• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hard Truths (mrbrown edition)

Maximilian Chua-Heng

Hard Truths (mrbrown edition)

Hard Truths 1. You may never get to vote in this lifetime.

Hard Truths 2. Those who CAN vote will complain & complain about the Govt but when elections come, will end up voting them back in.

Hard Truths 3. People want an opposition in parliament but not in THEIR estate please.

Hard Truths 4. Singaporeans will forget all their grievances if you dangle a carrot just before elections.

Hard Truths 5. Some things are not forgivable. Like the S-League.

Hard Truths 6. The year of the rabbit may be a good year for carrots to work

Hard Truths 7. Foreigners are the solution to economic growth, low fertility rates and just about everything.

Hard Truths 8. No matter how right your argument is, They are more right.

Hard Truths 9. When elections are around the corner, every minister, president and their mother will publish a book.

Hard Truths 10. When elections are around the corner, the newspaper will print pages and pages of excerpts of these books, saving you the convenience of buying the books.

Hard Truths 11. When the Minister Mentor says, "We can integrate all religions and races except Islam" and that Muslims can integrate better if they were "less strict on Islamic observances", it is a hard truth. When anyone else says it publicily, it is probably going to be an invitation to drink kopi and get to know the Religious Harmony Act better.

Hard Truths 12. Before election: Gahmen will give us chicken leg. After election: Gahmen will collect one chicken from us. (via @aromacookery)

Hard Truths 13. F1 can make noise at Marina Bay/Civic District for 3 days; Thaipusam cannot make noise between Serangoon Road & Clemenceau Ave for 1 day. (via @bubblevicious)

Hard Truths 14.You may lose your home so that the govt can build an expressway. (via @bubblevicious)

Hard Truths 15. No choice… No other better player… Wat to do? (via @packetron)

http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2011/01/hard-truths-mrbrown-edition.html

Hard Truths 11. When the Minister Mentor says, "We can integrate all religions and races except Islam" and that Muslims can integrate better if they were "less strict on Islamic observances", it is a hard truth. When anyone else says it publicily, it is probably going to be an invitation to drink kopi and get to know the Religious Harmony Act better.

Ain't that the truth!

It's a cold hard truth. The same thing that comes out from LKY's mouth vs ours is different. When he say something that is truth, nothing happens. But the exact same words that comes out from our mouth, haha, you can be sure something will happen next.

Someone will knock on your door, your face will be plastered all over newsprint and media. And suddenly, not many people will agree with what you did. People will start to see you as an outcast. :o

Ain't that the truth!
Ask ISD lah,they know too well that their specific job were to arrest those who propagate HARD TRUTHS with the exception of -----

It's a cold hard truth. The same thing that comes out from LKY's mouth vs ours is different. When he say something that is truth, nothing happens. But the exact same words that comes out from our mouth, haha, you can be sure something will happen next.

Someone will knock on your door, your face will be plastered all over newsprint and media. And suddenly, not many people will agree with what you did. People will start to see you as an outcast. :o

Same thing happens outside the political arena. In the civil service, if a scholar proposes something, it is always accepted. Scholars can never be wrong. The very same idea, if proposed by a junior man, sure kena lectured for bringing up a stupid idea. Yes, who says what is the onyl thing that counts.

Civil Servant says: I think we can buy back land from owners and build a new commercial park.
Chairman: You stupid is it? You know how much we have to pay them at market rate?
Civil Servant with PSC scholarship: I think we can buy back land from owners and build a new commercial park.
Chairman: That's a good idea, new psf and office rental returns will cover all the monies paid to land owners.

Civil Servant with PSC scholarship :D
Civil Servant :mad:

>Hard Truths 9. When elections are around the corner, every minister, president and their mother will publish a book.>h

That is half-truths, ha ha ha ha, the WP 'little dragon' Yaw is writing a book too!, maybe Chiam will write his memoirs, then Low TK and then...it seems that writing a book, is a rage at the moment...

Yaw the WP guy who voted for the PAP?

136612-facepalm8bu0ph9_super.jpg

>Hard Truths 9. When elections are around the corner, every minister, president and their mother will publish a book.>h

That is half-truths, ha ha ha ha, the WP 'little dragon' Yaw is writing a book too!, maybe Chiam will write his memoirs, then Low TK and then...it seems that writing a book, is a rage at the moment...

Yaw the WP guy who voted for the PAP?

Working title: Mother of All Hard Truths by Yaw Shin Leong
Subtitle: "How I stood against PAP but voted for PAP"

When the guy who wrote about the "hard truths" about the hangings in Singapore, he kenna go jail. When LKY write about the hard truths on bigger issues, he is given a one page advertisement in the shitty times.

Civil Servant says: I think we can buy back land from owners and build a new commercial park.
Chairman: You stupid is it? You know how much we have to pay them at market rate?
Civil Servant with PSC scholarship: I think we can buy back land from owners and build a new commercial park.
Chairman: That's a good idea, new psf and office rental returns will cover all the monies paid to land owners.

==

thats why you have sports star, stars to front your advertisement campaigns..n not any tom dick n harry.

When the guy who wrote about the "hard truths" about the hangings in Singapore, he kenna go jail. When LKY write about the hard truths on bigger issues, he is given a one page advertisement in the shitty times.

==

i think only he can broach this sacred cow without consequences. Its like telling someone he got BO...everyone noes, but no one dare tell...:D

That's LKY way of flaunting his power.

Just heard some book publishers are offering the mother of all deals, never ever happened before. That's why anybody who thinks he is somebody is writing their stories.

Some bros may laugh. But, seriously, it is reality in the civil service.

Scholars can do no wrong. If mistakes are made, it is beacuse their immediate supervisors did not supervise them well. When they do something good, it is because they have the brains - nothing to do with guidance from their supervisors.

It is like buying some top class durians - pau ciak. Only difference is that you can return the durians if you think it is inferior. Scholars cannot be returned. If not up to the mark, supervisors get removed.

About 10 years ago, when From Third World To First was first published, MPH gave an offer of buy-one-get-one-free, i.e. buy From Thirst World To First and get The Singapore Story free. So I bought. Quite a good fairy-tale reading. If any bookstore offers Hard Truths at 50% discount, I may consider buying.

==

i think only he can broach this sacred cow without consequences. Its like telling someone he got BO...everyone noes, but no one dare tell...:D

Telling someone he has BO wouldn't cause any riot except maybe you get assaulted by the BO chap.

What LKY said is far more damaging to the minority race in question as well as neighbourly ties. Imagine the worst case scenario possible - go to war with neighbours over his comments? Must be the most silly reason ever in history then.

About 10 years ago, when From Third World To First was first published, MPH gave an offer of buy-one-get-one-free, i.e. buy From Thirst World To First and get The Singapore Story free. So I bought. Quite a good fairy-tale reading. If any bookstore offers Hard Truths at 50% discount, I may consider buying.

What's there to read from the story of someone who always insists he's right? Fark! The only kinds of people who will buy the book are people with no backbone, no brains and certainly no life. Hard truths? The only hard truth is that he is an evil person who has totally destroyed anyone and everyone who doesn't go with him.

Tristan;662271 The only hard truth is that he is an evil person who has totally destroyed anyone and everyone who doesn't go with him.[/QUOTE said:
.................. and excessively rewarded those who suck up to him, be it relatives or friends.