• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gurkha Contingent In Sgp

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
I found them to be very nice people. Mild, humble and ever smiling. It was pleasure visiting their country.

The only Gurkha I got to know was working at the Sennet Community Centre. In those days the PAP would hold many functions there.

That community centre was eventually turned into the Grass Roots Centre. That must have been the only cc with a squash court:)

the sg contingent has atrophied over decades with too much idle time, boredom and good cushy life. their strong genes are getting weaker with each succeeding generation in sg. more fresh gurkha ft's are required. :eek:

The old retired Gurkhas from the SG Contingent had battle experience (Malaya Emergency etc), these days very few SG Contingent Gurkhas have first hand battle experience unless they're from the British Army Gurkha regiment who have seen action in recent conflicts.

More interesting is how much is Gahmen paying the British Army for the Gurkhas to be stationed here?

They are not part of the British Army including their Commanders who are retired from the British Army. It is wholly a Singapore entity and comes under MHA payroll.

The old retired Gurkhas from the SG Contingent had battle experience (Malaya Emergency etc), these days very few SG Contingent Gurkhas have first hand battle experience unless they're from the British Army Gurkha regiment who have seen action in recent conflicts.

More interesting is how much is Gahmen paying the British Army for the Gurkhas to be stationed here?

They are not part of the British Army including their Commanders who are retired from the British Army. It is wholly a Singapore entity and comes under MHA payroll.

From the little I know, our Gurkhas are termed "paramilitary". Perhaps the term is deliberately left vague, for obvious reasons. And, interesting if the payroll is purely from MHA. Probably they are fairly low maintenance.

The contingent more than doubled since 911. We have to spend so much more because of fear of terrorist attacks

i don't know who writes the wiki data on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gurkha_Contingent but if you read the section headed "Staff welfare & rights" it says.. the secondment of the British officer to head the GC is done via a repayment basis between the governments of Singapore and the United Kingdom

maybe you should go edit that information!

from Wiki :

The GC was formed on 9 April 1949 in the wake of Indian independence from the British Empire, when Gurkhas battalions from the British Indian Army were divided between the Indian Army and the British Army. Those transferred to the British Army were posted to other remaining British Colonies. In Malaya and Singapore, their presence was required in the Malayan Emergency, and their roles were to replace the Sikh unit in Singapore which reverted to the Indian Army on Indian independence.

Just a year after their formation, their presence became an asset when racial riots between the Malay and European communities broke out over the disputed custody of Maria Hertogh. The GC troopers were again activated when major rioting erupted all over the country between the ethnic Malays and Chinese on Prophet Mohammed's birthday from 21 July 1964 till September that same year.

Their presence as a neutral force was important because local police officers were often perceived to be (or were even expected to be) biased towards their own ethnic groups when handling racial disturbances, further fueling discontent and violence.[citation needed] Officers who attempt to carry out their duties impartially and in full accordance with the law also face social backlash from their own ethnic communities, a difficult situation which can even lead to physical harm to individual officers.

In his autobiography, former Singapore Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew recounted the use of the Gurkha Contingent as an impartial force at the time when Singapore had just gained independence. He wrote:

"When I returned to Oxley Road [Lee's residence], Gurkha policemen (recruited by the British from Nepal) were posted as sentries. To have either Chinese policemen shooting Malays or Malay policemen shooting Chinese would have caused widespread repercussions. The Gurkhas, on the other hand, were neutral, besides having a reputation for total discipline and loyalty."

Datok, Agree.

I got to know one gurkha through football also. His name is Tenzing Bohgay.:o

However, I have to add that their womenfolk downright fugly !!:o

Get a nicer one tonite :

HK : Race 6 : 8 ( Tour De Force )

all the way ...

You can find a smaLL community of these Gurkhas' and their famiLies having some mini bbQ sessions on weekends,
right after the East Coast Seafood Ctr next to the canaL.
WhiLe the guys are of Asian buiLt, many Looked soLid with 6-packs..but sadLy their women are mostLy pLumpy..
:eek::)

In the past yes. They still draw their british army pensions.

i don't know who writes the wiki data on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gurkha_Contingent but if you read the section headed "Staff welfare & rights" it says.. the secondment of the British officer to head the GC is done via a repayment basis between the governments of Singapore and the United Kingdom

maybe you should go edit that information!

They also thought that I worked in SPH as journalist, the Police Force, ICA, SAF, etc. Even had PMs asking me if I was Devan Nair, .

My English gets corrected all the time. Need remedial class and maybe share cost with Zorro Lim.

I believe that brother [scroobal]'s English is impeccable, but, probably continue to make mistakes here and there to protect his true identity, and to ensure that his posts with apparent mistakes, are genuine and not from another individual.

Gurkhas hoot with sinkie 1st Commando bn who win? Or call in the SOF if red berets cmi....sinkies got fighting chance?

Maybe if the 1st commando battalion has all regulars in it, then maybe got chance :D

P.s seriously no idea though!

of course 1Kodok Bn & SOF win lah! they are better trained than Gurkhas, see them so many badges & more willing to die for country.

ps. it's not 1st Cdo bn, it's just 1 Cdo bn, taken from British military tradition.

Here is a framework that might help to address the issue.

1. Do we agree that the Victoria Cross is the highest award for bravery and not for frying kway teow.
2. Since the 1911 when they became eligible, 13 Gurkhas have been awarded the VC.
3. The British Army has Commandos, SAS and SBS. They too have won VCs.
4. Can we assume that that our Commandos and SOC are of the same standard.

gurhkas shd win on the simple fact there more of them than the commando.

pound for pound the gurkhas shd be better than saf but being on light infantry, they dont have heavy weapons so why fight on their terms? just arty them and make mt vernon into a car park can liao.

Here is a framework that might help to address the issue.

1. Do we agree that the Victoria Cross is the highest award for bravery and not for frying kway teow.
2. Since the 1911 when they became eligible, 13 Gurkhas have been awarded the VC.
3. The British Army has Commandos, SAS and SBS. They too have won VCs.
4. Can we assume that that our Commandos and SOC are of the same standard.

as good as the gurkhas are, they dont guarantee victory. in the age of modern warfare, the concept of light infantry is obselete.

as for being VC receipent, normally only the death get it. i rather siam and fight another day.

as for ppl who claimed gurkhas are loyal, i disagree. my school near to mt vernon and there plenty of time my school kenna lock down because the gurkhas run amok inside mt vernon. booing of our national anthem occurs regularly.

I believe that brother [scroobal]'s English is impeccable, but, probably continue to make mistakes here and there to protect his true identity, and to ensure that his posts with apparent mistakes, are genuine and not from another individual.

don't be naive. the pmo, isd and sid already have a dossier on him. :rolleyes: