• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Grassroots Leader Sear Hock Rong Scandal - Conflict of Interest

Why is a grassroots leaders having commercial dealings with the very grassroots organisation that he has an official post with.

The Govt needs to be honest and transparent about such leaches in our community that suck the blood of tax payers. People's Association is a statutory Board whose budget comes from taxes paid by residents of Singapore.

This Govt that prided itself on meritocracy yet we have this guy who is unable to compete and have to rely on selling his services to his own grassrrots organisation. This is disgraceful.

I am sure his own family members would be shameful of appearing in public.

An independent board of inquiry is needed is ascertain how rampant is this pratice of giving jobs to fellow committe members, friends, relatives etc. How far reaching is this within People's Association and grassroots organisation.

Mr Sear Hock Rong
Hock Rong has many years of experience in leadership training and event management. During his school days, he organised and participated in countless major school events and overseas youth exchange programmes as an active student leader. Other than winning several business plan competitions and WITS Conventions, he also led his peers in starting a co-operative business venture offering affordable IT gaming for students in school. After school, he volunteered as an Assistant Instructor at several Taekwondo Clubs. Having trained Taekwondo for about eight years, he has also won many medals from various competitions. By the age of 17, he achieved the National Youth Achievement Award (Gold Level) from President SR Nathan.
Over the past 10 years, Hock Rong works closely with students from various schools in leadership and youth development programmes. He conducts leadership trainings and is a mentor to those organising major community projects. Today, he serves actively in a number of Grassroots Organisations. He is the Chairman of Eunos Community Club Youth Executive Committee and Secretary of Eunos Zone ‘2’ Residents’ Committee and Eunos Civil Defence Executive Committee. He is also a member of the Eunos Community Club Management Committee and Eunos PAP Community Foundation Management Committee. For his contributions towards community work and having garnered the most number of online votes, he received the 2009 Stars of SHINE Favourite Nominee Award from Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan.
Hock Rong is a familiar face in his local community. He emcees frequently at school and community events. Other than speaking English and Mandarin, he can also speak fluent Hokkien and some Bahasa Melayu. For his confidence and impressive skills, he was also approached by friends to emcee at game shows, wedding dinners and temple anniversary celebrations.
Make him your choice Leadership Trainer and Event Management Specialist today!

kingrant

Having gained so much tangible and intangible benefits from his incestuous relationship with govt bodies, he should be doing all his work on a pro bono, gratis basis. How come nobody questions why he is consistently winning all the tenders and bids (if there were any to start with)? Yes, the whole process has to be transparent and accountable, and this starts with the Old Man's family dealings.

kingrant

Then there is first the reverse process. I know of quite a number of consultants who insinuated themselves into positions as volunteers in order to establish their name and spread their network and contact so as to grow their business. When they have a sufficient toehold, they start to approach people to refer them, even lionising or ingratiating themselves to office-bearers who have the authority to make buying or renting decisions. Things like that happen all the time with ex-civil servants who still have their friends and kakis inside the organisations. This becomes a high entry barrier to new entrants, and success begets success for the status quo incumbent. I know since I have been in civil service before. Goes all the way up.

I can tell you if ask anyone including an auditor, CFO of an MNC, a civil servant who holds a superscale grade etc if there is a conflict of interest, the answer will be unequivocal yes.

There might not be breach of law or procedures but such conflict should be avoided altogether unless Sear is the only service provider on god's green earth.

I heard Sear (not sure if this is true or not) is even contemplating taking defamation suit not realising he is going to look like an idiot. I bet you that the authorities who allowed it will persuade him to do otherwise.

Then there is first the reverse process. I know of quite a number of consultants who insinuated themselves into positions as volunteers in order to establish their name and spread their network and contact so as to grow their business. When they have a sufficient toehold, they start to approach people to refer them, even lionising or ingratiating themselves to office-bearers who have the authority to make buying or renting decisions. Things like that happen all the time with ex-civil servants who still have their friends and kakis inside the organisations. This becomes a high entry barrier to new entrants, and success begets success for the status quo incumbent. I know since I have been in civil service before. Goes all the way up.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I can tell you if ask anyone including an auditor, CFO of an MNC, a civil servant who holds a superscale grade etc if there is a conflict of interest, the answer will be unequivocal yes.

There might not be breach of law or procedures but such conflict should be avoided altogether unless Sear is the only service provider on god's green earth.

I heard Sear (not sure if this is true or not) is even contemplating taking defamation suit not realising he is going to look like an idiot. I bet you that the authorities who allowed it will persuade him to do otherwise.

