• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat How to Mislead the Public - a guide by the Singapore Govt

When Singaporeans reacted with horror and surprise when it was revealed that Changi Airport will be dropping its service standards last week, the well paid executives led by the Chairman of CAAS, the son of the man that turned Singapore from a sleepy fishing village to a first world country took a novel approach to couch the new standards in terms that can only be teated as misleading.

Here is an example in plainspeak: You will be collecting your bags later but the good news is that instead of the previous 90% minimum standard it will now raise it to 95% minimum standard. Does it make any sense. Your mee rebus is now 50 cents extra but the good news is that it will be come in a bigger bowl!! Sounds like the way CPF is explained.

And the prostitute press had no qualms reporting this bullshit.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/changi-airport-sets-new-standards-service
Changi Airport sets new standards for service

Since new standards at Changi Airport kicked in last month, CAAS has also started monitoring the performance of key assets. These include flight information display systems and baggage handling.

Photo: The Straits Times

Changi Airport has set new standards for check-in and baggage collection, among other services, that must be met for 95 per cent of all travellers.

Previously, the target for airport partners was nine out of 10 travellers.

This means, for example, that even as arriving passengers may see the first bag taking a few minutes longer to reach the belt - one of the changes made during the recent review - more bags will arrive within this time-frame.

As part of the review, the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) has also extended the service standards, for the first time, to cover transit passengers.

This would ensure, for example, that those who need to collect their boarding passes for the next leg of their journeys are processed quickly and efficiently.

Since the new standards, which are not made public, kicked in last month, the authority has also started monitoring the performance of key assets.

These include aerobridges, flight information display systems, power supply and baggage handling systems, a spokesman said.

This is to ensure that there is close oversight on areas that could potentially affect airport operations and passengers' experience, she said.

The CAAS spoke to The Straits Times following a recent report that arriving passengers may have to wait longer for their bags after the changes to service standards.

The changes are part of the wider review which also took into account growing passenger numbers and operational constraints.

For example, where previously the rules were the same for all airlines - no traveller should wait for more than 10 minutes to get to the front of the line and another two minutes to be processed - more time is now given to budget carriers.

The airport's "first bag on the belt in 12 minutes" standard has also been relaxed to allow a couple more minutes, sources said.

The CAAS spokesman said that, ultimately, the airport's success will continue to be driven by delivering the best possible passenger experience.

The end-to-end experience is critical, said Mr Abbas Ismail, course manager, aviation management and services, at Temasek Polytechnic.

"For instance, the passenger does not benefit if his baggage is brought to the belt quickly but he is held up at immigration or his aircraft is parked at the furthest parking bay and he has to take a long walk to the arrival hall. Likewise, efficient immigration clearance is meaningless if the baggage has not yet reached the belt," he said.

More than seven in 10 arriving travellers The Straits Times spoke to at the airport recently said they did not experience a longer wait for their bags despite the recent relaxation.

Indonesian pastor Kunaraz, 58, said: "I fly more than 20 times a year, and I think that Singapore has a very efficient system in place."

Only 10 out of 80 travellers said they waited more than 15 minutes.

As traffic continues to grow amid a manpower crunch, Changi will find it more challenging to meet passenger expectations, experts said.

Senior lecturer Ma Nang Laik at UniSIM's School of Business said the key is to invest in automation, simulation and self-directed services which may help to solve the issue of labour shortage.

Changi Airport has plans for a massive roll-out of self-service options for check-in, immigration and aircraft boarding.

Additional reporting by Rachel Chia, Samuel Mak and Veena Vinod

- See more at: http://news.asiaone.com/news/singap...ts-new-standards-service#sthash.6z02kdPF.dpuf

kukubird59

Here is an example in plainspeak: You will be collecting your bags later but the good news is that instead of the previous 90% minimum standard it will now raise it to 95% minimum standard. Does it make any sense. Your mee rebus is now 50 cents extra but the good news is that it will be come in a bigger bowl!! Sounds like the way CPF is explained.

hahaha...truly an empty vessel good for blah, blah without understanding fundamentals....
everything has to be looked at in totality and KPIs are reviewed from time to time and adjusted as required.....
in this case, the difference between new and old KPI for baggage is very clear if you understand the scheme of things.

old KPI...for every 100 bags, 90 bags must be on the belt within 12 minutes.....

new KPI....for every 100 bags, 95 bags must be on the belt within (say) 15 minutes....

whether the new KPI or KPI is more stringent or better for travellers is debatable but....
anybody with half a brain can see the difference in KPI.....
truly retarded....

