• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to reduce income inequality in Singapore

How much can the world's richest man, Carlos Slim, do? :confused:

It is the political will that is important. Carlos can influence those who shaped policies. Will he shoot his own feet?

As an individual his resources maybe limited if you think it on a global scale or even on a national scale like China or India.

Asking zorro to represent the workers is like asking Goh meng seng to be rational. Pigs would sooner fly.

Agree. Asking zorro to represent the workers... the pigs would fly and the sun will rise from the West.

Sorry, don't know about that Goh meng seng part. paiseh. :(

That won't reduce the income inequality.

I totally agree with you on this. Nowhere in the Gini coefficient is the low end salary the key contribution to income inequality. The entire area under the Lorentz curve should be adjusted to correct this inequality to be equitable to all.

I will be the first to object that a minister's salary be tied to the lowest salary in the form of a multiple, because it is so easy to manipulate this in an easy and painless way to gain an increase in ministerial salary. Benchmarking it to the median will be a better way as this is a statistic not something you can ordain. This way the Minister and the common people will be in the same boat. l don't get it, you don't it either.

Only when the lower end thinks that it is acceptable. Otherwise we have a problem. In a sense, I agree with Cruxx. It has something to do with no poverty.

If the lower end thinks that it is not acceptable social unrest will take place naturally.

Proverty eradication has been a key discussion for decades. Lots of NATO.

Your example is still about inequality, but just the magnitude of it.

Inequity is when a person who spends his time doing jackshit and stating the obvious and making motherhood statements, makes a multi million dollar salary. You don't even have to consider magnitude and valuation concepts when considering such a scenario.

Good one. But this is not me PLP you hor. Your example is good. Thank you.

Son of the boss always in that category. Our ministars also in that category too.

Hey, my posting is now more than my points. Can up me please? Kum siah again. :p

When business is doing well, the owner can always shake leg, talk cock and do nothing if he wants to. Nothing wrong. His prerogative.

Er ... yah lah, after saying sorry... can shake leg for 5 years right? :rolleyes:

Just reduce the FT.
Cut WP/S-pass and EP by half. Then employer will have hard time to find worker they will have to pay more to employ local.

Good one. But this is not me PLP you hor. Your example is good. Thank you.

Son of the boss always in that category. Our ministars also in that category too.

Hey, my posting is now more than my points. Can up me please? Kum siah again. :p

NABEH! Don't anyhow shoot lah! :D Don't let cruxx see this statement. :D

In other words, you are saying a PM is worth less than the average man. Your definition of equity is a ratio even lower than Dr Chee's. I thought we are rating the job size and not the person doing the job. If the person doing the job is inept, please kick him out. Kinana, would you agree with that or is LHL always right?

I would say that the PM is use less. :mad:

Cannot take Q&A outside one. So malu for all Singaporeans.

Kim Jong Il and Kim Il Sung solve the inequality problem ages ago. Those with an issue can migrate to N Korea

Sir, but both are dead now. Cannot solve current problem. Unless they can rise from their grave. :D

It depends on what the "business" is trying to achieve, i.e. what are its intention/objective/purpose.
Should it even be considered a business in the first place? Apparently, the answer in unique sg is yes.

Uniquely Singapore indeed.

The topic is reduce income inequality in Singapore, not eradicate it. So many ways to reduce. Giving a larger bonus to the lower salaried and to reduce the tax liability to sole proprietors.

Fantastic. At long last... somebody answering to the point. Good on you mate!!

Reducing tax liability is of little use coz most of the taxes are hidden in the form of indirect tax. Eg...see you PUB bill.

Tax upon tax. Should start reducing all such taxes. All those who stay in 3 & 4 bedroom HDB... no GST on utilities and town council fee and phone bill etc etc 5 bedroom & EA - pay 50% of the GST. How about that?

And yes, no giving of bonus during election year or PE. This is tantamount to pork barrel - a form of corruption.

Have the bonuses issued on a regulated and structured basis say every quarterly. Does that help?

To be more precise can it be run like a business? Yes we can, crows the 6014. So far so good.

"Should a country be run like a business? Why shouldn't it?" These are the questions we need to ask ourselves.

Sir, what is crows the 6014? I am blur here. Please enlighten. Thank you.

Of course a country should never be run like a business. Where is the heart? Where is the love for the citizens?

Societies who punish achievers and reward losers perish.

Rather say it this way.

Why don't reduce the income of the very top by 50% which is good cos anyway these bastards are not working effectively and by reducing their pay, they still have plenty money left for them to slack. LOL

Yes, it Can be run liike a business.
Should it be run like a business? No, because that's not what the objective of running a country should be.
If the people who put themselves forward want to run the country like a business, they should go ahead and start and run their own businesses, which if you noticed in uniquely sg, none or very few of them ever did pre and post trying to run the country.

Ok, why shouldn't the country be run like a business?
It's like asking someone why he shouldn't be a fireman.
He's afraid of fire, he's afraid of heights, he's reluctant to face danger and take risks.
However he likes to ride in the fire engine, he likes to come down the pole at the station, he likes people shaking his hand after a successful rescue and to see his name in the papers.
His reasons for wanting to be a fireman are simply not what the objective of a fireman is supposed to be.

Yes, a country should not be ran like a business.

We have mostly the wrong people in the parliament. They should not be there. They are there for the wrong reason. Sad case. Uniquely Singapore indeed.