• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gurkha Contingent In Sgp

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
M

Mdm Tang

Dear Bro GD , how big

is Gurkha Contingent in Sgp. ???

The history of the Gurkha Contingent is intrinsically linked to the formative years of Singapore when it was called upon many times to help restore law and order on the streets. Throughout this period the unit repeatedly demonstrated its reputation as an effective impartial force characterised by its total discipline and loyalty.

The Gurkha Contingent was formed on 9 April 1949 in order to provide a "strong-arm" within the Police Force capable of quelling civil disturbance and carrying out specialist security tasks. This role expanded to include VIP protection and initially included patrols into Peninsula Malaya to pursue the communist terrorists who were active there at that time. The original camp was on Duxton Plain, near the City Centre but the unit subsequently relocated to its current cantonment at Mount Vernon.

In 1978 the unit was reorganised briefly to form the Prison Gurkha Unit (PGU) but this was reversed and the Gurkha Contingent as it is known today was reformed on 1 April 1981 and its terms and conditions of service, operational roles and training were standardised. The unit continued to perform prison duties until a decision was made in 2006 to fulfil Police security duties only.

The majority of the unit’s police officers are Gurkhas recruited from a small number of hill tribes in Nepal . These Gurkhas possess the qualities best suited to service in the Contingent, specifically: physical and mental robustness, resourcefulness and an uncomplaining dependability.

Today, the Gurkha Contingent carries out many diverse roles for the Singapore Police Force. These roles are still very much related to the security tasks for which GC was originally formed.

Mission
To defeat specified threats within boundaries, across the spectrum of para-military operations, to help safeguard Singapore.

Vision
As a world-class security unit, tough, vigilant, and steadfast, fully trained and manned, and employing the traditional Gurkha to the best of his natural abilities, the Gurkha Contingent is to achieve operational success across the spectrum of para-military operations to help safeguard Singapore.

Mdm, no idea what's their strength. Uncle left the scene many years ago. Btw, where have you been to? Of course they are in S'pore. Mt Vernon is their base. Officers and their families housed in nice apartments.

A decade or so ago, top management discussed the possiblility of 'kicking' out the angmos there and having a local lead the GC. Current CP was one of those identified as a replacement. Not an easy task though. You need to understand their culture, speak their lingo etc.

And I am sure the Gurkhas would respect someone who has seen real action in a battlefield. Not someone from Oxford or Cambridge who may not even be able to handle 2 persons having a dispute.

In Sgp . Just curious about the Gurkha

in Sgp . Once met our beloved PM Lee while he was doing his evening

jogging at Macrithie Reservoir .

Noticed that at that time , some years back,

only Gurkha ( cum bodyguards ) were jogging with him.

Any special reasons using the services of Gurkha ? tks.

2000 men and 3000 family members. Total of 5k in Mt Vernon. Though there has always been one local senior officer as a liaison officer in GC, the first and only local person who actually worked in GC but more in the fitness area was ex-commando who moved to GC as Supt was Bernie Ho. He then moved to Police Training Command.

They are better of commanded by British Army Officer who know their language, culture and are specially selected from the British Gurkha formation.

Thanks for info.

Remember reading somewhere ,

Gurkha best used to handle

Race Matters. :(

Yes. For race riots, guarding of key installations and SAF mutiny. They also undergo military training not something that is revealed.

For all their high level precision crack military training, they still managed to let a one-legged cripple slip through their fingers whilst he was taking a piss.

Policemen and Soldiers are not trained to be prison pfficers. Horse for causes. Prior to the escape, a Gurhka committed suicide in Whitley Holding Centre out of sheer boredom.

For all their high level precision crack military training, they still managed to let a one-legged cripple slip through their fingers whilst he was taking a piss.

Noticed that at that time , some years back, only Gurkha ( cum bodyguards ) were jogging with him. Any special reasons using the services of Gurkha ? tks.

Gurkhas are basically paid private army, i.e. mercenaries & they owe no allegiance to anyone except the person(s) who are paying them. The Sultan of Brunei has them too as the Brits in HK prior to 1997. You can google about them & find out their history. They are basically FT soldiers in Singapore carrying out police & security roles that Gahmen do not trust local units to do, simple as that.

You are kiding right? Aren't they Singaporeans whose forefathers came from Nepal and settled on Bukit Timah hill?

Gurkhas are basically paid private army, i.e. mercenaries & they owe no allegiance to anyone except the person(s) who are paying them. The Sultan of Brunei has them too as the Brits in HK prior to 1997. You can google about them & find out their history. They are basically FT soldiers in Singapore carrying out police & security roles that Gahmen do not trust local units to do, simple as that.

Remember reading somewhere, Gurkha best used to handle Race Matters.(

They are not Singaporeans & they only obey their paymaster, got race riots they go in & settle, not happy they take their kukri & chop you a few times see you song boh, like that doesn't matter if you're Chinese, Malay, Tamil or Eurasian you can't say they chop you becos they see you what colour, they only see the colour of the S$$$$.

No lah, Gurkha is a religion and not a race. They actually Chinese but come from hill region that is why they look slighly different. What is a kukri. Is its changkul?

They are not Singaporeans & they only obey their paymaster, got race riots they go in & settle, not happy they take their kukri & chop you a few times see you song boh, like that doesn't matter if you're Chinese, Malay, Tamil or Eurasian you can't say they chop you becos they see you what colour, they only see the colour of the S$$$$.

Saw a couple at the then school of signals on signal course... Wun b surprise if some went to various saf support schools for trade course..

Old man's ww2 experience limited to witnessing 2 units' bravery in sgp: e highlanders btw dat was e last to cross e causeway n e Gurkhas... N he decided on e Gurkhas lol m sure e scots wud haf made a damn neutral riot police squad though old man prob wun b able to secure their services

You are kiding right? Aren't they Singaporeans whose forefathers came from Nepal and settled on Bukit Timah hill?

that one(Bkt Timah) i'm not sure, if it's true, where do they receive their "BMT" training?

The majority of Gurkhas recruited in Nepal every year end up training & serving in the British & Indian Gurkha Regiments. After that some are "hired out" as paid private army doing police & security work, machiam FT soldier.

Gurkhas are also recruited by the British Army for the over 2,000 strong Gurkha Contingent of the Singapore Police Force. Approximately 2,000 Gurkhas also serve in a similar role in the Gurkha Reserve Unit in Brunei.

source http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brigade_of_Gurkhas

Saw a couple at the then school of signals on signal course... Wun b surprise if some went to various saf support schools for trade course..

that one is their technical upgrade course lah, all of them trained by British Army Gurkha regiment, after so many years service they also need to learn new skills mah. :)

Yup Yup ...

Gurkha Contingent

The Gurkha Contingent (Abbreviation: GC; Chinese: 廓尔喀警察团; pinyin: gūjiā jǐngchátuán; Chinese: 辜加警察团, Nepali: गोरखाली) is a line department of the Singapore Police Force. Members of the GC are trained to be highly-skilled and are selected for their display of strong discipline and dedication in their tasks. The principal role of the contingent is to be a special guard force, and it is currently used as a counter-terrorist force.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gurkha_Contingent