HDB has reneged on its duty of housing all citizens affordably

Written by Ng E-Jay
30 August 2013

The Housing and Development Board (HDB) has reneged on its duty of providing affordable housing to all Singapore citizens by failing to increase supply ahead of demand in recent years, and by allowing prices to escalate so sharply that prices greatly outpaced the growth in wages.

The government is now devising piece-meal measures to cool down the overheated property market. A few days ago, HDB implemented a new policy that requires that new permanent residents (PRs) wait three years from the time their residency is confirmed before they can buy a resale flat.

After the 2011 general election which saw the vote share of the PAP erode to an all-time low, the HDB finally decided to get its act together, increasing the supply of BTO flats, and announcing that they would plan better for increased demand.

- http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=8527

As flats get pricier....they will tell you to stay in smaller flats.
Now is 1000 income buy 2 room flat.
When these 2 rooms increase in price...pap will tell you to buy 1 room flats. Maybe they will built even smaller than 1 room flats that 1000 per month income still can afford.

This problem had originated from that bastard Mah Bow Tan. This bugger should be shot and hung on the crucifix for all Sinkies to see.

Marbok Tan may be the minister, but for the whole cabinet to sign into his previous well known 'affordable' claims means there has got to be collateral damage.

Anyway, I can see some hope from Khaw Boon Wan. Hopefully he can live up to the average Sinkies' expectation. Afterall, having your own roof is the very first priority to start a family and it doesn't make sense if you have to slog all your life (30 years) to fully pay for that roof. It's crazy.

As flats get pricier....they will tell you to stay in smaller flats.
Now is 1000 income buy 2 room flat.
When these 2 rooms increase in price...pap will tell you to buy 1 room flats. Maybe they will built even smaller than 1 room flats that 1000 per month income still can afford.

dunno what you talking 2 room flat in my area(if still available) cost over 200K. how you pay off that before you die with only 1K/mth income? eat air issit? or do under the table work for ah long?

MSM is the one touting $1k monthly income enough to buy 2 room flat and raise family of 4....
You mean you missed their publicity blitz?
Take it up with them....$1k dun even last me a night in ktv.

dunno what you talking 2 room flat in my area(if still available) cost over 200K. how you pay off that before you die with only 1K/mth income? eat air issit? or do under the table work for ah long?

They are already working for Ah Loong, above the table, paying 7% & whatever indirect taxes.:D

When MBT was first introduced to S'poreans, someone praised him sky high. Even used MBT's GCE results to compare with a humble opposition politician. Wonder if that man can come forward now (that is, if he is able to walk) and still say the same for a minister who was politely shown the exit door like WKS and RL.

WAKE UP ALL YOUR FUCKING IDEA

All the gaberment organizations in Stinkapore under the smear of shit on sole of shoe exist to screw and fuck and rape sinkies of $$$$
to feed smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds and to give obscene pay to PAP walking bags of excrement, poodles, kangaroos , civil serpents and their own extended families

Even the fucking so called charity organisations all got to give their cut to LKY

OTHERWISE HOW ELSE SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE LKY CAN GET 700++ BILLIONS INTO HIS FUCKING STINKAPORE SOVEREIGN FUNDS?

Marbok Tan may be the minister, but for the whole cabinet to sign into his previous well known 'affordable' claims means there has got to be collateral damage.
all stil stuck in holding properties since 90's ... u tink dey want price 2 go up so dat dey can make gud profits anot? ...

Affordable?

I tell you what is affordable. For S$150,000 I can buy a bunglow house in my parents home town in Malaysia.

With the new changes is not bad. Need to fine tune a bit.
1. Max loan is 30% of house income or less
2. Max loan is 20 year or less
3. No rent out for 1st 10 year of new flat or 5 year for resale flat
4. Give grant to those serve NS extra $20k.
5. Built more flat and keep about 5000 unit all the time in order if needed house urgently rather than to wait about 4 year for BTO. Can use it as rental flat in case no buyer. Only can rent to SG citizen
6. Let single buy 3 room instead of 2 room. More room will have more choice eg.parent stay with them.
7. Single age 35 can buy new flat. Age 30 can buy resale flat.