• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hero Alex farked PAP Youth upside-down!

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:17 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 36) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Dec 11, 2009

Has PAP rule led to apathy?

Youth Wing debates issue with great fervour

<!-- by line -->By Zakir Hussain & Rachel Chang
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
PROJECT engineer Alex Tan did not mince his words as he blamed the ruling People's Action Party for the apathy of Singapore's youth.
He pointed his finger especially at the PAP's dominance and the lack of press freedom. The 22-year-old also said the PAP may feel it is helping the people but the people feel disadvantaged by its policies, from foreign talent to national service.
His stark statements surprised, not for their content but for where they were made. Mr Tan was speaking last night at a dialogue organised by the Young PAP, and which was attended by 150 youths and two PAP MPs.
They were first-term Mr Sam Tan, who is six months into his job as Parliamentary Secretary in two ministries - Trade and Industry, and Information, Communications and the Arts - and Mr Christopher de Souza, vice-chairman of the Youth Wing.
Mr Alex Tan was the most hard-hitting from among a dozen young people who spoke during the two-hour dialogue titled, 2010: How Can Our Youths Serve Singapore?
The issues raised by the others include ways to get more youths to be volunteers, how the political system discourages alternative voices and puts opposition parties at a disadvantage, and that schools discourage political discussion.
It is part of the Youth Wing's series on social and political issues to better engage a younger, more outspoken generation, with the aim of renewing the party's ranks and support.
And engage the MPs did.
Mr Sam Tan replied, with equanimity, that it all boils down to individuals making their own choices.
'It has nothing to do with the system,' he said. 'If people feel they want to exercise their will and choice and want to serve, there are many ways they can do so. (The issue) is not the system, it is us.'
Earlier, he had said he did not believe Singaporean youths are apathetic or self-centred. His observation is based on his 26-year career at the People's Association and the Chinese Development Assistance Council, which he headed till June.
Mr de Souza, in turn, invited Mr Alex Tan to attend Parliament to see how PAP MPs speak their mind. 'If you'd heard Denise Phua speak on, say special-needs kids, you will think she is an opposition MP,' he said.
'Cynthia Phua also,' quipped Mr Sam Tan.
There is the party whip, Mr Alex Tan shot back.
'Yes, but when the whip was lifted, I voted no on a Bill,' replied Mr de Souza, referring to his opposition to changes to the Human Organ Transplant Act in March, because he felt provisions for reimbursing organ donors could be abused.
'In my view, you find more robust debate from PAP MPs than opposition MPs,' he added.
On policies that people feel disadvantaged by, Mr Sam Tan said no government would want to make its people unhappy or poorer or be unpopular.
'The PAP has been governing Singapore for 50 years. Do you think it will want to do something which will bring destruction to itself?' he asked.
The party studies global trends, anticipates what will happen, and puts in place structures to prepare its people for future challenges, he added.
As for foreign talent, Mr Tan acknowledged the issue was emotional.
He related how a minister from China recently told him his country wanted to attract top talent, too. A bemused Mr Tan asked why it needed foreign talent, when the country had 1.3 billion people.
The minister replied: 'We must compete with the best in the world so that we become the best.'
However, a participant, who declined to be identified, took offence at Mr Alex Tan's comments, saying: 'If you're so disenchanted, why not leave Singapore?'
Mr de Souza swiftly defended Mr Alex Tan, saying: 'He has a right to his own views. The fact he is here shows he wants to get involved.'
Mr Sam Tan also reminded our young people not to run down Singapore when abroad or with outsiders. 'People will have less respect for us and our dignity will be dented,' he said.
He recounted a trip to Kuala Lumpur with some MPs, including opposition MP Chiam See Tong.
Mr Tan had asked him if he would speak in a different language from the PAP MPs.
He recalled Mr Chiam's reply: 'When I'm outside Singapore, I speak as a Singaporean because Singapore is my country.'
Mr Tan concurred: 'Singapore is also my country. Let us speak in one united voice.'

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

No wonder the Lau CB TRAITOR is bent on leeplacing Sporns with FTrash! He knows jolly well that if this continues, his Leegime will be overthrown in another election's time.

'If you'd heard Denise Phua speak on, say special-needs kids, you will think she is an opposition MP,' he said.

