• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB flat floor tiles exploding due to cold weather. What a joke

Singapore
Floor tiles 'explode' at HDB flats across multiple locations in Singapore
By Amir Yusof 15 Jan 2018 12:18AM (Updated: 15 Jan 2018 01:41PM)
Share this content
SINGAPORE: Residents of Housing and Development Board (HDB) flats at multiple locations in Singapore have complained of "exploding floor tiles" in their homes over the weeken

Cases were reported in Punggol, Sengkang, Bukit Panjang, Woodlands, Hougang and Jurong West.

Mr Bobin Thomas, his wife and two children woke up to the sound of floor tiles in their dining room "exploding" one by one in their flat at Block 638A Punggol Drive on Sunday (Jan 14) morning.

Mr Thomas told Channel NewsAsia that when he and his wife saw the tiles start bending inwards, they immediately grabbed their children, a two-year-old girl and a seven-year-old boy, and left the house.

"The tiles started bending inwards one by one (like there was) an invisible force. It was like something you see in the movies," said Mr Thomas.

"We called our children and got ourselves out of there," added the 35-year-old IT engineer.
As the family tried to navigate their way out, Mr Thomas said the tiles they stepped on wobbled and sank slightly.

"At the time, we thought that the building was about to collapse. It only became clear our unit was the only one affected when we saw that none of our neighbours were leaving," he said.

It was only when the family was safely in a friend's unit at a nearby block did Mr Thomas, who is a tenant at the unit, call the owner of the flat to inform him of the situation. The owner later contacted HDB.

According to Mr Thomas, a contractor later visited the unit and covered the affected tiles with cardboard.

The family will stay in a nearby apartment temporarily while their HDB flat undergoes repairs.

"It was just not possible for us to go back there. We have two kids and we don't know what might happen if the tiles explode again," he said.

"CRACKING SOUND"

Meanwhile, Mr Zul Effandy, who lives at Block 185, Jelebu Road at Bukit Panjang, told Channel NewsAsia that he and his wife were watching television at about 8pm when he suddenly heard a "cracking sound" from underneath the carpet in the living room.

As the sound got louder, the pair jumped from their seats and backed away to safety, Mr Zul said. When the sound stopped, they pulled away the carpet to see that the tiles had "exploded".

"We are worried. I keep thinking it will happen again. I don't think we will get a good night's sleep tonight," he added.

Mr Zul said that this is the first time the floor tiles have cracked since he moved in in 2000.

In another case, Madam Ng Siew Hoon, a resident at Jurong West, said she was "scared" by what sounded like a "loud explosion" to her.

"Within five minutes, there was a loud explosion sound, like fireworks. Then all my floor (tiles) all cracked, from the door to the window. And the tiles in front of my toilet doors also. I was very scared and I called for help, called for my husband to come out and have a look," she told Channel NewsAsia.

Mr Frederick Goh, who lives at Block 686C Woodlands Drive 73, said he heard cracking sounds in his flat just after midnight on Monday.

As of Monday morning, Mr Goh reported that the tiles in his home still seemed to be cracking "once in a while". He has reached out to HDB which has said it will send someone to inspect his unit.

Mr Tan Chim Hoon, adviser at Singapore Renovation Contractors and Material Suppliers Association, said poor workmanship may be a possible cause of the cracks, and the recent chilly weather may be another reason.

"Now it's very cold or very hot. And there's a little bit of vibration. So this causes the tiles to have no place to expand. Because of this, the tiles all pop up," he said.

In a Facebook post on Monday, HDB said should residents face such issues, they should carefully move the dislodged titles to a safe area and cover the affected area with cardboard.

For advice on repair work, HDB added that homeowners can call its branch hotline at 1800-225-5432. HDB will then send someone to visit the affected flat and provide a list of contractors who can carry out the repair work.

