• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Have u upgrade your Hardlans Pigeon Hole to Atas Huat Big Big Condo? Dun miss the boat?

k1976

https://sg.yahoo.com/finance/news/upgrading-hdb-condo-must-build-100644385.html

The acronym “HDB” can deliver a range of emotions for any Singaporean looking to get their hands on the local housing ladder.

That’s because the process to get one is lengthy and then questions later pop up on what to do when upgrading to a condo.

All this means that figuring out the exact impact of it on our long-term wealth can be as complex as getting to grips with quantum physics (i.e., not easy).

So, if we want to build wealth, is upgrading from an HDB to a condo a “must have” or simply just noise?

We turned to the web’s favourite place for diverse and unfiltered opinions—Reddit—to see what the community had to say on this timeless question.

Buying another property is investing with leverage​

User uhcnim makes a solid point about considering staying put in an HDB and not moving into a resale HDB and purchasing a condo, which was the original poster was asking about.

Separating your primary residence from investing makes sense to me, as you really purchase a home with the intention of living in it and having a roof under your head. In other words, I don’t think the monetary potential should be the primary reason to purchase the home you live in.

As for investing in property, uhcnim makes a great point about agents wanting to gain from selling individuals 2 properties.

Remember that property agents make money off commissions,so when putting down a big sum for a property it’s also worth thinking about how much goes to agents in fees.

Finally, a lot of us don’t consider the method we have to take on property when we invest into it. The response raises a super valid point; property is quite a unique form of investing because you’re actually taking on a significant amount of debt to be able to afford it.

• Weak hands better dun try
  • Only for strong hands like Boss John

rtaiImuV.jpg

Maria Krisette Capati-Lim 凯丽
Quezon City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Amplify Ventures

https://twitter.com/krisettecapati
https://www.facebook.com/krisettecapati
https://ph.linkedin.com/in/krisettecapati

---
You're not very smart if you take advice from this Pinoy freelance writer-clickbait merchant. :rolleyes:

Her work on Asiaone (SPH):
https://www.asiaone.com/byline/maria-krisette-lim

Her work on Moneysmart:
https://blog.moneysmart.sg/author/maria-krisettemoneysmart-com/

rtaiImuV.jpg

Amplify Ventures

---
You're not very smart if you take advice from this Pinoy freelance writer-clickbait merchant. :rolleyes:

Her work on Moneysmart:
Wow...jin MILF de woh

rtaiImuV.jpg

Amplify Ventures

---

Her work on Moneysmart:
"ClickBall"...which ball sia?

Yes ,true u see many up to EC n condo ,knn ,still 99 for fuck,can afford freehold landed just stay in the hdb ,upgrade for wat,its like jumping from one hole to another hole,lol,dumb ass,like paying high rental,like the wise Mdm Ho says.lol

After visiting some new HDB flats, I can declare the newer flats are not for living, but rather for ropeless bungee jumping.

Even the labyrinth-like layout of the ground floor, where you have to zig-zag and round several pillars to get to the carpark/mailbox/lift lobby, should drive residents insane after some time.

And the 'roof gardens' on some of them are laughable. I saw sunbathing chairs put beneath a shelter in one of those 'roof gardens', which is less of a garden and more of a bridge linking one block to another. LOL! :roflmao:

The old HDB units have windows on both sides - NS or EW - depending on your facing. That is to say, it has no common corridors running in the middle. It's space consuming, and HDB has discontinued such a design for a long time. The floor areas are bigger, too. I put a Q-size bed, and I still have plenty of room to maneuver.

It doesn't matter if you stay in a 99-year lease condominium or freehold condominium, if you have windows on only one side your unit will have less ventilation unless you open your main door all the time.

20 years ago there were not many public swimming pools. It's different now. I have ActiveSG facilities nearby, and plenty of SAFRA sports facilities. What's the point of a condominium ?

Unfortunately, the water in public swimming pools is salty, especially on weekends when the brats are having their group swimming lessons.

After visiting some new HDB flats, I can declare the newer flats are not for living, but rather for ropeless bungee jumping.

Even the labyrinth-like layout of the ground floor, where you have to zig-zag and round several pillars to get to the carpark/mailbox/lift lobby, should drive residents insane after some time.

And the 'roof gardens' on some of them are laughable. I saw sunbathing chairs put beneath a shelter in one of those 'roof gardens', which is less of a garden and more of a bridge linking one block to another. LOL! :roflmao:
Buy old flats. Analog is still the best

Coolie gene Sinkies please remain on your reservation and not ruin Ramesh's quality of life.

Sg is reallyy a big wild wild west lai de woh

U can see life in SG Hardland are not for weak hearts