Debonerman

hahaha...truly an empty vessel good for blah, blah without understanding fundamentals....
everything has to be looked at in totality and KPIs are reviewed from time to time and adjusted as required.....
in this case, the difference between new and old KPI for baggage is very clear if you understand the scheme of things.

old KPI...for every 100 bags, 90 bags must be on the belt within 12 minutes.....

new KPI....for every 100 bags, 95 bags must be on the belt within (say) 15 minutes....

whether the new KPI or KPI is more stringent or better for travellers is debatable but....
truly retarded....

Kukubird pooping on car tops again. Lol

truly retarded....

medicine time, kuku!

sifu n si kong

Thick Face Black Heart

truly retarded....

Fail basic mathematics. Let's say 90 bags in 12 minutes was the original. By direct proportion, it should be 112.5 bags in 15 minutes. kuku shits again!

RandomNexus

All the elite government civil servants and ministers practise the speaking art of deflection with ease. It is to deflect blame which is something any top civil servant or Minister is most afraid of. You have the recent Chan Chun Seng claiming that PA does not support partisan PAP work?

In the past, it was Cedric Foo who said that SAF put up the white horse tags to ensure they do not get privileged treatment.

Eons ago, it was the government openly said that GIC did not invest in CPF savings. Which today, they decided not to "bluff" anymore since today's folks know what are bonds issued by CPF to GIC.

There was the infamous HDB market subsidy to claim that HDB was making a loss in selling flats to Singaporeans. Now this market subsidy has gone on to claim expenses in infrastructure development and land cost as well. It will forever be a subsidy if you keep including items to inflate the costs. You write the accounting books as well as dictate its rules.

The peasants do learn to count, calculate and think one day thanks to the excellent education and mass media here. Perhaps the government should learn to speak honestly and openly on difficult issues. People here do give credit to you for difficult issues if you speak openly.

Thick Face Black Heart

In the past, it was Cedric Foo who said that SAF put up the white horse tags to ensure they do not get privileged treatment.

Eons ago, it was the government openly said that GIC did not invest in CPF savings. Which today, they decided not to "bluff" anymore since today's folks know what are bonds issued by CPF to GIC.

There was the infamous HDB market subsidy to claim that HDB was making a loss in selling flats to Singaporeans.

Three excellent examples!

Nice ~~!!!~~!!!

dr.wailing

led by the Chairman of CAAS, the son of the man that turned Singapore from a sleepy fishing village to a first world country took a novel approach to couch the new standards in terms that can only be teated as misleading.
Some companies of the Chairman are mentioned in ICIJ's "Panama Papers" database. Has anyone bothered to check?

scroobye

truly retarded....

Kukubird pooping on car tops again. Lol

is there an imh for 'birds?'

medicine time, kuku!

sifu n si kong

Fail basic mathematics. Let's say 90 bags in 12 minutes was the original. By direct proportion, it should be 112.5 bags in 15 minutes. kuku shits again!

GD, there is no medicine for stupidity or gayness.

Why isn't serious put as a header in this thread title?

Is this a trap to invite detractors like kukubird to come in to post and then get him unfairly banned?

I thought scroobal hates detractors from demolishing his postings and he is always correct so why not put serious on the header but chit chat instead?

PAP is like the Pommies, full of lies and blatantly explain to themselves, ownself praise ownself, why they sell opium to 300 million Chinese and the Chinese need opium.

After an English census of China revealed 300 million potential “clients,” the Crown awarded the Honorable East India Company a monopoly on the ‘trade,’ carefully avoiding the use of the word ‘opium’—a face-saving subterfuge employed right into the 20th century. (For the record, the majority of British merchants and missionaries protested against Britain’s foray into drug trafficking, but to little avail).

