaders-calls

Latest is the Germans are now royally pissed that the NSA has been monitoring Chancellor Merkel's mobile phone calls.

http://www.reuters.com/article<wbr>/2013/10/23/us-germany-usa-spying-idUSBRE99M0Y720131023

Funny how it's kosher for a Western power to spy on foreign countries – it's for your own security, remember – but not so for an Asian nation to spy on others, assuming that nation even possesses a tenth of the spying technology the US employs. And how the rest of the world, including Sinkie ang mo cocksuckers, seems to accept this double standard without demur.

</header>

As I said, Sinkie frogs in wells have fallen for anti-Chinese propaganda hook, line & sinker.

I cannot be brainwash by any propaganda from anyone, any media. I will balance the bashing in order not for it to be lopsided.

But there is one thing that i enjoy doing in this forum and that is to piss the PAP IB off. :D

[h=1]China reveals own mobile operating system[/h]
China has unveiled its own mobile platform, dubbed China Operating System (COS) with the aim to break the monopoly U.S. tech giants Google and Apple currently have in the market.

The state-approved and government-funded operating system was developed jointly by China's Institute of Software at the Chinese Academy of Sciences (ISCAS) and Shanghai Liantong Network Communications Technology, Sina news reported on Thursday.

COS is based on Linux and serves as an operating platform for PCs, smartphones, tablets, and set-top boxes as well as supports HTML5 applications. However, due to "safety concerns", COS is not an open source system, revealed a 21cbh.com report.

The OS has one application portal, similar to Apple's App Store.
<figure>
cos-620x473.jpg
<figcaption>(Source: CCTV news)</figcaption></figure> There are several security issues with open source operating systems, including Ubuntu and Android, where hidden security vulnerabilities make it easy to control personal devices, the report added. Moreover, launched by foreign companies, these open source platforms also "failed to acclimatize" in the Chinese market across many aspects, including user's interface, input method, speech recognition, cloud service stability, application downloads, and support, among others, said director of ISCAS, Li Shuming, in a NetEase report.

Learning from the essence of other open source software, the underlying codes and user interface of COS were all built independently, Li added. He said the platform addressed security issues, and consumers who are familiar with Android will also find it easy to start with COS.

He noted that the Linux-based OS also aims to break the monopoly of foreign applications. Currently, 100,000 applications are available on the COS, according to local reports.

A promo video of COS uploaded on the internet revealed that variants and features of operating system were very Android-like. China's online community also questioned how COS was able to launched with 100,000 apps, with some summizing that the Chinese platform was "just an OS based on the open source Linux and a strong imitation of Android system".

We are living in a consumerism world. As long as Huawei prices their things dirt cheap, there will be people who wants to buy. Counting on China to develop and produce high end products for consumers? Those who are knowledgeable, who in the right mind will dare buy them? :rolleyes:

I am quite impress with what is written how it works out etc i dont know,,,

Oh please, the ad is already online:

[video=youtube;85uMO8MIEak]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85uMO8MIEak[/video]

6.1 inch? Does nobody care about pocket friendliness anymore?

No thanks. Think of Huawei, think of Shane Todd :D

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huawei

Criticisms and controversies

Security concerns

In the US, Huawei has been challenged due to concerns of United States security officials that Huawei-made telecommunications equipment is designed to allow unauthorized access by the Chinese government and the ChinesePeople's Liberation Army,[SUP][141][/SUP][SUP][142][/SUP][SUP][143][/SUP][SUP][144][/SUP] given that Ren Zhengfei, the founder of the company, served as an engineer in the army in the early 1980s.[SUP][145][/SUP] In the United Kingdom, the Conservative Party raised concerns about security over Huawei’s bid for Marconi in 2005,[SUP][143][/SUP] and the company's equipment was mentioned as an alleged potential threat in a 2009 government briefing by Alex Allan, chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee.[SUP][146][/SUP]

In December 2010, Huawei opened a Cyber Security Evaluation Centre to test its hardware and software to ensure they can withstand growing cyber security threats.[SUP][147][/SUP][SUP][148][/SUP] In the U.S., some members of Congress raised questions about the company's proposed merger with communications company 3Com in 2008,[SUP][149][/SUP] and its bid for a Sprint contract in 2010.[SUP][145][/SUP] In addition, Huawei withdrew its purchase of 3Leaf systems in 2010, following a review by the U.S. Committee on Foreign Investment (CFIUS).[SUP][142][/SUP]
In a 2011 open letter, Huawei stated that the security concerns are "unfounded and unproven" and called on the U.S. government to investigate any aspect of its business.[SUP][150][/SUP][SUP][151][/SUP]

The US-based non-profit organization Asia Society carried out a review of Chinese companies trying to invest in the U.S., including Huawei. The organization found that only a few investment deals were blocked following unfavorable findings by the CFIUS or had been given a recommendation not to apply, however all large transactions had been politicized by groups including the U.S. media, members of Congress and the security community.[SUP][152][/SUP][SUP][dead link][/SUP] However, another article unrelated to the report published by the Asia Society reported that, "fear that the P.R.C. government could strongarm private or unaffiliated Chinese groups into giving up cyber-secrets is reflected in the U.S. government's treatment of Chinese telecom company Huawei."[SUP][153][/SUP]

In October 2009, the Indian Department of Telecommunications reportedly requested national telecom operators to "self-regulate" the use of all equipment from European, U.S. and Chinese telecoms manufacturers following security concerns.[SUP][154][/SUP] Earlier, in 2005, Huawei was blocked from supplying equipment to India's Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) cellular phone service provider.[SUP][155][/SUP] In 2010, the Indian Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) insisted on cancelling the rest of the Huawei contract with BSNL and pressed charges against several top BSNL officers regarding their "doubtful integrity and dubious links with Chinese firms".[SUP][156][/SUP][SUP][157][/SUP]

