• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How much do HDB flats actually cost?

DerekLeung

I think i should start some sort of a series titled What are the actual....??. Here's another issue. This time its about the cost of building HDB flats in which 80-90% of Singaporeans live. Have a look at these letters published in the Straits Times Forum....

July 22, 2008

Affordable HDB flats: Costings don't add up

I REFER to last Wednesday's letter from the HDB, 'How HDB flats are priced affordably'. It mentioned that a new four-room flat costs close to $300,000 to develop, taking into account land, building and other costs. It did not give details of how each cost is calculated.

I remember a similar Forum letter on July 12, 2004, asking the same questions. It was mentioned that one HDB contractor built flats in Bukit Batok for $50,400 each in 2000.

Even now, factoring in higher construction cost, I estimate building cost is $100,000 to $150,000. That leaves nearly $150,000 to $200,000 for land and other costs. A single block of flats typically has 100 units. That means land (and other costs) on which a single block of flats stands costs $15 to $20 million. Can it cost so much?

For $15 to $20 million, what kind of property can one buy? In District 9 or 10, one can buy property up to 20,000 sq ft.

So is the HDB willing to release details on actual construction costs, say in the Punggol or Sengkang area?

Steven Yeo

Aug 1, 2008

HDB flats: Low figure is building costs alone

I REFER to the letter, 'Affordable HDB flats: Costings don't add up' by Mr Steven Yeo (July 22).

Mr Yeo cited a Forum page letter published on July 12, 2004, where the writer gave the construction cost of a new flat as $50,400.

This does not give the full picture of how much it costs to build flats. As HDB explained in its reply of July 23, 2004, the figures cited relate only to building works. The total construction cost of flats includes other costs such as infrastructure, piling works, lift installation, consultancy and project management, financing and purchase of land.

We have explained before in previous letters that the total cost of development in the current market is about $300,000 for a four-room flat in Punggol-Sengkang New Town. This is significantly higher than the subsidised price of a four-room flat in Punggol-Sengkang sold by HDB at about $200,000 to $260,000.

Kee Lay Cheng (Ms)
Deputy Director (Marketing and Projects)
for Director (Estate Administration and Property)
Housing and Development Board

This issue has been around for a very long time and for which the government hasn't adequately and fully replied to. If they did, the question wouldn't be around for so long, would it now. Is there anything to hide?

Its not so difficult to give a breakdown of the costs, unless of course, they fear revealing them and letting the public debate about it. Don't tell me giving a detailed breakdown would endanger Singapore's national security or something along that line. Errr...right.

Its really quite pathetic that, as citizens, we have to practically beg for such things.

Lentor

only fools believed that a 4rm HDB actual costs is 300k.
then a point block of 20flrs and 4 units will cost the developer 24000k or 2400mil?
they probably can build 1 casino+hotel+theme park+resort club with that kind of money.

maybe that LC Kee can release the successful tenders for some recent HDB flats, 1 4rm pigeon holes costs the developer no more than 50K.

R4g3

it depends on whether do you include the land cost or not.

building cost wont be that high, it is the land and how much they want to price it.

just like a plate of chicken rice i sell you $5 and i tell you my cost is $4.99 because the chicken is $1 but the cost of my rice is $3.99. And the company that sold me the rice is the sole distributor and the boss so happen to be also me.

so my chicken rice is really not making money for selling them at $5, I am only making $0.01 per plate. Do not say that my stall is making huge profits.

but i will not talk anything regarding the profit of my rice company that supply.

this is similar to the relationship between Pappies, HDB and SLA (boss, chicken rice stall, rice company).

Conan the Barbarian

only fools believed that a 4rm HDB actual costs is 300k.
then a point block of 20flrs and 4 units will cost the developer 24000k or 2400mil?
they probably can build 1 casino+hotel+theme park+resort club with that kind of money.

maybe that LC Kee can release the successful tenders for some recent HDB flats, 1 4rm pigeon holes costs the developer no more than 50K.

At 300K per unit, a 25 flr point block will cost $30 million.
The land involved will be about 10000sq ft
That does not include land for carparks since that is a separate
charge as HDB did state that non-car owners should not be subsidized
by car owners.

10000sq ft of land only cost about $7.5 million at the going rate of
$750 psf, which is already an overestimate.

But the talk has been diverted to market subsidy recently.

Anyway, no point KPKB about it since all these are mandates given
by voters. As long as the customers want it, give it to them. They
have rejected all other options. The people have spoken. Its a
resounding YES.:wink:

Bigfuck

Lumpar lah! In Chongqing, nice looking private apartment costs S$8K. Since cheebye Singapore flat own by gahbrament, they own land at $1psf. Build the cheedbye flat, every 25 year kenna tax by upgrade or enbloc, actually 99 year lease joke lah. 25 year oni. So why the fuck got so much value? My accurate valuation? S$5000 for 100sqm (include the fucking common land), S$20K for build costs + (S$10K)renovation and fuck = S$35,000. S$50,400? Simi lanjiao! I go Batam buy house <S$25K can get man! Hold orgy on Batam with girls from 10 different nationality no one karchiao. The rest is TAX.
So actual property tax? >600 percent. What they call in cheeby ang moh way internationally? Value add. For who? PAP. This kind of lanjiao maths still done in Malaysia and done since post WWII. Limbeh must teach u stupid idiots how to count ah? Singapore government, actually the first original investment banker what lehman lanjiao brothers. Difference is their client base solid. Every generation new sucker born. haha.
BIGFUCK rocks!

DIVISION1

.... In Chongqing ...