=> Then why insist on suing a special needs kid who du lan with her? What hypocrisy!

http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/

Diary of A Singaporean Mind
Wednesday, May 06, 2009
Boy arrested for slamming chair at MP Office!

A 17 year-old-boy was arrested by the police for slamming a chair against a glass door at a meet-the-people session at Serangoon North. This happened after the boy and his mom walked out of MP Cynthia Phua's office. It is not clear what transpired in the office to trigger such rage but in an interview with the New Paper, the mother said that Cynthia Phua had asked her son a series of questions : "Who are you? What are you doing? Why are you not working?". The mother explained that she wanted to answer the questions but was not given a chance.

The mother and son said that they felt like they were "being scolded". The mother was working as a cleaner at $400 a month salary (Singapore has no minimum wage laws) and lost her income when she broke her wrist fixing a ceiling fan. As there is no comprehensive safety net in Singapore she had to go to the MP office wait in line for help. She goes to the MP office every month for financial aid. In this MPS, she had defaulted on her HDB loan and HDB threatens to repossess the flat and give her a rental unit but she cannot afford the $138 rental deposit & stamp duty. She was at the MP office to get MP Phua's signature for an appeal letter. Although the request was granted, the mother and son said they walked out of the office feeling like they have been put down.
"I had to ask some pointed questions about his employment status to understand the root cause of the problem, so that I can be more effective in helping them" - Cynthia Phua

According to the New Paper, the 17 year old boy has low IQ and suffers from thalassermia which renders him weak and sickly. He may be charged in court for "committing a rash act" which carries a fine of up to $2500 and a jail term of up to 6 months.

FYI - People with thalassermia usually have short life span. If poor lagi shorter

-----------------------------------------------------------------
She is on almost every net.

http://sgblogs.com/entry/with-genetic-defect-arrested-slamming-chair-cynthia-phua-office/339716

http://zh.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/358852?page=1

http://singaporeenquirer.sg/?p=3636

http://wayangparty.com/?p=9016

http://groups.google.com.sg/group/soc.culture.singapore/browse_thread/thread/62288cd59b2c139e#

http://talkback.stomp.com.sg/forums/showthread.php?t=71252

'The PAP has been governing Singapore for 50 years. Do you think it will want to do something which will bring destruction to itself?' he asked.

=> Hence the need to quickly dilute Sporns' votes before the next GE!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:26 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (5 of 40) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.5 in reply to 25651.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>> 'Yes, but when the whip was lifted, I voted no on a Bill,' replied Mr de Souza, referring to his opposition to changes to the Human Organ Transplant Act in March, because he felt provisions for reimbursing organ donors could be abused.
How many times was the whip lifted. Very seldom right? That's why you need more oppo to counter PAP.
'In my view, you find more robust debate from PAP MPs than opposition MPs,' he added.
How many PAP MPs and how many oppo MPs in parliament. Everyone is limited by quota because of timing issue... talking farking cock!
On policies that people feel disadvantaged by, Mr Sam Tan said no government would want to make its people unhappy or poorer or be unpopular.
Chao Cheebye... go down to the ground and ask around... go talk to the 40 year old guy who was just retrenched and replaced by a cheaper FT.
These pap farkers are really living in wonderland if they think that Sinkies are very happy with them...
It's called taking things for granted after awhile... and soon, reality will catch up with you... Kanina..
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Communist

Good Cop, Bad Cop. Same Objective. But then the innocent and naive(read Singapore voters) won't understand.:rolleyes:

denzuko1

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:17 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 36) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Dec 11, 2009

Has PAP rule led to apathy?

