Guess the race: World biggest drug traffickers in Human History

He who sacrifices his conscience to ambition burns a picture to obtain the ashes. Chinese Proverb

For over a century, Western nations trafficked in opium on a scale that dwarfs any modern Colombian multi billion dollar drug empire, yet today we Westerners know little about it. We don't learn about it in high school history--or even college, for that matter. I had an American professor in Xiamen tell me that he thought the war was fought to keep China from exporting opium.

Most Westerners by far opposed the trade. Even the British opposed it. The entire British parliament opposed the 2nd Opium War--and was dissolved. In the 1880s, when the U.S. made it illegal for Americans to engage in the opium trade, a Chinese leader said, "This is the first time that I've seen a Christian nation act like a Christian country." But the trafficking continued until, by the 1920s, fully half of Europe’s Asian profits derived from opium. While only asmall minority benefited from the trade, that minority controlled the fate of half the world's population in China and India, and dictated Western policy as well

Warren Hastings, India’s first governor-general, wrested control of the Dutch opium trade, rapidly expanded poppy production, and dispatched two opium-laden ships to Canton on a trial run. One was shipwrecked, but the other evaded Chinese officials and sold 200,000 pounds of opium in Huangbo.

After an English census of China revealed 300 million potential “clients,” the Crown awarded the Honorable East India Company a monopoly on the ‘trade,’ carefully avoiding the use of the word ‘opium’—a face-saving subterfuge employed right into the 20th century. (For the record, the majority of British merchants and missionaries protested against Britain’s foray into drug trafficking, but to little avail).

http://www.amoymagic.com/OpiumWar.htm

I believe the original founders of the public-listed group Jardine and Matheson in Hong Kong created their empire with opium back in the 1840s.

He who sacrifices his conscience to ambition burns a picture to obtain the ashes. Chinese Proverb

For over a century, Western nations trafficked in opium on a scale that dwarfs any modern Colombian multi billion dollar drug empire, yet today we Westerners know little about it. We don't learn about it in high school history--or even college, for that matter. I had an American professor in Xiamen tell me that he thought the war was fought to keep China from exporting opium.

Most Westerners by far opposed the trade. Even the British opposed it. The entire British parliament opposed the 2nd Opium War--and was dissolved. In the 1880s, when the U.S. made it illegal for Americans to engage in the opium trade, a Chinese leader said, "This is the first time that I've seen a Christian nation act like a Christian country." But the trafficking continued until, by the 1920s, fully half of Europe’s Asian profits derived from opium. While only asmall minority benefited from the trade, that minority controlled the fate of half the world's population in China and India, and dictated Western policy as well

Warren Hastings, India’s first governor-general, wrested control of the Dutch opium trade, rapidly expanded poppy production, and dispatched two opium-laden ships to Canton on a trial run. One was shipwrecked, but the other evaded Chinese officials and sold 200,000 pounds of opium in Huangbo.

After an English census of China revealed 300 million potential “clients,” the Crown awarded the Honorable East India Company a monopoly on the ‘trade,’ carefully avoiding the use of the word ‘opium’—a face-saving subterfuge employed right into the 20th century. (For the record, the majority of British merchants and missionaries protested against Britain’s foray into drug trafficking, but to little avail).

these 2 names belonged to what race?

Don't forget another famous angmoh name, Stamford Raffles?

from 1726 to 1836 was great economic boom for the British (no competition monopoly drug trade) and in between this time in 1809 Singapore was established as an important shipping port for what trade?

Don't need a Harvard graduate to tell you that?

On Dec. 2, 1799, a distraught emperor penned an anti-opium edict, noting:opium paraphernalia pipes etc

“The infirm and weak perish gradually from want and hunger, while the strong and vigorous become thieves and robbers, the ultimate ruin of all being thus equally certain and inevitable.”

But Britain saw not ultimate ruin but a 2,000% profit on each 130 pound chest. The Company sold 3,000 chests in 1790 and 30,000 chests in 1836. Between 1820 and 1835 alone, China’s addict population grew 50 fold.

