horror stories abt customers who kena conned at SITEX

BusNo64

read dis in another forum

Today, 10:53 AM #1
blueray23

Bad experiences with ACER + MC2

Really bad experiences with Acer + MC2. Just like to share out with the rest so that won't fall for this kind situation like me.

Intend to get a laptops and was considering a few brands. And decided on getting the Acer one since it meet my requirement and the sale guy agree to sell at the price with top up from 2 year warranty to 3 year warranty at no cost plus upgrade ram to 8GB at $60. This is after he check with his supervisor or manager for the offer.

After paid full amount in Nets, when they upgrade the RAM, discovered that it is 2GB+2GB+4GB. When I first check with the sale guy, it was mentioned that it will be 2X4GB of RAM. When asked the person at the cashier(So-call supervisor), they say cannot be done at it will be way out their cost. !@#$% Decide not to argue since the sale guy I check was not the same sale guy that I place order with. When I asked about how the 3 year warranty is being issues or claim, the supervisor say no such thing and ask which sale guy that said it.

She ask me which sale guy and counter-check with him. She confirm that what the sale guy offer me and came back. But claim that it is might be her fault that she did not hear the sale guy asked him about the 3 year warranty with RAM upgrade. She only heard about the RAM upgrade and keep saying that there is no way that they can offer with the 3rd year warranty.

WTH...She did not hear the sale guy asked then is my fault?? Especially after I made payment. She make no sight of going to do anything about it. I still had to ask if I want the 3rd year warranty then how much she can offer. The first offer given is $80 instead of $99. After some bargins, she willing to low to $70 instead and still give me face that I am making thing difficult for her. If this is the amount that I going to pay, I might as well consider another brand laptop that come with the 3rd year warranty.

To me, I feel really cheated. Make me pay first. Then say hear wrongly. This is clearly management issues, whether is it MC2 or ACER. If you need your sale guy to check with management side before they can offer anything, then make sure you hear correctly. Else honor what is being offer to customer. Especially when it is confirm that your sale guy had offer the term to a customer.

dis one from hwz forum:

Yesterday, 08:12 PM #1
koroshiya8
Arch-Supremacy Member

Another gst stunt - newstead
Told me toshiba l654 price dropped to $1199 but is excluding gst. Knn. I know this trick so walked away. Places like pa mart and harvy all is inclusive. Screw newstead!

27-11-2010, 10:34 AM #1
shinyu

Dell Scam : Do not buy XPS15 at SITEX

Dell is claiming free upgrade from 2GB to 4GB RAM and free bag for SITEX offer. This is not true, if you have monitored this laptop model since the beginning, these 2 offers are by default already included in the base price of $1699 for the i7 configuration. Meaning during normal days, you will also get 4GB RAM and the bag with the same price of $1699 and not so called free upgrade and free bag as what is claimed in SITEX
On top of that, the SITEX deal gives you 500GB instead of 640GB in the normal deal. They are downgrading it and charging the same price!

As proof, you can check singapore's website on monday or go to msia's dell website http://www1.ap.dell.com/my/en/home/n...=dhs&cs=mydhs1
Malaysia do not have PCFair right now. So the price is standard price.

To sum up, you are paying more at SITEX than during normal days.
Hope you all are alert of this. I have been wanting to buy this laptop and waited for SITEX to get some good deals. Very disappointed with Dell in their offering.
It's bad if you don't offer discount, but worse when you claim its free upgrade when it is not. Shame

Yesterday, 12:43 AM #54
SpyderX

I just want to raise my concern over here. I purchased a Samsung LED monitor at SITEX 2gether with a fren.. the model was BX3331 .. paid cash n nets at $268.. asked for additional freebies but nv get any, no price discount as well.

After that I went courts walk walk I discovered they selling at $268 also.. I feel very cheated. Normally fairs should be cheaper right? I have to brave the crowd and super troublesome transport over.. thumbs down!! not supporting these "PC Shows" anymore..

siao bo... nothing is free and at the most in sitex, u get more freebies only.
Where got cheaper one... haha.

Go there walk walk... see the PC chicks... more value for $$$ :D:D

I feel very cheated. Normally fairs should be cheaper right? I have to brave the crowd and super troublesome transport over.. thumbs down!! not supporting these "PC Shows" anymore..

Not necessarily...... normally retail stores will match the prices offered at these "PC Shows". :D

I usually visit these shows and get the lowest quotes and then go to Harvey Norman or Best Denki to buy the items that I want...... they will match the price + free delivery :p

at those prices, you might as well go bargain-hunting at sim lim. or just wait for challenger sale.

Is it any wonder that more people are avoiding these shows?

If you want to do comparison shopping you 1st have to go to Sim Lim, Funan, ..., then walk around the whole damn expo. Then you face these scams.:rolleyes:

I understand it costs $$$ to participate in these shows, so not surprised that there are few "real" bargains.

The problems lies with cheap farts Singaporeans
who will choose a crowded day to make their purchase .

And people who cluster fuck at ATMs drawing $20 . WTF man ?

People should withdraw once every week .
Instead of making a trip down once too often .

Buy from online stores. It's also much cheaper. I bought from an online shop an SSD 120Gb that's cheaper than if it's sold in singapore even with the shipping costs added in.

U mean u actually bought that trash brand, ACER? It's a total crap! I wouldn't even want it for free! Only the cameras and the tvs are worth getting from such fairs.

U should take a look at the Acer Timeline X series. Can last chao chao 6 hours surfing Wifi. Now Acer also upgraded the asthetics....using brushed aluminium ok. Dont play play.

Acer is good ...

I5 processor ,500gig HDD, 4gig RAM ,1 gig graphic card stand alone !

Damage $999

Through Harvey Norman

I bought ASPIRE model from Acer. I bought it a week before the SITEX show begins

$999, it a good buy. Of course, not much freebies. Acer got to protect all these major retailers. It their network of sales. In other words, they are the bread and butter for ACER. Retailer like , Courts, Harvey Norman,Best Denki,Gain city and other retail store.

Don't think go SITEX got bigger discount, no way. You can bargain , but more . freebies that all. Remember , they have 4 major of this kind of show per year. Plus courts and other have their own promotion.

You wonder why out of date notebook never go below $800 ? The big guy up there has to control the market, so that the retailer can make a decent living out of it. It a win win situation for both. U think about Ingram Micro .... they are the big brother for all these brands here in Singapore. They started out as transport company. Subsequently, they become the distributor. Because they have the size to store all these goods and also they have the net work to distribute.

Buy from online stores. It's also much cheaper. I bought from an online shop an SSD 120Gb that's cheaper than if it's sold in singapore even with the shipping costs added in.

is it ? Any website to recommend ?