Youth Wing debates issue with great fervour

<!-- by line -->By Zakir Hussain & Rachel Chang
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
PROJECT engineer Alex Tan did not mince his words as he blamed the ruling People's Action Party for the apathy of Singapore's youth.
He pointed his finger especially at the PAP's dominance and the lack of press freedom. The 22-year-old also said the PAP may feel it is helping the people but the people feel disadvantaged by its policies, from foreign talent to national service.
His stark statements surprised, not for their content but for where they were made. Mr Tan was speaking last night at a dialogue organised by the Young PAP, and which was attended by 150 youths and two PAP MPs.
They were first-term Mr Sam Tan, who is six months into his job as Parliamentary Secretary in two ministries - Trade and Industry, and Information, Communications and the Arts - and Mr Christopher de Souza, vice-chairman of the Youth Wing.
Mr Alex Tan was the most hard-hitting from among a dozen young people who spoke during the two-hour dialogue titled, 2010: How Can Our Youths Serve Singapore?
The issues raised by the others include ways to get more youths to be volunteers, how the political system discourages alternative voices and puts opposition parties at a disadvantage, and that schools discourage political discussion.
It is part of the Youth Wing's series on social and political issues to better engage a younger, more outspoken generation, with the aim of renewing the party's ranks and support.
And engage the MPs did.
Mr Sam Tan replied, with equanimity, that it all boils down to individuals making their own choices.
'It has nothing to do with the system,' he said. 'If people feel they want to exercise their will and choice and want to serve, there are many ways they can do so. (The issue) is not the system, it is us.'
Earlier, he had said he did not believe Singaporean youths are apathetic or self-centred. His observation is based on his 26-year career at the People's Association and the Chinese Development Assistance Council, which he headed till June.
Mr de Souza, in turn, invited Mr Alex Tan to attend Parliament to see how PAP MPs speak their mind. 'If you'd heard Denise Phua speak on, say special-needs kids, you will think she is an opposition MP,' he said.
'Cynthia Phua also,' quipped Mr Sam Tan.
There is the party whip, Mr Alex Tan shot back.
'Yes, but when the whip was lifted, I voted no on a Bill,' replied Mr de Souza, referring to his opposition to changes to the Human Organ Transplant Act in March, because he felt provisions for reimbursing organ donors could be abused.
The party studies global trends, anticipates what will happen, and puts in place structures to prepare its people for future challenges, he added.
As for foreign talent, Mr Tan acknowledged the issue was emotional.
He related how a minister from China recently told him his country wanted to attract top talent, too. A bemused Mr Tan asked why it needed foreign talent, when the country had 1.3 billion people.
The minister replied: 'We must compete with the best in the world so that we become the best.'
However, a participant, who declined to be identified, took offence at Mr Alex Tan's comments, saying: 'If you're so disenchanted, why not leave Singapore?'
Mr de Souza swiftly defended Mr Alex Tan, saying: 'He has a right to his own views. The fact he is here shows he wants to get involved.'
Mr Sam Tan also reminded our young people not to run down Singapore when abroad or with outsiders. 'People will have less respect for us and our dignity will be dented,' he said.
He recounted a trip to Kuala Lumpur with some MPs, including opposition MP Chiam See Tong.
Mr Tan had asked him if he would speak in a different language from the PAP MPs.
He recalled Mr Chiam's reply: 'When I'm outside Singapore, I speak as a Singaporean because Singapore is my country.'
Mr Tan concurred: 'Singapore is also my country. Let us speak in one united voice.'

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The bastard YPAP tkss! The way we hear from out Parliament Today is very different. The MPs does nothing except to redicule the oppositions, resort to name callings and came up with no solid possitive feedback.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:28 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(7 of 40) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.7 in reply to 25651.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>However, a participant, who declined to be identified, took offence at Mr Alex Tan's comments, saying: 'If you're so disenchanted, why not leave Singapore?'
This guy who asked the question is another Chao Cheebye! It's because we are disenchanted, we want to CHANGE PAP!

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>EvoRalliart <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:37 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR> </NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(9 of 40) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.9 in reply to 25651.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>"Mr de Souza, in turn, invited Mr Alex Tan to attend Parliament to see how PAP MPs speak their mind. 'If you'd heard Denise Phua speak on, say special-needs kids, you will think she is an opposition MP,' he said.
Fark, she is speaking for her own kid who is a special-need kid...
I'm not saying we don't care about our disabled. But right now, there are bigger issue at stake. Why not Denise Phua speak for Singaporeans over the FT issue?"
Yes, right on.
These MPs have some self interest and agenda at hand always.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>nextinfidel <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:58 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>EvoRalliart <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(12 of 40) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.12 in reply to 25651.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>>>that guy who said "leave Sinkapore if disenchanted"? <<<
typical words from another one of those PAP prostitutes.
told you guys already......YPAP... You People Are Prostitutes.
the question here is why should those who are disenchanted leave this country?
thos who are disenchanted should make the PAP leave.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:14 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>EvoRalliart <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (13 of 40) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.13 in reply to 25651.9 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Yes, right on.
Like I've said, these days, people join PAP for networking.. it's like a club for the rich and powerful now...
Gone are the days when people like Goh Keng Sui, Hon sui sen, Toh Chin Chye etc joined because they truely care for the people....
PAP is now a right wing party... we need a left wing one to balance them out, for the sake of the country...

