• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HSR no more.

Pinkie went there to seek an answer, Dr M must have promise to give one within days. He kept his promise.ECrL is an internal matter. the rich CM has cash horde. they may help to pay for this. we shall see.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...mplications-of-cancelling-rail-mega-projects/

GOMBAK: The Government is looking at the possible economic implications if it were to cancel the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) and East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) mega-projects.

Economic Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Azmin Ali said the Government needed to consider all factors involved, including an earlier contractual agreement between the two nations for the HSR.

He also highlighted the importance having talks with Singapore first to discuss how the project can be reviewed.

The RM60bil project is one of several infrastructure plans initiated by former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak's administration, which is under review by the newly-elected Pakatan Harapan Government.

Another mega-project being scrutinised is the RM55bil ECRL.

Azmin said the Government also needed to study the full impact of the project.

"We must see whether we need the HSR project as the distance is only about 350km.

"We must examine if there are other modes of transport available to ensure connectivity between Singapore and Malaysia," he said at a breaking of fast programme at Masjid Al-Hidayah here Sunday (May 27).

On a separate matter, he said the mid-term review on the economy would be tabled this September, among others, to set a new economic direction in line with the Pakatan Harapan manifesto.

He said the ministry and the Economic Planning Unit were currently preparing the review.

"This mid-term review will be slightly different to show the achievements of the 11th Malaysia Plan over the last two years.

"We also want to set targets which are based on Pakatan's manifesto," he said.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...lling-rail-mega-projects/#pmcHS5bpM8cQZCiC.99

yinyang

The maths?

0bca36d0-4a4f-4bef-9531-aa14242996c6.jpg

The HSR will provide locals with lots of jobs operating and maintaining the railway and its stations, not to mention construction related jobs.

Also, the towns along the HSR will experience population and economic booms due to its improved accessibility. The money earned by jiuhu is not solely from train tickets. Surely you have enough common sense to realize that?

The HSR will provide locals with lots of jobs operating and maintaining the railway and its stations, not to mention construction related jobs.

Also, the towns along the HSR will experience population and economic booms due to its improved accessibility. The money earned by jiuhu is not solely from train tickets. Surely you have enough common sense to realize that?
These smart Alec narrow focus people have zero common sense.

yinyang

This was only from direct cost/benefit perspective. Minus the spin offs.
Surely, you got enough grey matter to understand this difference and take on contrary views? :rolleyes:

Or are you sore on our end losing out?:rolleyes:

Truth_Hurts

You do have a point. But what is the overall benefit to Singkieland as a whole? And to that growth corridor in mudland?

With the HSR, a lot more sinkies can visit popular destinations like melaka and KL for day trips. It's good for sinkies who want to go visit jiuhu for short trips. More business to the jiuhukias and more shiok shiok shopping and food for sinkies.

It will also allow a larger number of smarter jiuhukias to come work in Singapore. You should know by now that Singapore wants to attract more chink jihukias to work here. They are smarter, more hardworking and don't believe in the crap that most of the m&d jiuhukias believe in. The more chinks jiuhukias, the better.

Mad hatter knows this. So he puts a stop to this HSR project to prevent too many smart jiuhukias from migrating to Singapore. If the braindrain continues, jiuhu will be left with mostly retards and dimwits left to run their local economy, which we see in Johor today.

but most of its pioneer citizens returned to 3rd world from 1st world.

p05.jpg

blogger-image--131898056.jpg

Elderly_Singapore_poverty_average_payout_pension_Government_lower_GDP_1.jpg

poverty.png

There are poor people in First World countries too. For every one of these poor people exercising, a thousand more old sinkies today retired with a lot of money, living in their private properties or HDB flats, all of which appreciated greatly in value.

but most of its pioneer citizens returned to 3rd world from 1st world.

p05.jpg

blogger-image--131898056.jpg

Elderly_Singapore_poverty_average_payout_pension_Government_lower_GDP_1.jpg

poverty.png

You seems to have forgotten?, one ministar says, these oldies are just passing time collecting card boxes & we should be proud to have a nation of such strong, healthy elderly who otherwise would have to spend their time in old age homes, hospices & hospitals; singing "nearer my God to thee"!

rusty

Many debates about the pro and cons of the HSR project. Politically it is bad for those who want a change of goverment. Why? If the project succeeds, PAP will become more popular. As most know it's difficult and almost impossible to topple them. So the only natural way is for them to fail in everything they do until the 70% feel the pinch. The Jewel @ Changi Airport will be ready in 2019 and It would be the main dish serve at the next election. 70% are daft.

Semaj2357

You seems to have forgotten?, one ministar says, these oldies are just passing time collecting card boxes & we should be proud to have a nation of such strong, healthy elderly who otherwise would have to spend their time in old age homes, hospices & hospitals; singing "nearer my God to thee"!
many more will join these oldies in the old folk's homes / hospices and then they'll sing "abide with me".
altogether now, kumbaya! :(

MarcusTan

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/excellent-chance-for-4g-leaders-to-prove-their-mettle

Excellent chance for 4G leaders to prove their mettle

In responding to the possible cancellation of the High-Speed Rail project, Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan said that Singapore would study the implications and exercise its rights - including any right to compensation for expenses (S'pore still incurring costs on HSR as it awaits KL clarification: Khaw; June 2).

Malaysia and Singapore are closely linked by both history and the many family relations that span both countries' borders.

While Singapore may have a right to pursue legal action when Malaysia does not fulfil its agreed obligations, the fact remains that the leaders of both countries need to maintain good relations to benefit their people.

If we want friends in this region and to be seen as less mercenary, we need to negotiate and not always suggest or turn to legal action at the first instance.

We are Asians, and being litigious is not a hallmark of our culture. Neither does it improve relations.

This is an excellent opportunity for our fourth-generation (4G) leadership to prove its mettle in negotiations.

Tan Shao Yi