I believe the original founders of the public-listed group Jardine and Matheson in Hong Kong created their empire with opium back in the 1840s.

TS why you dun give it a rest....
You not sianz we sianz.....why not you go steal a firearm then go to SAS or UWC and mow them bastards down

And Singapore was also established a strategic location to house the British army and navy logistic to prepare them to start a war with China.

And in 1836 they started the 1st opium war with China.

steady lah! Brewing something interesting. Ask yourself this question?

China was a poor nation ruined by the evil race British for 150 years. The British also made India, and some African nations a poor nations.

And they made themselves a wealthy and an advance nation at the expense of other countries. 2 great nations was destroyed by this race?

Clive marveled at India, the “rich and flourishing kingdom.” Within decades that rich kingdom was pauperized as farmers were forced to abandon traditional crops and to grow what became the Crown’s primary cash crop, and China’s main import—opium

TS why you dun give it a rest....
You not sianz we sianz.....why not you go steal a firearm then go to SAS or UWC and mow them bastards down

Yes. Singapore played a vital support role to the British Empire's eastern military logistics. The world's first steel-hulled mechanized battleship (The Nemesis) was refitted here in Singapore before sailing off to blow-up fortresses built to defend the Chinese coastal ports at the river delta of the Pearl River. Singapore did well for Her Majesty.

And Singapore was also established a strategic location to house the British army and navy logistic to prepare them to start a war with China.

And in 1836 they started the 1st opium war with China.

This evil race also occupied Ceylon for their military to secure Indian Ocean sea route to protect their naval and drug loaded merchant ships.

Plenty of easy drug money this evil race can established 50 colonies in less than 50 years.

Yes. Singapore played a vital support role to the British Empire's eastern military logistics. The world's first steel-hulled mechanized battleship (The Nemesis) was refitted here in Singapore before sailing off to blow-up fortresses built to defend the Chinese coastal ports at the river delta of the Pearl River. Singapore did well for Her Majesty.

This "evil" race also left the world with a language, culture, and institutions many peoples of the world admire and emulate. They laid the rules for soccer as we know and play today. Also, cricket, rugby, badminton, golf, equestrian, off-field games like carrom, snooker, darts, monopoly, card games and many things to occupy our leisure hours. They gave the world pop-music culture with bands like the Beatles, Duran-Duran, Bad Company, Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones. Educational instituitions like Cambridge, Oxford. Ceylon, India, Singapore, Malaysia inherited their legal systems, parliament. They gave railroads to the rest of the world. All these in exchange for opium money, sounds like a good deal to me - both ways.

As another forummer has said, there is no point going through the opium was over and over again. It is history. Major lessons have been learnt from it. China is no longer the "sick man" of Asia, and has emerged from her medieval past - stronger, and wiser. At the same time, the powers responsible for atrocities in the past are no longer behaving that way and have toned-down their arrogance. Despite the ills that still exist today, the world is better-off today than it was a hundred years ago. We can't change the past, the best we can do is not repeat its mistakes.

This evil race also occupied Ceylon for their military to secure Indian Ocean sea route to protect their naval and drug loaded merchant ships.

Plenty of easy drug money this evil race can established 50 colonies in less than 50 years.

Friends, what you have known of British achievement today (the list you mentioned) was not from their hard earned money but through drug trade targeting 2 great nations, and make them a poor nations.

British without illegal criminal drug trade is NOT a great nation today, simply put. Without drug trade the British Empire industrial revolution development and expansion will failed and they are bankrupted nation.

Try harder to convince me that the British are great people without their drug trade?

By the way, you may think the world should move on and leave the British opium trade history buried deep into the ground and forget it did not happen?

But there are groups of British people want the Queen to apologize to the Chinese people.

If you and I make more noise of this British shameful past your children, grand children and great grand children will be proud of you.

