• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to reduce income inequality in Singapore

That is why you take a targeted approach. That is where incentives and restrictions come in. You are clearly but a fool to suggest a blanket treatment across the whole economy, just as the liberals desire a minimum wage for all sectors without taking into account the microstructures inherent in the labour market. It is time for you to hit the books, peon before you publicly embarrass your political masters.

Sinkie can embrassed their political Masters?

How?

When his Master have made a embrassment of themselves but NEVER ADMIT it!

So the Sinkie feel so embrassed by all this and start to be an embrassment for his Master!

Kinda like monkey see , monkey do!

Not necessary. It just reward high achiever less and reward underachievers better.

P/s underachievers =/= losers.

I won't even define them as high achievers and under achievers. We are too much conditioned by the Govt's definition of meritocracy.

If you have a good education, you have high merits and you are an over-achiever. Otherwise you are underachieving. Here we are talking about different type of jobs. How can we talk about underachieving and overachieving?

If we ask an office manager and get him to clean all the toilet bowls within 10 minutes, something which the office cleaner can accomplish with ease and if this office manager fails to do within the given time, that is what I call underachieving. I will measure him not by what academic papers he holds. Of course I will pay him the salary of an office cleaner, a bit less than the regular guy and not according to the academic qualifications that he holds. To me that looks equitable.

Back to the question of pay for this office cleaner. As the office manager is not good at toilet cleaning, we have put him back to his office manager role which he can accomplish with ease. All he needs to do is to screw up everybody he sees in the office the first thing each morning so that everyone is on their toes.

Then he goes to his boss' office and tells him the star investment of the day, lucky 4D numbers, any good sales at the stores and then go back to his office to read and post on Sammyboy. Because of his high academic achievement, he can impress most of the forummers there except those who are jealous of him. Then he put his legs up on his desk and relax or call up his girl friend or chiong buddy.

His boss has a Golf game with his kakis in the afternoon. So he helps the boss to load the Golf bag and Boston bag into the back of his car. Once his boss is gone, again he put his legs up on the table and relax.

For this job, he gets $6000 a month and, being in the good book of his boss, he is expected to get 5 months' bonus this year.

As for the office cleaner not only has he to clean all the toilet bowls, sinks and basin plus the walls, refuel the washing solution, hand towels, tissues and toilet papers, twice a day, just before lunch and just before close up time, he also has to empty all the rubbish baskets, vacuum and clean the floor, desktops, computers, phone sets and cabinets. His working day is effectively used to the full with a 45-min lunch break. For this he is paid $800 a month. He only enjoys a 13th month bonus if the company makes money.

The question now is if the office manager is paid $6000 for a relatively switched off job and he has proven not been able to do the job of the office cleaner, shouldn't the office cleaner be entitled to something more than the $800? He is an overachiever in his work and he has demonstrated that he can do it even faster than his manager.

From this example, it is difficult really to determine where the balancing point of equitability is. One thing is sure. Both employees work in the same company.

An office cleaner could be a bad example. Maybe he can be dispensed off but what if he is an office worker instead, say, someone who invoices the customers. Now that is an important job. If he quits or he falls sick, the Company would suffer. Assuming there are a 100 of such workers, each handling a different office task. The office hums with them working efficiently and the office manager can put his legs on the table and relax.

Not so if because they are such good workers, the rival company hijacks some of these staff. The office manager will then have to put his feet down on the ground and call the recruitment agencies, at the same time makes arrangement for covering of duties.

What I am trying to say is that these lower level staff, even though each job specs is valued lowly, together they form an integral part of the Company's operation. Without them, the Company will simply have no operation . So their value to the Company is significant. Should they be worth something more?

When we are looking at the office cleaner, we are looking at the sustenance level of salary. What level is that? If we are not able to pay him that, what motivation has he to work for you? Granted for some jobs you can find a cheap replacement who can perform equally well at lower pay, possibly a FT who sends home part of his salary and that is, on a PPP basis, a handsome sum in his home country.

We can consider this in two ways. First, is this job so critical to the local employee? If it is, then the salary must be raised above the sustenance level and we need to have in place things like FW levies to balance out the import of FW. If the job is not critical to the local job market , then let it be filled by FT and we enjoy the low cost that this brings. Without the first approach of handling this situation, we are letting a local problem to grow.

The question now is if the office manager is paid $6000 for a relatively switched off job and he has proven not been able to do the job of the office cleaner, shouldn't the office cleaner be entitled to something more than the $800? He is an overachiever in his work and he has demonstrated that he can do it even faster than his manager.

From this example, it is difficult really to determine where the balancing point of equitability is. One thing is sure. Both employees work in the same company.

Supply and demand. If you think the office cleaner produces more value than that useless manager, feel free to hire him and pay him a manager's wages. The office cleaner can only curse his luck for being born in a fucked up cuntry like Singapore where the demands for paper qualifications and connections are much greater than the demand for genuine ability. In my technocratic utopia, technocrats would be the one setting remuneration as opposed to the familiee's useless cronies or businessmen who couldn't care less about the negative externalities of their business decisions.

