• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB optional fittings more expensive than what private contractors

[h=2]HDB optional fittings more expensive than what private contractors
can offer[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
October 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

HDB.jpg
HDB has introduced a new sanitary fittings package for Build-To-Order
(BTO) flats starting from Sep.

At present, HDB buyers can already opt for internal timber doors and/or
flooring to be installed in their flats under the Optional Component Scheme
(OCS). The cost of the optional components will be added to the selling price of
the flat.

HDB said, “To provide greater flexibility to buyers and to reduce wastage in
renovations, HDB will now offer, on an opt-in basis, sanitary fittings
(including the wash basin, water tap and shower mixer, but excluding the water
closet) in bathrooms for BTO projects. All BTO flats offered from the Sep 2012
BTO Exercise onwards will come under this scheme.”

Buyers of BTO flats can now choose to have the following items to be
installed in the new flat:

(a) Internal doors + sanitary fittings:

• wash basin
  • water tap
  • shower mixer

(b) Floor finishes for:

• Living /Dining room
  • Bedrooms
Choices under OCS:

1. Opt-in for both (a) the internal doors + sanitary fittings and (b) the basic
    flooring,
  2. Opt-in for (a) the internal doors + sanitary fittings only,
  3. Opt-in for (b) the basic flooring only, or
  4. No opt-in for the internal doors + sanitary fittings or basic flooring

The Internal doors + sanitary fittings package costs between $3,190 and
$4,330, depending on the flat type.

Buyers pick their options when selecting their flat at HDB Hub, and can use
their Central Provident Fund or mortgage loan for this.

However, some buyers are questioning the difference in prices between what
HDB is offering and what the private contractors offer outside for some of the
components.

For example, a set of 5 laminated semi-solid timber doors costs $2,830 for
BTO projects launched at Fajar Hills and Clementi Ridges. At Punggol Opal, the
set costs $3,080. This works out to $566 to $616 per door.

But suppliers say that similar quality doors can be obtained for about less
than half the price each, even including installation. For example, Best
Industrial in Kaki Bukit Crescent, a specialist in timber doors, charges $230
for a laminated semi-solid door with a timber frame. Yong Fang Doors in Upper
Bukit Timah Road sells and installs timber doors at $330 each. This means that a
set of 5 doors with installation would only cost $1,150 – $1,650 vs HDB’s $2,830
– $3,080.

Driving instructor Muhammad Suhaimi, who bought a four-room BTO flat in
Yishun last year, said he is perplexed by the price difference, a view echoed by
most home owners. Mr Muhammad said, “Why are private contractor rates cheaper?
HDB is buying and installing in bulk. It doesn’t make sense to me.”

In response, HDB said, “Installation works are carried out by professional
contractors and supervised by a team of consultants. HDB also provides a
one-year Defects Liability Period, during which all defective items, if any,
will be rectified.”

“As these standards are good practices and not regulations, it is likely the
doors supplied by renovation contractors may not meet similar standards.”

HDB’s own appointed contractor, Mr Toh Chee Boon, the deputy director of
China Construction also added, “HDB doors are firmer internally and more
durable. Stringent checks are also in place to ensure that the doors installed
are of good quality.”

HDB further quoted statistics showing that about 70% of buyers in this year’s
Jan and Mar BTO flat sales opted for at least one item under OCS, despite having
some components more expensive than what the private contractors can offer.

In regard to the 70% figure quoted by HDB, there is an easy explanation why
the optional components are generally popular among home buyers.

Mr Musbah Hashim, 52, who is unemployed, said they have little choice but to
opt in, “We cannot pay private contractors cash up front, so we have to to opt
in as the money can be deducted from our CPF.”

Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

Trying to understand which part of the word "optional" these pple are having a problem with. This is the beauty of a free market. If U think the goods and service is expensive, go to the next one offering you a better deal. This is where the word "optional" comes in. WTF is stopping you from rejecting the offer.

The HDB has a secret mandate to impoverish sinkees. If a private contractor without the economies of scale can sell and install at 50 percent of the price that the HDB-appointed contractor, what is the margin earned by the latter and the HDB? Sadly, sinkees will never know as this government can do anything it wants without accountability.

different estate different prices. And also BTO in the same estate sometime the prices are also greatly different. Guess that is why many OPT OUT !

KNN HDB if sincerely wants to help couple to have their FIRST HOME, then should heavy subsidize !

Why not vote with your wallet and don't buy HDB flats? Stop giving it your money. Stop feeding the monster.

Home ownership of a HDB flat in Singapore is not ownership at all, but a 99-year lease.
If you stay at the same spot for most of your life and have grown fondly attached to it, your can be uprooted from your home on a whim. Just look at the folks at Rochor Centre.

And the price of public housing is grossly inflated by the regime, because 'asset enhancement' is closely intertwined with its political fortunes.

Furthermore, the new HDB flats are claustrophobia-inducing small, made even smaller with a silly 'balcony' and a bomb shelter, and there's no rubbish chute indoors - you'll have to walk a distance along your corridor to reach the shared garbage disposal chute. You're paying a fortune, and saddling yourself with debt for this crap?

Of course HDB need to earn and markup, buy from main con at $ when sell to us $$$$, they are greddy a lot only know how to suck $$$ from us. Buy low sell very very high

KNN HDB if sincerely wants to help couple to have their FIRST HOME, then should heavy subsidize !

Sometime we have to read it right!

HDB: Your flats are heavily subsidize.
Sinkie: Then what the fuck it are we paying more then private contractor.
HDB: We have always been heavily subsidizing our contractor. Dude!

Sinkie: :mad:

But suppliers say that similar quality doors can be obtained for about less than half the price each, even including installation. For example, Best Industrial in Kaki Bukit Crescent, a specialist in timber doors, charges $230 for a laminated semi-solid door with a timber frame. Yong Fang Doors in Upper Bukit Timah Road sells and installs timber doors at $330 each. This means that a set of 5 doors with installation would only cost $1,150 – $1,650 vs HDB’s $2,830 – $3,080.

Can you really get the fittings, including installation, at the above quoted prices? When I went to the Best Industrial website it just showed the various fixtures, nothing mentioned about installation.

HDB can charge more because that optional fitting can be paid with HDB loan. Over 25 to 30 years that $3K to $4K is peanuts. But it is troubling that HDB is making $ off these items.

Don't you know that HDB is corrupt? Other than the main structure, everything else is crap - one notch above Malaysia.

and there's no rubbish chute indoors - you'll have to walk a distance along your corridor to reach the shared garbage disposal chute.

No wonder I have seen plastic bags of rubbish lying on the ground below HDB flats where there are no rubbish-chutes indoors.
The new dessigners have given rise to the Nocturnal Litterers.

Btw, those who opted for such fittings can they now tell the HDB that they want to cancel the old agreement and get the private contractors to give them the additional items that are far more cheaper ??????????????.

Very un-becoming of the HDB to resort to such profiteering.

At least the Malaysian Rumah-Murah (Cheap Housing) is really living up to its name despite all the bad light the Malaysian Govt is in.

Never expected these from HDB - Providers of Cheap Homes. What a SHAME..............................