• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt to give out S$100 million in goodies to NSmen

Extremist

RED PACKET FOR NSMEN - Govt to give out S$100 million in goodies to NSmen to commemorate 45th anniversary of National Service.

Full-time NSmen will get S$50 vouchers, Operationally Ready Servicemen will get S$80 vouchers and those who have completed their National Service cycle will get S$100 vouchers and a free one-year SAFRA membership

SINGAPORE: More than 900,000 national servicemen (NSmen) will benefit from a S$100m "hongbao" from the Singapore government to commemorate the 45th anniversary of National Service in the country.

Speaking at the celebrations at The Float @ the Marina Bay, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said all NSmen will receive vouchers to enjoy a movie or meal with their family and friends.

In addition, Operationally Ready NSmen who are currently serving out their cycles, as well as those who have completed their cycles, will also receive a year's free membership to SAFRA or HomeTeamNS.

Mr Lee said the "hongbao" will cost the government S$100 million. But he said the gestures will never fully compensate for their personal sacrifices.

Prime Minister Lee said that the commitment of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) and the Home Team in protecting Singapore has won the country 45 years of peace and stability.

He said fortunately, Singapore has not had to fight a war but added this was not a matter of luck.

He said the SAF, by its very existence and capabilities, has contributed to the stable and peaceful security environment in the region, and helped Singapore maintain friendly relations with its neighbours.

He added the Home Team has protected the country against unconventional threats like extremist terrorism and put would-be perpetrators away before they could do the nation harm.

Mr Lee said looking ahead, he is cautiously optimistic that the region will remain peaceful.

"One key factor is relations between the US and China. We must expect problems, frictions and tensions to arise from time to time between the two countries," he said.

"But both Chinese and American leaders recognise how inter-dependent they have become, and I believe they will strive hard to manage relations and avoid jeopardising their major shared interests."

Mr Lee went on to say: "In Asia, countries are trading, investing, and interacting more and more with one another. But there are also tensions in the region.

"Some ASEAN members have exchanged fire over territorial disputes. Tensions are brewing in the South China Sea and the East China Sea, also because of territorial disputes.

"North Korea remains a potential security flashpoint. In addition, we must always be prepared for emerging and unconventional threats, especially extremist terrorism, which remains a real danger.

"We therefore cannot take our present peace and stability for granted. We must continue to build and maintain a committed, competent and vigilant SAF and Home Team.

"We must upgrade our capabilities steadily year by year, in a sustainable and affordable way. We must help younger generations of Singaporeans who have grown up in a more stable and affluent environment understand these strategic realities, and prepare them for their part in defending Singapore.

"We must also strengthen Total Defence. Every Singaporean must be committed to the defence of Singapore, whether in the military, civil, economic, social or psychological domains."

Prime Minister Lee added that National Service is ultimately about safeguarding Singapore's homes, their loved ones and the country's freedom to determine its own way of life.

And it is a personal duty which generations of NSmen have fulfilled and which every new generation must take up.

So, as Singapore celebrates the first 45 years of National Service, Mr Lee urged Singaporeans to reaffirm their commitment to National Service and a strong SAF and Home Team.

- CNA/ir

lianbeng will everyday open letter box wait for angpow!:D

what'll be the next price hike since this amt of $$$ has to come from somewhere

Kind of strange that the gov't can spend $ 1 billion on some garden & $50+ million on maintenance but can only give a 1 year free membership with SAFRA. The gov't must really appreciate our sacrifices & contribution:rolleyes:

what an insult !!! meal vouchers... movies passes ? wtf ! GST ⇧⇧⇧⇧⇧⇧ HERE WE GO...
better off keep for golden jubilee, when next GE must be held by 8-jan-2017

can use to pay for rt or kong anot?

SAFRA membership is worth nothing. Actual cost to government is zero. This is just like the government's notion of HDB subsidy. Create an inflated value of resale flats, then conjured up a 'subsidy' figure and walla, sinkees get a 'huge' discount for HDB flats. Many sinkees can't see through the manipulations done by the PAP and thus think that they are really getting a deal from the government.

Only in Sinkapore will such number manipulation be accepted.

Wah! 100 million wor? So limpeh get how much har? FUCK PAP! AND FUCK PINKY

Don't pretend to give some goodies which are overdue to us.Just return to us our cpf money.

Ho say, I get $100. I hope is not credited into my CPF account, otherwise I got to wait till 55 to go TN to find PDMM!

If your cpf OA + SA balance is less than the required minimum sum at 55,u have to wait till 65 or 70.

"free one-year SAFRA membership," whats inside there? Never been to one before.

By-elections soon? Who are they going to retire?

could be zorro. mayve the food he tarpau for cabinet meetings getting worse and worse..........................

RED PACKET FOR NSMEN -

Full-time NSmen will get S$50 vouchers, Operationally Ready Servicemen will get S$80 vouchers and those who have completed their National Service cycle will get S$100 vouchers and a free one-year SAFRA membership Posting Permissions

$50, $80, $100 vouchers... This is what we are worth in the eyes of the PAP Govt..

could be zorro. mayve the food he tarpau for cabinet meetings getting worse and worse..........................

hmm... by the looks of it, Aljunied GRC is bursting with options of PAP candidates in the next GE :p:p:p

here's my dream team again:

zorro
vivian
yaccob
ser luck
bee wah

this team can be transported to any grc and also got female representation. bestest!!!! :p

Salah Peiling?

here's my dream team again:

zorro
vivian
yaccob
ser luck
bee wah

this team can be transported to any grc and also got female representation. bestest!!!! :p