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Christopher de Souza must think that we are stupid. Citing Cynthia Phua and lifting of party whip as examples of an open system.

Furthermore, why should Alex leave the country. Ask them to leave if they can't handle criticism.

Perspective

>> Yes, but when the whip was lifted, I voted no on a Bill,' replied Mr de Souza

When the whip was lifted, he voted no. When the whip was not lifted, he votes yes. Isn't that the point we have been talking about?

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>EvoRalliart <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:37 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>CPL (kojakbt22) <NOBR> </NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(9 of 40) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>25651.9 in reply to 25651.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>"Mr de Souza, in turn, invited Mr Alex Tan to attend Parliament to see how PAP MPs speak their mind. 'If you'd heard Denise Phua speak on, say special-needs kids, you will think she is an opposition MP,' he said.
Fark, she is speaking for her own kid who is a special-need kid...
I'm not saying we don't care about our disabled. But right now, there are bigger issue at stake. Why not Denise Phua speak for Singaporeans over the FT issue?"
Yes, right on.

It is like attending the bird park, where there are different type of birds, but selected birds were taught to perform, one song different style, differently sung...

what a joke...attend Singapore parliament...

cooleo

'If you'd heard Denise Phua speak on, say special-needs kids, you will think she is an opposition MP,' he said.

=> Then why insist on suing a special needs kid who du lan with her? What hypocrisy!

Wednesday, May 06, 2009

A 17 year-old-boy was arrested by the police for slamming a chair against a glass door at a meet-the-people session at Serangoon North. This happened after the boy and his mom walked out of MP Cynthia Phua's office. It is not clear what transpired in the office to trigger such rage but in an interview with the New Paper, the mother said that Cynthia Phua had asked her son a series of questions : "Who are you? What are you doing? Why are you not working?". The mother explained that she wanted to answer the questions but was not given a chance.

The mother and son said that they felt like they were "being scolded". The mother was working as a cleaner at $400 a month salary (Singapore has no minimum wage laws) and lost her income when she broke her wrist fixing a ceiling fan. As there is no comprehensive safety net in Singapore she had to go to the MP office wait in line for help. She goes to the MP office every month for financial aid. In this MPS, she had defaulted on her HDB loan and HDB threatens to repossess the flat and give her a rental unit but she cannot afford the $138 rental deposit & stamp duty. She was at the MP office to get MP Phua's signature for an appeal letter. Although the request was granted, the mother and son said they walked out of the office feeling like they have been put down.
"I had to ask some pointed questions about his employment status to understand the root cause of the problem, so that I can be more effective in helping them" - Cynthia Phua

According to the New Paper, the 17 year old boy has low IQ and suffers from thalassermia which renders him weak and sickly. He may be charged in court for "committing a rash act" which carries a fine of up to $2500 and a jail term of up to 6 months.

When u start charging people with low IQ, u know u know u lack humanity liao! What can i say... PHUA CHEEBYE lor!

cooleo

>>However, a participant, who declined to be identified, took offence at Mr Alex Tan's comments, saying: 'If you're so disenchanted, why not leave Singapore?'<<

If the participant so 'enchanted', why didn't identify himself?

troy1912

Wednesday, May 06, 2009

FYI - People with thalassermia usually have short life span. If poor lagi shorter

-----------------------------------------------------------------
She is on almost every net.

http://sgblogs.com/entry/with-genetic-defect-arrested-slamming-chair-cynthia-phua-office/339716

http://zh.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/358852?page=1

http://singaporeenquirer.sg/?p=3636

http://wayangparty.com/?p=9016

http://groups.google.com.sg/group/soc.culture.singapore/browse_thread/thread/62288cd59b2c139e#

Are we talking about Cynthia Phua or Denise Phua? I think cooleo got it confused...