In June 2010, an interim solution was introduced that would allow the import of Chinese-made telecoms equipment to India if pre-certified by international security agencies such as Canada’s Electronic Warfare Associates, US-based Infoguard, and Israel’s ALTAL Security Consulting.[SUP][158][/SUP]
In October 2011, the Wall Street Journal reported that Huawei had become Iran's leading provider of telecommunications equipment, including monitoring technologies that could be used for surveillance.[SUP][159][/SUP] Huawei responded with a statement claiming the story misrepresented the company's involvement: "We have never been involved and do not provide any services relating to monitoring or filtering technologies and equipment anywhere in the world".[SUP][160][/SUP]

In December 2011, Bloomberg reported that the U.S. is invoking Cold War-era national security powers to force telecommunication companies including AT&T Inc. and Verizon Communications Inc. to divulge confidential information about their networks in a hunt for Chinese cyber-spying, with Richard Falkenrath, a senior fellow in the Council on Foreign Relations Cyberconflict and Cybersecurity Initiative, saying, "This is beyond vague suspicions...Congress is now looking at this as well, and they’re doing so based on very specific material provided them in a classified setting by the National Security Agency." The action represents a concern that China and other countries may be using their growing export sectors to develop built-in spying capabilities in U.S. networks. The U.S. House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence said it would investigate potential security threats posed by some foreign companies, and mentioned Huawei specifically.

A spokesman for Huawei said that the company conducts its businesses according to normal business practices and actually welcomed the investigation.[SUP][161][/SUP]
In 2001, it was alleged that Huawei Technologies India had developed telecommunications equipment for the Taliban in Afghanistan, and newspapers reported that the Indian government had launched a probe into the firm's operations.[SUP][162][/SUP][SUP][163][/SUP] Huawei responded, stating that the company did not have "any link with the Taliban", as its only customers are telecommunications carriers[SUP][164][/SUP] and its facilities "always operate according to U.N. rules and the local laws of each country".[SUP][165][/SUP] On 15 December 2001, the Indian authorities announced that they had not found any evidence that Huawei India had any connection to the Taliban,[SUP][166][/SUP] although the U.S. remains suspicious.[SUP][167][/SUP]

In March 2012, Australia media sources reported that the Australian government had excluded Huawei from tendering for contracts with NBN Co, a government-owned corporation that is managing the construction of the National Broadband Network,[SUP][168][/SUP] following advice from the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation regarding security concerns.[SUP][169][/SUP] The Attorney-General's Department stated in response to these reports that the National Broadband Network is "a strategic and significant government investment, [and] we have a responsibility to do our utmost to protect its integrity and that of the information carried on it."[SUP][170][/SUP]

In July 2012, Felix Lindner and Gregor Kopf gave a conference at Defcon to announce that they uncovered several critical vulnerabilities in Huawei routers (models AR18 and AR29)[SUP][171][/SUP] which could be used to get remote access to the device. The researchers said that Huawei "doesn't have a security contact for reporting vulnerabilities, doesn't put out security advisories and doesn't say what bugs have been fixed in its firmware updates", and as a result, the vulnerabilities have not been publicly disclosed. Huawei replied that they were investigating the claims.[SUP][172][/SUP]

On 8 October 2012, a US House Intelligence Committee panel issued a report describing Huawei as a "national security threat" due to its alleged ties to various Chinese governmental agencies. The panel's report suggested that Huawei should "be barred from doing business with the US government", and additionally alleged that the telecom manufacturer had committed "potential violations" related to immigration, bribery, corruption, and copyright infringement.[SUP][173][/SUP]However, a subsequent White House-ordered review found no concrete evidence to support the House report's espionage allegations.[SUP][68][/SUP]
On 9 October 2012, a spokesman for Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper indicated that the Canadian government invoked a national security exception to exclude Huawei from its plans to build a secure government communications network.[SUP][174][/SUP]

On 25 October 2012, a Reuters report[SUP][68][/SUP] wrote that according to documents and interviews, an Iranian-based seller of Huawei (Soda Gostar Persian Vista) last year tried to sell embargoed American antenna equipment (made by American company Andrew LLC to an Iranian firm MTN Irancell). Specifically, the Andrew antennas were part of a large order for Huawei telecommunications gear that MTN Irancell had placed through Soda Gostar, but the MTN Irancell says it canceled the deal with Huawei when it learned the items were subject to sanctions and before any equipment was delivered.[SUP][68][/SUP] Vic Guyang, a Huawei spokesman, acknowledged that MTN Irancell had canceled the order; Rick Aspan, a spokesman for CommScope, said the company was not aware of the aborted transaction.[SUP][68][/SUP]

On 19 July 2013, Michael Hayden, former head of US NSA and currently a director of Motorola Solutions, says he is aware of hard evidence of spying activity by Huawei. Huawei and Motorola Solutions had previously been engaged in intellectual property disputes for a number of years. Huawei's global cybersecurity Officer, John Suffolk, described the comments made by Hayden as "tired, unsubstantiated, defamatory remarks" and challenged him and other critics to present any evidence publicly.[SUP][175][/SUP][SUP][176]

[/SUP]

pls lah, so low class. use PRC built phone. That will be the day for me when i buy PRC junk. I think many people are like me. I doubt they will switch their iphone to PRC phone. Hell no.