• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB's privatization of wet markets failed miserably !

shunquan

The stall owners lost money. The idiot who tendered high lost money. Sengkang residents lost a wet market as it gradually turned into a ghost town.

So, tell me, who is the big winner here? Anyone?

Why whine so much? Next tenderer will tender lower. Rents will be lower. Prices will then be lower.

Why are you leftists so scared of letting economic forces take their toil?

loloba

12 million dollar market???.

How many fish, pork or vegetable they have to sell to recover it. Perhaps, the company that tendered for it should try putting in a days work to operate a stall and see how they could sell more fish or vegtable in order just to cover rental, rather than just collecting rental.

The person who tender the market with investment in mind, he is not interested in the number of fish the fishmonger has to sell. He knows he can make big money when he resells when Singapore increased its population by another half a million in 5 years .

saratogas

HDB privatize it to have no liability... Clever! Wet market will be history soon... and sinkies will need to buy from NTUC or Sing Song...

shunquan

HDB privatize it to have no liability... Clever! Wet market will be history soon... and sinkies will need to buy from NTUC or Sing Song...

No, new tenderer will come in.

But wet markets should go anyway. They're so unhygienic in Singapore's humid weather.

kojakbt

>>He said grassroots leaders have sought approval from the authorities to organise events such as movie screenings in the open area near the market to draw the crowds.<<

What kind of brainless minister will suggest using movie screenings to attract ppl to go markets? :rolleyes:

Probably, they are going to screen R-rated movies so as to attract more crowds to the foodcourt and market. They cannot afford to let this fail...

HAHAHAHA!

kojakbt

Great mortal Charles Chong idea of screening movies is a joke. He might as well send in the clowns, himself included.

They can also send in another clown to help attract traffic. There is one in PAP who dresses himself up as Zorro...

kojakbt

Why whine so much? Next tenderer will tender lower. Rents will be lower. Prices will then be lower.

Why are you leftists so scared of letting economic forces take their toil?

Till the current contract runs out which is few years down the road, everybody loses, time wasted, lost opportunities for our hawkers to make a decent living etc...

Sengkang residents should know what to do come election this time...

shunquan

Till the current contract runs out which is few years down the road, everybody loses, time wasted, lost opportunities for our hawkers to make a decent living etc...

Sengkang residents should know what to do come election this time...

The tenderer who is losing money may throw in the towel earlier.

Subok

i think it is not PAP fault this time, it is the PAP dogs fault for overbidding the place. and then passing the cost to the hawker/wet market business.

Dear Singveld,

IT is PAP's fault.

There is no necessity to privatize the hawker centers. Why are we paying civil servants for? What are we paying NEA for? What are we paying HDB for? HDB price goes up but many of their service cut down! so? Where's the equilibrium?

If there are no cheaper alternatives for the people where are the competitive edge for bigger conglomerate to remain competitive versus prices sold @ the hawker centers?

What you saw are just one side of the story but with the privatization of basic tenets of services to private sectors then all cost will go up!

And when all cost go up in tandem and salary cannot respond in time, the locals will be edged out by cheaper FTs!

This is the source to the HOST of many other problems at which PAP is the one who created the source.

"Yes" PAP not at fault, they just want "fair" competitors to pay "fair" market compensation rate for the "fair" management of state's properties as to be the "fair" stewards of states' monies.

Well then, when the barn is full which is in FACT overflows, where the surpluses go to? - MINISTARs Pay. - losing BILLIONS in investment and what else?

Well done bro! your vote had created a chain tragedy for the people of Singapore!

shunquan

There is no necessity to privatize the hawker centers. Why are we paying civil servants for? What are we paying NEA for? What are we paying HDB for? HDB price goes up but many of their service cut down! so? Where's the equilibrium?

Why are you communists so against privatisation?

lightblue77

To be fair, the rental market here whether commercial or residential.. the govt may have implemented certain flaw policies (e.g. accepting the highest bidder for tender) but the biggest culprits are those greedy individual and corporation! Take for HDB tender for commercial properties, HDB opening bid (SengKang market too) are normally very reasonable; if you have decent business to do... the open bid price not only reasonable but lower than private owner's asking. It is the greedy individual or those so-called executive, mgr who collect mthly pay-check; the coy cashflow not their issue.. coy close down they just hop to another coy who tried to outbid each other.. pushing up the price to unrealistic level! And in the end, who the biggest loser, the consumer!

Punggol have one Seng Siong rite, do u know how much Seng Siong bid for it last year? More than $60,000+7% GST for the rental per month.

rodent2005

Probably, they are going to screen R-rated movies so as to attract more crowds to the foodcourt and market. They cannot afford to let this fail...

HAHAHAHA!

Then dirty old men will buy a whole chicken or a slab of meat to jerk off. Dirty old women will buy cucumber or ox tail. Wah, so clever.

The stall owners lost money. The idiot who tendered high lost money. Sengkang residents lost a wet market as it gradually turned into a ghost town.

So, tell me, who is the big winner here? Anyone?

1. aiyoh! bro.
2. everyone knows: sheep and horse mah!

no_faith

i stay in sengkang.

i heard, i heard ah...initially it was sheng siong bidding the project but dey were outbidded.

end of day, since kopitiam is a food court industry, hence, focus much more food stalls rather the wet market.

kopitiam juz afraid of other competitor in tat area will affect his business
in the compass point.

did the govt went thru every developer proposal before making decision?
as for me, i dun tink so.

LonewolfAlfa

No, new tenderer will come in.

But wet markets should go anyway. They're so unhygienic in Singapore's humid weather.

Please come down to whampoa market. its really quite spacious, clean, dry and so much cheaper there. only parking is abit tight there.

Watchman

It is without doubt the fault of the PAP. Each time they privatize a government service the cost goes up. PUB is one good example. Privatization only increase the cost of the supply chain of goods and services to the end consumers, something the MIWs either don't know or didn't want to know as long as it brings in more revenues to the govt coffers.

Do not LET PAP give you the impression that privatization is no good .

Just that some of the process is wrong somewhere .

They screw up somewhere and needs to blame the private sector as usual .

And play on popular beliefs .

Watchman

To be fair, the rental market here whether commercial or residential.. the govt may have implemented certain flaw policies (e.g. accepting the highest bidder for tender) but the biggest culprits are those greedy individual and corporation!

Highest profit for them, cheapest salary for you !