Only through re-opening of their shameful past against the Chinese, there will truly be world peace between the Chinese and the Westerners 八国联军 attacked China in the opium trade at China door step. 6 million Chinese were killed in the boxer revolution to rid of the drug dealers Westerners.

Japan was one of the 8 nations attacked China. 8 nations attacked China over illegal opium drug trade in China?

By re-opening the drug trade case, you may find the 8 nations French, Austrian, Australia, Japan, Portugal .... have to also apologize to Chinese and China.

Bottom line is We, China and Chinese, do not deserve to be a poor nation from the British? China was a wealthy nation before the fucked British drug trade.

Got the message?

This "evil" race also left the world with a language, culture, and institutions many peoples of the world admire and emulate. They laid the rules for soccer as we know and play today. Also, cricket, rugby, badminton, golf, equestrian, off-field games like carrom, snooker, darts, monopoly, card games and many things to occupy our leisure hours. They gave the world pop-music culture with bands like the Beatles, Duran-Duran, Bad Company, Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones. Educational instituitions like Cambridge, Oxford. Ceylon, India, Singapore, Malaysia inherited their legal systems, parliament. They gave railroads to the rest of the world. All these in exchange for opium money, sounds like a good deal to me - both ways.

As another forummer has said, there is no point going through the opium was over and over again. It is history. Major lessons have been learnt from it. China is no longer the "sick man" of Asia, and has emerged from her medieval past - stronger, and wiser. At the same time, the powers responsible for atrocities in the past are no longer behaving that way and have toned-down their arrogance. Despite the ills that still exist today, the world is better-off today than it was a hundred years ago. We can't change the past, the best we can do is not repeat its mistakes.

Americans also forced the Japanese to global trade. How did Japan respond? They proceeded to learn from the ang mohs and went to pawn China's ass in the early 20th century. They also were not subjected to Western imperialism. China just simply failed to adopt to the world.

Say, you have devised a few ways to make money, will you choose the easier, faster way, or the harder, and longer way?

I am not the one to say whether Britain was great or not, but I think the word Great Britain was given to Britain after they formed the largest empire ever witnessed on this planet, in its entire history. The Sun never sets in the British Empire, they used to say, until the Nips kicked their butts and took Syonan away from them after the Fall of Singapore.

Friends, what you have known of British achievement today (the list you mentioned) was not from their hard earned money but through drug trade targeting 2 great nations, and make them a poor nations................

Americans themselves also drugged China.

USA was a British colony and without the drug trade there will also be no USA today.

Before you talk Americans dominance in the world ask where the British find cheap drug money to build USA?

Opium Trade was Big Business for Americans

Also, it wasn’t just England involved; many Americans in New England also made their fortunes in the opium trade after the slave trade was outlawed. For example, Franklin Roosevelt’s grandfather, Delano, made most of the family fortune in the Chinese opium trade.

He was not alone. Many of the wealthy New England families built their fortunes on slave and opium trading. In fact, most of the American Ivy League universities were funded to a great degree when dirty money from the slave and opium trade was washed and then use to build new reputations for these families.

For example, John Cleve Green donated much of his opium profits to Princeton University, Abiel Abbott Low used his opium fortune to finance the construction of Colombia University, John Murray Forbes financed the Bell Telephone Company, Joseph Coolidge’s son organized the United Fruit Company and his grandson was the founding executive officer of the Anglo-American Council on Foreign Relations. This is just the tip of the iceberg in showing how many among the power elite made their fortunes with the China opium trade.

https://www.lewrockwell.com/2012/09...f-conflict-anglo-american-and-chinesehistory/

Japanese stopped the British from drugging Japan and also protected Korea and Taiwan. China was too big for Japan to help.

Americans also forced the Japanese to global trade. How did Japan respond? They proceeded to learn from the ang mohs and went to pawn China's ass in the early 20th century. They also were not subjected to Western imperialism. China just simply failed to adopt to the world.

If your neighbor son make a fortune for himself, would you want to know how he got his wealth from?

If it was legal, then it is fine.

