• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Government don't force us to gamble.But...

cheowyonglee

I keep hearing alot of pro government brothers here saying the government did not force us to gamble.We are ourselves to blame if we go gambling!!!
So, don't blame the government but blame ourselves!!!

I have enough of these pro government policy idiots thinking.So, i am now here to give some lessons into these people small brain!!!
Here it goes...

I take this as an example.

Your brother don't smoke.He went to the school.Will the school allow the selling of cigratte?No because they dont want the students to get the habbit of smoking!!!
You are not a drug addict.But if it's so easy to get hold to drug, then will you become one?
If you have a good will power, your friends around you might not have the strong will power.And if your frens or your loved one do not have a strong will power, he or she might be into drug now if he or she mixed with bad frens and drug is so easily available.

Human are born not perfect.And it's natural that some like to gamble and some don't.Some can resist gambling but some cannot.

It's the duty of the government to counter it and make sure the bad things dont get into our society so that the weak one can learn to control.

If by saying it's not the government fault to introduce casino here, it's the fault of the gambler because the government did not force them to gamble.

haha, then what for impose that $100 fine???????

A joke or something????:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

Human are born not perfect.And it's natural that some like to gamble and some don't.Some can resist gambling but some cannot.

If govts take on the role of defining and enforcing moral values, where are the boundaries drawn?? Should adultery be made a criminal offense? After all, married men and women are having affairs at an alarming rate these days and it's causing more grief for many families than the gambling habit.

Alcohol causes all sorts of problems including considerable carnage on the roads as a result of drink driving. Shouldn't the Singapore govt simply ban the sale of alcohol and withdraw the licenses of all the pubs and lounges that sell the stuff?

Pop music is bad too. So are iPods. Teenagers spend hours listening to inane music and ruining their hearing when they should be studying. Pop music should be banned!

Last but not least, I can't think of anything more disruptive and addictive than the internet. Access should be withdrawn from the general population and only a select few who can prove they are mature enough to handle the content on the net should be allowed to log on after a daily levy of $100 is charged.

If govts take on the role of defining and enforcing moral values, where are the boundaries drawn?? Should adultery be made a criminal offense? After all, married men and women are having affairs at an alarming rate these days and it's causing more grief for many families than the gambling habit.

Alcohol causes all sorts of problems including considerable carnage on the roads as a result of drink driving. Shouldn't the Singapore govt simply ban the sale of alcohol and withdraw the licenses of all the pubs and lounges that sell the stuff?

Pop music is bad too. So are iPods. Teenagers spend hours listening to inane music and ruining their hearing when they should be studying. Pop music should be banned!

Last but not least, I can't think of anything more disruptive and addictive than the internet. Access should be withdrawn from the general population and only a select few who can prove they are mature enough to handle the content on the net should be allowed to log on after a daily levy of $100 is charged.

You can say all this about any other government on planet earth, but not the one we have in SINgapore.

For money & insatiable greed for more...they will sell their souls.

They hold formula 1 race, the screen all sorts of racing theme movies, screen flashes on National TV, & the same for gambling.

Do the US government or the local government in nevada, starts screening on PBS or whatever TV Channels they have there gambling Themes whenever Sands, MGM or whatever open another I.R. or casino..

It is like placing a naked girl in a clear glass cage, put a sign that says , pay $100 come to enter the bordello & touch, and have a good time But in the meanwhile they set up commitees, hotlines, etc educating the public on porn...

That is what the SINgapore government is doing, it is not the $100 restriction nor the duty of each individual to curb their impulses. It is morally bankrupt people in power, who in their greed to make money...will sell anything.:mad:

Force or not .... it really boils down to the sole decision of the Biggest Chief this afternoon ,,,, All the Way !!!:D

It's all about money, really.
PAP is all about money and we are talking about lot's of it.

So it's Money First then follow by all the knee jerk and stupid rules to try to make it looks like they care.

Hard core gambler will gamble no matter what.
Having the Casino here, we provide the convienence to those potential gambler, the Taitai, the young graduates, the weak minded who are easily influence by friends and quick bucks.

We can cite examples all day long but you saw the news, our Dear Leader rake in record high tax revenue so far. So what if some of you have to leap from HDB or lie on MRT tracks, for the bigger scheme of things for our Dear Leader, it's unavoidable colleteral damage, it's just business.

aiyah, talk and talk also the same thing...

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR OWN ACTIONS AND YOUR DOINGS....PERIOD!

I keep hearing alot of pro government brothers here saying the government did not force us to gamble.We are ourselves to blame if we go gambling!!!
So, don't blame the government but blame ourselves!!! ...
dey dunwan 2 gif u ur cpf n dey say u cant resist any temptation n wil anyhow spend away all ur moni ... now, dey open gamnling dens n, walan eh! suddenly, u r so damn blahdy smart 2 noe how 2 resist all temptations n 2 dun anyhow spend away all ur moni ...

wat dey oredi have from u, dey dunwan 2 gif u back ... wat dey do not oredi have from u, dey oso want from u n r trying all means 2 get evryting from u ...

