• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How Often Do You Change Your .....

Ok, I made an effort to check. I'm using cylinder and not pipe. The bloody cylinder still feels half full when I shook it just now. Double check my PUB bill and there is only Water and Electricity charges, no gas charges. Funny that the cylinder can last so long. Why like that ah???

don't complain, complaining so much for what? be greatful, treat it like the goose who lay golden eggs, maybe can even rent your 'magic' cylinder out for a profit :D

it depends on what fuel you're using, the weight of fuel in your tank, the heating value of your fuel, the maximum output of your burner or burners, and the utilization factor of each or more burners used.

for example, if you're using propane, which i normally do for my grill, the typical amount of propane in a tank is 15 lbs fully loaded. the heating value of propane is 21,600 btu per lb. the maximum heating output of my grill is around 30k btu per hour. for your household burner in a sinkie flat, it should be not more than 20k btu per hour. your utilization factor of each burner should be about 50% as one normally doesn't turn on full blast unless you need wok hei to cook up chilli crab.

usage time of your tank, if it's full and fuel is propane, is (15 lbs x 21,600 btu/lb) / (20,000 btu/hr x .5) = 32.4 hrs. usage time of your tank, if it's half full, is 16.2 hrs. to find out how full your tank is, boil a cup of water and slowly pour it over the side of your tank. after a while, feel the side of your tank where the water is poured and mark the point where it is cold on one half and warm on the other. visually from the mark, you can determine how much the tank is still filled with liquefied gas.

if you take 30 mins to cook per meal, your (full) tank will last 64.8 meals. your half tank will last 32.4 meals.

my grill uses a max heating output of 30k btu per hr and utilization factor of 50%. my usage time for a full tank is 21.6 hrs.

most hdb home stoves or burners shouldn't rate more than 7,000 btu/hr. even if you have a high btu burner, 10k to 12k, your utilization factor is typically half or 50% of the max. at an above average 5,000 btu/hr, your tank should last 4 x 32.4 meals, or 4 months on average if you cook 7 times a week. that's based on a cook time of 30 mins. if cook time is 15 mins, your tank will last twice the amount of 129.2 meals.

Hi boss, thanks for the effort to help me calculate. Your calculations makes sense. Our stove is usually on for 10-20mins max each day. Now I have to go solve the aircon problem. Did some read up and I'm surprise that the leak can occur anywhere from the compressor, to the pipes, to the unit itself. I have always thought that it only happens at the compressor. If it happens at the pipes, have to change the whole freak thing.

How long the gas last depends on the condition of the equipment and how it is being used.

For aircon, I change mine every 8 years or so. Less troublesome then to keep on asking people to come repair it. As for cooking gas, I prefer to use the PUB supplied ones. I hate having no gas while cooking halfway.

for air con refrigerant leak, i'm sure you've already read extensively on inspectapedia.com under aircond and refrigerant leak and repair, or refrigerant leak detection. all sections are professionally written detailing everything you want to know. for a layman leak detection without instruments or expensive tools, do a careful visual inspection for corrosion, discoloration, and stains on refrigerant piping, connectors, joints, fittings, cooling coils, condensing coils, etc. if you see stains, there's a leak and you need to repair or redo the piping and connections. some soldering skills are required.

While we are at the topic of home maintainence, I would like to share my plumbing experience. The pipe at the face washing basin was choked and I tried these 3 ways.

1. One bottle of vinegar and a pot of hot water 2 hours later. No effect.

2. Plunger. I went to buy one and began plunging, only some small sea weed particles can out. Still choked.

3. Finally, I went to the hardware shop and paid $6.50 for a bottled chemical, pour it, left it overnight and the problem is solved :D

i keep a bottle of clr, a bottle of drano, and a can of wd-40 all the time at home. to avoid having hair clogging up pipes in the bathtub and shower stall, it's advisable to cover all drainage holes with filters or circular wire mesh receptacles.

Our stove is usually on for 10-20mins max each day.....

Your stove might be on for only 10-20 minutes but what kind of cooking do you do:confused:
Do you do plenty of high heat or low heat cooking?

I'm more into low heat cooking & less of the unhealthy frying. I now eat more raw vegetables e.g. lettuce, tomatoe,..

Your stove might be on for only 10-20 minutes but what kind of cooking do you do:confused:
Do you do plenty of high heat or low heat cooking?

I'm more into low heat cooking & less of the unhealthy frying. I now eat more raw vegetables e.g. lettuce, tomatoe,..

Low heat. Little tigress is not a fan of deep fried or fried stuffs. Basically, she just make sure the food is cook. She, being Vietnamese eats a lot of raw veggies and I'm picking up this habit also.

i used to eat lots of raw veggies too until my ears started to grow longer and i was inclined to dig holes in the ground. So i stopped the veggies.

Low heat. Little tigress is not a fan of deep fried or fried stuffs. Basically, she just make sure the food is cook. She, being Vietnamese eats a lot of raw veggies and I'm picking up this habit also.

... 3. Finally, I went to the hardware shop and paid $6.50 for a bottled chemical, pour it, left it overnight and the problem is solved :D
careful, tis may spoil ur pipes in ze loong run ... got other betta options n solns ...

... I moved into my house on 1st Apr and the previous owner told me that there is still half a tank of gas left. While cooking noodle just now, I realised that until now, we have not changed a new tank. Basically, we cook an average of 7 times a week, each session lasting 10-20 minutes max as my wife cooks very simple dishes and we seldom boil soup. I'm surprised that half a tank of gas can last me for so many months ...
tank stil quite full la wen dey pas over 2 u ... go get 1 new tank as spare tyre la ... tis curent 1 omos finished oredi la ...

careful, tis may spoil ur pipes in ze loong run ... got other betta options n solns ...

My grandma used to know how to open the pipe underneath the sink and clear out the shit. But my pipes kena glued and painted until I dunno how to dismantle. You got better solution other than vinegar/hot water/plunger/chemical?

he likes eating raw especially PRC mei meis.

Your post make me worried again. Some months ago, one fugly PRC bitch lured me to her room and I did the mistake of doing her raw. She's those type of horny and like to go nightspots type. :(

First time heard of Happycall pan. Shall go and google later. Only heard of happy pills :D

I also dont on the aircon a lot. Only on very hot days on when I need to make love. Our utility bill is about $130 every month for just 2 of us.

1. bro, the happycall pan is some korean product.
2. yes, it is pretty good for pan fry items.

For those thinking of getting new aircon for your rooms, check out on some electrical shops that will buy back your old aircon set when you purchase a new one from them..