Where is utopia on earth? Unlikely anyone is able to come up with the perfect model for income equality, because most policies are driven by pragmatism and a tinge of selfish greed.

Back to the question of pay for this office cleaner. As the office manager is not good at toilet cleaning, we have put him back to his office manager role which he can accomplish with ease. All he needs to do is to screw up everybody he sees in the office the first thing each morning so that everyone is on their toes. .

The difference is that there is a very large supply of people who can clean toilets well but a smaller supply of those who can run an office well.

Salary is determined by supply and demand which is the way it should be.

Brainwashed song in the 80s ;)

[video=youtube;3t4ekZd14Ms]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3t4ekZd14Ms&sns=em[/video]

The difference is that there is a very large supply of people who can clean toilets well but a smaller supply of those who can run an office well.

Well said ;)

Utter nonsense. The businessman using his own money is the best indicator of what value is and there is a reason he pays the office manager $6k and the cleaner $800. That other organisations are doing the same is also indicative of the relative values.

Supply and demand. If you think the office cleaner produces more value than that useless manager, feel free to hire him and pay him a manager's wages. The office cleaner can only curse his luck for being born in a fucked up cuntry like Singapore where the demands for paper qualifications and connections are much greater than the demand for genuine ability. In my technocratic utopia, technocrats would be the one setting remuneration as opposed to the familiee's useless cronies or businessmen who couldn't care less about the negative externalities of their business decisions.

Utter nonsense. The businessman using his own money is the best indicator of what value is and there is a reason he pays the office manager $6k and the cleaner $800. That other organisations are doing the same is also indicative of the relative values.

How much a position is worth and whether a particular person performing the job is providing value are two separate issues.

I'm in 100% agreement that the job of a minister running Singapore Inc should have a pay scale that starts at $1.5 million. However, that doesn't mean that some of the clowns there are deserving of their pay. Many should be sacked but the principle of paying top dollar for top brains remains.

Utter nonsense. The businessman using his own money is the best indicator of what value is

Really? Every single businessman in this world knows what value is and only they are capable of such knowledge? In that case, shouldn't every businessman that has ever lived be successful considering how important it is to understand where market value lies?

and there is a reason he pays the office manager $6k and the cleaner $800. That other organisations are doing the same is also indicative of the relative values.

I said "useless manager", not office manager. There's no way a manager who does nothing other than bootlicking the CEO and the board directors can create more value for the company than an industrious office cleaner.

You pay your cleaner $6k. Let the businessman pay the cleaner $800 and the office manager (useless or otherwise) $6k.

Bottom line is that the manager can do or learn the cleaner's job. The reverse is not true.

No education just admit no education lah. KPKB for what? Like not really professional want to call yourself PMET or PME like that.

Really? Every single businessman in this world knows what value is and only they are capable of such knowledge? In that case, shouldn't every businessman that has ever lived be successful considering how important it is to understand where market value lies?

I said "useless manager", not office manager. There's no way a manager who does nothing other than bootlicking the CEO and the board directors can create more value for the company than an industrious office cleaner.

Means testing for everything...

For start, those earning more than $15k a month cannot own a HDB flat!

Of course everything in a capitalist society is governed by supply and demand but the environment can alter the balance.

Take the property market for instance. Stamp duties, the availability and cost of loans can affect the demand. And the control of supply, even if in a proxy form e.g. change in the supply of HDB units with no change in private sector units, can alter the supply side of the equation, ultimately resulting in price changes.

Similarly, for salary, the environment can be changed to upset the supply-demand balance. FW levy is one, quota is another. If supply is hampered and demand is still there, salary will increase.

I feel salary is a relative thing - relative to another person's salary and relative to the cost of living.

The key to a comprehensive revision is not in changing the salaries themselves alone, even though private sector changes, relying mainly on market forces, will lag public sector moves, but in adjusting the cost of living to make the new salaries trouble-free.

I am talking about big ticket items like property and transportation costs. Under a free market economy, the Govt has to take the lead in the public sector and it can mean a lot of money and loss of revenue for the Govt.

One potential source of funds and that is a sacred cow, is National Service. If National Service can be cut short to one-year, a lot can be saved. A lot of the operational ready stuff can be done during the first 5 ICT. If the timetable is planned efficiently, I don't think there need to be further loss of civilian manpower to ICT.

In return, other than the money saved, we get about 20,000 more available able-bodies each year in the job market. There is then lesser reason to bring in so many FTs. Also if these guys start their career earlier, they can set up their families one year earlier and one more productive year in the fertility period. This can do wonders to our TFR, maybe the 0.2 that they are looking for. Tracy and Kinana don't have to work so hard.

Of course, there will be a 5-year shortfall in the operational ready orbat, something like 15% shortfall over these 5 years but it should be back to normal after that. Doable? I think it is.

If the lower end thinks that it is not acceptable social unrest will take place naturally.

Was it Karl Marx who said, "The least advantaged are the eyes that matter when it comes to looking at justice"?