If gambling, alcohol, ipods, prostitution, adultery are all banned in Singapore. What's next? Another whole set of people will complain again :D

Thank you Aruvandil.You're indeed a very kind man. Thank you for sharing your experienced. I play slots and roulette. I started the stud but cannot make it lah...So concentrate on playing slots more...roulette can be quite difficult and lose more in double quick time. So far okay lah since the MBS and RWS started...weekends are mad houses with so many foreign workers!!!!! MAD!

If govts take on the role of defining and enforcing moral values, where are the boundaries drawn??

Our govt has already been actively taking the role of defining and enforcing moral values.

The maintenance of parents acts, the woman's charter, various ruling against children of parents regardless of overwhelming evidence against the parents are examples.

With no jury, it is the judge who decides what he feels is fair. There is no stopping of a judge, ruling on his emotions and your only recourse is to appeal; which doesn't come cheap and is out of reach of "lesser mortals".

Look at the recent ruling on the 30 year old French rider who was "bump into" by a 60 year old and decide to punch him. The judge erased the jail sentence and replace it with a slap on the hand of $2000. His reasons? The French was provoked and though he is not hurt, injured nor his property damage.

The judge just ruled that if you feel that your lives is endangered and you're provoked (say someone said he is going kill figuratively), you can whack the hell out of him and get away with a fine.

Bloody nonsense. I have very little respect for Singaporean court.

Our govt has already been actively taking the role of defining and enforcing moral values.

That's exactly my point. The PAP govt should be far less intrusive when it comes to governing the private lives of individuals.

To demand that they tighten controls on gambling is a step in the wrong direction.

That's exactly my point. The PAP govt should be far less intrusive when it comes to governing the private lives of individuals.

To demand that they tighten controls on gambling is a step in the wrong direction.

e-pimp sam leong.. stop misleading readers with your pseudo reasoning.

Preserving individual rights also equates to erosion of rights for others.

When a gambling addict is allowed to punt and lose all his savings, who will look after the rights of his young children and other dependents?

When a pastor Roni Tan has the freedom of speech to criticise Taoist and Buddhism at his service, what about the society's right to live in a safe and secular state?

Liberialisation or Regulation cannot be viewed from just an individual's point of view. Someone will always pay for the effects of a law. The question is whether it is for "the greater good".

I don't expect them to define and enforce moral values. Just don't pretend to have moral values.

When a gambling addict is allowed to punt and lose all his savings, who will look after the rights of his young children and other dependents?

The same argument can be applied to ANY risky activity so let's ban all risk then.:rolleyes:

Number one on the list should be motorbikes. They're widow makers.

What a twit you are.:eek:

TABLE 1: NUMBER OF FATALITIES BY ROAD USER GROUPS
<table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="1"><tbody><tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"><td bgcolor="#dae1e7"> <table border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="1"> <tbody><tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"> <td bgcolor="#9cadbd" width="388">Road User Groups
</td> <td bgcolor="#9cadbd" width="83">
</td> <td bgcolor="#9cadbd" width="71">
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"> <td bgcolor="#dae1e7">Motorcyclists & Pillion Riders
</td> <td bgcolor="#dae1e7">
(48.9%)​
(50.3%)​
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"> <td bgcolor="#dae1e7">Motorcar Drivers & Passengers
(10.4%)​
(6.6%)​
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"> <td bgcolor="#dae1e7">Pedestrians
(28.0%)​
(24.5%)​
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"> <td bgcolor="#dae1e7">Pedal Cyclists & Pillion Riders
(10.0%)​
(9.3%)​
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"> <td bgcolor="#dae1e7">Others (including Bus Passengers/Drivers, Heavy and Light Goods Vehicles Drivers and Passengers)
(2.7%)​
(9.3%)​
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#ebeef1"> <td bgcolor="#99dfee">TOTAL
</td> <td bgcolor="#99dfee">
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table> * Figures in parenthesis denote fatalities as a percentage of total fatalities across all road user groups.

I guess the government will say the casinos are open for tourist, not for sinkies:o

The same argument can be applied to ANY risky activity so let's ban all risk then.:rolleyes:

Number one on the list should be motorbikes. They're widow makers.

What a twit you are.:eek:

Hey boss, you know sometimes I find the things you say very weird.

Sometimes you make so much sense (as in this case), while in other times your words are so sarcastic and satirical. It makes me really wonder why you write like that, flipping between the two extreme edges of reasonableness.

aiyah, talk and talk also the same thing...

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR OWN ACTIONS AND YOUR DOINGS....PERIOD!

Who doesn't know, but their mouthpiece mediacorpse showing TV series, Movies that are related to gambling... of course we are responsible for our actions, they have a moral duty to be responsible also.

:p

Sometimes you make so much sense (as in this case), while in other times your words are so sarcastic and satirical. It makes me really wonder why you write like that, flipping between the two extreme edges of reasonableness.

It depends upon whether I had a good breakfast. :rolleyes:

You have asked a question that no one can answer because there is no easy answer, so is it a trick question or unfair question. There is no one size fits all approach when it comes to moral or ethics.

For example, some countries legislate drugs, some don't. Human standards are ever shifting and imperfect.

At the end of the day, I guess it boils down to what the "customers" want i.e. the voters.