Housing & Development Board
22 hours ago
HDB is aware that some flat owners have encountered dislodged tiles in their homes recently. If there are dislodged tiles in your flat, you should carefully move the dislodged tiles to a safe area, and cover the affected spot with cardboard for safety. Should you need advice on the repair work, you can call our Branch Hotline at 1800-225-5432 (Weekdays: 8:00am to 5:00pm) or the Essential Maintenance Services Unit (contact details are listed on the lifts at your blocks). Our colleagues will arrange an appointment to visit your flat, and provide a list of contractors who can carry out the repair work.

PretenderSam

no lah, tiles were made in china
they should have consulted smart leongSam and me
we would not recommend anything made in china
Chinks are the worst

Ah nehs afraid of cold weather so was tiles installed by ah nehs.

Why would Ah Nehs be afraid of the cold when there is plenty of snow and ice in Ah Neh land?:rolleyes:

snow2--621x414.jpg

He is not a ah neh basher. Only good at bashing China and Chinese.

Forgive him. Burmese hv Indian DNA and bashing ah nehs is bashing himself with shame

:(:(
only north india have snow.
the ah nehs working here are from south india
so they are afraid of cold.
caught u red handed this time. :smile::smile:

:(:(
only north india have snow.
the ah nehs working here are from south india
so they are afraid of cold.
caught u red handed this time. :smile::smile:

Nowhere in the post did that twit specify that he was referring to Ah Nehs from the South. He used the general term "Ah Nehs".

You are also way out of date. The original Ah Nehs from the South were brought in by the Ang Mohs as laborers and rubber tappers. They were predominantly from Tamil Naidu and spoke Tamil. That's how Tamil became one of the four official languages in sinkieland.

The current crop are from all over ah neh land including the north and are Hindi speakers.

Your ignorance is appalling and you should be ashamed of yourself. :rolleyes:

He is not a ah neh basher. Only good at bashing China and Chinese.

Forgive him. Burmese hv Indian DNA and bashing ah nehs is bashing himself with shame

I bash all stupidity. Chinese get the brunt of it because they are stupidest nation on earth. Who else would worship the world's worst mass murderer who slaughtered his own kind.

greedy and cunning

Nowhere in the post did that twit specify that he was referring to Ah Nehs from the South. He used the general term "Ah Nehs".
blah blah blah . . . . . . . .

aiya , in this instance we are talking cock about tiles cracking.
have u see a fair north indian working as labourer ?
our disccusssionn must be within context at hand.

Yeah lah. Mao was evil too.

To catch a thief you hv to be a thief first.

若要人不知 除非者摸为

I bash all stupidity. Chinese get the brunt of it because they are stupidest nation on earth. Who else would worship the world's worst mass killer who slaughtered his own kind.

Yeah lah. Mao was evil too.

To catch a thief you hv to be a thief first.

若要人不知 除非之摸为

I don't disagree but after the thief is caught the chinks should have tortured him to death instead of worshipping his as a God. Stupid chinks. :rolleyes:

You twit. You can guess it was from South.

Ownself bluff ownself too clever by half.

You are also way out of date. The original Ah Nehs from the South were brought in by the Ang Mohs as laborers and rubber tappers. They were predominantly from Tamil Naidu and spoke Tamil. That's how Tamil became one of the four official languages in sinkieland.

The current crop are from all over ah neh land including the north and are Hindi speakers.

Showed you are true idiot. This English proverb you cannot understand.

Your higher English standard so bad.

You need to go back the English class to brush up your understanding usage of proverbs.

Do you know what this English proverb one man's meat is another man's poison means?

I don't disagree but after the thief is caught the chinks should have tortured him to death instead of worshipping his as a God. Stupid chinks. :rolleyes:

If you don't understand a proverb don't use it as an example. Stick to your chink proverbs instead. :rolleyes:

You need to go back the English class to brush up your understanding usage of proverbs.

Do you know what this English proverb one man's meat is another man's poison means?

See you are clever to present it in your anti-chinese toxic explanation.