Dear Scroobal,

I will be dying to see how Sear being embarrassed in court should he decide to file defamation suit here. Well, it will always be good to put out legal system to test again with regards to political sensitive defamation case.

Goh Meng Seng

Sear will never be allowed to sue anyone by the PAP. The case will open a can of worms. Its will embarrass the PAP and the old man. Old man and the PAP have been claiming for the last 50 years they were squeaky clean and most people bought it.

Singaporeans will be shocked to find out that this kind of things happen in grassroots organisations.

Dear Scroobal,

I will be dying to see how Sear being embarrassed in court should he decide to file defamation suit here. Well, it will always be good to put out legal system to test again with regards to political sensitive defamation case.

Goh Meng Seng

kingrant

Good if he wants to bring people to court. Better still if Opp MPs move a motion to force PAP MPs to declare all their fiduciary interests in grassroots orgs. Sure it will be defeated, and then we'll see how squeaky clean the govt is. How many failed junior Ministers have managed to return to their old positions in GLCs thru the old PAP networks? One can trawl places like NUS, NOL, for a start and see the great reunions. Professors take sabbathicals to stand for elections, all the while getting paid both ends, and then come back to their old positions if all else fails, and collect $$$$S again. Whose money?

kingrant

Of course, all the while we minions and peasants suffer with the financial crisis, unemployment, retrenchments, and soaring costs of rent, transport, fees etc. while these million dollar extraordinaires esconced themselves in highly paid positions where they are guarded from the market tribulations by yet another layer of self-serving PAP bosses, living in utter insularity behind high walls and away from the smelly hungry hordes far away and below. If one man one vote is our only power left, and if that's what's left of democracy, then Singaporeans had better realised it now and use that vote to their fullest, or remain silent and repressed forever. OldMan always claims democracy exists in S'pore and if the people don't like him or his party policies, they can vote them out. Then by Jove, what are we waiting for? We can't dislodge them now but let us at least make a start to slow the juggernaut- by any means!

cheebye

chao chee bye PAP!

many of my friends been approached by por lan pa to join RC, say got lots of benefits lah, business can grow lah!

Singapore oso not clean one lah ...y? becoz' no one to check on 'em.

fuck the pap to hell
remember to vote for oppositions

JavaMocca

Of course, all the while we minions and peasants suffer with the financial crisis, unemployment, retrenchments, and soaring costs of rent, transport, fees etc. while these million dollar extraordinaires esconced themselves in highly paid positions where they are guarded from the market tribulations by yet another layer of self-serving PAP bosses, living in utter insularity behind high walls and away from the smelly hungry hordes far away and below. If one man one vote is our only power left, and if that's what's left of democracy, then Singaporeans had better realised it now and use that vote to their fullest, or remain silent and repressed forever. OldMan always claims democracy exists in S'pore and if the people don't like him or his party policies, they can vote them out. Then by Jove, what are we waiting for? We can't dislodge them now but let us at least make a start to slow the juggernaut- by any means!

Kingrant,

Who are you? I have never seen this manner of crisp and biting form of writing in old Sammyboy forum or since I have been in cyberspace many moons ago.

You must be a new participant to this political cyberspace.

Keep writing. If you have a blog, better still. If not, what you waiting for?

kingrant

Kingrant,

Who are you? I have never seen this manner of crisp and biting form of writing in old Sammyboy forum or since I have been in cyberspace many moons ago.

You must be a new participant to this political cyberspace.

Keep writing. If you have a blog, better still. If not, what you waiting for?

Thank you for yr nice compliments! Yes, I am new to Sammyboy, joined Feb 2009. No, I don't blog, because you never know, like a snake, when it'll come back and bite you in the ass! I write well when I feel especially passionately for a cause, like rubbing PAP in the m&d.

dunbluffme

Aiya this one nothing wrong la...

We even have RC chairman playing horse on weekends but that is his personal lifestyle.. He is just volunteering his time to serve and represent our voices.

People Association is the smart body who dedicates almost everything to them.

If you wanna find fault, then blame PA coz they are always soliciting these volunteers to sell tickets.. As chairmen they have to interviewing poor families at the expense of their personal time or family time..

PA simply pushes everything to volunteers...

Then Gov will gradually observe n hand pick these people to join them when these people gained the trust of the people.

For ur info if you are jobless, even if u r chairman, the system is so transparent that nobody will help you find a job.

Why is a grassroots leaders having commercial dealings with the very grassroots organisation that he has an official post with.

