• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB's privatization of wet markets failed miserably !

kojakbt

Why are you communists so against privatisation?

Bro, you are seriously mistaken about how economies of the world are run. All economies of the world are somewhere in between 100% full capitalism (ie, say, even the police force is privatised) vs 100% centrally planned (ie, almost like North Korea but then, even they have some degrees of capitalism). Even in the great USA, the most, so called, capitalistic nation in the world is not 100% capitalistic.

Most of the 1st world nations have got right (ie, leaning more towards capitalism) and left political parties (leaning towards socialism) championing the cause for the nation. At certain point, when the country leans too far left with many subsidies and resulting in high taxation, people will vote right. At other times, when the country leans too far right, resulting in many poor living in the streets, people will vote left. An excellent example is the Republican (more right) and Democratic (more left) parties of the US. It's through this fine balancing in a 100% functioning democracies that the country progress forward, with each side taking turns to take charge of the country at one time or other.

In the case of Singapore, the PAP policies of the last many years have been leaning too far right, causing an increase in wage gap (ie, Gini index increasing) over the last decade. It's time to pull the needle back left from the right but our problem is, we don't have a true multi-party democracy functioning in our parliament. Hence, some people, even though, they may not necessary like PAP, are still voting for PAP cause they think we don't have any oppos credible enough to match PAP (unlike say, the Democrats vs Republicans of the US, or the Labour vs Conservatives of UK etc).

So, before you open your mouth blindly accusing people of being communist when they propose left leaning policies for the nation, step back and take a helicopter view of things first...

kojakbt

Then dirty old men will buy a whole chicken or a slab of meat to jerk off. Dirty old women will buy cucumber or ox tail. Wah, so clever.

No need lah... these days there are many PRC mei mei and young PRC kopiboy working in kopitiams... HAHAHA!

shunquan

It's not bro, but never mind.

Thank you for your well written piece. Mere left leaning in my view extend to perhaps ensuring that schools, health services, and fire services remain public. But seriously, the running of a market is a very capalist thing in the first place - even more so in my view than the telecommunications services and should best be left to normal economic forces to work. Let the equilibrium set in after Kopitiam loses their pants in Sengkang Square. A more reasonable bidder will come in and all will be back to normal. To oppose that smacks not of mere socialism but almost communism!

Bro, you are seriously mistaken about how economies of the world are run. All economies of the world are somewhere in between 100% full capitalism (ie, say, even the police force is privatised) vs 100% centrally planned (ie, almost like North Korea but then, even they have some degrees of capitalism). Even in the great USA, the most, so called, capitalistic nation in the world is not 100% capitalistic.

Most of the 1st world nations have got right (ie, leaning more towards capitalism) and left political parties (leaning towards socialism) championing the cause for the nation. At certain point, when the country leans too far left with many subsidies and resulting in high taxation, people will vote right. At other times, when the country leans too far right, resulting in many poor living in the streets, people will vote left. An excellent example is the Republican (more right) and Democratic (more left) parties of the US. It's through this fine balancing in a 100% functioning democracies that the country progress forward, with each side taking turns to take charge of the country at one time or other.

kojakbt

the running of a market is a very capalist thing in the first place

In my view, since the Govt forcefully acquired those land at dirt cheap price for the greater good of the citizens (ie, to build cheap HDB housings for citizens), the same principle should apply for the wet market since it's also situated on the acquired land...

cheebye

Ah Goh Meng Seng ... not only HDB flats you must concern, but those HDB rental, JTC rental shop houses, factories etc ... you must oso act on them. Our stupidpore government increase rental like no one else business.

Fuck the pap to hell!