• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious GST To Be Raised From 7% to 9% By 2025!

THE government plans to raise the goods and services tax (GST) by two percentage points to 9 per cent from 7 per cent, sometime in the period from 2021 to 2025, Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat said on Monday.

"The exact timing will depend on the state of the economy, how much our expenditures grow, and how buoyant our existing taxes are," said Mr Heng.

"But I expect that we will need to do so earlier rather than later in the period."

The increase in revenue in the government coffers from the GST hike will translate to almost 0.7 per cent of GDP per year.

"This GST increase is necessary because even after exploring various options to manage our future expenditures through prudent spending, saving and borrowing for infrastructure, there is still a gap," said Mr Heng.

27973239_10155375763137934_8848888239347275062_n.jpg

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/gov...get-2018-gst-to-be-hiked-to-9-in-earlier-part

online-shopping-singapore.jpg

SINGAPORE: There will be a goods and services tax (GST) imposed on imported digital services such as movie and music streaming services and mobile apps come 2020, Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat announced during his Budget 2018 speech on Monday (Feb 19).

Mr Heng said he is introducing this tax on imported services with effect from Jan 1, 2020, to make the country’s tax system “fair and resilient” in today’s digital economy.

“Today, services such as consultancy and marketing purchased from overseas suppliers are not subject to GST. Local consumers also do not pay GST when they download apps and music from overseas,” the minister said.

“This change will ensure that imported and local services are accorded the same treatment.”

According to the Ministry of Finance (MOF), the GST will be imposed on business-to-business (B2B) and business-to-consumers (B2C) imported services, but will not affect e-commerce on physical goods below S$400. GST is levied on the import of all goods into Singapore, with the exception of goods imported via air or post and the value is below S$400.

It explained that currently, GST is applied on imported services provided by an overseas supplier that has an establishment in Singapore, but not if the provider is not established here.

However, with the advent of technology and the digital economy, it has become increasingly common for services consumed in Singapore to be obtained from overseas suppliers that do not have a presence here. For B2B services, these include marketing and accounting, IT and management, the ministry said.

It added for B2C services, these could mean video and music streaming like Netflix or Spotify, apps, listing fees on electronic marketplaces such as Apple’s or Google’s app stores, software, such as and online subscription fees. The inclusion of software could mean that services such as Microsoft’s Office 365 productivity suite would be liable under the new tax, Channel NewsAsia understands.

As such, online service providers who meet certain criteria will have to register themselves – under the Overseas Vendor Registration model - with the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) in order to continue providing their offerings to Singapore consumers.

The criteria are: If their annual global turnover is more than S$1 million and whose sale of digital services to customers in Singapore is more than S$100,000. The latter requirement “minimises the compliance burden on overseas vendors which do not make significant sales to Singapore consumers”, the Finance Ministry said.

“Introducing GST on imported services will ensure that, irrespective of whether the service consumed in Singapore is bought from suppliers here or from suppliers abroad, the same GST treatment will apply,” the ministry said.

The number of companies expected to be impacted by the new tax in the B2B category is about 1,000, while those in the B2C space is expected to number about 100 businesses, Channel NewsAsia understands.

MOF added that for imports of low-value physical goods, there are ongoing international discussions on how GST can apply. “We are reviewing international developments before deciding on the measure to take,” it said.

The announcement comes on the heels of comments made by Senior Minister of State for Finance and Law Indranee Rajah, who said last November that e-commerce is an area that would allow Singapore to further diversify its tax base.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...imposed-on-digital-services-from-2020-9970756

my uncle say how come raise gst to help the poor can become to manage our future expenditures through prudentspending, saving andborrowing for infrastructure ? he say which one is real which one is fake ?

Helping the poor costs money, and helping poor people is part of our future expenditure. Unlike the oppies, PAP never publishes fake news.

Ang pao from PAP to ease the pain from the GST increase. PAP cares for you. Trust the PAP!

Huat ah! Thank you Ah Gong!

hsk-budget-ss-5.png

SINGAPORE: All Singaporeans aged 21 and above this year will get a one-off SG Bonus of up to S$300 each as the Budget for 2017 came in with a surplus of almost S$10 billion.

Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat shared this during his Budget speech in Parliament on Monday (Feb 19), saying that this “reflects the Government’s long-standing commitment to share of the fruits of Singapore’s development with Singaporeans”. He described the bonus as a “hongbao”.

The Bonus will be paid according to people’s assessable income. About 2.7 million people will get the payouts, which are due at the end of 2018.

Those with an income of S$28,000 or below will be eligible for a payout of S$300, those whose income is S$28,001 – S$100,000 will receive S$200, and people whose income is in excess of S$100,000 will receive S$100.

This SG Bonus will cost the Government S$700 million.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...o-get-hongbao-sg-bonus-of-up-to-s-300-9970790

Altogether now!!! Don't be shy!!!

Super duper loud loud!!!

HUAT AH!!!

On behalf of my RC members who will mostly receive $300, I shout for them HUAT AH! HUAT AH! HUAT AH!

I am satisfied with my $100 ang pao from PAP and will donate it to charity.

So how? Go and cry along Bedok reservoir ?

Or think of ways to earn more money?

Knowing the losers here, we all know what’s the choice.

kryonlight

What did sinkies contribute to the country to collect the 700 million dollars payout? PAP should have distributed that money to all the cabinet ministers who rightly deserve their bonus. Screw those daft and humji sinkies!

dr.wailing

THE government plans to raise the goods and services tax (GST) by two percentage points to 9 per cent from 7 per cent, sometime in the period from 2021 to 2025, Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat said on Monday.

The Sinkie gabrament is lying.....

According to a little bird from the West, the REAL GST rate will not be 9% but 10%.

On behalf of my RC members who will mostly receive $300, I shout for them HUAT AH! HUAT AH! HUAT AH!

I am satisfied with my $100 ang pao from PAP and will donate it to charity.

Is this "lai see" of $300 in addition to the annual GSt Voucher of $300 in which the seniors get every August, each year. $100 donate to charity....might as well say, you match $900 & give $1,000 to charity.

my uncle say from this already can see how dumb our gov is. range of 28k to 100k get same amount. he say these marder farkers earn too much until they didn't know the difference with these earnings.

You fucking oppies should be grateful for the ang pao and GST rebates that you are going to receive. Forever whining and whining. You think money falls from the sky?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Singapore is in need of money. The whole investment arm has failed. CPF is bust.

If they don't increase GST SGD will collapse sooner. Not that it won't eventually.

Singapore is in need of money. The whole investment arm has failed. CPF is bust.

If they don't increase GST SGD will collapse sooner. Not that it won't eventually.

CPF has lots of cash, okay? If you continue to make slanderous remarks, you may end up like that faggot Roy.

greedy and cunning

comparing with other countries is meaningless as the economic , social and culture
of these countries are difference.
if you need to use other countries to justify your point , you have a very weak excuse
to implement the policy.
the reason given are not valid and convincing enough ,
so compare with others to make oneself looks good.

The Bahamas ,British Virgin Islands , Brunei , Cayman Islands , Monaco ,
Oman , United Arab Emirates , United Arab Emirates - all these countries
do not have income tax.
why dont the garberment abolish income tax by following the footstep of
these countries ?