Even as Britain promoted opium in China, she passed several laws forbidding its use in England. Western medical experts supported such dual standards by arguing that for Chinese, opium was “a harmless social family luxury,” on a par with tea. The Deputy-Surgeon-General of Bombay would later claim that Chinese find in opium “a source of enjoyment, of comfort, of necessity, and of even a blessing.” He added, “Opium is especially suited to the Chinese constitution, habits, and to the small pecuniary means of the masses.”

http://www.amoymagic.com/OpiumWar.htm

When Singaporeans reacted with horror and surprise when it was revealed that Changi Airport will be dropping its service standards last week, the well paid executives led by the Chairman of CAAS, the son of the man that turned Singapore from a sleepy fishing village to a first world country took a novel approach to couch the new standards in terms that can only be teated as misleading.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/changi-airport-sets-new-standards-service

This is why the PAP gets away with each and every time. People have no idea of history and no idea of maths. They don't even ask themselves why a career soldier is quoting Triple A rating but not the career economist sitting nearby.

When you read the news article, you can see how incoherent it is. The journalist are not trained like Chan Sek Keong.

Excellent. They know full well that they can't fool some but they know they can get away with the majority and have no qualms misleading the public. And these are not minions. I know of civil servants who will refuse to be associated with making such claims but interestingly it will be the political appointees that will readily do it.

Compared to old man and GCT, LHL has tripled the number of political appointees below cabinet. We have a raft of Ministers of state, some senior, political and parliamentary secretaries. The PMO has a number of ministers. You see more of them fielding questions in Parliament rather than cabinet. If you watch, they are prepared to say things that cabinet ministers will avoid. So it the Cedric Foo's of the PAP World that will be thrust forward to spew absolute lies.

All the elite government civil servants and ministers practise the speaking art of deflection with ease. It is to deflect blame which is something any top civil servant or Minister is most afraid of. You have the recent Chan Chun Seng claiming that PA does not support partisan PAP work?

There was the infamous HDB market subsidy to claim that HDB was making a loss in selling flats to Singaporeans. Now this market subsidy has gone on to claim expenses in infrastructure development and land cost as well. It will forever be a subsidy if you keep including items to inflate the costs. You write the accounting books as well as dictate its rules.

The peasants do learn to count, calculate and think one day thanks to the excellent education and mass media here. Perhaps the government should learn to speak honestly and openly on difficult issues. People here do give credit to you for difficult issues if you speak openly.

Bro, if you have taken a prospectus for an IPO, you will routinely see Cayman Islands, BVI etc in it. It has been part and parcel of corporate life. Nothing sinister for the most part. This company has been selling shell companies. Its far easier for someone to take a flight for $2k, fly overseas, set up a bank account, setup PO Box and give instructions to forward the bribes directly to these accounts without coming thru Singapore. Conversely non-Singaporeans residing in their country fly to Singapore and do the same. The only people who get caught for corruption are those that receive sexual favours like the SCDF head and minions and stupid people who take a few thousand in cash and iPads.

I have no doubt amongst the thousands of cases revealed in the Panama Papers, there will be a some illegal cases. The fact that the team of journalist had this supposed treasure trove for months and months and could not throw out anything of value except for the Iceland PM cases speaks volumes.

In Singapore, property development is big business. In this sector money seldom crosses hands. Favours do. You get invited to soft launches and you then you flip. The gain can be high as $250k within a month maybe less. And we can't touch them. And it includes senior civil servants.

So what does CPIB do? They spend their time chasing after Indian soccer bookies. Who do you think are the big bookies - Malays, Eurasians , Indians or Chinese. When FIFA, Italy, the Australian Investigative firms and surprisingly the TNP started making noise, then the PM asked why are we in the World press. Thats when Dan Seet got caught. And Dan is not the Principle.

I could not help notice last week when 2 brothers, one a doctor and another lawyer faced the Constitutional Panel led by the CJ and gave their views on how to restructure the office of the President. They had a late brother who was rigging horses races big time in Singapore and Malaysia, made fraudulent property deals and while a fugitive screwed the Casinos big time.

Don't waste your time on the Panama Papers. You earlier comment about Portcullis is spot on. And you know who is the Chairman.

Thats life and that why I am in this forum and I suspect a few others as well for similar reasons.

Some companies of the Chairman are mentioned in ICIJ's "Panama Papers" database. Has anyone bothered to check?