Mind your language, dear moniker. Singapore has come a long way since independence, from very very low home ownership to more than 90% ownership. Few countries can boast that in the world. Naturally, with limited land and high ownership rates, prices will go up and our building designs and construction are worldclass, thus deserving high free market valuation. Your estimation is totally inaccurate.

In the past, the cost was computed based on the cost of construction, which has not changed much as the Papayas replaced Sporns with cheaper FTrash workers. Then they decided to factor in the land cost. Further down the road, they included miscellaneous costs like the costs of car parks and roads around the estate, but mind you, you still have to pay monthly fees to use them. And most recently, they benchmark them to the prices of resales flats around the area! What do u call this? INSATIABLE GREED! And where have the humongous profits gone? Yep, to feed the Old Fart's and Ho Jinx's MASSIVE LOSSES and to give away as freebies to the FTrash!

Mind your language, dear moniker. Singapore has come a long way since independence, from very very low home ownership to more than 90% ownership. Few countries can boast that in the world. Naturally, with limited land and high ownership rates, prices will go up and our building designs and construction are worldclass, thus deserving high free market valuation. Your estimation is totally inaccurate.

Define ownership.

lubehsong

all the haigongs who think their own the flat are actually paying the rent upfront for 99 years.:(

I am disappointed with you moniker makapaaa. I thought it should be obvious. Something that you can buy and sell, rent out, use as reverse mortgage, pass down as inheritance should be clear......

For how long? Does how your owner use the word "ownership" in the "title deeds" for the overpriced pigeonholes it sells to the Peasants? If not, why?

Nice-Gook

In the past, the cost was computed based on the cost of construction,

More.These days the Leegime also micro manages the market force pricing of HDB flats.It does this by allowing private apartments to be built side by side HDB flats.The land for these private apartments are obviously sold by the Leegime to private developers at bid prices.So a comparasion of prices of HDB flats sitting side by side to private apartments at the same location is made by HDB appointed valuers for resale flats.

The bottom line is,HDB prices keeps on increasing by virture of the existence of private apartments sitting side by side.Thats Leegime's way of tweeking the market force.

Bigfuck

More.These days the Leegime also micro manages the market force pricing of HDB flats.It does this by allowing private apartments to be built side by side HDB flats.The land for these private apartments are obviously sold by the Leegime to private developers at bid prices.So a comparasion of prices of HDB flats sitting side by side to private apartments at the same location is made by HDB appointed valuers for resale flats.

The bottom line is,HDB prices keeps on increasing by virture of the existence of private apartments sitting side by side.Thats Leegime's way of tweeking the market force.

Yah loh, fuck. Next time Punggol and Woodlands apartment increase some more. Why? Johore properties increasing what. Cross border market influence, similan. FUCK!

newcat

We never own a HDB Flat. We only lease it from HDB for 99 years. If i own it, can i tell the them not to tear down my blk. Look at those flat that use to be at cantonment road. Tear down and build new one which price at 600k or more. So, we never own HDB flat. They can buy your HDB and tear it down when they think they can make more money.

4 room flat ( 900sf) cost about $40K not included flooring or no renovation at all. That is the total cost included all constuction material and labour cost.
Land cost are not included. So HDB selling $300k/unit so that mean each unit land cost about $260K.

qwerty

4 room flat ( 900sf) cost about $40K not included flooring or no renovation at all. That is the total cost included all constuction material and labour cost.
Land cost are not included. So HDB selling $300k/unit so that mean each unit land cost about $260K.

please state your sources or how to come to the 40K figure

Bigfuck

Bigfuck tell u all fucking no belief. Nah, here another one to show u fact man.
Building super cheap

kiwibird7

The supposed land value of 4 room HDB flats is VERY HIGH considering that at least 12 units or more of flats piled one on top of another sit on the same plot of land (approx 100 Sq M) that nobody really owns but leases.

Assuming that the building costs of a 4 room flat costs $150,000 at today's prices, then the remaining $150,000 would theoretically be for the land. 12 units of 4 room flats paying (12x$150,000) a total of $1.8million for that 100 Sq M of land. That works out to approx $2000 per square foot :confused:of 99 leased land that nobody really owns.

If 40 storeys of 4 room flats were to be built sitting on the same plot of 100 Sq M of land at the same sale price of $150,000(land)+$150,000(building). Then the projected land costs would be 40x$150,000=$6 million or $6,666 per square foot :eek:of leased land that nobody really owns.

In NZ, the govt is truly helping low income families by allowing the poor to use state land FREE of charge (no ownership titles, leases or rental charge) but just pay for the building costs of houses (design of their own choice) alone on state land that is merely loaned to them.

The supposed land value of 4 room HDB flats is VERY HIGH considering that at least 12 units or more of flats piled one on top of another sit on the same plot of land (approx 100 Sq M) that nobody really owns but leases.

Assuming that the building costs of a 4 room flat costs $150,000 at today's prices, then the remaining $150,000 would theoretically be for the land. 12 units of 4 room flats paying (12x$150,000) a total of $1.8million for that 100 Sq M of land. That works out to approx $2000 per square foot :confused:of 99 leased land that nobody really owns.

If 40 storeys of 4 room flats were to be built sitting on the same plot of 100 Sq M of land at the same sale price of $150,000(land)+$150,000(building). Then the projected land costs would be 40x$150,000=$6 million or $6,666 per square foot :eek:of leased land that nobody really owns.

In NZ, the govt is truly helping low income families by allowing the poor to use state land FREE of charge (no ownership titles, leases or rental charge) but just pay for the building costs of houses (design of their own choice) alone on state land that is merely loaned to them.

66%: U're LYING!