The Govt needs to be honest and transparent about such leaches in our community that suck the blood of tax payers. People's Association is a statutory Board whose budget comes from taxes paid by residents of Singapore.

This Govt that prided itself on meritocracy yet we have this guy who is unable to compete and have to rely on selling his services to his own grassrrots organisation. This is disgraceful.

I am sure his own family members would be shameful of appearing in public.

An independent board of inquiry is needed is ascertain how rampant is this pratice of giving jobs to fellow committe members, friends, relatives etc. How far reaching is this within People's Association and grassroots organisation.

Mr Sear Hock Rong
Hock Rong has many years of experience in leadership training and event management. During his school days, he organised and participated in countless major school events and overseas youth exchange programmes as an active student leader. Other than winning several business plan competitions and WITS Conventions, he also led his peers in starting a co-operative business venture offering affordable IT gaming for students in school. After school, he volunteered as an Assistant Instructor at several Taekwondo Clubs. Having trained Taekwondo for about eight years, he has also won many medals from various competitions. By the age of 17, he achieved the National Youth Achievement Award (Gold Level) from President SR Nathan.
Over the past 10 years, Hock Rong works closely with students from various schools in leadership and youth development programmes. He conducts leadership trainings and is a mentor to those organising major community projects. Today, he serves actively in a number of Grassroots Organisations. He is the Chairman of Eunos Community Club Youth Executive Committee and Secretary of Eunos Zone ‘2’ Residents’ Committee and Eunos Civil Defence Executive Committee. He is also a member of the Eunos Community Club Management Committee and Eunos PAP Community Foundation Management Committee. For his contributions towards community work and having garnered the most number of online votes, he received the 2009 Stars of SHINE Favourite Nominee Award from Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan.
Hock Rong is a familiar face in his local community. He emcees frequently at school and community events. Other than speaking English and Mandarin, he can also speak fluent Hokkien and some Bahasa Melayu. For his confidence and impressive skills, he was also approached by friends to emcee at game shows, wedding dinners and temple anniversary celebrations.
Make him your choice Leadership Trainer and Event Management Specialist today!

Perspective

Scro, what is your view on 1. PAP members whose companies have business dealings with PAP HQ 2. PAP members have business dealings with another PAP members.

No problem. Perfectly acceptable. No different to small privately held or family companies, even small political parties. The local hawker at the kopi tiam is likely to hire his own family members and for good reasons - reliable, family recipe secrets etc.

Conflict of interest is a basic and fundamental control and now a regulatory item for organisations like governments that handle public funds and public listed companies that have thousands of shareholders.

Small companies who have a few shareholders may choose to avoid conflict of interest. This is to look professional, avoid tension and conflicts. They can do this by having agreements drawn up at the time of company formation or have internal procedures done up.

Scro, what is your view on 1. PAP members whose companies have business dealings with PAP HQ 2. PAP members have business dealings with another PAP members.

rainnix

When you see the MP at the top taking a loan from RenCi meant for poor needy patients in the hospitals. You know that the moral compass of people in charge is way off course. So what is the weight of this minor COI of this pipsqueak?

Excellent point Bro.

By the way, I understand that PAP will not allow Sear to sue because the reputational damage is tremendous both locally and internationally. The constant battle cry of keeping Singapore squeaky clean will hit them like a piece of dirty rag.

These hypocrites claim to be volunteers but seem to be making money from the very organisation that they are doing voluntary work for. How is that classified as volunteers. Sounds like the Board of Directors of NKF who were volunteers but were travelling first class and staying in 6 star hotels.

When you see the MP at the top taking a loan from RenCi meant for poor needy patients in the hospitals. You know that the moral compass of people in charge is way off course. So what is the weight of this minor COI of this pipsqueak?

rainnix

Usually there are proper channels for the public to report in the biz world. CPIB for example. In this case of suspicion of COI of Sear - who/what are the channels for us to report to?

As Sear challenges us to file a report on him without specifying the venues for that, so what are to do? Say like no say (讲好像没讲).

Unrepented

Please check out the code of corporate governance and its basic principles, it goes beyond conflict of interest.

No problem. Perfectly acceptable. No different to small privately held or family companies, even small political parties. The local hawker at the kopi tiam is likely to hire his own family members and for good reasons - reliable, family recipe secrets etc.

Conflict of interest is a basic and fundamental control and now a regulatory item for organisations like governments that handle public funds and public listed companies that have thousands of shareholders.

Small companies who have a few shareholders may choose to avoid conflict of interest. This is to look professional, avoid tension and conflicts. They can do this by having agreements drawn up at the time of company formation or have internal procedures done up.