One country cannot make money illegally at the expense of another country. Two (2) great nations, China and India, were destroyed by the British in drug trade?

So we ALL must kowtow to the Great Britain for giving us what we are today? Or we, the Indians and Chinese, can do better without the drug trade?

Without easy drug money, will the British able to colonized 50 nations? I don't think so.

The British Empire consisted of Welsh, Irish, Scott and English and they are a small nation of 2 million people in the 1600s?

2 million people colonized 50 nations? Ask them where they find money do that? Or I see, they have their shit industrial revolution products that sell like hot cakes that every countries need them? The British made their wealth from their industrial revolution technology?

Say, you have devised a few ways to make money, will you choose the easier, faster way, or the harder, and longer way?

I am not the one to say whether Britain was great or not, but I think the word Great Britain was given to Britain after they formed the largest empire ever witnessed on this planet, in its entire history. The Sun never sets in the British Empire, they used to say, until the Nips kicked their butts and took Syonan away from them after the Fall of Singapore.

If my neighbour made lots of money, it is none of my business. It is up to the income tax department to check him/her out. As long as my neighbour buys me beer, I will not poke my nose into his affairs.

Opium may have been big business, but the main dealers were privateers. Individuals who risked their own and made the money, the nation (Britain) did not own the opium. The Royal Navy was tricked into war on the belief that the Chinese government had confiscated and destroyed British assets - this was fabricated by the privateers themselves and raised in the British parliament to obtain the muscle of the Royal Navy.

The industrial revolution was part of a series of enlightentment of knowledge in the west. Culminated in the British Isles with the invention of the steam engine. Science was the driving force behind the Industrial Revolution, not opium. Opium was the catalyst that opened Cathay to trade with Britain. Long before the Brits came to this part of the world, the Portugese, Dutch, and later, the Spaniards were already here, for the spices. The Brits were the latecomers. They wanted silk and tea from China who did not want anything from them. Then the Brits realized that the Chinese would pay for opium with silver, then the trade balance started moving in Britain's favour, because of the demand by the Chinese. This continued growing and soon other peoples (like some Amercans) started to realize how lucrative the trade could be, and jump onto the wagon. The Chinese have been using opium since 7 AD, long before they ever laid eyes on a white man, and opium was expensive, available only to the rich. The Opium the Brits brought was affordable to the common man, and they took to it without hesitation, willingly, and eagerly. It must have been good (I wish to try it for myself too!)

At this point in history, China and India were mired in archaic beliefs and superstition. The word "Scientific Method" did not exist in the imagination yet. Obviously when these cultures clashed with the Brits, the outcome will be in the favour of the more powerful. The Chinese still were under the impression that anywhere outside the Middle Kingdom was occupied by primitive barbarians, whilst the Indians were divided into different kingdoms warring amongst themselves. It was pathetic for these societies to be faced with the might of the British empire. Then, the world's leading superpower. What happened was inevitable. But it happened. And it is over.

If your neighbor son make a fortune for himself, would you want to know how he got his wealth from?

If it was legal, then it is fine.

One country cannot make money illegally at the expense of another country. Two (2) great nations, China and India, were destroyed by the British in drug trade?

So we ALL must kowtow to the Great Britain for giving us what we are today? Or we, the Indians and Chinese, can do better without the drug trade?

Without easy drug money, will the British able to colonized 50 nations? I don't think so.

The British Empire consisted of Welsh, Irish, Scott and English and they are a small nation of 2 million people?

2 million people colonized 50 nations? Ask them where they find money do that? Or I see, they have their shit industrial revolution products that sell like hot cakes that every countries need them? The British made their wealth from their industrial revolution technology?

I take my hat off to you.

If my neighbour made lots of money, it is none of my business. It is up to the income tax department to check him/her out. As long as my neighbour buys me beer, I will not poke my nose into his affairs.

Opium may have been big business, but the main dealers were privateers. Individuals who risked their own and made the money, the nation (Britain) did not own the opium.

The British grow opium from poppies seeds to control the whole manufacturing process to selling the opium illegally. Without the British monopoly of the drug trades how can there be so much opium on the market?

The Royal Navy was tricked into war on the belief that the Chinese government had confiscated and destroyed British assets - this was fabricated by the privateers themselves and raised in the British parliament to obtain the muscle of the Royal Navy.

This is for the Queen to explain to you.

The industrial revolution was part of a series of enlightentment of knowledge in the west. Culminated in the British Isles with the invention of the steam engine. Science was the driving force behind the Industrial Revolution, not opium.

Opium was a source of illegal product which the British see 2000% profit and 300 million Chinese market can fund any shit inventions from the failed steam engine technology (which they scraped) to coal and then oil.

Opium was the catalyst that opened Cathay to trade with Britain. Long before the Brits came to this part of the world, the Portugese, Dutch, and later, the Spaniards were already here, for the spices.

All countries traded with China for these products, legally even before the West found Far East China.

The Brits were the latecomers. They wanted silk and tea from China who did not want anything from them. Then the Brits realized that the Chinese would pay for opium with silver, then the trade balance started moving in Britain's favour, because of the demand by the Chinese.
This continued growing and soon other peoples (like some Amercans) started to realize how lucrative the trade could be, and jump onto the wagon.

The Chinese have been using opium since 7 AD, long before they ever laid eyes on a white man, and opium was expensive, available only to the rich. The Opium the Brits brought was affordable to the common man, and they took to it without hesitation, willingly, and eagerly. It must have been good (I wish to try it for myself too!)

So a great nation, the Great Britain, solved the opium problem and made opium cheap to sell? Did they know that drug killed people?

Why did they stopped their own whites from smoking cheap opium? Why the whole Europe was not addicted by the British?

Why the British did not drugged their neighbours European countries?

At this point in history, China and India were mired in archaic beliefs and superstition. The word "Scientific Method" did not exist in the imagination yet. Obviously when these cultures clashed with the Brits, the outcome will be in the favour of the more powerful.
The Chinese still were under the impression that anywhere outside the Middle Kingdom was occupied by primitive barbarians, whilst the Indians were divided into different kingdoms warring amongst themselves.

It was pathetic for these societies to be faced with the might of the British empire. Then, the world's leading superpower. What happened was inevitable. But it happened. And it is over.

So after they stopped the drug trade in China, the British turned to SEA to continue the drug trade?

So it was the British birth right to drug SEA with opium, 2nd dipping of easy drug money to send home to the Queen and improved the industrial revolution products, build technology institutions and creating a Great Britain?

In January, 1917, we found ourselves at Singapore, a British dependency, situated at the end of the Malay Peninsula, and one of the greatest seaports of the Orient. We were stopping at the Hotel de l' Europe, a large and first class hotel. The first morning at breakfast, the waiter stood beside us, waiting for our order. He was a handsome young Malay, dressed in white linen clothes, and wearing a green jade bracelet on one wrist. We gave him our order and he did not move off. He continued to stand quietly beside our chairs, as in a trance. We repeated the order-one tea, one coffee, two papayas. He continued to stand still beside us, stupidly. Finally he went away. We waited for a long time and nothing happened. At last, after a long wait, he returned and set before us a teapot filled with hot water. Nothing else. We repeated again-tea, coffee, papayas. We said it two or three times. Then he went away and came back with some tea. We repeated again, coffee and fruit. Eventually he brought us some coffee. Finally, after many endeavors, we got the fruit. It all took a long time. We then began to realize that something was the matter with him. He could understand English well enough to know what orders we were giving him, but he seemed to forget as soon as he left our sight. We then realized that he was probably drugged. It was the same thing every day. In the morning he was stupid and dull, and could not remember what we told him. By evening his brain was clearer, and at dinner he could remember well enough. The effects of whatever he had been taking had apparently worn off during the day.

http://www.druglibrary.org/schaffer/history/om/om4.htm